AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V24, Thuban or Bulldozer!? Its 6-Season
rest_24
Jul 3 2011, 05:46 PM

Hi guys, i'm new here. Recently, i wanted to play PS2 games in my pc. I used PCSX2 and want to play Gran Turismo 4 (it's a high demand game  ) the ideal cpu speed for that game to run smoothly is around 3.5-4.0 GHz 1) Can i overclock my CPU to 4.0GHz using bios without changing my stock CPU coolant? is it stable? 2) If I have to change my CPU coolant, what is a better one? (btw my rig spec is at my sig if i got to improve others please let me know) Thanx in advance This post has been edited by rest_24: Jul 3 2011, 05:50 PM
rest_24
Jul 3 2011, 06:00 PM

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jul 3 2011, 05:55 PM) just dont jump to 4ghz yet..that is quite hard to get..and u on stock cooler.. try 3.6ghz without any vcore increase and also, change to cheap coolermaster hyper 212+ for around 100.if u want better, state budget. wow, really? just tried 4.0GHz before, and i got BSOD well my budget is around 100...at my place CM 212+ is rm108  is its full name is COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 for AM2 / LGA-775? This post has been edited by rest_24: Jul 3 2011, 06:03 PM
rest_24
Jul 3 2011, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jul 3 2011, 06:02 PM) if u oc without knowledge, u might end up killing ur hardware.. is better u read some guides before oc. and also rm108 still "around 100" yep, just made some references on youtube n google...safe OC with stock coolant is to 3.4 - 3.6GHz only..but one person managed to do 4.0GHZ with stock coolant (he lives at north pole or what  ) btw is the full name for the coolant -> COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 for AM2 / LGA-775? (to make sure and avoid confusion and buy the wrong one  ) This post has been edited by rest_24: Jul 3 2011, 06:07 PM
rest_24
Jul 3 2011, 06:22 PM

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jul 3 2011, 06:10 PM) no.. its cooler master hyper 212 +4ghz on stock cooler? try load/stress it. it wont survive. on stock cooler, better u run on stock also oh i see....not good for long time usage well i think i would go for CM 212+...hope it will make a difference...btw thanks bro!
rest_24
Jul 3 2011, 11:29 PM

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jul 3 2011, 09:54 PM) you sure need 4ghz?  IMO 3.6ghz is good enough to play currently now i'm at 3.6GHz..but playing the game are still laggy. fps during play only 30-ish, the game need at least 50 fps and more. or do i need to improve others, such as ram? This post has been edited by rest_24: Jul 3 2011, 11:45 PM
rest_24
Jul 4 2011, 12:24 AM

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 3 2011, 11:58 PM) i believe no matter how good a chip is, it wont able to help to increase d fps in game for > 20fps... u need better gfx instead...  whoa...my msi r5850 1gb ddr5 still not good enough? wow, to high demand lah like that  but i think i've seen others who used slightly lower gpu but still running smooth with 3.5ghz and more cpu. i've tried running the game during i'm at 4.0GHz..and it runs smooth! (until i got BSoD bcoz of normal coolant fan  ) QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jul 4 2011, 12:09 AM) True, but then again what reso we're talking here?  If he's playing on a 2560x1600 reso, don't think any cheap gpu is enough liao  not so high, around 1280 x 1280 are nice already...
rest_24
Jul 4 2011, 01:00 AM

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jul 4 2011, 12:29 AM) Wahlau, 1280x1024 using a cheapo HD4670 also u can get smooth FPS liao.. What game are u really trying to play here?  Even when i'm playing games my cpu just run at 3.3ghz & gpu a measly HD5770 can get smooth FPS in every games i play ah, that at even 1920x1080 reso liao  haha, normal computer game i can play smoothly lah (dirt 3 also can). now i want to play gran turismo 4 using ps2 emulator, PCSX2. GT4 is a demanding game loh, even with native (original PS2 graphics) still got low fps. my gpu is ok i think, but got slow gameplay bcoz not fast enuf CPU speed
rest_24
Jul 4 2011, 05:22 PM

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jul 4 2011, 10:46 AM) Is GT4 fully supported by PCSX2? Is your PCSX2 the latest version? For emulators, if the game is not 100% fully supported, it is useless now i have both version 0.9.6 and 0.9.8, the latest one. in PCSX2 game compatibality list GT4 is categorised in fully playable.