95 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Bottom

[Help!] Ubuntu Problems, everything related to ubuntu goes here

overlord_666
post May 3 2009, 07:15 AM

60 posts

Barra, i also can't start my Compiz after upgrading and I can't even start my nvidia control panel. But now it's ok and here is how I do it. I open Synaptic Package Manager, on the search field I insert "nvidia", then I mark "glx-180" (it's unmark before), then apply, and restart after finish. After doing just that I can activate Compiz and all other settings. If this also can't, you can view other suggestions here. Although the guide is for Intrepid, I use that source for my solution~~~
nlinley
post May 3 2009, 08:12 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(barra @ May 3 2009, 12:43 AM)
Hi guys,

I've gone through literally the whole forum and found this is the best place to seek solution.
I think this question's been asked a million times but I just can't seem to get a proper solution.

Problem : Can't run Compiz Fusion.
CPU Spec : P4 2.4, 2GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce 4 Ti 4200 128MB.

I can't seem to run compiz fusion. I've tried to edit the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file but got myself into more trouble than before. I've checked that my vga card driver is installed correctly, using Ubuntu's version, running xgl.
I've tried changing the xorg.conf file where Composite "1". However when I run compiz, here's the problem:

root@ubuntu:~# compiz
xprop:  unable to open display ''
Checking for Xgl: xvinfo:  Unable to open display
not present.
xset:  unable to open display ""
xset q doesn't reveal the location of the log file. Using fallback /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Try running it under your normal user account, not root. If you get errors like unable to open display, it is most likely due to the user account you are running under not having a DISPLAY variable set. I'm not running ubuntu, but I think I have seen that there before. When you sudo to root, I think the display is not set. See example below. You can also just export the setting to the display variable for root to run X windows based apps, though user mode apps should run under a normal user account.

~> echo $DISPLAY
:0.0

# echo $DISPLAY

This post has been edited by nlinley: May 3 2009, 08:17 AM
barra
post May 3 2009, 09:31 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(nlinley @ May 3 2009, 08:12 AM)
Try running it under your normal user account, not root.  If you get errors like unable to open display, it is most likely due to the user account you are running under not having a DISPLAY variable set.  I'm not running ubuntu, but I think I have seen that there before.  When you sudo to root, I think the display is not set.  See example below.  You can also just export the setting to the display variable for root to run X windows based apps, though user mode apps should run under a normal user account.

~> echo $DISPLAY

# echo $DISPLAY
nlinley,

That's a good suggestion. I never would've thought of that. Anyway, I tried running compiz using normal user account and my Xsession just hangs. Here's the resulf:

Checking for Xgl: not present.
xset q doesn't reveal the location of the log file. Using fallback /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Detected PCI ID for VGA:
Checking for texture_from_pixmap: present.
Checking for non power of two support: present.
Checking for Composite extension: present.
Checking screen 1Comparing resolution (1280x1024) to maximum 3D texture size (4096): Passed.
Checking for Software Rasterizer: Not present.
Checking for nVidia: present.
Checking for FBConfig: present.
running under gnome seesion, checking for gnomecompat
/usr/bin/compiz.real (core) - Error: Could not acquire compositing manager selection on screen 0 display ":0.0"
/usr/bin/compiz.real (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0

Added on May 3, 2009, 9:50 am
QUOTE(overlord_666 @ May 3 2009, 07:15 AM)
Barra, i also can't start my Compiz after upgrading and I can't even start my nvidia control panel. But now it's ok and here is how I do it. I open Synaptic Package Manager, on the search field I insert "nvidia", then I mark "glx-180" (it's unmark before), then apply, and restart after finish. After doing just that I can activate Compiz and all other settings. If this also can't, you can view other suggestions here. Although the guide is for Intrepid, I use that source for my solution~~~
overlord_666,

Well, I tried your advice. First, Sypnatic removed the Ubuntu / Mesa driver for my card, then install the Nvidia 180. Worked fine. Then I restarted my machine and it hangs, can't log into Xserver. Had to resort to low graphic mode. After much tweaking, manage to get back into normal graphic mode.

Then I tried enabling desktop effect, no good. Did a compiz run in Terminal, here's the result:

Detected PCI ID for VGA:
Checking for texture_from_pixmap: present.
Checking for non power of two support: present.
Checking for Composite extension: present.
Checking screen 1Comparing resolution (1280x1024) to maximum 3D texture size (4096): Passed.
Checking for Software Rasterizer: Not present.
Checking for nVidia: present.
Checking for FBConfig: present.
running under gnome seesion, checking for gnomecompat
/usr/bin/compiz.real (core) - Error: Could not acquire compositing manager selection on screen 0 display ":0.0"
/usr/bin/compiz.real (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0

However, after removing the Mesa and installing the nvidia driver, I noticed things run much smoother on screen. Scrolling down through web pages no longer jerky. definitely improved.

Anyway, I think my machine is cursed. Not once I managed to get compiz running......anymore idea?

This post has been edited by barra: May 3 2009, 09:55 AM
kaibathelegacy
post May 3 2009, 10:24 AM

178 posts

try to run this command in Terminal to reinstall Gnome desktop environment

CODE

sudo apt-get install --reinstall gnome-desktop-environment

n8210
post May 3 2009, 10:30 AM

2,678 posts

[Problem with Networking]
Hi, was able to install Ubuntu 9.04 without problems. Ubuntu can get connected with Aztech model as well, going online. 100% = everything good.

But when I tried Linux Mint, networking was disconnected. Tried to copy the settings from Ubuntu, but it didn't help too. And it is difficult to have Ubuntu and Linux Mint together on the same drive. The second installation will over write the first linux os, leaving me Vista and one more Linux OS. Anyway, that is another issue.

My aim is how to set the networking properly today. Some details for my Aztech/modem setting:

Connection type: wired (although wifi is available)
AP MAC Address: 00:30:0A:1E:01:4A
WEP Encryption: Yes

IP Address (when connected via Vista): 10.0.0.6
MAC Address: 00:17:31:00:13:93

The above is what I got from the modem setting, accessing Aztech via Vista.

The following is what I got from Ubuntu networking manager:
Autoeth1
IP: 10.0.0.6
Broadcast Add: 10.0.0.255
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Default Route: 10.0.0.2
Primary DNS: 10.0.0.2
Some also not sure where to key in, when using Linux Mint.

What can I do? What should I do? Thanks.

Added on May 3, 2009, 11:03 am[Q2, How to install Ubuntu and Linux Mint together with Vista]
I am using Vista, and I have partition C, D & E.
E Drive is my "play" drive. Nothing important in it.
D Drive = Data (super important)

So when I install ubuntu and linux mint, they go to E, which also because there are more empty space there compared to the other 2 drives. I always sellect install within windows using wubi.

But my problem is, if I install Ubuntu first, then later after I installed LM, it replaces Ubuntu. During windows boot manager, I could see all 3, but the other 2 Ubuntu and LM options both gives me LM boot up. If I uninstall LM, Ubuntu cannot but as it is looking for LM to boot.

The same if I install LM first, then Ubuntu later. How do I make all three of them exist together and play nice? Thank you.

This post has been edited by n8210: May 3 2009, 11:03 AM
Cannonfodder
post May 4 2009, 11:12 AM

374 posts

Ubuntu and Mint are so similar that you should choose one or the other, no point in wasting your HDD real estate on both. Just go for Mint, it's basically Ubuntu+.

To install both Ubuntu and Mint, there is an option during partitioning to replace or include existing OS. Choose the one that keeps them, not replaces them. The best would be to partition manually. One partition each for Mint/Ubuntu, one shared /home partition (use different usernames for each), and one small swap partition.

Install one distro's bootloader to the MBR, then install the second distro's bootloader to it's /root. Let each manage their own bootloaders and chainload the second distro from the bootloader in MBR.
n8210
post May 4 2009, 11:28 AM

2,678 posts

[quote=Cannonfodder,May 4 2009, 11:12 AM]
Ubuntu and Mint are so similar that you should choose one or the other, no point in wasting your HDD real estate on both. Just go for Mint, it's basically Ubuntu+.

I agree, I am trying to get LM running. The main reason why I wanted to install Ubuntu too (for now), is actually to figure out how to configure my networking so that I can get online. Like I have mentioned, Ubuntu can get online after installation, but LM failed to do so. So if I can just have both of them on, then I want to see if I can learn the settings "transfer" the right settings to LM.

Thanks for the tips on getting LM and ubuntu together in one pc.
Cannonfodder
post May 4 2009, 12:01 PM

374 posts

Ubuntu uses Network-Manager, Mint uses Wicd. That might be the difference. But I suspect you're using Jaunty, which has a newer kernel and better hardware detection. If that's the case, not an apple-to-apple comparison.

Check that Mint is correctly identifying your wireless extension (wlan0, wifi0, etc) and that this is correctly appended in Wicd's preferences. You might also want to try using the different wireless drivers that Wicd uses. This is all in 'Preferences'.
n8210
post May 4 2009, 01:19 PM

2,678 posts

Not yet trying with wifi. Now using wired connection, eth01.

Hmm... couldn't find any step by step guide on such networking setups. It seems most people either get connected instantly, or they are setting up their wifi. Lots of info on those. But I am trying out with wired connection.

What should i do?
barra
post May 5 2009, 12:29 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ May 4 2009, 01:19 PM)
Not yet trying with wifi. Now using wired connection, eth01.

Hmm... couldn't find any step by step guide on such networking setups. It seems most people either get connected instantly, or they are setting up their wifi. Lots of info on those. But I am trying out with wired connection.

What should i do?
To check ip address, start a TERMINAL, type: ifconfig.

To check connectivity, ping your router (10.0.0.2) I'm assuming you got ip address 10.0.0.6, so you should get a reply. Also, why is your router ip 10.0.0.2? Usually it's either 192.168.x.1 or 10.0.0.1. This may not help but try changing your router ip to either 192.168.0.1 or 10.0.0.1.

Try the above and let me know what response you got. If still not connected, can you copy and paste the ifconfig result here?

Added on May 5, 2009, 12:35 am
QUOTE(kaibathelegacy @ May 3 2009, 10:24 AM)
try to run this command in Terminal to reinstall Gnome desktop environment

CODE

sudo apt-get install --reinstall gnome-desktop-environment

Thanks for the help. Luckily I backed up my original xorg.conf file. Overwrite the new one with the original and everything back to normal. Still can't activate Compiz though sad.gif

This post has been edited by barra: May 5 2009, 12:35 AM
Avex
post May 5 2009, 01:07 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(barra @ May 3 2009, 12:43 AM)
Hi guys,

I've gone through literally the whole forum and found this is the best place to seek solution.
I think this question's been asked a million times but I just can't seem to get a proper solution.

Problem : Can't run Compiz Fusion.
CPU Spec : P4 2.4, 2GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce 4 Ti 4200 128MB.

I can't seem to run compiz fusion. I've tried to edit the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file but got myself into more trouble than before. I've checked that my vga card driver is installed correctly, using Ubuntu's version, running xgl.
I've tried changing the xorg.conf file where Composite "1". However when I run compiz, here's the problem:

root@ubuntu:~# compiz
xprop:  unable to open display ''
Checking for Xgl: xvinfo:  Unable to open display
not present.
xset:  unable to open display ""
Detected PCI ID for VGA:
Checking for texture_from_pixmap: not present.
Trying again with indirect rendering:
Checking for texture_from_pixmap: not present.
aborting and using fallback: xterm
no xterm found, exiting
root@ubuntu:~#

Added on May 3, 2009, 12:47 amHere's my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file:

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "Default Screen"
        Monitor        "Configured Monitor"
        Device          "Configured Video Device"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option  "AddARGBGLXVisuals"    "True"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load    "glx"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "Configured Video Device"
        Driver  "nvidia"
        Option  "NoLogo"        "True"
EndSection
Anyone can help me out here? I've started using linux back in the RedHat days, back when Optical mouse didn't even exists. So, I do know abit about linux. However, since XP came out, I've stop fooling around with linux, until Ubuntu came out.

Since then I've started with Ubuntu 7, trying out Mint, Fedora, Mandrake (now Mandriva), OpenSuse. I still find Ubuntu more attractive maybe due to the popularity. So anyway, appreciate if some one can help me out here. start from basic also never mind. I'm keen to learn.
try adding Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "True" to your "Screen" section
n8210
post May 5 2009, 07:27 PM

2,678 posts

Hi Barra, my default gateway or router ip is 10.0.0.2. I don't know why it is 10.0.0.2 instead of 10.0.0.1. It has always been that way. I'm using 2nd hand, maybe the first person decided to change it, but I my believe is it is factory's default. I'm almost 99% sure. The model is DSL305EW.

Anyway, I think I roughly know what is the problem, but don't know the solution. It seems that whenever I key in the default ip, it does not save. It automatically changes to 0.0.0.0, so I get no connection. What's going on?
UbuntuClient
post May 6 2009, 04:50 PM

1,417 posts

How to change view from my laptop to projector? In windows very easy. Can anyone tell me?
DunkyKung
post May 7 2009, 12:25 AM

~im dead sexxay~
826 posts

can anyone teach me how to install display driver for ati hd3200?

and how to install app?i tried to install mozilla flash plugin and codec to play vids,but this is the outcome

E: Could not get lock /var/cache/apt/archives/lock - open (11 Resource temporarily unavailable)
E: Unable to lock the download directory

This post has been edited by DunkyKung: May 7 2009, 12:35 AM
Avex
post May 7 2009, 01:15 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(DunkyKung @ May 7 2009, 12:25 AM)
can anyone teach me how to install display driver for ati hd3200?

and how to install app?i tried to install mozilla flash plugin and codec to play vids,but this is the outcome

E: Could not get lock /var/cache/apt/archives/lock - open (11 Resource temporarily unavailable)
E: Unable to lock the download directory
sudo rm /var/cache/apt/archives/lock
DunkyKung
post May 7 2009, 01:35 AM

~im dead sexxay~
826 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ May 7 2009, 01:15 AM)
sudo rm /var/cache/apt/archives/lock
oh thx! tis is my first time using ubuntu..thx alot~!
kaibathelegacy
post May 7 2009, 02:20 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(UbuntuClient @ May 6 2009, 04:50 PM)
How to change view from my laptop to projector? In windows very easy. Can anyone tell me?
If you are using Intel graphic card, it is plug n play. But if you use nVidia, you can do it by using Nvidia X Server Settings.

DunkyKung
post May 7 2009, 07:20 PM

~im dead sexxay~
826 posts

how to change font in lyn?i found it hard to read..solve my prob which is installing ati driver using this guide http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Ubuntu_Ja...rivers_manually

one more thing,why when i reboot my pc,why the wallpaper change to default?

This post has been edited by DunkyKung: May 7 2009, 07:24 PM
merajey
post May 7 2009, 10:41 PM

454 posts

i have a problem with those following using Aspire 4520 on Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty
1. Wifi connection...seems like it cannot detect the device
2. Card reader....how to make this thing works??
3. Bluetooth...is the built in bluetooth cannot be used at all...so the only solution is to buy a dongle??

hopefully Ubuntu sifu could help!!!
ayob99
post May 7 2009, 11:03 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(DunkyKung @ May 7 2009, 07:20 PM)
how to change font in lyn?i found it hard to read..solve my prob which is installing ati driver using this guide http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Ubuntu_Ja...rivers_manually

one more thing,why when i reboot my pc,why the wallpaper change to default?
Install 'Installer for Microsoft TrueType core fonts', launch Synaptic and type 'ttf-mscorefonts-installer' in your search box

It could be that you stored the wallpaper file inside a drive that is not mounted upon booting. If that's the case move it to your 'Home' folder.

This post has been edited by ayob99: May 7 2009, 11:10 PM

95 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:44 AM