126 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Drums LYN Drummers Paradise v3 thread

treflip
post Nov 15 2010, 03:05 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(Party2DMax @ Nov 15 2010, 01:33 PM)
treflip, nice studio. What studio is that? I'm interested in the QRDs, I could use some of those...
its Ark studio...also known as studio 19 in TTDI....familiar with nick lee?? its his studio...a very famous studio...and its located somewhere behind of JD's of pop shuvit's studio....look for the sound engineer name kieth..my favorite sound engineer!! hehehe
maddrummer
post Nov 15 2010, 03:41 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(fifi85 @ Nov 15 2010, 11:56 AM)
In my opinion,

1. It is not necessary but will be VERY helpful to your learning process
2. for edrums is more difficult to get at that price. Maybe 2nd hand but still need look around. For acoustic i think is possible
3. I dont think is detrimental but if you are able play an acoustic kit with no problem go for it. E-kit is for people who have no other choice or as a a practice kit during late night tongue.gif
woot woot, thanks for your kind feedbacks smile.gif)

Hmm first i think youtube will be where i'd go often for lessons, then drumlessons.net . hahaha.

i googled lotsa brands & models, very confusing and yes the prices are mostly 3k+ :s ...
how about Traps A400? is good stuff? ^^ looks really cool.
i see one beginner acoustic drumset Misha Jaguar, price was 1.4k .. kinda okay. but consume places alot... dont have much place in my room,
any other suggestions which model i should purchase? ^^
SunofaBeach
post Nov 15 2010, 06:28 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(maddrummer @ Nov 15 2010, 03:41 PM)

Hmm first i think youtube will be where i'd go often for lessons, then drumlessons.net . hahaha.

i googled lotsa brands & models, very confusing and yes the prices are mostly 3k+ :s ...
i see one beginner acoustic drumset Misha Jaguar, price was 1.4k .. kinda okay. but consume places alot... dont have much place in my room,
Hello bro, I am a new starter too since last Saturday! Gimme five laugh.gif
Namqul
post Nov 15 2010, 07:44 PM

790 posts

@treflip: Mind giving out details on the recording equipment used and a sample of the recordings?

@Party2DMax: QRD? The sound room is still in progress? I've read the thread you posted in Jamtank before, excellent job! Hopefully I'll have my own space like that in the future to work with.

treflip
post Nov 15 2010, 09:18 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(Namqul @ Nov 15 2010, 07:44 PM)
@treflip: Mind giving out details on the recording equipment used and a sample of the recordings?

@Party2DMax: QRD? The sound room is still in progress? I've read the thread you posted in Jamtank before, excellent job! Hopefully I'll have my own space like that in the future to work with.
if you wanna know about the sample of recordings done there...well i guess you can check out some of Aizat AFs stuff...love me butch also did their recordings there...same goes to estranged...dragon red...six sense....a few big names go there...lewis pragasam, pete teo, etc etc....its one of Malaysia's famous recording studios amongst musicians...its also an award winning studio...

as for equipments...all i know would be the drumming equipments...they use a tama starclassic, zildjian cylmbals, etc etc.....the mic's if im not mistaken they use audio technica, akg, etc..i didnt really bother to check out the stuff...hehehehanyways if u wanna listen to one of the rough mix of the songs we did there i can give to you but how do we upload the files here yea? hehehe

anyways here is a video of lewis pragasam doing a drum solo for one of dennis lau recording sessions at the Ark Studio@Studio 19...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7AtbB1vY0WY&feature=related

This post has been edited by treflip: Nov 15 2010, 09:36 PM
SUSfifi85
post Nov 15 2010, 10:14 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(maddrummer @ Nov 15 2010, 03:41 PM)

if u wanna go for ekit, roland and yamaha are the top brands but expensive. Alesis have been quite for sometime as well.

But if u plan to go further than just playing, better get a good ekit so that u can adjust to acoustic easier next time.
franklooi96
post Nov 16 2010, 02:34 AM

b**ch
575 posts

QUOTE(treflip @ Nov 15 2010, 09:18 PM)
if you wanna know about the sample of recordings done there...well i guess you can check out some of Aizat AFs stuff...love me butch also did their recordings there...same goes to estranged...dragon red...six sense....a few big names go there...lewis pragasam, pete teo, etc etc....its one of Malaysia's famous recording studios amongst musicians...its also an award winning studio...

as for equipments...all i know would be the drumming equipments...they use a tama starclassic, zildjian cylmbals, etc etc.....the mic's if im not mistaken they use audio technica, akg, etc..i didnt really bother to check out the stuff...hehehehanyways if u wanna listen to one of the rough mix of the songs we did there i can give to you but how do we upload the files here yea? hehehe

anyways here is a video of lewis pragasam doing a drum solo for one of dennis lau recording sessions at the Ark Studio@Studio 19...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7AtbB1vY0WY&feature=related
I think I'm in love with those hats. laugh.gif
maddrummer
post Nov 16 2010, 11:21 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Nov 15 2010, 06:28 PM)
Hello bro, I am a new starter too since last Saturday!  Gimme five  laugh.gif
Lol.. 5!! got any decent drumset dy? ^^

QUOTE(fifi85 @ Nov 15 2010, 10:14 PM)
if u wanna go for ekit, roland and yamaha are the top brands but expensive. Alesis have been quite for sometime as well.

But if u plan to go further than just playing, better get a good ekit so that u can adjust to acoustic easier next time.
hm thx thx!! ^^ i go look around more before purchasing my first kit. ^^
AhBoy~~
post Nov 16 2010, 05:25 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(maddrummer @ Nov 16 2010, 11:21 AM)
well~ just try not to look too long, price normally will go up cry.gif
major_panic
post Nov 16 2010, 07:40 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(isaacmiranda7 @ Nov 15 2010, 12:29 AM)
True smile.gif yes I think my Sabians rock too wink.gif HAHAHAH!
B8Pro's are bright. HHX's are dark. This guy needs to know how to compare.

Ahh.... UFiP.
I know I haven't been around for a while, but I popped back in, saw this and thought I'd update everyone on my kit...

So that's a 1983 Tama Swingstar in black with 12", 13" and 16" toms, and a 22" kick... and a new Tama Metalworks Steel 13" x 6.5" snare.

Cymbals are:

9" Sabian SR2 Splash with an 8" brass self-cut splash stacked on top
10" UFiP Rough Splash
14" Sabian HHX Evolution hihats
14" Zildjian Paper Thin Crash
16" UFiP Class Fast Crash
18" UFiP Extatic Crash
21" Istanbul Mehmet Traditional Ride, custom built to my specs

Not pictured:

14" Wuhan China
16" UFiP vintage crash modified by a local cymbalsmith
20" Meinl Sand Ride

And I have a set of ZBTs that I don't use anymore... I'm worried that I have a slight obsession with cymbals, although to be honest I just need a Paiste and a Dream (to round out the set) and I'll be satisfied with what I have.

On the UFiPs: LOVE LOVE LOVE them. They are seriously the best crashes and splashes around, combining characteristics of dark and bright cymbals in one somehow... dark crashes with bright overtones. I'm still trying to get my hands on a set of UFiP hats and possibly a ride, just so I can have a complete set of them around.

Added on November 16, 2010, 7:42 pm
QUOTE(franklooi96 @ Nov 16 2010, 04:34 AM)
I think I'm in love with those hats. laugh.gif
They look and sound like ZBTs, which honestly I don't find that horrible (the hats at any rate, the rides and crashes I wouldn't even look at).

This post has been edited by major_panic: Nov 16 2010, 07:42 PM
treflip
post Nov 16 2010, 08:19 PM

712 posts

the ride and the hats used at the Arkstudios are the zxt series...but the crashes are Zildjian avedis...

but then again...no matter what cymbals or hi hats you use...it will only sound good when the player is good and if they know how and where to hit the sweet spot ;-) if you know what i mean...
brokenbomb
post Nov 16 2010, 11:27 PM

1,269 posts

notice that how lewis hit the high hat. woot.

treflip - ur from kuching eh? y sarawak has many top drummers ah? haha. cuz faizal tahir's new drummer, azim jenk ali, is from there right?
treflip
post Nov 17 2010, 12:36 AM

712 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Nov 16 2010, 11:27 PM)
notice that how lewis hit the high hat. woot.

treflip - ur from kuching eh? y sarawak has many top drummers ah? haha. cuz faizal tahir's new drummer, azim jenk ali, is from there right?
hahahaha...how did u know i am from sarawak? and how did you know jenk is also from sarawak?? hehehe...he has been my drumming buddy for years...we basically somewhat grew up and developed our drumming somewhat together...hehehe...

ps...naaaa....mana ada top drummer pun hehehehe....there are other top drummers from kl as well what hehehehe tongue.gif
franklooi96
post Nov 17 2010, 02:05 AM

b**ch
575 posts

QUOTE(major_panic @ Nov 16 2010, 07:40 PM)
They look and sound like ZBTs, which honestly I don't find that horrible (the hats at any rate, the rides and crashes I wouldn't even look at).
Are those worth buying? I'm looking into a cymbals set currently.

QUOTE(treflip @ Nov 16 2010, 08:19 PM)
the ride and the hats used at the Arkstudios are the zxt series...but the crashes are Zildjian avedis...

but then again...no matter what cymbals or hi hats you use...it will only sound good when the player is good and if they know how and where to hit the sweet spot ;-) if you know what i mean...
Sweet spot is the factor, but still I have developed feelings for the sound.

So I might be getting those hats and just play it with the feeling. nod.gif

treflip
post Nov 17 2010, 04:20 AM

712 posts

QUOTE(franklooi96 @ Nov 17 2010, 02:05 AM)
Are those worth buying? I'm looking into a cymbals set currently.
Sweet spot is the factor, but still I have developed feelings for the sound.

So I might be getting those hats and just play it with the feeling. nod.gif
yeah i think there wouldn't be any problem with the zbt =) i find it quite versatile ...right now i use the zbts hi hats and ride for touring around that mr Roslan Aziz gave me =) and they sound awesome as it aged...and it aged beautifully and sound beautiful....hhehehe
brokenbomb
post Nov 17 2010, 09:14 AM

1,269 posts

cuz ur fb profile wrote sm sains kuching. haha.

oh and did u disable friend thingy? cuz i cant add u la. haha
SunofaBeach
post Nov 17 2010, 04:20 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(maddrummer @ Nov 16 2010, 11:21 AM)
Oh yes !! Just got my 1st e-kit 2 weeks ago and now learning from books. Just completed a ''First Lesson'' Book . . Feel okay so far laugh.gif My fiance is a music teacher, so she can teach me to read the scores and count beats. She says I am playing well so far laugh.gif
franklooi96
post Nov 17 2010, 06:32 PM

b**ch
575 posts

QUOTE(treflip @ Nov 17 2010, 04:20 AM)
yeah i think there wouldn't be any problem with the zbt =) i find it quite versatile ...right now i use the zbts hi hats and ride for touring around that mr Roslan Aziz gave me =) and they sound awesome as it aged...and it aged beautifully and sound beautiful....hhehehe
Mm ZBT hats, I think I'm gonna buy those. laugh.gif

Then Paiste + TRX cymbals for the rest.
treflip
post Nov 17 2010, 11:10 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Nov 17 2010, 09:14 AM)
cuz ur fb profile wrote sm sains kuching. haha.

oh and did u disable friend thingy? cuz i cant add u la. haha
aik seriously?? i didnt disable anything?... hmmm...ok y dont u pm me ur link and i'll try and add u up =)
brokenbomb
post Nov 18 2010, 01:06 AM

1,269 posts

azim used to play for stonebay right? huhu

126 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:54 AM