127 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V8, Guide and price at page 1

lee_what2004
post Oct 28 2010, 03:29 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Better take SXPS 16 but upgrade the GPU to HD5730...
missy_syafiqa
post Oct 28 2010, 03:50 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 28 2010, 03:29 PM)
Better take SXPS 16 but upgrade the GPU to HD5730...
thanx.. smile.gif but if possible i dun want to topup. tongue.gif
can i know y u suggest to take SXPS16 rather than vaio?
lee_what2004
post Oct 28 2010, 03:52 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Better screen, higher resolution....
Do note that the SXPS 16 white colour is only the lid colour, not whole body..
missy_syafiqa
post Oct 28 2010, 03:59 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 28 2010, 03:52 PM)
Better screen, higher resolution....
Do note that the SXPS 16 white colour is only the lid colour, not whole body..
thanx! biggrin.gif
for the colour : ya, i know..that's y i prefer that vaio in terms of design.
but want to decide which want worth the $$.. smile.gif
makubexong
post Oct 28 2010, 09:55 PM

69 posts

Brand: Any.. ( durable, firm, good service/ warranty)

Spec: able to run smoothly while multitasking, ( photoshop cs5. lightroom3, autocad 2010, other designing softwares)

Graphic: suitable graphic for light gaming.. (dota, sc2 - low/medium setting, PES)

Size: 14 and above

budget: 3-3.5k

Additional: i also try to looking the notebook spec performance that can be still usable in next 2-3 years.. the technology are improving rapidly, hope to get a toy can run smoothly with coming new softwares in future...

Please help.. =)
DoubleU
post Oct 28 2010, 10:43 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

Asus A42Ja, i7 740QM + ATi HD5730@RM3599
Asus X42Jr, i7 740QM + ATi HD5470@RM2799
Dell XPS 14, i7 740QM + nVidia GT425M@RM3499
Dell XPS 15, i7 740QM + nVidia GT435M@RM3499

basically better to have i7 for ur processing needs
makubexong
post Oct 29 2010, 01:22 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Oct 28 2010, 10:43 PM)
Asus A42Ja, i7 740QM + ATi HD5730@RM3599
Asus X42Jr, i7 740QM + ATi HD5470@RM2799
Dell XPS 14, i7 740QM + nVidia GT425M@RM3499
Dell XPS 15, i7 740QM + nVidia GT435M@RM3499

basically better to have i7 for ur processing needs
Sifu.. how come the XPS 14 and XPS 15 is same price? the XPS 14 not suppose to be cheaper than XPS 15?
lee_what2004
post Oct 29 2010, 01:25 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Nope, Dell sell at that price...
ZeratoS
post Oct 29 2010, 06:23 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

Thinking of getting the 3499 XPS15 shipped from Malaysia (studying in England, my XPS M1530 almost dead so its urgent) and have my mom courier it to me.

Thoughts? Or are there better options I can pick up. I'm looking for a good GPU to last say games like GW2 and DIII in the future.

Edit : VAT here is absurd, pay almost RM500 more for the same thing. UK keyboards are weird too, their @ is at their "

This post has been edited by ZeratoS: Oct 29 2010, 06:23 AM
Casperwinde
post Oct 29 2010, 10:09 AM

303 posts

1. Brand. Any.....
2. Budget. RM2000-3000
3. Specs. at least i5.... 1 GB vid card (nvidia preferrable) at least 14" LCD...
4. Size. it doesnt matter
TSkae7
post Oct 29 2010, 10:24 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Casperwinde @ Oct 29 2010, 10:09 AM)
1. Brand.  Any.....
2. Budget.  RM2000-3000
3. Specs.  at least i5.... 1 GB vid card (nvidia preferrable)  at least 14" LCD...
4. Size.  it doesnt matter
why need 1GB video card..? LOL [refer to the size of VRAM ]

can go for Lenovo Y460 [i5 460M + GT425] , RM 2999
Casperwinde
post Oct 29 2010, 10:33 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Oct 29 2010, 10:24 AM)
why need 1GB video card..? LOL [refer to the size of VRAM ]

can go for Lenovo Y460 [i5 460M + GT425] , RM 2999
Errrr...cos...1GB VRAM can perform well in gaming i think? hmmm.....
mr_civicfd1
post Oct 29 2010, 10:47 AM

24 posts

hi sifus, need some recommendation here..planning to buy a new lappie here..my 'old' lappie is about 7 yrs old now (aspire 5500).. laugh.gif (condition still ok)
can sifus here advise which is better mac (macbook pro 15" i5 2.4ghz) / other brand? budget is up to that macpro price..
mainly used for internet..graphics..littler bit gaming..
thanks happy.gif
miahahaha
post Oct 29 2010, 10:50 AM

Beru
7,558 posts

QUOTE(mr_civicfd1 @ Oct 29 2010, 10:47 AM)
hi sifus, need some recommendation here..planning to buy a new lappie here..my 'old' lappie is about 7 yrs old now (aspire 5500).. laugh.gif (condition still ok)
can sifus here advise which is better mac (macbook pro 15" i5 2.4ghz) / other brand? budget is up to that macpro price..
mainly used for internet..graphics..littler bit gaming..
thanks  happy.gif
hmm.gif..already considering MBP as one of the choices?? smile.gif...well, please define your gaming preferences as MBP also can play some games laugh.gif (with boot camp Win7)...

Your budget (assuming the price of MBP 15) is RM6k.....

Just my suggestions :

Alienware M15x, i7 740QM + ATi HD5730@RM5499
Alienware M15x, i7 740QM + ATi HD5850@RM5999

*do upgrade the warranty for security reason laugh.gif

This post has been edited by miahahaha: Oct 29 2010, 10:55 AM
mr_civicfd1
post Oct 29 2010, 11:14 AM

24 posts

thanks bro for the suggestions...actually i am not a hardcore PC gamer as already have a ps3...so i guess gamins is not an issue..huhu...so u mean with that price better to get M15x with better performance?
miahahaha
post Oct 29 2010, 11:37 AM

Beru
7,558 posts

Yup, and if you are willing to import then there are other choices like Sager and all nod.gif...

Already got PS3 then maybe can focus more on what mainly the laptop will be of usage nod.gif...if you going for multimedia stuff then MBP sure is a good choice as we all know that Apple products work wonders with their software/hardware...
DoubleU
post Oct 29 2010, 06:57 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Oct 29 2010, 06:23 AM)
Thinking of getting the 3499 XPS15 shipped from Malaysia (studying in England, my XPS M1530 almost dead so its urgent) and have my mom courier it to me.

Thoughts? Or are there better options I can pick up. I'm looking for a good GPU to last say games like GW2 and DIII in the future.
Edit : VAT here is absurd, pay almost RM500 more for the same thing. UK keyboards are weird too, their @ is at their "
yea, uk keyboard layout is different, but i think you can choose if you want american keyboard layout from dell uk. But, instead of getting it from malaysia... might as well order from US. Brands like Asus are cheaper in US. Or come back during christmas break and get it?

QUOTE(mr_civicfd1 @ Oct 29 2010, 11:14 AM)
thanks bro for the suggestions...actually i am not a hardcore PC gamer as already have a ps3...so i guess gamins is not an issue..huhu...so u mean with that price better to get M15x with better performance?
If you want mbp, i think tjhe mbp 13 is better choice. Smaller, more portable, just as powerful. MBP 15 unless you really want the big screen. Also consider the HP Envy see if you like that laptop. (more powerful, same price, design is like mbp too)
AlexLai
post Oct 29 2010, 10:04 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(Casperwinde @ Oct 29 2010, 10:33 AM)
Errrr...cos...1GB VRAM can perform well in gaming i think? hmmm.....
Not exactly. 512MB is good enough already unless the card is fast enough to fully utilize it as per explained here:

http://www.notebookcheck.net/How-much-grap...nse.2558.0.html
mr_civicfd1
post Oct 29 2010, 10:30 PM

24 posts

hi bro doubleU n miahaha... thnx for the suggestions..appreciate itt
dimetri86
post Oct 29 2010, 11:11 PM

53 posts

1. Brand. toshiba,lenovo or asus
2. Budget. RM2000
3. Specs. i3.... 512mb graphic