Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V8, Guide and price at page 1

makubexong
post Oct 24 2010, 08:35 PM

69 posts

1. Brand: Any brand except HP and Compaq. (My last lousy laptop is HP)
2. Budget: RM3k -RM3.5K
3. Specs: able to run smooth while multitask-ing (autocad, photoshop, illustrator), games like warcraft, sc2
4. Size: 15 inch

additional:
a) ATI GC and Nvidia GC, which one is better and more stable? My ex-laptop running Nvidia Geforce 8400MS, problems always occur.
b) what brand laptop have longer service life?

Really need recommendation here, thank you very much =)

This post has been edited by makubexong: Oct 24 2010, 08:36 PM
makubexong
post Oct 24 2010, 09:50 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Oct 24 2010, 09:26 PM)
can consider the
Dell XPS 15, i7 740QM + nVidia GT435M@RM3499

a) now between both not much difference, the GT8400m was the faulty gc, not hp's problem.

b) service life, if ur talking about laptop service warranty, then it depends how many years warranty you buy lur. If ur talking about how long the laptop can tahan, then it depends on how you treat your laptop. If you dun damaged it (eg, put on bed and use for long hours, drop it etc) then it can last 3 years easily. And by then, the tech will be nearly outdated, and probably a good time to refresh your laptop. But of course you can use it for longer... my bro's first compaq laptop is being used by my dad for word processing only (7 years old)
thanks.. Dell XPS 15 got 2 models in my budget range..
1)Intel® Core™ i5-460M, 1GB NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 420M graphics (Rm2999)
2) Intel® Core™ i7-740QM, 2GB NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 435M graphics (RM 3499)

Question:
a) i would like to know is there any bad comments on the Nvidia GCs above?
b) 1Gb and 2Gb GC will have big different? and also the i5 -i7..

very sorry, i not really good in computer stuffs.. really thanks for the answers and patient.. =)
makubexong
post Oct 24 2010, 09:57 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 24 2010, 09:52 PM)
a) Still no bad comments since it still new in the market..
b) 1GB and 2GB won't have big difference, but GT420M and GT435M does, GT435M is overclocked version GT420M...
All right.. thank you sifus for the answers.. i will put into my consideration.. =)
makubexong
post Oct 25 2010, 12:47 AM

69 posts

1)Intel® Core™ i5-460M, 1GB NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 420M graphics (Rm2999)
2) Intel® Core™ i7-740QM, 2GB NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 435M graphics (RM 3499)

another question, intel i7 and 435M will generate more heat compare to i5 and 420M?
makubexong
post Oct 28 2010, 09:55 PM

69 posts

Brand: Any.. ( durable, firm, good service/ warranty)

Spec: able to run smoothly while multitasking, ( photoshop cs5. lightroom3, autocad 2010, other designing softwares)

Graphic: suitable graphic for light gaming.. (dota, sc2 - low/medium setting, PES)

Size: 14 and above

budget: 3-3.5k

Additional: i also try to looking the notebook spec performance that can be still usable in next 2-3 years.. the technology are improving rapidly, hope to get a toy can run smoothly with coming new softwares in future...

Please help.. =)
makubexong
post Oct 29 2010, 01:22 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Oct 28 2010, 10:43 PM)
Asus A42Ja, i7 740QM + ATi HD5730@RM3599
Asus X42Jr, i7 740QM + ATi HD5470@RM2799
Dell XPS 14, i7 740QM + nVidia GT425M@RM3499
Dell XPS 15, i7 740QM + nVidia GT435M@RM3499

basically better to have i7 for ur processing needs
Sifu.. how come the XPS 14 and XPS 15 is same price? the XPS 14 not suppose to be cheaper than XPS 15?

0.0357sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:13 PM