I am leaving my current job now because of mad office politics and also got 2 warning letters from HR. Therefore, I am just worried if my future employer do a reference check on me.
What do I do?
Standard Questions during Interview
Jul 25 2010, 01:41 AM
1,278 posts Joined: May 2005 |
I am leaving my current job now because of mad office politics and also got 2 warning letters from HR. Therefore, I am just worried if my future employer do a reference check on me.
What do I do? |
Jul 25 2010, 07:01 PM
117 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
If the future (possible) employer HR found out about the HR warning letter, then only you try to explain about for it.
I believe that there exist a lot of office where the working environment is discouraging. So maybe the HR able to understand it also if you explains to them what happened after they found out about it? (Thinking to leave my current stupid office environment but need to wait for good chance for interview) This post has been edited by tata88: Jul 25 2010, 07:14 PM |
Jul 25 2010, 09:30 PM
Yeah, one of my colleagues say like that. Just be honest but in a positive way.
Jul 27 2010, 04:10 PM
4,515 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(DDSFan8 @ Jul 25 2010, 01:41 AM) I am leaving my current job now because of mad office politics and also got 2 warning letters from HR. Therefore, I am just worried if my future employer do a reference check on me. Did you know why the letters were issue? Did you diserve it? If the answer is yes to both of them, then you already know what you could have done to avoid it in future. These will be the points to answer any interviewer that ask you about it.What do I do? A bad person may be unsuitable. A bad persn who learnt from the hard way to mend his way is better. This post has been edited by faceless: Jul 27 2010, 04:12 PM |
Jul 27 2010, 10:35 PM
well looking back, that place really not suited for me la. Anyway, I resigned liao. But my colleague told me, just be honest in your next interview but don't bad mouth your ex-company.
Anyway, they don't have much money that's why |
Jul 27 2010, 11:36 PM
576 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Not here |
QUOTE(DDSFan8 @ Jul 27 2010, 10:35 PM) well looking back, that place really not suited for me la. Anyway, I resigned liao. But my colleague told me, just be honest in your next interview but don't bad mouth your ex-company. Yep, I would agree with that also, be honest but do not make it looks like it was a dump or anything. |
Jul 28 2010, 10:17 AM
Bad mouthing a company only shows to petential employers that you are a complainer.
Aug 2 2010, 10:01 PM
62 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
I did a mistake by stating the expected salary lower than I hope it should be. is there any chance of changing it during the interview? thanks..
Aug 3 2010, 08:56 AM
Most companies will ask you to fill out an application form. You can make the changes on the application form. As to the question of why it differs from your resume, there is no way to get out of this boo boo. Whatever you say, if this question is pose to you, you will indicate your sloppiness.
Aug 3 2010, 09:53 PM
5,366 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
should I be honest with the interviewer when he ask whether I have interviewed in other companies before, for a similar job position
Aug 4 2010, 09:00 AM
Yes, give them a list of where you had been. It shows that you have been shortlist for interview by many companies.
Aug 4 2010, 09:04 AM
5,366 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(faceless @ Aug 4 2010, 09:00 AM) Yes, give them a list of where you had been. It shows that you have been shortlist for interview by many companies. what if they ask things like "let's say you got the offer from both sides, which company would you choose" or "which company in your opinion is better" or other things that attempt to probe your 'loyalty' and integrity |
Aug 4 2010, 09:14 AM
I expected you to follow up with this question but I though the answer is obvious. Have you not seen thread like "Anyone worked in XXX Company?". It is througn digging up on the company that you get good points to say why you will choose them.
Aug 4 2010, 04:29 PM
9 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Another Question~~what is ur strengthness and weakness...???
Aug 4 2010, 04:34 PM
Aug 5 2010, 01:56 PM
4 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
what do u see urself after 5 years???
Aug 5 2010, 03:12 PM
Seriously, what do you see yourself in 5 year. I would love to be in your post or even be your boss. Lets be realistic about it, most likely I would just be promote by a grade or two and still be serving you loyally. What plans do you have for me? I will do my best to make it happen.
Aug 5 2010, 05:19 PM
4 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
The question~~~Why u want to join this country and what is your contribution???
Aug 6 2010, 09:48 AM
There is no model answer to this question Isabelle.
You need to do find out more about the company. If it is a public listed company, you ca go to Bursa site to look at their Annual report and whatever announcement they have made. For small companies, you can put up a thread and ask forummers here if they can tell you anything about the company. Make a note of the company's strength. Those are the points to answer ths question. Write about 20 lines if you can then select the best 10 lines. If you have no information about the company, whatever answer you give will not impress the interviewer. |
Aug 6 2010, 12:47 PM
72 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(Isabelle_86 @ Aug 5 2010, 05:19 PM) I do believe you mean to say company not country.Questions you need to answer : 1. Is this your first job or perhaps your 2nd or 3rd? Reason I ask this is because you can reply back generally stating that you would like to join the company as to expand my experience in this field or industry. If so happen you were asked why this particular company? You can generally answer that this is afterall an interview hence I'm here to find out for myself what this company has to offer myself. As for your 2nd question, it really all boils down to what really are your strengths? Are you a multitasker? Are you a specialist perhaps? How you can go about answering this questions is what type of company is that (eg. IBM, HP) hence you can respond back with your strengths (eg. Can contribute because you have many years in dealing with hardware / software, I'm a people person, I get along well with people so you can be a good team player, etc) |
| Change to: | 0.0213sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:05 PM |