Standard Questions during Interview

Gormaz
post Jul 16 2010, 04:15 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Jul 16 2010, 10:16 AM)
what should i answer if the the interviewer asked:
1) why are you applying for this position (animal helper at a shelter) when you have a degree in marketing?
my reason:
- i loves dog
- interested to help and save the animals (taking care of them)
- i want to do something i have always wanted to do after fulfilling my parents wish of getting a degree.
2) why do you think that you're suitable for the job?

i know answer like this do not sound convincing at all. how can i make it to be more convincing?
Yar, I agree with TommyTan, I don't see anything wrong with saying you want to work in a kennel because you love dogs and co.
I don't really see any nice reason you could use anyway.
Gormaz
post Jul 27 2010, 11:36 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(DDSFan8 @ Jul 27 2010, 10:35 PM)
well looking back, that place really not suited for me la. Anyway, I resigned liao. But my colleague told me, just be honest in your next interview but don't bad mouth your ex-company.
Yep, I would agree with that also, be honest but do not make it looks like it was a dump or anything.
Gormaz
post Aug 10 2010, 11:54 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Aug 9 2010, 09:35 AM)
Be honest. It is not difficult to say, "I have not done CAD for some time. It would take me a short time to be up to speed with it again."
I totally agree, I recently had a phone interview where the manager asked me about some skills I am not very familiar with (I am in IT field) and I honestly replied that "to be honest this is not my strongest skillset so I might need to self study a bit to be up to level but I can definitely find out the answers"

The boss was fine with it since it was consistent with my resume and what I explained about my previous experiences (which didnt really include the skills he was asking about)

I also had to interview people in my previous jobs and I would really really prefer such an honest answer to someone trying to BS his way out while it's obvious he has no idea what he is talking about.

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Aug 11 2010, 11:38 AM
Gormaz
post Aug 17 2010, 11:03 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Aug 17 2010, 09:25 AM)
guy, need some tips here...
wat kind of MCQ will be ask during interview for C#...looks like scary lah @_@
Depends of the job really, if you go for some kind of C# developer job or anything related to programming, they are not going to ask you about the weather outside the window, they are going to ask about technical question.
What kind of "tips" you want exactly?

C# is a computer programming language

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Aug 17 2010, 11:04 AM
Gormaz
post Aug 17 2010, 11:15 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Aug 17 2010, 11:07 AM)
how deep the question will go and its more on syntax base or logical base @_@"

neven gone for a interview test before. hope i can make it well.
All depends on what kind of job it is, is it a full time programmer job? Support? Architect?

What kind of experience in C# they expect you to have?
If you come as a freshie they won't be asking you impossible question but if you come as an "senior" programmer and can't answer anything they will know you were BSing.

Coding isnt something exactly easy to judge during an interview really but they might ask you questions about some class of objects and what you can do with them.

Another kind of question I have seen asked was "You want to do a program that do X and Z, what kind of object class would you use? And why?"
Or "You have the choice between Y and Z classes to do this, which one you choose, and why?"

Then they might also ask you more generic question about OOP concepts (classes, dependence, inheritance, private/public objects etc.).
I am a more a Java person myself so it was also questions about concepts like J2EE, sockets, web services etc.

If there is a white board in the room, I would personally use it to write up some stuff about my answer, much easier to make your code idea show if you scribble few stuff on the board.

Also shows you can be ok at doing presentation, which managers love usually smile.gif
Gormaz
post Aug 17 2010, 12:19 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Aug 17 2010, 11:54 AM)
Gormaz, is C# a newer version of C++? Or totally not related to C?
Erm, it's not a direct evolution of C++ like C++ was to C.
C# has no direct link to C++ from what I know

Was created by Microsoft as part of their .Net framework push.

The name was, according to wikipedia, more from the musical sense of # (which is a note that has to be played half a tone higher than others) to show it's a "better" programming language.
I think the closeness to C or C++ is not totally unwanted by Microsoft though smile.gif

From programming point of view, it's a language very close to Java really (personally I take it as Microsoft trying to copy Java success)

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Aug 17 2010, 12:19 PM
Gormaz
post Aug 23 2010, 11:45 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

@faceless: yar it's pronounced "C-sharp" also for the programming language smile.gif
For differences, like u said the "loops and co" are still there, since that's just the way the computer and algorithms theory are built (which are independent on which language you are writing), after that difference tends to be more on the functionality and use of doing things.

Like you may be able to do the same things in BASIC and in Java but it might take you twice as much time and 3-4 times the number of code lines, which make it harder to correct, take more space etc.
Or for doing more advanced stuff like networking, advance User Interface and co, it might not be implemented in BASIC etc.

At the end anyway all the languages are translated into machine code which will be the same for the computer, programming languages are created for easing the coding part for the human, for the computer it's all the same ^^

@leongal, yar you better be ready to have some very good explanation for the "Why?" question that is sure to follow.
Badmouthing previous company is usually frowned upon in an interview and saying "I don't really get along with my colleagues" might make the interviewer YOU were the problem, not them etc.

The usual BS about "wanting to learn new things or expand your horizons" usually works pretty well...

0.0481sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:06 AM