doremon
post Jan 18 2013, 08:47 PM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,619 posts

QUOTE(hader777 @ Jan 18 2013, 08:20 PM)
Live with parents, drive old car is an option

But lifestyle not cool... want to pikat awek with new shiny car

i thought with 4k salary enough, 1k house 1k car 1k everday use 1k saving
Lifestyle, piat awek and new cars are option/ticket to spend more money. Especially girls nowadays sweat.gif .
I rather be alone and control everything I have smile.gif (Which im doing now tongue.gif )
AAAABBBB
post Jan 18 2013, 08:54 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Jan 18 2013, 07:09 PM)
AAAABBBB, you my idol already  notworthy.gif

Just to check, y don't u just live with your parents? Will safe you a lot more. Like what im doing now HEHE.
Cannot live with parents. Need to cari makan in Penang. Parents happily retired in Ipoh - better environment, lower standard of living, good food, etc. Grandparents, uncles and aunties other relatives mostly all in Ipoh. Already mention in earlier post, my parents is on tour around the world see world, I will join them in 1 or 2 trips around RM3K per year my budget become bell boy help carry heavy laguage.

Sometimes parents come stay with me, shcool holidays together with my brothers - they are teachers. Just like for a short vacation or preparing to arrival or departure from Penang airport.

QUOTE(hader777 @ Jan 18 2013, 08:20 PM)
Live with parents, drive old car is an option

But lifestyle not cool... want to pikat awek with new shiny car

i thought with 4k salary enough, 1k house 1k car 1k everday use 1k saving
u still don;t get it..

Generally..
hse - investment
car - depreciation

Myvi 1.3 Auto
Car Buying Guide – Calculate your Total Cost of Ownership!
http://savemoney.my/car-buying-guide-calcu...t-of-ownership/

Myvi vs Saga BLM
http://kereta.info/total-cost-of-car-owner...co-in-malaysia/

Pikat awek pakai Vios? U very outdate lo.... Pakai la Chevrolet Sonic..Model awek pun cantik tongue.gif

modified http://www.boldride.com/ride/2011/chevrole...-sema#gallery/4

Bumble Bee pun Chevrolet Camaro tongue.gif

http://www.google.com.my/search?q=bumblebe...iw=1280&bih=819

http://www.trendzcar.com/2012-chevrolet-ca...-bumblebee.html

This post has been edited by AAAABBBB: Jan 18 2013, 09:09 PM

AAAABBBB
post Jan 18 2013, 09:20 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Jan 18 2013, 08:54 PM)
RM80K for a Chevrolet Sonic

With that much of money u can buy low medium cost apartment or a single storey hse already..

Think think.. tongue.gif

Rich ppl like driving a bungalow on the road if using BMW 7 series

U like driving a single storey house on the road already if using Chevrolet Sonic whistling.gif

This post has been edited by AAAABBBB: Jan 18 2013, 09:21 PM
jerrymax
post Jan 19 2013, 09:21 AM

310 posts

I prefer to "drive" single storey house =D

youngman28
post Jan 19 2013, 10:40 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(hader777 @ Jan 18 2013, 05:11 PM)
I will be making around 4k+ month when i start working soon.

Since I will be busy with work I wont have time to think or plan my spending wisely once I started.

I want to ask about 2 most important thing house and car:
Im thinking 1500 for house and 1000 for car. 1500 for living + parent allowance.

1) Buying a house is consiedered liability or investment? Should i quickly get a property once i have the money for downpayment?
The extra money i have should i save in bank for dividends or for property instalment?

2) I want to save money but i also dont want to look poor therefore thinking maybe spend 1000 for vios monthly? Is it wise? Should i settle with proton? Thinking if proton i might want to change car in 5 years the car value depreciate greatly compare to vios.
Brother,

Buying a first house for fresh graduate is consider a wise choice, since house is consider an asset , and you need some roof for yrs living. Try to get a house that you can affort comfortably to pay the instalment every month. The property market was at the peak at the moment, dun be too rush to get a property, try to walk in to more house launching and familiar with what type of property offer in the market, see the real shown house and etc. When they is an opportunity arise, just grab it.

For fresh graduate, buying a new car cost almost double yrs annual income is not a wise choice, you end up burden with the car instalment and please remember never to take loan > 5 year. For my experinces owning a few local car at the initial age, the experiences told me Proton car althrough buy in cheap, but the resale value also drop like hell after 5 year, the more important aspect like safety features was missing in lower end local car. Another aspect you need to consider is proton car tend to give you bad NVH after 2-3 year ownnership. If you want new and shining car at initial 1-2 years, Proton is yrs choice.

Since you are working on Island, and yrs family in Ipoh, and the distance i can say is not that far away. The better option is to buy a Japanese used car like T , H or N, car age allow 5-6 year, the car price have dropped almost haft the value, the cost between 45-55k, more important is the car depreciation will be lower, low spare part cost, easy to maintenance, less insurance cost, less worry on theive issue and much better car insulation and NVH, even after 10 year of ownership. This range of car used to be equiped with safety feasture like ABS, airbag, VSC, BA etc. For personal matter, owning a Japanese used car , not look poor for me.

Hope this help.
ngaisteve1
post Jan 19 2013, 01:18 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Jan 4 2013, 12:57 AM)
My financial management a bit messy lo , that is why I give salary I earn working for company..

others i just roughly know how much I have lo..RM150K + more.. EPF account those all untouch yet..

To keep my mom and dad have a safe heart to sleep at night...

I put RM50K for my mom to buy senior citizen FD hong leong bank at higher rate intrest..she keeps the money for me..I seldom ask how much interest I got

Same i put RM50K for my father..You know la...old ppl when know their son got lots of money savings in their hand they also feel secure I am doing well , no need worry me so much

then I still got RM50K under Sukuk 1 Malaysia under my name, this is the 3rd year last year already...Ah...this I know coz I go get the interest 5% to pay my holidays and sometimes extra for maintainance fees..

got others RM10K in Bank Rakyat FD if not mistaken, another RM11K in BSN senior citizen under father and mother joint account, not remember how much $ in Wawasan 2020 and others...

I rarely count the money in my savings one la...When money not enough I work harder do some part time or OT. Money not at my hand make me more discipline saver...I see I no money I no buy..

I no money I eat bread drink water, or cook porridge eat few days..

I stay discipline by withdrawing max from atm machine RM200 a week..Money finish that is it...if electric bill come RM70, I go pay RM70 so I left with the balance RM130 for the week..If the streamyx bill come RM88 I go pay too ..so I left RM42 in pocket... Breakfast I skip, lunch eat at company got RM50 to swipe for 1 month..and night time I cook maggi mee or make sandwich eat..

If inflations go up too high, I work harder..I do not declare my partime income as not consistent..sometime got do get extra dollar so I can make it through that week..If not I just stay at home and minimize activity of spending money in the weekend.

From the situation on top u know la,,ignore others detail

ManAtWorkIncome - Spending = Savings
RM2800 - RM800 = RM2000

Mom and dad tell me no need worry about those inflations thing coz later going to inherited property from them. should be able to cover inflations rate.
Dad tell me not to worry about taxes too, if I get tax a lot by govt I must be earning a lot more...Should be happy.

So basically I just worry now is can I save 1 million or 2 million in 10 years time and retire earlier.
Hi appreciate you sharing all your personal finance management. one of the things i notice is saving up vs health and life. i mean sometimes life is not just about saving up for the future. We should save up but not into the other extreme that we need to skip breakfast (this is not good for your health because breakfast is the most important meal and in long term this can cause gastric too) and eating unhealthy food due to need to save up. We can control our eating lifestyle but not into skipping meals regularly. And in long term when our health is in bad shape, the money to spend to 'fix' our health can be very large amount. This is also mean some money need to be allocated for supplement/vitamins too.

Sometimes it is good to reward ourselves with nice tasty food too.

And what about entertainment or vacation expenses? This is also related to our social life too. If life is just about work hard and save hard all the time, i think it is not too 'balance' already.

Lastly, what about insurance, like life insurance, medical insurance, car insurance, pa, car maintenance?
pesona3F
post Jan 20 2013, 08:43 AM

133 posts

Hi all, I got one problem here... I just work in gov and earn 3.6k after deduct epf..
Now I'm using my bike to go to work to reduce cost.. fuel and toll and time also..
Now I need to repair my bike..the question is, should I just repair my bike which cost around 5k or by a new bike with higher cc... My bike still got hutang 2.5k with shop.. repair cost about 3k.. then 2k for accessory.. will do this in 5 month..
Or should I clear my hutang and trade with new bike.. trade my bike will get around 4k or 5k and new bike cost 17k.. really need an oppinion from you all
AAAABBBB
post Jan 20 2013, 11:59 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Jan 19 2013, 01:18 PM)
Hi appreciate you sharing all your personal finance management. one of the things i notice is saving up vs health and life. i mean sometimes life is not just about saving up for the future. We should save up but not into the other extreme that we need to skip breakfast (this is not good for your health because breakfast is the most important meal and in long term this can cause gastric too) and eating unhealthy food due to need to save up. We can control our eating lifestyle but not into skipping meals regularly. And in long term when our health is in bad shape, the money to spend to 'fix' our health can be very large amount. This is also mean some money need to be allocated for supplement/vitamins too.

Sometimes it is good to reward ourselves with nice tasty food too.

And what about entertainment or vacation expenses? This is also related to our social life too. If life is just about work hard and save hard all the time, i think it is not too 'balance' already.

Lastly, what about insurance, like life insurance, medical insurance, car insurance, pa, car maintenance?
Life not that bad after do extreme savings, even if that year if company flat no % increment at all...

RM25K - 4% interest around RM1k, each month can get RM80+ extra, so not much complaint even company give little or no increment...

Ppl must be satisfy with thank god still got job during bad time...

It is not your boss, your dog or your parents to make u rich. That is why I am thinking of opening night business sell stinky tauhu at pasar malam to increase $ . Own hardwork and sweat to earn more. No need do much investment as there is risk in investment. A few times hit the wall already. earn every singe dollar and save.

Insurance got buy a bit...Not too worry...Die die lo..I go govt hopital one...pay RM1 normal sickness or RM10 for specialist..Beratur
..what can poor blue collar like me do...I cannot afford to pay few hundred+ for insurance..

Car maintainance, road tax, insurance etc...I put work harder lo...OT

Entertainment? Sleep at cinema or watch a movie 2 , 3 times release stress..with the money balance left from RM200 a week

Vacation? RM3k budget per year..Take from interest ..

Vitamin or supplements? Rely on the free fruits company give can be an apple, an orange, dragon fruit, kiwi furit give daily one. Poor ppl that work so hard rarely feel sick one. They are extremely healthy one coz life is hard, resistance to stay alive, immune to hardship, not easily sick one. Look at those kuli working at construction site. Do they get sick often? Hand stop working, mouth feeding also stop.

Eating habit also improve....

This post has been edited by AAAABBBB: Jan 20 2013, 12:02 PM
AAAABBBB
post Jan 20 2013, 12:04 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Jan 9 2013, 08:18 PM)
Let me share with u all, a way to cook good food, use little gas and is ideal for busy ppl like me never see sun one..

Use thermal cooker...I invest around RM500 to buy this ..buy during sale..the concept simple only..

Make soup, porridge, read bean tong sui, etc

1. Throw all in the pot. Closed the lid and cook for 15-20 minutes using gas fire.

2. Put the pot into outer insulated container...and it continue to cook the whole day without using any gas or electricity..it is hot and warm when u eat that time

It usually takes 4-5 hrs, rice become porridge...

I usually cook midnight dump everything in, morning can eat porridge already...

So if make soup also same morning cook, night time come back can drink soup already...lunch time actually the soup also ready,,can drink too..

http://thermalcooker.wordpress.com/2008/09...thermal-cooker/

how did I eat?

morning
1. Go offis got free either one of this curry/ sardine bun, cakes, biscuit, etc . They rotate can take 1 or 2 in the morning. Drink Milo, White Coffee, Cappucino, etc for free at cafe

lunch
1. Company give RM50 to swipe for food per month. finish the RM50 ownself need to pay. Company give 1-2 free fruit per day.

Tea
1. Eat maggi or drink mushroom soup, eat biscuit, etc. Company give yippie

Dinner,
1. Using the thermos cooker like magic lo...can do so many good food..very cheap...can even cook bak kut teh

it can do miracle smile.gif

http://thermalcooker.wordpress.com/categor...pes-main-meals/

http://unclephilipsg.blogspot.com/2009/04/...rmos-flask.html
Eating habit improve.. luckily company give a lot of benefits..
AAAABBBB
post Jan 20 2013, 12:11 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(pesona3F @ Jan 20 2013, 08:43 AM)
Hi all, I got one problem here... I just work in gov and earn 3.6k after deduct epf..
Now I'm using my bike to go to work to reduce cost.. fuel and toll and time also..
Now I need to repair my bike..the question is, should I just repair my bike which cost around 5k or by a new bike with higher cc... My bike still got hutang 2.5k with shop.. repair cost about 3k.. then 2k for accessory.. will do this in 5 month..
Or should I clear my hutang and trade with new bike.. trade my bike will get around 4k or 5k and new bike cost 17k.. really need an oppinion from you all
u ride super bike ka?
http://harga-motosikal.blogspot.com/

kasi jual tu bike that need RM5k for repair one..settle the loan

I assume the bike u riding now cost more than RM10K, sell it coz cc big how to save? the balance money can selesai hutang dan beli je bike baru..problem free..semua pun around RM3k range..

EX5 Dream
RM3,888.00

Smash Revo
RM3,685.80

Prisma 125
RM3,466.00

Flash 125
RM3,688.00

Hanya polis saja yang perlu pakai Kawasaki Ninja kejar Mat Rempit, orang biasa pakai EX5 je, full tank RM5-6
http://arenamotosikal.com/17/12/2012/pdrm-...ugasan-rondaan/

You cannot outrun them one la..
2013 Ninja 250R is priced at RM22,590.00
2nd hand Kawasaki Ninja 250 Carb pun lebih kurang RM18K

what is the point driving so high cc? Ada AES, nanti kena saman bayar lagi overspeed limit.

This post has been edited by AAAABBBB: Jan 20 2013, 12:23 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 20 2013, 12:21 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

Agree with AAAABBBB

My old Yamaha 125Z only cost me RM6K+ and it served me well until it was stolen

Why need RM17K bike sweat.gif

Financial prudence... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 20 2013, 12:21 PM
pesona3F
post Jan 20 2013, 12:31 PM

133 posts

I'm using fz150 only.. not sbk.. if sbk, botak already.. fuel comsumtion is .ok, rm10 for 180km per day . Cruise at 120km/h.. its just engine already wear out soneed to do overhaul already.. estimate repair cost about 3k maximum.. this my first time send my bike for full overhaul
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 20 2013, 12:55 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(pesona3F @ Jan 20 2013, 12:31 PM)
I'm using fz150 only.. not sbk.. if sbk, botak already.. fuel comsumtion is .ok, rm10 for 180km per day . Cruise at 120km/h.. its just engine already wear out soneed to do overhaul already.. estimate repair cost about 3k maximum.. this my first time send my bike for full overhaul
Ooh quite long distance travel to/from work? Ok la, then getting a 150cc bike is understandable. Try keep the repairs simple and cheap then, jangan sampai mod bike oh smile.gif
Kaka23
post Jan 20 2013, 02:36 PM

8,259 posts

I still have my old bike, almost 20yrs already. Dont know what to do with it as very seldom use now.
adolph
post Jan 21 2013, 08:06 AM

Hail the hitler
832 posts

QUOTE(youngman28 @ Jan 19 2013, 10:40 AM)
Brother,

Buying a first house for fresh graduate is consider a wise choice, since house is consider an asset , and you need some roof for yrs living. Try to get a house that you can affort comfortably to pay the instalment every month. The property market was at the peak at the moment, dun be too rush to get a property, try to walk in to more house launching and familiar with what type of property offer in the market, see the real shown house and etc. When they is an opportunity arise, just grab it.

For fresh graduate, buying a new car cost almost double yrs annual income is not a wise choice, you end up burden with the car instalment and please remember never to take loan > 5 year. For my experinces  owning a few local car at the initial age, the experiences told me Proton car althrough buy in cheap, but the resale value also drop like hell after 5 year, the more important aspect  like safety features was missing in lower end local car. Another aspect you need to consider is proton car tend to give you bad NVH after 2-3 year ownnership. If you want new and shining car at initial 1-2 years, Proton is yrs choice.

Since you are working on Island, and yrs family in Ipoh, and the distance i can say is not that far away. The better option is to buy a Japanese used car like T , H or N, car age allow 5-6 year, the car price have dropped almost haft the value, the cost between 45-55k, more important is the car depreciation will be lower, low spare part cost, easy to maintenance, less insurance cost, less worry on theive issue and much better car insulation and NVH, even after 10 year of ownership. This range of car used to be equiped with safety feasture like ABS, airbag, VSC, BA etc.  For personal matter, owning a Japanese used car , not look poor for me.

Hope this help.
Youngman28,

Buying your first house after graduation is not a wise choice. Bear in mind, the default payment when you works later. It is not an asset, when later you found out the place is not strategic for investments and target growth areas, other than keep paying for a living, you're digging a big holes in your finance. House can be an asset or liabilities, property always focus on location and execution. They have their own advantages and disadvantages for freehold and leasehold. Your property is worthless if there's empty from people accessibility and demands. if you're holding your repayment too long, your interest that you're paying will legally give a bank another property for free, and you're paying two property but legally, you only owned one of it due to the interest payment.
adolph
post Jan 21 2013, 08:09 AM

Hail the hitler
832 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 20 2013, 02:36 PM)
I still have my old bike, almost 20yrs already. Dont know what to do with it as very seldom use now.
Donate to the poor, and people who need it desperately, such as orphanage or old folk home. smile.gif
youngman28
post Jan 21 2013, 10:28 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(adolph @ Jan 21 2013, 09:06 AM)
Youngman28,

Buying your first house after graduation is not a wise choice. Bear in mind, the default payment when you works later. It is not an asset, when later you found out the place is not strategic for investments and target growth areas, other than keep paying for a living, you're digging a big holes in your finance. House can be an asset or liabilities, property always focus on location and execution. They have their own advantages and disadvantages for freehold and leasehold. Your property is worthless if there's empty from people accessibility and demands. if you're holding your repayment too long, your interest that you're paying will legally give a bank another property for free, and you're paying two property but legally, you only owned one of it due to the interest payment.
I am assume that he is buying a house in Penang Island and the house in good location, and advise him to take time to search and experiences what the strategic house he is looking for. The abundance house most like will be in out skirt of the town like Rawang, or far away from Bukit Matajam. etc.
Kaka23
post Jan 21 2013, 12:42 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(adolph @ Jan 21 2013, 09:09 AM)
Donate to the poor, and people who need it desperately, such as orphanage or old folk home.  smile.gif
Before doing that, need to make full repair. Only headache is the documentations (garan, etc)..
firewire
post Jan 21 2013, 12:46 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Jan 20 2013, 12:04 PM)
Eating habit improve.. luckily company give a lot of benefits..
must think of long term, you can't skip breakfast or depend on instant noodle for long term

try to read up on health and diet, not everything healthy is pricey

besides that, if you save 25k p.a, then 4 years you already have 100k, pretty impressive!

other than saving, do you plan to double your income instead of work + part time ? do you have investments?
iStevei
post Jan 21 2013, 03:30 PM

204 posts

I also manage to save about 25k p.a and almost had 100k now but still think not enough...
Always have the thinking of what if... as in comparing with SGD currency which is 2.5x then it would be RM250k tongue.gif
Had planning to go sg for quite sometimes now, just dont have enough courage to do so.... tongue.gif
cos currently in my comfort zone... office only 5min drive away and mostly stress free environment.... or should i go sg?
it would certainly double my income nod.gif

151 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:26 PM