128 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Primitive Fish, Fish that survived Milleniums

kasturipurba
post May 31 2011, 01:22 PM

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 31 2011, 11:49 AM)
ggMing is acquainted with Fins & Greens is it ?

Pimpin had stated the address here, however, any landmarks or map i can look at? Sorry i am not familiar with OUG, hardly go there. Would love to visit his shop if any.
yup, he is.
i got to OUG at ggMing's place juz with my motocycle from klang.. cool2.gif the only one fish shop there. it isn't hard to find..but i kinda spinning round for one hour at OUG first time i got there. LOL. icon_rolleyes.gif
LeeChiaHow
post May 31 2011, 03:33 PM

QUOTE(einrennima @ May 31 2011, 11:31 AM)
ggMing,
thanx for offering those marvelous fishes  brows.gif
i'll be waiting for red tail payara and arapaima next month...
about the aquascape short course, me and my wife are interested to attend the course, do notify when it will be held k  smile.gif

one more thing, does anyone know what species is this fish?? is it available here?

These are tiny little monster that hides in sand and prey on fishes from below. Not salt water! Max size around 20cm! Guess what are they!
Thalassophryne amazonica I think smile.gif
beer8bottles
post Jun 1 2011, 01:24 AM

34 posts

one more thing, does anyone know what species is this fish?? is it available here?

These are tiny little monster that hides in sand and prey on fishes from below. Not salt water! Max size around 20cm! Guess what are they!
Frogfish, or stonefish, or something like that?
I'm looking for it too. The orangey coloured ones are cute!
kasturipurba
post Jun 1 2011, 02:15 AM

ggMing,
thanx for offering those marvelous fishes  brows.gif
i'll be waiting for red tail payara and arapaima next month...
about the aquascape short course, me and my wife are interested to attend the course, do notify when it will be held k  smile.gif

king kong puffer or maybe sand goby?? lol. laugh.gif
LeeChiaHow
post Jun 1 2011, 02:19 AM

Only Thalassophryne amazonica are purely freshwater for their genus smile.gif
EuJax
post Jun 1 2011, 07:49 PM

61 posts

Hi guys, I am suddenly craving for Arapaima! anybody have any photos to share? Would greatly appreciate...

Will try to look for fins & greens this weekend...hope I can find it.

Regards
LeeChiaHow
post Jun 1 2011, 11:13 PM

QUOTE(EuJax @ Jun 1 2011, 07:49 PM)
Hi guys, I am suddenly craving for Arapaima! anybody have any photos to share? Would greatly appreciate...

Regards
Mine biggrin.gif
this one's currently around 2ft +-
a smaller one,currently around 35 to 40cm

EuJax
post Jun 1 2011, 11:55 PM

61 posts

Hi lee, that is just lovely and what I needed! Temporary satisfaction for me until I get mine.

Now the question is, how slow can it be for an arapaima to grow in say 2 years? From a small 6 incher perhaps? My new pond will not be ready in at least 2 years but I really want to start keeping one now. So trying to gauge the timing before it outgrow the aquarium. I only have space for an 2 1/2 feet aquarium now.

Meanwhile, anybody else, keep the photos coming.
3scamry
post Jun 2 2011, 12:33 AM

This is a great thread .... love it ...... Here's my fishies ... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by 3scamry: Jun 2 2011, 12:36 AM
beer8bottles
post Jun 2 2011, 02:14 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(LeeChiaHow @ Jun 1 2011, 11:13 PM)
I envy your tank. notworthy.gif
[PIMPIN]
post Jun 2 2011, 02:30 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 30 2011, 05:16 PM)
Thanks Pimpim for the info. I heard there is pet expo coming up in MidValley this weekend. Hoping to see some big fishes there.

Lee, can you show me your setup for your arapaima ? Pimpin as well? It will be helpful for me. Thanks in advance and please, no hurry and no obligations. Only if you guys are comfortable.
Here are some of my ponds, not every single pond as there are at least two mud ponds (one over quarter acre easily) and two concrete ponds (one small, the other 40,000gal). If and when I do go to those houses, I'll get pictures. Sorry about the quality of the pictures but I don't own a camera blush.gif

http://www.monsterfishkeepers.com/forums/s...f-Nothingness-(

QUOTE(EuJax @ Jun 1 2011, 07:49 PM)

Regards
You want to go this weekend? Call me, we'll meet up somewhere and I'll guide you there. Or if you're feeling adventurous just try Google Maps or something like that and you'll find it. Very easy, got 4D/Magnum shop on one end and tire shop on the other. Just after the market/snooker center in OUG. It's basically the row of shops facing the houses. If you can find Steven's Corner, you can definitely find FnG. My car is almost always parked outside haha. Landmark also tu..

QUOTE(EuJax @ Jun 1 2011, 11:55 PM)
Hi lee, that is just lovely and what I needed! Temporary satisfaction for me until I get mine.

Now the question is, how slow can it be for an arapaima to grow in say 2 years? From a small 6 incher perhaps? My new pond will not be ready in at least 2 years but I really want to start keeping one now. So trying to gauge the timing before it outgrow the aquarium. I only have space for an 2 1/2 feet aquarium now.

Meanwhile, anybody else, keep the photos coming.
I suggest you get the ponds ready first. Sort of like what I'm doing now. No point having the fish when you don't already have its home for life ready especially given its rapid growth. For a 6in fish, in 2 years can only fit in you aquarium if you bend it in half hahah j/k

But seriously, they grow FAST.

Added on June 2, 2011, 2:38 am
QUOTE(EuJax @ May 30 2011, 11:22 PM)
Pimpin, I dont mind to see it in person of course provided you are comfortable with me coming to your place. Otherwise i'll just wait for photos, no hurry as the house will not be up anytime soon. Have a long time to go, just doing my research early and hope to start with small monster fish in aquarium, for experience sake, before putting them in that pond.

What are good to share the same pond with Arapaimas? I usually see some giant catfish or gar. And Fly River Turtles smile.gif
Yeah, sure one of these days. Perhaps we can meet up at Fins and Greens this weekend. For all you know, you can't stand me in person rclxm9.gif

Ultimately, I plan to have Arapaimas, Gars, RTCs and Sterlets all together in one pond. Massive amount of tilapia feeders so that there is no reason for them to attack each other. The Sterlet has the slowest growth but I don't foresee any problems as they are now with RTCs double their size and no problems so far.

Fly River Turtles is one thing I don't have but past couple weeks have been reading up on them. I like the fact they're pretty much aquatic turtles but the pond I have in mind might not have sufficient direct sunlight and being reptiles, I don't know if they need to be in the sun to regulate body temperature or whatever.

ggMing - FRT boleh source or not? For me sure can source anything right rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by [PIMPIN]: Jun 2 2011, 07:14 AM
LeeChiaHow
post Jun 2 2011, 03:14 AM

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Jun 2 2011, 02:30 AM)

I suggest you get the ponds ready first. Sort of like what I'm doing now. No point having the fish when you don't already have its home for life ready especially given its rapid growth. For a 6in fish, in 2 years can only fit in you aquarium if you bend it in half hahah j/k

Mine went from 30cm to 60~70cm in around 10 months
another one from 8cm to 40cm in 5months
Only fed pellets,guess thats why they grew slower blush.gif
TokiToki
post Jun 2 2011, 03:18 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(3scamry @ Jun 2 2011, 12:33 AM)
This is a great thread .... love it ...... Here's my fishies ...  biggrin.gif

Wow! Love paddlefishes and sturgeons!
[PIMPIN]
post Jun 2 2011, 07:11 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(3scamry @ Jun 2 2011, 12:33 AM)
This is a great thread .... love it ...... Here's my fishies ...  biggrin.gif

Nice, what do you feed those paddlefish? And what are your plans once they've outgrown that enclosure?
Fins_and_Greens
post Jun 2 2011, 10:21 AM

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Jun 2 2011, 02:30 AM)
Here are some of my ponds, not every single pond as there are at least two mud ponds (one over quarter acre easily) and two concrete ponds (one small, the other 40,000gal). If and when I do go to those houses, I'll get pictures. Sorry about the quality of the pictures but I don't own a camera  blush.gif

http://www.monsterfishkeepers.com/forums/s...f-Nothingness-(
You want to go this weekend? Call me, we'll meet up somewhere and I'll guide you there. Or if you're feeling adventurous just try Google Maps or something like that and you'll find it. Very easy, got 4D/Magnum shop on one end and tire shop on the other. Just after the market/snooker center in OUG. It's basically the row of shops facing the houses. If you can find Steven's Corner, you can definitely find FnG. My car is almost always parked outside haha. Landmark also tu..

Added on June 2, 2011, 2:38 am

Yeah, sure one of these days. Perhaps we can meet up at Fins and Greens this weekend. For all you know, you can't stand me in person  rclxm9.gif

Ultimately, I plan to have Arapaimas, Gars, RTCs and Sterlets all together in one pond. Massive amount of tilapia feeders so that there is no reason for them to attack each other. The Sterlet has the slowest growth but I don't foresee any problems as they are now with RTCs double their size and no problems so far.

Fly River Turtles is one thing I don't have but past couple weeks have been reading up on them. I like the fact they're pretty much aquatic turtles but the pond I have in mind might not have sufficient direct sunlight and being reptiles, I don't know if they need to be in the sun to regulate body temperature or whatever.

ggMing - FRT boleh source or not? For me sure can source anything right  rclxms.gif
BOLEH!!! my house ade... ehehhehee
3scamry
post Jun 2 2011, 12:09 PM

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Jun 2 2011, 07:11 AM)
Nice, what do you feed those paddlefish? And what are your plans once they've outgrown that enclosure?
Paddlefish eat red worms, floating pellets, mp.
That setup has been dismantled .... now they are in a liner pond . measuring 9feet by 5 feet ...
And after they have outgrown the liner pond .... i think will be put together wif my koi in a concrete pond ...
Thanks .. for viewing ... smile.gif
Fins_and_Greens
post Jun 2 2011, 03:28 PM

I've decided to sell the business and move onto other things.

Thanks guys for all the support all this time.

Pang

Added on June 2, 2011, 3:36 pmHahahah no lah this is [PIMPIN].. saja kacau pakai account org lain

This post has been edited by Fins_and_Greens: Jun 2 2011, 03:36 PM
kasturipurba
post Jun 2 2011, 04:54 PM

QUOTE(Fins_and_Greens @ Jun 2 2011, 03:28 PM)
I've decided to sell the business and move onto other things.

Thanks guys for all the support all this time.

Pang

Added on June 2, 2011, 3:36 pmHahahah no lah this is [PIMPIN].. saja kacau pakai account org lain
vmad.gif i thought it's real! flex.gif
lol, pimpin bang bang boom us aa.. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by kasturipurba: Jun 2 2011, 04:55 PM
EuJax
post Jun 2 2011, 06:20 PM

61 posts

3scamry, thanks for the video. Nice collection of fishes.

Pimpin, i think i know where steven corner is, somewhere that the pasar malam is held right? So the shop is around that area isee. I am not sure of when i'll be going but definitely want to make a visit this weekend. PM me your number perhaps ?

Look forward to meet Jason as well. Cheers.
[PIMPIN]
post Jun 2 2011, 10:12 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(EuJax @ Jun 2 2011, 06:20 PM)
3scamry, thanks for the video. Nice collection of fishes.

Pimpin, i think i know where steven corner is, somewhere that the pasar malam is held right? So the shop is around that area isee. I am not sure of when i'll be going but definitely want to make a visit this weekend. PM me your number perhaps ?

Look forward to meet Jason as well. Cheers.
Add me on FB lah, razlan.radzi@gmail.com

128 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:17 AM