128 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Primitive Fish, Fish that survived Milleniums

LeeChiaHow
post May 29 2011, 11:46 AM

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 29 2011, 03:42 AM)
Pimpin, thanks for your kind comment. I am just trying to have a nice pond smile.gif How do you make your setup flow naturally ? River waters ? That would be awesome.

Lee, what is MFK and amazon setup like ? Any photos to share ?
Regards
http://www.monsterfishkeepers.com/forums/s...+project+starts
EuJax
post May 29 2011, 03:20 PM

61 posts

Impressive...hmmm...unfortunately i wont be able to build that in near future but hopefully one day smile.gif

It is the filteration and water flow system that is puzzling me, building the aquarium is pretty straightforward in comparison.

Does Arapaima jumps alot in shallow water?
LeeChiaHow
post May 29 2011, 05:05 PM

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 29 2011, 03:20 PM)
Impressive...hmmm...unfortunately i wont be able to build that in near future but hopefully one day smile.gif

It is the filteration and water flow system that is puzzling me, building the aquarium is pretty straightforward in comparison.

Does Arapaima jumps alot in shallow water?
They can still jump,but they may not be able to gather enought energy to jump as high if they're kept in deeper water IMO

EuJax
post May 29 2011, 10:47 PM

61 posts

Isee...i always thought its the other way round. Are feeder fish ok for them for the first 5 years ?

LeeChiaHow
post May 29 2011, 11:02 PM

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 29 2011, 10:47 PM)
Isee...i always thought its the other way round. Are feeder fish ok for them for the first 5 years ?
The main diet for both of mine is pellets with mp once every 2 weeks and feeders when I feel like it tongue.gif
Expect very fast growth with feeder fish
EuJax
post May 29 2011, 11:23 PM

61 posts

Ohh...they do take pellets as well...isee...i thought they will only take live food. What is mp ?

Pardon my many noob question.
[PIMPIN]
post May 29 2011, 11:27 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 29 2011, 11:23 PM)
Ohh...they do take pellets as well...isee...i thought they will only take live food. What is mp ?

Pardon my many noob question.
I'm guessing market prawns? Anyway, if you do decide to go with live food which I firmly believe in then try to ensure its from a reliable source. I've bought hundreds of feeders from ggMing and not a single one died while in their feeder tank. But once they're in the pond its tilapia all the way. But to me, its important they never ever rely on me to feed them because once they're in the ponds, they'll have to hunt themselves although feeder tilapias will be stocked.
EuJax
post May 29 2011, 11:39 PM

61 posts

Hi Pimpin,

Whos is ggMing ? A fellow forummer here?

I understand what you mean, i would want my pair to hunt for their own food as well just as per nature. Tilapia sounds good. How about cat fish ?
[PIMPIN]
post May 30 2011, 01:36 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 29 2011, 11:39 PM)
Hi Pimpin,

Whos is ggMing ? A fellow forummer here?

I understand what you mean, i would want my pair to hunt for their own food as well just as per nature. Tilapia sounds good. How about cat fish ?
ggMing posts under Fins_and_Greens

Jason Pang
016 - 222 777 2
Fins & Greens Aquatics
18, Medan Hujan Rahmat
Overseas Union Garden
58200, Kuala Lumpur

Catfish should be fine as well, depends on what is readily available wherever you're located. Some people use snakehead fry even.

This post has been edited by [PIMPIN]: May 30 2011, 01:37 AM
LeeChiaHow
post May 30 2011, 10:07 AM

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ May 29 2011, 11:27 PM)
I'm guessing market prawns? Anyway, if you do decide to go with live food which I firmly believe in then try to ensure its from a reliable source. I've bought hundreds of feeders from ggMing and not a single one died while in their feeder tank. But once they're in the pond its tilapia all the way. But to me, its important they never ever rely on me to feed them because once they're in the ponds, they'll have to hunt themselves although feeder tilapias will be stocked.
Live food is too expensive over here,I can find any fish farms that sell catfish or tilapia fry
[PIMPIN]
post May 30 2011, 02:23 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(LeeChiaHow @ May 30 2011, 10:07 AM)
Live food is too expensive over here,I can find any fish farms that sell catfish or tilapia fry
Where are you located bro? Live food seems to be the cheapest form of food in my case. Definitely not massivore or whatever premium food.
LeeChiaHow
post May 30 2011, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ May 30 2011, 02:23 PM)
Where are you located bro? Live food seems to be the cheapest form of food in my case. Definitely not massivore or whatever premium food.
Penang,tilapia fry cost me 50cents each and catfish fry cost RM1 each and my fish
RM40 worth of tilapia can only last me 1 day but a bag of hikari foodsticks and tetra monster pellets can last me a month smile.gif

Added on May 30, 2011, 3:02 pmforgot to add that I only feed on alternate days,once evry 2 or 3 days for fishes over 30cm
Those under that size get to eat every day,except for my ATFs that get free flow feeders tongue.gif

This post has been edited by LeeChiaHow: May 30 2011, 03:02 PM
EuJax
post May 30 2011, 05:16 PM

61 posts

Thanks Pimpim for the info. I heard there is pet expo coming up in MidValley this weekend. Hoping to see some big fishes there.

Lee, can you show me your setup for your arapaima ? Pimpin as well? It will be helpful for me. Thanks in advance and please, no hurry and no obligations. Only if you guys are comfortable.

[PIMPIN]
post May 30 2011, 06:23 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(LeeChiaHow @ May 30 2011, 02:58 PM)
Penang,tilapia fry cost me 50cents each and catfish fry cost RM1 each and my fish
RM40 worth of tilapia can only last me 1 day but a bag of hikari foodsticks and tetra monster pellets can last me a month smile.gif

Added on May 30, 2011, 3:02 pmforgot to add that I only feed on alternate days,once evry 2 or 3 days for fishes over 30cm
Those under that size get to eat every day,except for my ATFs that get free flow feeders tongue.gif
Bro, tilapia fry is like RM0.04 each or something lah. Where got 40cents. You must buy in bulk, 5000 ekor is only how much.. cheap what.. they grow fast and breed ridiculously fast..

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 30 2011, 05:16 PM)
Thanks Pimpim for the info. I heard there is pet expo coming up in MidValley this weekend. Hoping to see some big fishes there.

Lee, can you show me your setup for your arapaima ? Pimpin as well? It will be helpful for me. Thanks in advance and please, no hurry and no obligations. Only if you guys are comfortable.
My Arapaima aren't in ponds yet. In fact, I've got 3 ponds semi-finished atm. MFK seems to be down at the moment. Or did you want to see the ponds in person? I don't have all the ponds from all the houses pictures because not all houses I spend time in and some haven't been for years.
EuJax
post May 30 2011, 11:22 PM

61 posts

Pimpin, I dont mind to see it in person of course provided you are comfortable with me coming to your place. Otherwise i'll just wait for photos, no hurry as the house will not be up anytime soon. Have a long time to go, just doing my research early and hope to start with small monster fish in aquarium, for experience sake, before putting them in that pond.

What are good to share the same pond with Arapaimas? I usually see some giant catfish or gar. And Fly River Turtles smile.gif

LeeChiaHow
post May 31 2011, 12:46 AM

Bro PIMPIN,Cannot buy in bulk,no space to put,unless I put them in the pond at my dads construction site

Bro Eujax,my bigger gigas is in a 6ft by 3 ft fibreglass pond,the smaller gigas is still in a 5ft tank,Gonna transfer them to the concrete pond when they're around 3 ft
konbawa
post May 31 2011, 01:15 AM

423 posts

anyone has any idea how much normally does a flounder cost ya?
izi must live in brackish water?
LeeChiaHow
post May 31 2011, 01:26 AM

QUOTE(konbawa @ May 31 2011, 01:15 AM)
anyone has any idea how much normally does a flounder cost ya?
izi must live in brackish water?
Those for sale most of the time are freshwater soles(Cynoglossus sp)
some are strictly freshwater,depends on the spcies smile.gif
einrennima
post May 31 2011, 11:31 AM

ggMing,
thanx for offering those marvelous fishes brows.gif
i'll be waiting for red tail payara and arapaima next month...
about the aquascape short course, me and my wife are interested to attend the course, do notify when it will be held k smile.gif

one more thing, does anyone know what species is this fish?? is it available here?

These are tiny little monster that hides in sand and prey on fishes from below. Not salt water! Max size around 20cm! Guess what are they!

EuJax
post May 31 2011, 11:49 AM

61 posts

ggMing is acquainted with Fins & Greens is it ?

Pimpin had stated the address here, however, any landmarks or map i can look at? Sorry i am not familiar with OUG, hardly go there. Would love to visit his shop if any.

128 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0373sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:10 AM