5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Primitive Fish, Fish that survived Milleniums

beer8bottles
post Jan 17 2011, 05:32 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(akidos @ Nov 3 2010, 12:08 AM)

Added on November 3, 2010, 12:08 amwhy no aba aba fans here ?
personally i think aba aba is more territorial and aggressive compared to any other fish i have seen in life .

Its a type of knife fish that produces mild electricity for defensive purposes ..

anyone keeping it ? i suspect mine is not eating well .
Oh.......so turns out to be that you're an aba-aba fan. No wonder you hang about my sales thread.

But I'm curious to know why you wrote on my thread that toman is more agressive than the aba-aba when you stated here that " i think aba aba is more territorial and aggressive compared to any other fish i have seen in life". Conflict of interest, perhaps? hmm.gif

That aside, regarding your aba-aba, you said that they are 4cm long. Young aba-aba are extremely fragile and are very sensitive to water changes and new environment. They may not eat for the first 3 days when you purchase them, especially at that size. I suggest you add some water conditioner and lots of place for them to hide. Filtration cannot be too strong for them (a bubble filter would be perfect) and the water needs to be clean (left over food or poop needs to be scooped out everyday).

And dude, please post photos of them. smile.gif

My aba-aba photos:

And my other fishs:

African Lungfish (got it from Anuar):

Lapradei:

Polyterus tank + African Knifefish:

Tiger shovelnose Catfish (Kept it in a 4ft x 4ft pond. It was 2ft in length, died during relocation to the new house) cry.gif

A troop of sebarau (belongs to my elder brother):

QUOTE(tony05 @ Jan 4 2011, 10:03 AM)
2011 ..new 8ft tank

Jealous, jealous, jealous.

This post has been edited by beer8bottles: Jan 17 2011, 05:34 PM
beer8bottles
post Jan 17 2011, 08:55 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(akidos @ Jan 17 2011, 08:10 PM)
WHOAAAAAAAAAAAAA .. nice aquarium .
anyway about toman - they attack anything that comes  in the range for f***s . In the sense they just bite the other fishes and let it go for the sake of doing it .

But again i may wrong since i nvr own any toman before.
eh u interested with shovel nose . Got 2 fish .. about the same size . I gave him cos my aquarium to small for them T T.
Tomans bite other fishes for fun? =_= what a strange fish...
What size are your shovelnose? My tanks are all full now.

Currently I have two 3ft, two 2.5 ft. and three 2ft aquariums which are filled. I have two more 2ft aquarium plus one 3ft that are empty but I'm afraid to fill it up with water and fish..etc. I stay in an apartment so I am scared that the floor foundation can't hold up the water weight (and if it gives way, the people who live directly under my unit....hahahahahah! Dunno what will happen to them, coz I think I'll be saving my fishes before I bother saving them). tongue.gif

Eh, seriously la. Post your aba-aba photos. I dunno other people who own them. Excited to see them. smile.gif
beer8bottles
post Jan 18 2011, 11:56 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(khairulanuar @ Jan 18 2011, 02:04 PM)
hey beer8bottles long time not here from you smile.gif...nice tank!

akidos did you know beer8bottles=she(gurl)...very rare to have a gurl who love to keep monster  thumbup.gif

Actually, I am only interested in monster fish that look cute. Like the aba-aba and the lungfish, they both have very cute faces.
You know, the polypterus pair that I have in the planted aquarium are 11 years old this year. icon_idea.gif I used to keep them in a pond, and they did reproduce (I dunno how, but my pond had a sandy floor and plenty of water plants). I only noticed when I was cleaning the pond and found 5 babies (about 4cm). I seperated them in to an aquarium, and the ^%$%#%$ feeder prawn ate up the babies. vmad.gif

After that, I moved house and had to keep them in the tank I'm having now. So far, no babies... sad.gif
Will try and get a bigger tank and plant more plants for them.

Akidos, don't nose bleed la. People are waiting for your aba-aba photos.
tongue.gif
beer8bottles
post Mar 25 2011, 12:25 PM

34 posts

Anuar, your lungfish ate up my lapradie's tail. The poor thing died this morning. sad.gif
I saw it half eaten at the back of the tank. The lapradei was already 35cm plus, dunno how the lungfish can eat it. They are usually friendly with each other. ~sigh~

Now I plan make the lungfish grow bigger since its tank is so empty. Will take some photos and upload it later.
beer8bottles
post Mar 26 2011, 11:19 PM

34 posts

[quote=khairulanuar,Mar 26 2011, 06:33 PM]
Sad to hear that sis...u should kept the lungfish alone..very ganas lile aba2 tau...nex time dont mix the fish with other....last time b4 i sell to you the lungfish want to eat my gar..lungfish bite the fish till death...

When I bought it I placed it with the lapradei and they were both okay. Nothing happened. I think the lungfish grew bigger.
Anyhow, I am keeping it on it's own now.

Do you know where I can get pelican knifefish? I would like to get a pair. Or the white dragon knife. drool.gif
beer8bottles
post Mar 28 2011, 07:39 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ggMing @ Mar 27 2011, 12:05 AM)
beer8bottles.. stay tuned....  rclxms.gif
OMG! You have them??
I am looking for ones like these:

drool.gif
beer8bottles
post Mar 28 2011, 08:35 PM

34 posts

It's scientific names is Compsaraia-samueli aka the Pelican Knife Fish

Type locality: Peru, Loreto, Río Amazonas near Iquitos

An article about it:

A new species of ghost knifefish has been described by ichthyologists James Albert and William Crampton. It has been given the name Compsaraia samueli in honour of Samuel Albert who presented the scientists with the type specimens.

Ghost knifefish (family Apteronotidae) are famous for their body shape and for using a high frequency tone-type electric organ discharge (EOD) to communicate. The native home of these fishes are South and Central America. Within the aquarium hobby, the Black ghost knifefish (Apteronotus albifrons) and Brown ghost knifefish (Apteronotus leptorhynchus) are fairly common.

Samuel’s ghost knifefish lives in the western Amazon of Peru and Brazil and was collected from flooded beaches and deep river channels. It can be distinguished from its close relatives by having a higher number of caudal-fin rays and a less tapering body shape in lateral profile.

Other distinctive features are the relatively short caudal peduncle and the comparatively small body size (as an adult). The mature male sports an extremely slender and elongated snout and engages in sparring with repeated aggressive non-contact postures, usually followed by jaw-locking and biting.

(How cool is this fish? brows.gif )

I think it can grow pretty big because I've read in some forums that it's classified as a monster fish. Probably as big as an aba-aba.

beer8bottles
post Mar 29 2011, 10:40 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(akidos @ Mar 29 2011, 09:53 PM)
these guys are super rare ..... I nvr seen them at any lfs before.

from what i read thru, these guys are very aggressive too even with their own species.
man i think my spotted  gar grow too big for my 4 feet tank .
Hey, you, when are you gonna post the photos of your tanks? smile.gif
How are the aba-abas doing?
beer8bottles
post Apr 4 2011, 01:13 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Mamat_Lisham @ Apr 3 2011, 10:51 PM)
Hello guys and girls.

I'm Mamat from Langkawi, originally from Sungai Petani, Kedah. So happy to be here. I am amazed by your fish list.

Just dropped by to share with the members of this forum my fish list.

1. Elephantnose
2. Double trunk Elephantnose
3. BGK
4. African Lungfish
5. A tank full of loaches + Sewellia lineolata in a stream set up
6. Alligator Gar (3', 2' & 9")

I have 8 tanks (1-4' + 1 5x5' fiber tank) and I'm living in a studio apartment. Alone! wink.gif

I am thinking about buying some Mormyrus sp (freshwater dolphinfish, 6-7 inches, RM150) BUT sadly the lfs mixed them with some giant chained loach and the loaches have whitespots.

I am also looking (hard) for Aba Aba knifefish. Got ah?

Good to be here.

Warm regards from Langkawi.
Hey, photos please! smile.gif

And I saw the mini dolphins at the Shah Alam Aquarium Shop a few months back. There were hundreds of them, about 3cm for Rm9. They had too many in a tank.
I have aba-abas but I don't wanna sell them. Try asking Akidos. smile.gif
beer8bottles
post Apr 4 2011, 05:24 PM

34 posts

The aba-abas when I first got them. Spent quite a lot on them too.

The fishies being transfered to Akidos.

beer8bottles
post Apr 13 2011, 04:52 PM

34 posts

[quote=Mamat_Lisham,Apr 13 2011, 01:05 PM]
My baby...

Polyodon spatula

Dude, how're the Polyodon? I saw them at the Shah Alam Aquarium shop for RM 100 each last year. They can grow really big and are difficult to take care so I didn't get them. Damn interesting fish, I must say.
beer8bottles
post Apr 13 2011, 10:23 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Mamat_Lisham @ Apr 13 2011, 05:08 PM)
died d... electric putus sekali... mati 1.... time tu selalu putus electricity... i bought them at rm75 each... 3 years ago la... they swim non-stop...
Yeah, they are like sharks. I checked online that they need a round aquarium to stop them from bumping into the glass and hurting their snouts. Also they are filter feeders (one of the reasons I didn't want to buy them). What did you feed them?
beer8bottles
post Apr 14 2011, 12:19 AM

34 posts

[quote=Mamat_Lisham,Apr 13 2011, 10:29 PM]
[quote=beer8bottles,Apr 13 2011, 10:23 PM]
Yeah, they are like sharks. I checked online that they need a round aquarium to stop them from bumping into the glass and hurting their snouts. Also they are filter feeders (one of the reasons I didn't want to buy them). What did you feed them?

fed them frozen blood worm + micro pellet... easy to feed. i kept them from bumping the sides of the aquarium by putting partition turning the aquarium into a square + placing the pump so the water pusing around the aquarium... problem solved... but when xde elektrik kerap2... semua mati...

[/quote]

Wasted.....They are very, very nice fish. Go scold TNB. Ask for compensation.
tongue.gif
beer8bottles
post Apr 18 2011, 12:14 AM

34 posts

My lungfish eating a golden apple snail.

beer8bottles
post Apr 21 2011, 11:08 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Mamat_Lisham @ Apr 21 2011, 10:50 PM)
i got from GG Ming... harga lain2 one... not in season.... u try tanya kanda GG Ming tgk... i baca on the net.... buy big. smaller ones x tahan. fragile.
Nice one you got there. thumbup.gif
Yeah, the small ones are very fragile. Sensitive to water change. I got a few at 15cm last time, half of them died, the rest managed to survive and grow (really fast). From there, there is no stopping them.

One of my 2 footer jumped out of the tank the other day, about 2 in the morning. It was half dry when I found it but gasping for air. I dumped it back into the tank and went back to sleep. I thought it'd be dead when I'd wake up, but it was alive. Everything is okay now. Damn hardy fish. Need to get a bigger tank. 3ft doesn't seem enough anymore.

beer8bottles
post Apr 30 2011, 01:19 AM

34 posts

pictures please!
Wanna see the polyodon and the sturgeon
beer8bottles
post Apr 30 2011, 07:38 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Fins_and_Greens @ Apr 30 2011, 04:55 PM)
Jeng Jeng Jeng!!
drool.gif

Must get a new tank to keep those..
Must get a new tank.
beer8bottles
post May 13 2011, 07:26 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Titan_GigAs @ May 13 2011, 04:31 PM)
ok this dunno primitive or not, i saw these few days ago at a shop, looks very nice macam straight body seahorse (same family)
heard its pain in the ass to keep but very fascinating
ada orang bela ini tak?
Marine fish?
How much was it? Looks really nice.
beer8bottles
post May 14 2011, 12:29 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Titan_GigAs @ May 13 2011, 04:31 PM)
I showed this to my brother. He said Malaysia has this. His fishing kaki caught one at a Kuala Selangor river.

Is it hardy and tolerant to water changes? I might want to get a few of them.
beer8bottles
post May 14 2011, 08:03 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Titan_GigAs @ May 14 2011, 03:12 PM)
the one i saw is freshwater pipe but got marine too
rm25, look like dragon  laugh.gif

lu kasi jadi tikus putih testing water dulu ler, lepas lu master sure sini manyak murid2 mau belajar sama lu bela ini pipefish  tongue.gif
Hahahaha. I wanna keep them but I read that they are really fickle eaters. Only eats brine shrimp or live food. If they could eat guppies, I'd get another aquarium right now. I don't like culturing brine shrimp coz my batch always dies (I am so not a pro at this). ~sigh~

On the other hand, I'd like to get a Tiger Salamander. biggrin.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0596sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:21 AM