21 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

New employer asking for my latest payslips, wondering on why ?

SUSHidan
post Sep 12 2010, 01:27 PM

330 posts

Candidate's who don't give salary slip has to be way better than those who are willing to give past salary slip. It is a sad case of, if you don't give, got other waterfish willing to give.

This post has been edited by Hidan: Sep 12 2010, 01:27 PM
dreamer101
post Sep 12 2010, 08:38 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 11 2010, 11:02 PM)
If we work on saturdays, should we be compensated with a higher amount as well? So assuming we work 20 days per month, and there are 4 saturdays, should they pay us (24/20 * market rate salary)? Assuming as well this is a fresh graduate position so there are no adjustments for experience.
QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 12 2010, 11:22 AM)
Nice piece of advise, real good one. Too bad that is not the kind of advise I'm seeking for. Can u see the question first?
Let me specify it once more, I'm just asking according to any sort of labour law out there that states that we should be getting more or any adjustments being made if we work on saturdays... =,=
The answer can be:
(a) Yes - If yes, how is it done
(b) No - means you just have to live with it

To be more specific again, it's a full-time job with a MNC. Not part-time.

*Sorry to offend u dreamer101, ur advise is one hell of an advise, but sometimes when people wants a digital camera, they don't really want a DSLR (maybe because they can't afford it or it's just not what they want. And sorry again if I posted this in the wrong section, please forgive this newbie here*
gloomberg,

As a NEWBIE, LEARN how to ask question.

A) In your ORIGINAL POST, you say "SHOULD". You did not ask what the law say.

B) You did not say

i) You started with the job with no work on Saturday but later on adjusted to work on Saturday.

ii) This is a job that you are applying that work on Saturday versus one that you are working on with no work on Saturday..

C) Law differ dependent on PAY LEVEL too.

Dreamer

Added on September 12, 2010, 8:45 pm
QUOTE(Hidan @ Sep 12 2010, 01:27 PM)
Candidate's who don't give salary slip has to be way better than those who are willing to give past salary slip. It is a sad case of, if you don't give, got other waterfish willing to give.
Hidan,

So what??

Company that hire AVERAGE PEOPLE and give AVERAGE PAY will die quickly. There is NO BIG LOSS here. And, you DO NOT WASTE your time and life on a company that do not compensate for GOOD PERFORMANCE..

In EVERY BIG COMPANIES, 20% of the people do 80% of the works. If those 20% are not compensated according, they will leave and the company will die...

The WORLD is FAIR.

HR is the DEVIL that destroy most companies....

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 12 2010, 08:45 PM
gloomberg
post Sep 12 2010, 09:26 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 12 2010, 08:38 PM)
gloomberg,

As a NEWBIE, LEARN how to ask question.

A) In your ORIGINAL POST, you say "SHOULD".  You did not ask what the law say.

B) You did not say

i) You started with the job with no work on Saturday but later on adjusted to work on Saturday.

ii) This is a job that you are applying that work on Saturday versus one that you are working on with no work on Saturday..

C) Law differ dependent on PAY LEVEL too. 

Dreamer

Oh, so I assume that lowyat forum is a professional setting. Amusing. Good then.

My question is and will be, in the event a person(male/female) is about to accept a job(white collar) offer whereby the he/she is required to work on Saturdays, SHOULD/MUST there be any adjustments being made to his/her salary. Other benefits/perks are irrelevant as my question only pertains to the SALARY and only the SALARY only. SHOULD would refer to the willingness and ethics of the company that is paying the salary, while MUST refers to the law that requires company to actually make adjustments.

Pay Level is for fresh graduate who has little experience in field (<1 year experience) within the range of (RM2,500-RM3,000)

P.S. Any discrepancy in definitions here may not be accurate.
dreamer101
post Sep 12 2010, 09:41 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 12 2010, 09:26 PM)
Oh, so I assume that lowyat forum is a professional setting. Amusing. Good then.

My question is and will be, in the event a person(male/female) is about to accept a job(white collar) offer whereby the he/she is required to work on Saturdays, SHOULD/MUST there be any adjustments being made to his/her salary. Other benefits/perks are irrelevant as my question only pertains to the SALARY and only the SALARY only. SHOULD would refer to the willingness and ethics of the company that is paying the salary, while MUST refers to the law that requires company to actually make adjustments.

Pay Level is for fresh graduate who has little experience in field (<1 year experience) within the range of (RM2,500-RM3,000)

P.S. Any discrepancy in definitions here may not be accurate.
gloomberg,

<<Oh, so I assume that lowyat forum is a professional setting. Amusing. Good then.>>

A professional ALWAYS ask question in a professional manner under ANY setting.

<< My question is and will be, in the event a person(male/female) is about to accept a job(white collar) offer whereby the he/she is required to work on Saturdays, SHOULD/MUST there be any adjustments being made to his/her salary. >>

This is a VERY CONFUSING question.

A) Has the offer been made?? Yes or no??

B) Is the offer made and subsequently the job scope change to include Saturday?? Or, the job scope include Saturday all the time but the candidate does not know...

If the offer had been made and the job includes SATURDAY work, why should the company make any adjustment??

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 12 2010, 09:42 PM
gloomberg
post Sep 13 2010, 09:56 AM

510 posts

Your great need for clarification certainly astounds me. The job requires us to work on Saturdays as regular working days, and I'm asking whether there would be adjustment because I was required to give an expected salary range. So if I THINK I would be properly priced at RM2,500, can I make an offer of adjustment at (24/20 * 2,500) = RM3,000? as I'm not sure what is the market value of this position.
Joey Christensen
post Sep 13 2010, 10:05 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 13 2010, 09:56 AM)
Your great need for clarification certainly astounds me. The job requires us to work on Saturdays as regular working days, and I'm asking whether there would be adjustment because I was required to give an expected salary range. So if I THINK I would be properly priced at RM2,500, can I make an offer of adjustment at (24/20 * 2,500) = RM3,000? as I'm not sure what is the market value of this position.
Adjustments can be made accordingly. All you have to do is inquire in a proper manner. Well, if you think you are "properly priced" at RM2,500, how the heck the RM3,000 came from? You have to recompose your composition.

I could not understand your postings. Seriously. As quoted:

"...My question is and will be, in the event a person(male/female) is about to accept a job(white collar) offer whereby the he/she is required to work on Saturdays, SHOULD/MUST there be any adjustments being made to his/her salary. Other benefits/perks are irrelevant as my question only pertains to the SALARY and only the SALARY only. SHOULD would refer to the willingness and ethics of the company that is paying the salary, while MUST refers to the law that requires company to actually make adjustments."

Regards, Joey

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Sep 13 2010, 10:06 AM
dreamer101
post Sep 13 2010, 10:09 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 13 2010, 09:56 AM)
gloomberg,

1) Have an offer being made?? Yes or no??

2) If not, why give an expected salary range??

3) They aka HR has a budget. They have a salary range. Ask them to tell you...

In ANY negotiation, whoever put out a number FIRST loses!!!

Dreamer
gloomberg
post Sep 13 2010, 10:41 AM

510 posts

ok! Got it boss!

This is a super duper huge MNC, So I would assume that the salary would be high... But they require you to write it on paper first, so does that mean I have LOST even without knowing it?

Offer has been made. I need some advise before going head to head and negotiate.
dreamer101
post Sep 13 2010, 10:47 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 13 2010, 10:41 AM)
ok! Got it boss!

This is a super duper huge MNC, So I would assume that the salary would be high... But they require you to write it on paper first, so does that mean I have LOST even without knowing it?

Offer has been made. I need some advise before going head to head and negotiate.
gloomberg,

You could always put down "Negotiable" in expected salary instead of a number.,....

Yes, you had lost...

<<Offer has been made. I need some advise before going head to head and negotiate.>>

How to NEGOTIATE??

A) They know YOUR NUMBER aka expected salary.

B) You do not know THEIR NUMBER aka salary range...

You have NO LEVERAGE..

Dreamer
gloomberg
post Sep 13 2010, 11:49 AM

510 posts

Hmmm... There must be some way I can still negotiate... =(
Well, I'll just be frank with them then. I put an averagely low price because I'm afraid that I'll overprice. Oh well, hopefully I can still negotiate(being naive and optimistic).
Charge! If a pillow fight it takes, I will still fight till the end!
dreamer101
post Sep 13 2010, 12:04 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 13 2010, 11:49 AM)
Hmmm... There must be some way I can still negotiate... =(
Well, I'll just be frank with them then. I put an averagely low price because I'm afraid that I'll overprice. Oh well, hopefully I can still negotiate(being naive and optimistic).
Charge! If a pillow fight it takes, I will still fight till the end!
gloomberg,

<<Well, I'll just be frank with them then. I put an averagely low price because I'm afraid that I'll overprice.>>

Do you know HOW STUPID that sounds???

In fact, you just put YOUR FEET in YOUR MOUTH, What you are telling them is YOU REALLY want this job and hence you are willing to settle for LOWER PAY.

If this is HOW you plan to negotiate, you must as well keep your mouth SHUT instead of looking STUPID...

Let me teach you HOW TO NEGOTIATE:

1) I really want this job and I want to work for this company for a long time.

2) Since all increment and bonuses are based on Starting Salary, if I do not get a HIGHER Starting salary, my long term salary may not keep up with the market rate even with the increment and bonuses. Hence, I may not be able to stay in this company for the long term and get paid the market rate at the same time.

3) Hence, I hope for a higher starting salary.

Dreamer
gloomberg
post Sep 13 2010, 12:11 PM

510 posts

Ah, thanks for the advise! Never really thought of that. Greatly appreciate it. Thanks! =)
A real excellent way of negotiating.
normaldude
post Sep 13 2010, 12:15 PM

261 posts

To me, I would accept the 'loss' if I manage to get what I want. I'll let the employers 'win' if I'm happy with the amount.

sad to say, i don't really have the time to attend many interviews these days and most of it will be wasting my time as i may be out of budget for most companies. so by putting a high expected salary, i only get genuine interest that are willing to pay good money for my services.

my leverage is that i will still say no if i don't get what i want, and i made it clear since day 1 what i wanted. they can have the payslips they want from me, but no means no. to me there isn't much negotiation here.. it's a simple yes or no only.

btw, i have managed to get an offers before that are higher than my expected salary because i told them i was also considering another offer.
lazyserv
post Sep 13 2010, 01:34 PM

oh mai~
745 posts

sorry to interrupt.. been away few days since raya smile.gif

well dreamer and hackwire u both got your point.. but in my hand.. if my client wan the candidate payslip.. i need to proceed accordingly

if my candidate refuse to show.. i can only advise and pursude.. if fail then there is nothing i can do..

sometimes now we or the HR wan.. is the boss or the hiring manager want..

is kinda headache especially as headhunter.. well i dont know how's other headhunter outside work as but for my part is hard

first coz im new in this field second is i MUST take care both party.. cannot decline clients request yet must try my best to help my candidate sad.gif
hackwire
post Sep 13 2010, 02:16 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(lazyserv @ Sep 13 2010, 01:34 PM)
sorry to interrupt..  been away few days since raya smile.gif

well dreamer and hackwire u both got your point.. but in my hand.. if my client wan the candidate payslip.. i need to proceed accordingly

if my candidate refuse to show.. i can only advise and pursude.. if fail then there is nothing i can do..

sometimes now we or the HR wan.. is the boss or the hiring manager want..

is kinda headache especially as headhunter.. well i dont know how's other headhunter outside work as but for my part is hard

first coz im new in this field second is i MUST take care both party.. cannot decline clients request yet must try my best to help my candidate sad.gif
it's not your fault though. many candidates are also desperate of job thus the pattern and the culture is pretty pasteur . Many job seekers left the job without planning. I am one of them too but today i have understood the whole game . Most important is that HR should not be desperate in hiring candidates who are desperate for the job. Both party must breathe normally and not heavily. Candidate must have 6 months salary back up before you quit your job and HR must really look for the right person for the job and pay according to the one that will serve the passenger on the plane while the Pilot can fly the plane smoothly. Paying some one above market rate not going to hurt the company if the company can recover that in other way. Many bosses bought new bungalows, travel overseas, invest into other biz but they really forget the one who make them prosper. As for employee, u need to look at the boss shoe as well and learn the trade which is more important. Working on Saturday or Sunday is not important anymore if you are a Brilliant employee with right attitude. If you can survive working on Public Holiday, Weekend etc than you will be able to run your own business in future. If your mind keep setting on the pay and hour, u will be forever small like a katak in tempurung. The question is CAn you GROW BIGGER than your own enemy.

gloomberg
post Sep 13 2010, 02:20 PM

510 posts

I'm not focusing on the pay... I just want to be paid accordingly... =)
lazyserv
post Sep 13 2010, 02:28 PM

oh mai~
745 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 13 2010, 02:20 PM)
I'm not focusing on the pay... I just want to be paid accordingly... =)
if ur current salary is 2k and the new company offer u 1k will u accept? no right?

so not u didnt focus on the pay just ur concern on the pay wasn't ur main issue..

i assume that as long the working environment is good, colleague is nice, pay is on date and salary is slight higher above ur current salary u will be grateful right?

sorry if i get u wrong tongue.gif

hackwire: what u say is true.. but not to be racist but i can see that the salary gab from different races

same education, slightly different abit of working experience duration but the salary will go different around 30 to 30% between (chinese, malay and indian) races

i guess chinese nowadays got high demanding on salary? tongue.gif
gloomberg
post Sep 13 2010, 02:36 PM

510 posts

yes, lazyserv... I'm still young with little experience. I'm only demanding for what I THINK I'm worth. Obviously I would think big big MNC has the capacity to pay us slightly higher, but not big big money. All I'm asking for is for the corp to pay me accordingly, and yea money is not the focus, but it is an important criteria. What I'm earning is not for myself also, but for the well-being of my family.
lazyserv
post Sep 13 2010, 02:47 PM

oh mai~
745 posts

well u can try to absorb as many experience in ur current company, when u feel u learn enough and is time for u to go to the next level, apply for other position

that time u can speak louder and aggressive, coz u got experience in hand and paper qualification to stick on thr HM head smile.gif

anyway good luck to u n wish u best of luck in ur future smile.gif
hackwire
post Sep 13 2010, 04:36 PM

4,256 posts

gloomberg, I just envy you know so much in early stage thru the internet . Last time, my time i can only follow what my heart tells me as we don't have such luxury of the internet. Young guys like you will have a stronger heartbeat and if u are able to slow it down and you will be able to cope with pressure.

at the end of day, the choice is still yours and there are still of hardworking people willing to take away your job. Best to get yourself motivated in Apprentice - donald trump show and you still see some of the Rich and Famous still crack under the pressure. There's no perfect in every time of age or experience. People will breakdown anytime.

21 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:40 PM