New employer asking for my latest payslips, wondering on why ?

dreamer101
post Sep 9 2010, 07:55 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Sep 9 2010, 07:46 AM)
It's disheartening to see HR still practice this and not calibre in finding the right candidate thus wasting everybody time. Requesting for pay slip is one thing but than they didn't promise anything at all to the candidate even after revealing your pay slip.

But one should not show your pay slip . When the manager or HR ask for it during the interview ,try to interrogate them further.

1) why you need to see the pay slip?
2) So, you have doubt that i reveal a fake previous salary?
3) Than in the first place y u calling me for interview ?
4) Do you call me for interview because I have the skill for this vacancy ?

Once you have detect something fishy or fiction about their conduct, i mean do you still want to work for them???
hackwire,

A) If they are willing to tell me what my new boss salary is, I will provide the pay slip. If they ask why, I will reply I want to know what is the maximum that I will get pay at. If they say no aka it is private and confidential, I will say same to you...

B) I NEVER tell people what my previous salary is. So, there is NO REASON to verify my pay...

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Sep 9 2010, 10:21 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(yeowa @ Sep 9 2010, 09:52 AM)
Why so secret about your current salary? Is there anything to hide or you are overdeclaring your current salary? To me, I don't think it is a big issue if HR dept is requesting for my latest payslip.

To my understanding, latest payslip is needed to verify if the information provided to them are correct. Without payslip verification, a lot of people can just lie on high salary and can just claim themselves working for BIG COMPANY!
yeowa,

Let's you go to a store and buy a table and you ask the store keeper to tell you what is the cost of the table, will he tell you??

Of course, not?? Why not?? Why is he SO SECRETIVE??

Ditto, why don't HR tell you UPFRONT how much that they budgeted the SALARY for this job?? Why SO SECRETIVE??

There is NO REASON for HR to know your previous salary.. They have BUDGETED certain amount for this job. And, they know how much to pay you. None of this is RELEVANT to your PREVIOUS PAY. The ONLY REASON why they want your PREVIOUS PAY is because they want to pay you LOWER.

If they know your PREVIOUS PAY is X, they know they can get you at 10% to 15% more. Why are you SO STUPID to make sure that you get LOWER PAY??

I NEVER tell people my PREVIOUS PAY. I had received PAY INCREASE from my new job more than 50% of my PREVIOUS PAY before.

Dreamer

Added on September 9, 2010, 10:25 am
QUOTE(lazyserv @ Sep 9 2010, 10:16 AM)
if so.. then y u reveal ur resume? is also "P&C" wat....

some company just wanna play save.. if u previous company paying u 1k and u asking for 2k.. is the company stupid enough to hired someone who ask increment for 50%?

for my understanding max increment they can accept is 30% if more.. then u can go home fly kite also

one word will describe them... they just KIASU and KIASI smile.gif

if u didnt ask for ridiculous increment and ur previous salary u stated in ur CV is true.. why not just show them?

they wont go n scan and post at lowyat  cool.gif  cool.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
lazyserv,

<<if u previous company paying u 1k and u asking for 2k.. is the company stupid enough to hired someone who ask increment for 50%? >>

1) If the JOB pay $2K per month, why should YOU settle for LESS??

2) Why should you tell people about your PREVIOUS PAY??

3) 1K to 2K is 100% increase..

4) If you are working 1 level higher and with more responsibility, why NEW JOB cannot get paid a lot more??

It is A STUPID COMPANY that judge how much to pay people based on PREVIOUS PAY as opposed to what the job WORTH to them....

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 9 2010, 10:25 AM
dreamer101
post Sep 9 2010, 02:17 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(lazyserv @ Sep 9 2010, 10:35 AM)
Please find my reply in red

best regards
lazyserv,

I hired people. I do not work for HR. I pay people based on what the job pays. Not on what their previous salary is.

Dreamer

Added on September 9, 2010, 2:23 pm
QUOTE(yeowa @ Sep 9 2010, 10:54 AM)
Dreamer,

Please tone down your usage of words. This forum is suppose to be for discussion and everybody have their own opinion. I am working for a MNC right now and most of the company in Malaysia do require your previous payslip UNLESS you are connected to the people inside the company. I have changed about 4 jobs over the past 10 years and all the company require my payslips. It is a normal practice to me and I have nothing to hide about my salary.

As you know, being human, they are a lot of people out in the market desperate for change of job telling the HR manager how great they are and they are paid so well in the current company, how do the HR verify this? On performance, HR manager may want to call the reference and as for pay, how do they benchmark? Agree that some company will give you a lower amount based on your previous pay but remember it is not all. If you are agressive to the HR dept by telling them what is the budgeted salary for this job, what is the first impression towards the HR manager? Remember, you are not the only one applying for the job. They are list of people interested.

My current job give me almost 70% increase in salary from my previous job. That was like 4years ago and I do provide them with payslip. In conclusion, I certainly find there is no problem providing my payslip during the interview or job application. smile.gif

Regards,
yeowa
yeowa,

That is WHY I do not deal with HR. I contact the hiring manager DIRECTLY. HR just rubber stamped the offer after the deal is done...

<<As you know, being human, they are a lot of people out in the market desperate for change of job telling the HR manager how great they are and they are paid so well in the current company, how do the HR verify this?>>

You should know by now... HR is CLUELESS as to what the PERSON worth to the company. You are just a NUMBER to them. In order to get pay more, you need to deal with HIRING MANAGER directly...

The PREVIOUS PAY has to do with PREVIOUS COMPANY think you are WORTH to them. It has NOTHING to do with the new job...

I had 10+ jobs across 20+ years and 6+ companies...

I NEVER get my jobs through HR....

Dreamer

Added on September 9, 2010, 2:31 pm
QUOTE(UnnAmeD_R @ Sep 9 2010, 11:17 AM)
my personal experience; I will comply and provide the pay slip upon request, I have nothing to hide. At the same time, I will still put the amount of salary of my choice on the application form, regardless whether it's 10% increase or 100% increase (of course must be reasonable, you must know your own worth).

To my understanding that is what "expected salary" means, I get what I expect to be a satisfied employee. Providing previous payslip without hesitation and demanding a high salary just shows one thing about me; that with the skills I have, I know I am underpaid as shown on my payslip and I am confident my real worth is as mentioned by my expected salary.

When a job is offered, the ball is in my court, if I am not satisfied with the salary offered, I re-negotiate, but the if I am not satisfied with the final offer, I reject. I will not go into a new job being not fully satisfied with the salary or any other aspects of the employment package. That will not be good for my relationship with the new employer.
UnnAmeD_R,

<<At the same time, I will still put the amount of salary of my choice on the application form,>>

In expected salary, I put "Negotiable". Plus, I do not put in my previous salary..

You know what you want... But, how do you know HOW MUCH they need you??? You don't...

In a negotiation, whoever put out the first number, loses...

I would not even negotiate or talk about salary with Hiring Manager until they tell me the salary range...

<<When a job is offered, the ball is in my court, if I am not satisfied with the salary offered, I re-negotiate, >>

You CANNOT. In many MNC, they have a rule on how much increment that they can give you based on YOUR PREVIOUS SALARY. So, as soon as you give out YOUR PREVIOUS SALARY, the Hiring Manager cannot make you a better offer even if he / she wants to. The HR folks will and can stop that...

But, if you do not give out YOUR PREVIOUS SALARY, the Hiring Manager can make you a better offer...

Dreamer

Added on September 9, 2010, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(CKJMark @ Sep 9 2010, 11:18 AM)
At the end of the day, it boils down to how badly you want the job.

If you want the job, you will do what they ask of you.

If you want to hold back information to negotiate and what not, then you take the risk of being rejected because other candidate may accommodate their request.

In cases like this, like Yeowa says, "What is your chance of success if other candidates provide and you refuse to provide?"

You can complain about your "rights" and "P&C info" and "fairness" but the fact is it simply boils down to how badly you want the job.  All is fair in this game.  As much as you want to keep your leverage, they want to hold on to their's too.
CKJMark,

<<In cases like this, like Yeowa says, "What is your chance of success if other candidates provide and you refuse to provide?">>

Average people do not get hire...

<<how badly you want the job.>>

People that show badly that they need a job is NOT VERY GOOD.. Why should I hire them?? I want to hire winners not losers...

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 9 2010, 02:34 PM
dreamer101
post Sep 9 2010, 02:44 PM

15,855 posts

Folks,

It is VERY SIMPLE...

Any good company know how much a job worth to them. Hence, they know how much to pay?? Why has that got ANYTHING to do with YOUR PREVIOUS PAY?? Nothing!!!

Now, what would me as a Hiring Manager want to hire SOMEONE that do not know how to negotiate and keep their mouth shut??? Especially, for a senior position?? I would not..

A) I NEVER ask about PREVIOUS PAY

B) I will REJECT anyone that volunteer that information...

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 9 2010, 02:45 PM
dreamer101
post Sep 9 2010, 08:35 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(yeowa @ Sep 9 2010, 03:26 PM)
I am curious what industry is ur co. It is very different from my experience. Well we all learn. tongue.gif smile.gif

No hardfeeling, i feel dreamer and hackwire are very proud and arrogant.
yeowa,

IT / Data Comm / Telecom..

Or, you have NEVER met people that are SENIOR ENOUGH to know their own worth...

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Sep 9 2010, 03:28 PM)
@dreamer
I'm more interested on HOW did you deal directly with the hiring manager instead of HR. Because I would assume it is the HR that calls / interviews you. Another point is that how do you even know whois the hiring manager?
(Pardon me on this issue as I'm still quite fresh in the working world and want to know more on this "advantage")
kelvin_tan,

It is VERY SIMPLE. People networking....

How could you NOT KNOW?? Especially in Malaysia. It is a small world.. In every industry, there are ONLY a small number of KEY people. Everyone know everyone...

Plus, I use people networking to job hunt across multiple countries too...

Dreamer

Added on September 9, 2010, 8:44 pm
QUOTE(hrguy @ Sep 9 2010, 06:23 PM)
Typically, you are asked for latest 2 months' salary payslip. This serves the following purposes:

1. Cost
- Companies always use your last drawn salary as a base when making an offer. Other factors considered will include industry benchmark (typically obtained from a few major consulting companies such as Towers Watson), internal equity (salary paid among existing employees), the job itself and the responsibilities that comes with it (e.g. if you are an Assistant Manager, and the company offers Manager position, obviously the additional accountability and responsibility will justify a higher premium).

- Based on the point above, the HR Dept need to ensure that you are telling the truth, and not inflating your last earned salary in order to give youself a big salary jump. I know it may seem unfair, but it's the truth, and I am sure if you own a company, you would do the same.

2. Verification
- Salary slip verifies that you actually work with the company until your last working date as you state in your employment application form.
- Why is this important? So we can spot if anything is wrong. A candidate may leave because he/she was asked to go, could be due to some negative things at work, and he/she could not find job for 3 months. To make things look good, he/she entered last working day as end August 2010, when he/she actually left in April 2010. When the candidate could not produce the payslip as what he/she wrote in the form, an alert HR person will be suspicious and would verify/check further. This is just an example so you get the idea....I know background checks can be done, but this is an area that can trigger the HR, informing us that soemthing is not right here....

My opinion is this: when HR asks for such document, you have no choice. Objecting means "you are being difficult", which is not to your advantage being branded as such even before you join the company, or even offered the job yet.

What can you do to preserve whatever advantage you have left in salary negotiations? Never ever indicate your expected salary. Focus on "wow-ing" the interviewers until they would fight to hire you. Let them quote you a figure, take some time to decide and come back with a higher one (make sure you have enough salary data, since companies have limited resources, i.e. if u insist on 50% increment when the company only offers 20%, there is no way they will meet your demands, unless you are an absolute expert and your skills/knowledge are not easy to source in the market).

Having said the above, salary is not the only consideration when deciding on an employment offer.....

Hope the above helps.
hrguy,

1. Cost

BS. Benchmark let you hire AVERAGE people at AVERAGE SALARY. Why do I want to be AVERAGE and get paid the AVERAGE??

So, I bypass HR and deal with Hiring Manager. After Hiring Manager make me an offer, the HR has NO CHOICE but to rubber stamp IT.

HR is the ENEMY. They ONLY CARE about the cost..

Let me ask you a REVERSE QUESTION how long can a company last by hiring AVERAGE PEOPLE.... Not long.. HR is THE PROBLEM that is killing the COMPANY...

2. Verification

BS. This is what reference for.. Are you saying HR is TOO LAZY to call the previous employer and find out?? Even for employment verification, we could provide salary slip with salary amount WHITE OUT...

<< Objecting means "you are being difficult", which is not to your advantage being branded as such even before you join the company, or even offered the job yet.?>>

Do not deal with HR. They are the ENEMY.... And, they cannot offer YOU a job. Only the HIRING MANAGER can. So, why deal with people that are USELESS??

<< - Why is this important? So we can spot if anything is wrong. A candidate may leave because he/she was asked to go, could be due to some negative things at work, and he/she could not find job for 3 months. >>

HR is TOO LAZY to check the REFERENCE.. If HR do their job, it will all come out...

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 9 2010, 08:44 PM
dreamer101
post Sep 9 2010, 11:27 PM

15,855 posts

Folks,

80% of jobs are filled via personal referral. 80% of the jobs are filled before they ever being posted.. If YOU are talking and contacted via HR, you are ONLY applying to ONLY 20% of the job opening??

WHY are you doing that?? Fighting with all those NAIVE people on the 20% available positions??

So, all those posting on the thread are debating and arguing on 20% of the positions. 80% of positions are filled via personal referral and HR only rubber stamp the offer after the hiring manager decide who to hire...

I had 10+ jobs across 20+ years.. They are all from personal referral or through headhunter... HR NEVER play a role on the hiring decision..

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Sep 10 2010, 01:09 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(yeowa @ Sep 9 2010, 11:43 PM)
Dear dreamer, u r speaking for the IT & comm industry where skills are unique depending on individuals. It is different from FBCG and other
services industries. Wait till when recession hit and you need to apply job in other sector. No matter how senior you are, your arrogance is killing yourselves. And I hope I don't receive your CV in my company as I will put your CV aside for not fufilling my company's requirement. LOL... Just kidding...
I am out from this topic. Pointless argument with those who are as hard as a rock.
yeowa,

1) Before you argue and debate with ANYONE, how many research and books had you read on job hunting and interview. I spent 20+ years on this.. All those research point to the same conclusion and it applies to all industries....

2) I had survived at least 6 recessions. I had worked across 4 industries with 10+ jobs.. How many had you went through??

3) I always get above average bonus and increments even during recession..

4) By the way, I am a few years from early retirement...

<<And I hope I don't receive your CV in my company as I will put your CV aside for not fufilling my company's requirement.>>

5) You are NOT at the LEVEL to hire me...

<<I am out from this topic. Pointless argument with those who are as hard as a rock.>>

6) Or, it is YOU that KNOW NOTHING??

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Sep 10 2010, 07:09 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(normaldude @ Sep 10 2010, 01:57 PM)
From my experience, I put my expected salary as non-negotiable. Most people say their salary is negotiable and that's exactly what the HR ppl try to do. I do give my payslip when requested but am still firm on the figure I want. So if I earn 10k, and want 13k I still won't accept 12.5k. I don't try to ask for 15k, hoping to get 13k (or even 15k). Happened to me once, and I said no. Company crawl back later and said will give me what I want, but told them I got another offer already, so expected salary is now revised upwards. I was prepared to lose the offer already, but didn't really care since they were trying to play hardball with me.
normaldude,

So, you put in a number and say it is non-negotiable. But, why even put in a number to begin with?? Just DO NOT PUT in a number at all and say negotiable...

Until you talk with the hiring manager and know how much they need you, why put in a number in the first place??

A) If they happen to have a BIG PROJECT and they need SOMEONE like you URGENTLY and you are the ONLY few with RELEVANT experience, why settle for less??

B) On the other hand, if they happen to offer training and project that let you go to the next level, you may be willing to settle for less.

Do not even discuss about salary until you can find out MORE about the job...

In ANY TYPE of negotiation, whoever put out a number FIRST loses.

In many companies, the HIRING MANAGER can offer you 13K if HR do not know your PREVIOUS PAY. But, they cannot after HR see your pay slip at 9K or 10K. If you are willing to stick your non-negotiated expected salary, just give pay slip and white out the amount. If HR complain, ask them to go fly kite...

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Sep 12 2010, 01:31 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 11 2010, 11:02 PM)
If we work on saturdays, should we be compensated with a higher amount as well? So assuming we work 20 days per month, and there are 4 saturdays, should they pay us (24/20 * market rate salary)? Assuming as well this is a fresh graduate position so there are no adjustments for experience.
gloomberg,

1) Come on... There is NO SUCH THING as should or whatever. You get paid according to whatever you can get the EMPLOYER agree to pay you at. The CORRECT QUESTION is DO YOU KNOW how to negotiate for BETTER PAY??

2) Who say that just because you are FRESH GRAD = NO EXPERIENCE??

A) It is all depends on how you SELL yourself and how do you show what you did is RELEVANT to your job??

B) A smart fresh grad will prepare 1 to 2 years before graduation and start doing stuff to differentiate himself / herself from OTHERS.

There are 2 kinds of people in the world

A) People that LET things HAPPEN to them.

B) People that MAKE things happen.

Which kind are you??

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 12 2010, 01:32 AM
dreamer101
post Sep 12 2010, 08:38 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 11 2010, 11:02 PM)
If we work on saturdays, should we be compensated with a higher amount as well? So assuming we work 20 days per month, and there are 4 saturdays, should they pay us (24/20 * market rate salary)? Assuming as well this is a fresh graduate position so there are no adjustments for experience.
QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 12 2010, 11:22 AM)
Nice piece of advise, real good one. Too bad that is not the kind of advise I'm seeking for. Can u see the question first?
Let me specify it once more, I'm just asking according to any sort of labour law out there that states that we should be getting more or any adjustments being made if we work on saturdays... =,=
The answer can be:
(a) Yes - If yes, how is it done
(b) No - means you just have to live with it

To be more specific again, it's a full-time job with a MNC. Not part-time.

*Sorry to offend u dreamer101, ur advise is one hell of an advise, but sometimes when people wants a digital camera, they don't really want a DSLR (maybe because they can't afford it or it's just not what they want. And sorry again if I posted this in the wrong section, please forgive this newbie here*
gloomberg,

As a NEWBIE, LEARN how to ask question.

A) In your ORIGINAL POST, you say "SHOULD". You did not ask what the law say.

B) You did not say

i) You started with the job with no work on Saturday but later on adjusted to work on Saturday.

ii) This is a job that you are applying that work on Saturday versus one that you are working on with no work on Saturday..

C) Law differ dependent on PAY LEVEL too.

Dreamer

Added on September 12, 2010, 8:45 pm
QUOTE(Hidan @ Sep 12 2010, 01:27 PM)
Candidate's who don't give salary slip has to be way better than those who are willing to give past salary slip. It is a sad case of, if you don't give, got other waterfish willing to give.
Hidan,

So what??

Company that hire AVERAGE PEOPLE and give AVERAGE PAY will die quickly. There is NO BIG LOSS here. And, you DO NOT WASTE your time and life on a company that do not compensate for GOOD PERFORMANCE..

In EVERY BIG COMPANIES, 20% of the people do 80% of the works. If those 20% are not compensated according, they will leave and the company will die...

The WORLD is FAIR.

HR is the DEVIL that destroy most companies....

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 12 2010, 08:45 PM
dreamer101
post Sep 12 2010, 09:41 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 12 2010, 09:26 PM)
Oh, so I assume that lowyat forum is a professional setting. Amusing. Good then.

My question is and will be, in the event a person(male/female) is about to accept a job(white collar) offer whereby the he/she is required to work on Saturdays, SHOULD/MUST there be any adjustments being made to his/her salary. Other benefits/perks are irrelevant as my question only pertains to the SALARY and only the SALARY only. SHOULD would refer to the willingness and ethics of the company that is paying the salary, while MUST refers to the law that requires company to actually make adjustments.

Pay Level is for fresh graduate who has little experience in field (<1 year experience) within the range of (RM2,500-RM3,000)

P.S. Any discrepancy in definitions here may not be accurate.
gloomberg,

<<Oh, so I assume that lowyat forum is a professional setting. Amusing. Good then.>>

A professional ALWAYS ask question in a professional manner under ANY setting.

<< My question is and will be, in the event a person(male/female) is about to accept a job(white collar) offer whereby the he/she is required to work on Saturdays, SHOULD/MUST there be any adjustments being made to his/her salary. >>

This is a VERY CONFUSING question.

A) Has the offer been made?? Yes or no??

B) Is the offer made and subsequently the job scope change to include Saturday?? Or, the job scope include Saturday all the time but the candidate does not know...

If the offer had been made and the job includes SATURDAY work, why should the company make any adjustment??

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 12 2010, 09:42 PM
dreamer101
post Sep 13 2010, 10:09 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 13 2010, 09:56 AM)
Your great need for clarification certainly astounds me. The job requires us to work on Saturdays as regular working days, and I'm asking whether there would be adjustment because I was required to give an expected salary range. So if I THINK I would be properly priced at RM2,500, can I make an offer of adjustment at (24/20 * 2,500) = RM3,000? as I'm not sure what is the market value of this position.
gloomberg,

1) Have an offer being made?? Yes or no??

2) If not, why give an expected salary range??

3) They aka HR has a budget. They have a salary range. Ask them to tell you...

In ANY negotiation, whoever put out a number FIRST loses!!!

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Sep 13 2010, 10:47 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 13 2010, 10:41 AM)
ok! Got it boss!

This is a super duper huge MNC, So I would assume that the salary would be high... But they require you to write it on paper first, so does that mean I have LOST even without knowing it?

Offer has been made. I need some advise before going head to head and negotiate.
gloomberg,

You could always put down "Negotiable" in expected salary instead of a number.,....

Yes, you had lost...

<<Offer has been made. I need some advise before going head to head and negotiate.>>

How to NEGOTIATE??

A) They know YOUR NUMBER aka expected salary.

B) You do not know THEIR NUMBER aka salary range...

You have NO LEVERAGE..

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Sep 13 2010, 12:04 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 13 2010, 11:49 AM)
Hmmm... There must be some way I can still negotiate... =(
Well, I'll just be frank with them then. I put an averagely low price because I'm afraid that I'll overprice. Oh well, hopefully I can still negotiate(being naive and optimistic).
Charge! If a pillow fight it takes, I will still fight till the end!
gloomberg,

<<Well, I'll just be frank with them then. I put an averagely low price because I'm afraid that I'll overprice.>>

Do you know HOW STUPID that sounds???

In fact, you just put YOUR FEET in YOUR MOUTH, What you are telling them is YOU REALLY want this job and hence you are willing to settle for LOWER PAY.

If this is HOW you plan to negotiate, you must as well keep your mouth SHUT instead of looking STUPID...

Let me teach you HOW TO NEGOTIATE:

1) I really want this job and I want to work for this company for a long time.

2) Since all increment and bonuses are based on Starting Salary, if I do not get a HIGHER Starting salary, my long term salary may not keep up with the market rate even with the increment and bonuses. Hence, I may not be able to stay in this company for the long term and get paid the market rate at the same time.

3) Hence, I hope for a higher starting salary.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Sep 13 2010, 07:08 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 13 2010, 02:36 PM)
yes, lazyserv... I'm still young with little experience. I'm only demanding for what I THINK I'm worth. Obviously I would think big big MNC has the capacity to pay us slightly higher, but not big big money. All I'm asking for is for the corp to pay me accordingly, and yea money is not the focus, but it is an important criteria. What I'm earning is not for myself also, but for the well-being of my family.
gloomberg,

<<I'm only demanding for what I THINK I'm worth.>>

Mistake of the YOUNG and NAIVE people..

You ASSUME that you know what you worth.

ASSUME = Make an ASS out of U and ME.

Senior people do not ASSUME. They either know or do not know....

In term of salary negotiation, you DO NOT KNOW.

There are multiple dimensions to the Salary.

1) Market Rate

2) What you want

3) How desperate that the company need a person at this moment.

And, as a person getting more capability, you are NO LONGER average. (3) plays a MAJOR PART.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Sep 15 2010, 07:31 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 15 2010, 04:32 PM)
Ahhh... Dreamer... u're right, I lost the war without even knowing it... =( Hope to negotiate again this friday, to try to at least get an extra 200. =(
QUOTE(cloverfield @ Sep 15 2010, 05:32 PM)
Some people think that dreamer is only BSing. But after applying the negotiation skill myself, I trust his judgment.

The company have their own salary range for any advertised job. The most important point for you to do is to get that range. Most of the time, the hiring manager will blurt it out if you asked.
Folks,

Let me teach you one more thing.

Learn to say PLEASE and THANK YOU a lot more....

I had posted a few thousands posts across many years in lowyat. Many posts were useful. Only less than 10 people thank me. But, I get beat up a lot more for my BLUNTNESS and HONESTY.

Now, if you want an answer why people are LESS HELPFUL every where and you have GOT an answer. Why should they help?? If they do wrong, they got beat up. If they do right, they get NO THANKS in 99.9% of the cases....

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Sep 16 2010, 07:45 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(cloverfield @ Sep 15 2010, 08:36 PM)
I believe that for you, trust is better than gratitude, right?
cloverfield,

I have been there and done that. I had trained many people to be successful over my 20+ years career. I KNOW what I am telling people is useful. But, some people may or may not be ready to learn it. So, what has that got to do with TRUST??

My advice has more to do with the benefit to YOU. If you say please and thank you more often, you will find people more helpful to you. So, you will find your career path smoother....

Now, if you want to go one step further, help and teach other people too.. Do not be a SELFISH person that only take but give nothing back...

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Sep 16 2010, 06:58 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(iamnewbie2012 @ Sep 16 2010, 04:25 PM)
If you have nothing to hide, is ok to give them your pay slip. Unless you lied about your previous salary? wink.gif
iamnewbie2012,

1) If you are TOO LAZY to read previous posts in thread, DO NOT POST here. Stay in Kopitiam

2) If you want to be consistently underpaid, keep on doing what you are doing now..

Dreamer

Added on September 16, 2010, 7:01 pm
QUOTE(hackwire @ Sep 16 2010, 10:00 AM)
it's happening dreamer101. people this days don't say sorry, don't say thank you , don't say please and even if they do say it, it doesn't come from the heart and ended with "I really Appreciate what you did for me".

even children are like that . i noticed they don't mean most of the words they said. There's a thin line between "real" and "fake" . It's like in limbo state. saying for the sake of saying because it's a language they learn in the text.

Something is wrong somewhere in our society. Sometimes i do realized that i also did the same shit when i left someone home saying Good bye to the host but forget the background dancer... we all need to reprogram our subconcious state of mind again...
hackwire,

I DO NOT CARE about what is WRONG with OTHER PEOPLE. That is THEIR PROBLEM.

I CARE about what I am doing. Am I doing the RIGHT STUFF?? Am I doing what I can to make the world BETTER??

That is MY WAY to fight apathy....

Do what you can to make the world better. The rest is up to God / Karma...

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 16 2010, 07:01 PM
dreamer101
post Sep 20 2010, 07:31 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(ReginaJune @ Sep 20 2010, 06:08 PM)
So if the interviewer asking and request me for my currently company payslips, and i don't want to reveal it, what is the best replies and response you would answer to reject him ?
ReginaJune,

A) It is PRIVATE and CONFIDENTIAL

B) Ask the interviewer what is the Salary Range of the job. They have a BUDGET. They know how much they are going to pay. That is IRRELEVANT to yoru previous pay.

YOUR GOAL in Salary Negotiation is to get the Employer to give you the number FIRST. If you succeed in that, you WIN...

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Oct 8 2010, 07:08 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(UnnAmeD_R @ Oct 8 2010, 10:44 AM)
I recently had the chance to try out dreamer101's standpoint on not divulging current pay. To be honest, his methods have some truth to it. I tried and was surprised that it works.

Granted that I did divulge a vague range of my current salary at the very end of negotiation process, but still by holding out on this information until the end, I manage to land a job with almost  60% increase from my current pay. The best part is, I feel good about it, I feel like i was respected more, because the HR hardly push for my payslip once i took a stand, the hiring manager have some leverage to press for my hiring. It was a win-win situation, it felt like I wasn't begging for a job, and the company got it's candidate by showing some trust and respect, hiring me because of experience and not because of how cheap i was before...
UnnAmeD_R,

So, where is a thanks from you on helping you to make more money??

Dreamer

0.0217sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:17 AM