43 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

iPhone 4 and iOS 4 V3 Thread, Discussion-Antenna, Facetime etc

borgun
post Sep 5 2010, 12:25 PM

215 posts

how does gmail push notification work? will it consume my data a lot? is it better to use push or fetch? i read that push uses a lot of battery. can we say that push is equal to non-stop fetching? i dont understand how these protocols work. any help?

Added on September 5, 2010, 12:28 pm
QUOTE(warlockimran @ Sep 4 2010, 03:31 PM)
Just to add, gorilla glass is stronger and more scratch resistant, but NOT scratch proof.

That being said, I use my iPhone 4 without a case, cos I love the looks too much. Only bought a slip case, for when I need to put my iPhone in a bag etc.

Added on September 4, 2010, 4:39 pm

Video with other phone I think can with Fring.
true true! its NOT scratch proof. im not really worrried about scratches. im more worried in case i ter-drop it. i have butter fingers (ironically, its worst when im too careful)

This post has been edited by borgun: Sep 5 2010, 12:28 PM
TSdvlzplayground
post Sep 5 2010, 01:34 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(borgun @ Sep 5 2010, 12:25 PM)
how does gmail push notification work? will it consume my data a lot? is it better to use push or fetch? i read that push uses a lot of battery. can we say that push is equal to non-stop fetching? i dont understand how these protocols work. any help?

Added on September 5, 2010, 12:28 pm

true true! its NOT scratch proof. im not really worrried about scratches. im more worried in case i ter-drop it. i have butter fingers (ironically, its worst when im too careful)
push is not non-stop fetching. but some phones do promote push capabilities but it's actually non-stop fetching +_+ glad iphone is true push

lemme give u an analogy. when ppl send u a snail mail, it'll reach the post office, then the post office will send it to u right? that's push. if fetch...u have to constantly to go the post office n ask them if got mail for u or not.
AceOfSpades
post Sep 5 2010, 01:53 PM

235 posts

Does push notifications work instantly for all the apps such as fb, msn, twitter, mail, etc when your iphone is in sleep mode?
me076310
post Sep 5 2010, 02:04 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(AceOfSpades @ Sep 5 2010, 01:53 PM)
Does push notifications work instantly for all the apps such as fb, msn, twitter, mail, etc when your iphone is in sleep mode?
it does..so far i've tested the push notification with exchange email, facebook, whatsapp

i'm an iphone newbie (just got my ip4 yesterday), i was wondering is there a way to change the mail notification sound?..the default one is just too soft smile.gif
yuvanesh
post Sep 5 2010, 02:47 PM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

Nope you can't...
Suk
post Sep 5 2010, 05:54 PM

2,330 posts

How come my iOS4 4.0.2
when during sleep mode, my push notification will disable... such as, Facebook and WhatApp Push notification will stop working.. anyone know y ?
borgun
post Sep 5 2010, 05:59 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Sep 5 2010, 01:34 PM)
push is not non-stop fetching. but some phones do promote push capabilities but it's actually non-stop fetching +_+ glad iphone is true push

lemme give u an analogy. when ppl send u a snail mail, it'll reach the post office, then the post office will send it to u right? that's push. if fetch...u have to constantly to go the post office n ask them if got mail for u or not.
how does true push works then?? i mean, how does the server 'find' my iphone n send it to me?

Added on September 5, 2010, 6:44 pmok one more question. is there any way that I can quickly switch between cell data and wifi. example, when I'm at home, I wanna use wifi, n when I'm outside I wanna use data. but then, it's very cumbersome to go into the settings especially when I have to dig down the setting to turn on the cell data. anyone knows any apps for that?

This post has been edited by borgun: Sep 5 2010, 06:44 PM
MrHoh
post Sep 5 2010, 07:11 PM

Just to share my experience with SGP Steinheil Ultra Olephobic Anti Oil Screen Protector for iPhone 4. It doesn't work. Don't be fooled by it. The screen get smudges up pretty badly. Had it removed today.
tarvalslain87
post Sep 5 2010, 08:01 PM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,054 posts

Added on September 5, 2010, 6:44 pmok one more question. is there any way that I can quickly switch between cell data and wifi. example, when I'm at home, I wanna use wifi, n when I'm outside I wanna use data. but then, it's very cumbersome to go into the settings especially when I have to dig down the setting to turn on the cell data. anyone knows any apps for that?

[/quote]

Just on cell data and at home switch on your wifi? Dont wanna use switch wifi off... Or if you want you can leave your wifi always on... Never heard of any app that can do that.
elainor
post Sep 5 2010, 08:04 PM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

QUOTE(MrHoh @ Sep 5 2010, 07:11 PM)

Just to share my experience with SGP Steinheil Ultra Olephobic Anti Oil Screen Protector for iPhone 4. It doesn't work. Don't be fooled by it. The screen get smudges up pretty badly. Had it removed today.
what u mean it doesnt work??try Power Support Antiglare HD...

This post has been edited by elainor: Sep 5 2010, 08:04 PM
tarvalslain87
post Sep 5 2010, 08:08 PM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,054 posts

Im using PS antiglare HD... Good for smudges as I dont see any smudges after use.... But the retina display going to be washed out a little.
AceOfSpades
post Sep 5 2010, 08:44 PM

235 posts

Anyone here used a blackberry before? How does the push notifications for the iphone 4 compare with the bb? Does the push notifications come instantly like the bb? Need some advice here guys. Cos, i don't know which device to go for. :S

This post has been edited by AceOfSpades: Sep 5 2010, 08:45 PM
TSdvlzplayground
post Sep 5 2010, 08:49 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(borgun @ Sep 5 2010, 05:59 PM)
how does true push works then?? i mean,  how does the server 'find' my iphone n send it to me?
good question. maybe u should read this: http://notbrainsurgery.livejournal.com/35306.html
borgun
post Sep 5 2010, 11:59 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Sep 5 2010, 08:49 PM)
good question. maybe u should read this: http://notbrainsurgery.livejournal.com/35306.html
wow. that sums up everything. thx bro! i think i should use an hourly fetch instead of push.
so, this means that using pingchat or whatsapp can really drain the battery la, right?
damn.. with great power, comes great drawback

referring to the article "This is done presumably because 3G radio by design have lower battery consumption compared to WiFi"
i thought using wifi is more energy efficient compared to 3G?

Christopher7
post Sep 6 2010, 12:01 AM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

YEAH~ finally i got my iphone 4~ =D
but too bad still having final exam cannot play wif it yet cry.gif
borgun
post Sep 6 2010, 12:06 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Sep 5 2010, 08:01 PM)
Just on cell data and at home switch on your wifi? Dont wanna use switch wifi off... Or if you want you can leave your wifi always on... Never heard of any app that can do that.
cell data really drained my battery. when im at home, i only use wifi, and the battery consumption was not bad. but when im outside and i swithc on cell data only, my god~ shakehead.gif

do u guys have an always on cell data? can u guys briefly explain how does ur iphone 4 average daily life is? i mean, roughly how much data u use, how much wifi u use, and how long the battery lasts

Added on September 6, 2010, 12:10 am
QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Sep 6 2010, 12:01 AM)
but too bad still having final exam cannot play wif it yet  cry.gif
study study!!! focus bro! hahaha
that magnificient glorious elegant piece of device can really distract u. hehe rclxm9.gif
good luck with ur exam!!

p/s: u can use safari on it to study online what~ hehe

This post has been edited by borgun: Sep 6 2010, 12:10 AM
warlockimran
post Sep 6 2010, 12:13 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Sep 6 2010, 12:01 AM)
but too bad still having final exam cannot play wif it yet  cry.gif
Man dunno how I would study with an iPhone 4 sitting on my desk hehe. Work hard, consider it your reward!
TSdvlzplayground
post Sep 6 2010, 12:19 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(borgun @ Sep 5 2010, 11:59 PM)
wow. that sums up everything. thx bro! i think i should use an hourly fetch instead of push.
so, this means that using pingchat or whatsapp can really drain the battery la, right?
damn.. with great power, comes great drawback

referring to the article "This is done presumably because 3G radio by design have lower battery consumption compared to WiFi"
i thought using wifi is more energy efficient compared to 3G?
i thought the article mentioned push saves battery more than fetch? or did i misread it?

to be honest i was like u, b4 reading that i thought wifi is more efficient because it only needs to connect to a nearby router instead of searching for a faraway cell tower tongue.gif
Christopher7
post Sep 6 2010, 01:02 AM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

QUOTE(borgun @ Sep 6 2010, 01:06 AM)
cell data really drained my battery. when im at home, i only use wifi, and the battery consumption was not bad. but when im outside and i swithc on cell data only, my god~  shakehead.gif

do u guys have an always on cell data? can u guys briefly explain how does ur iphone 4 average daily life is? i mean, roughly how much data u use, how much wifi u use, and how long the battery lasts

Added on September 6, 2010, 12:10 am

study study!!! focus bro! hahaha
that magnificient glorious elegant piece of device can really distract u. hehe rclxm9.gif
good luck with ur exam!!

p/s: u can use safari on it to study online what~ hehe
QUOTE(warlockimran @ Sep 6 2010, 01:13 AM)
Man dunno how I would study with an iPhone 4 sitting on my desk hehe. Work hard, consider it your reward!
Hahah!! Thats why I keep it SEALED~~~~
but still hard to tahan~

* but too bad Lowyat still a distraction to me =.="
warlockimran
post Sep 6 2010, 01:15 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Sep 6 2010, 01:02 AM)
Hahah!! Thats why I keep it SEALED~~~~
but still hard to tahan~

* but too bad Lowyat still a distraction to me =.="
I know the feeling. Before when I had to study for exam, even gardening show on TV seemed 100x more interesting lol. Take breaks. In fact, try the Pomodoro technique.

Study for 25 minutes, then 5 minute break. That's one Promodoro. After 4 Promodoros, you can take a longer break. Breaking up the session, breaks the monotony, and also helps you focus because you know you only have 25 minutes at a time. Hope it helps!

More info here: http://www.pomodorotechnique.com/

43 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:26 AM