AMD Bulldozer & Bobcat

dma0991
post Jul 19 2011, 12:41 AM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Jul 18 2011, 11:36 PM)
^ all PCI-E 2.0??
hope they come up with PCI-E 3.0 for more future proof.
Not very easy to implement PCI-E 3.0 at this stage. Even Intel is having trouble with PCI-E 3.0 on their LGA2011 and there are rumors that the early version of LGA2011 boards will come with PCI-E 2.0 instead because implementing PCI-E 3.0 will delay them further till next year.
FullMetalBoy
post Jul 19 2011, 12:54 AM

159 posts

It was pointed out that there could be a possibility that BD was never delayed and it is 'delayed' due to the fact that AMD is production constrained and the 32nm fab is full steam for the past few months for Llano release. AMD does not have a fab of their own and GF is actually pretty small compared to TSMC, therefore it is more likely that it is production constrained. The 60-90 days could be an indication that they were just beginning to mass produce and package BD for August-October launch.

That is why I mentioned before that even if BD is what it thought to be and it totally destroyed SB in every single test it won't be able to be a huge hit due to the fact that GF is small and cannot meet the demands like Intel could with their fabs. That could also be the reason that Intel might not budge SB pricing even if BD were to come out because Intel knows that AMD is production constrained and cannot exceed 20% of the market's demand.

Most probably. AMD said the delay is a strategic move. I am more worried about their process rather than their architecture.
Well trinity is still on scheduled even bulldozer got delayed.

Not very easy to implement PCI-E 3.0 at this stage. Even Intel is having trouble with PCI-E 3.0 on their LGA2011 and there are rumors that the early version of LGA2011 boards will come with PCI-E 2.0 instead because implementing PCI-E 3.0 will delay them further till next year.
IINM SB-E comes with pci-e 3.0 but doesnt come with usb 3.0

This post has been edited by FullMetalBoy: Jul 19 2011, 12:56 AM
dma0991
post Jul 19 2011, 01:06 AM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(FullMetalBoy @ Jul 19 2011, 12:54 AM)
Most probably. AMD said the delay is a strategic move.  I am more worried about their process rather than their architecture.
Well trinity is still on scheduled even bulldozer got delayed.
IINM SB-E comes with pci-e 3.0 but doesnt come with usb 3.0
Even if it is said that Trinity is on schedule, it doesn't mean that it will come out this year. It will still come out next year at its intended release date. Despite BD being 'delayed' it should still be released this year nonetheless. I mention 'delayed' instead of delayed to point out that BD has no official news from AMD that it is delayed and I was corrected before on the notion that BD is delayed.

Which motherboard does not come with USB 3.0 these days? laugh.gif Paying top dollar for an uber expensive motherboard just to not have USB 3.0 is just daylight robbery. You can read more here.
FullMetalBoy
post Jul 19 2011, 01:18 AM

159 posts

Even if it is said that Trinity is on schedule, it doesn't mean that it will come out this year. It will still come out next year at its intended release date. Despite BD being 'delayed' it should still be released this year nonetheless. I mention 'delayed' instead of delayed to point out that BD has no official news from AMD that it is delayed and I was corrected before on the notion that BD is delayed.

i never said you were wrong. i just wanted to point out that, the delay was maybe due to supply constraint, low yields or watever internal problem they have.

Which motherboard does not come with USB 3.0 these days? laugh.gif Paying top dollar for an uber expensive motherboard just to not have USB 3.0 is just daylight robbery. You can read more here.

it seems that i was wrong here.
StratOS
post Jul 19 2011, 01:26 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

Just got myself a Crosshair 5 formula.. waiting for bulldozer now..
renz496
post Jul 19 2011, 10:06 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Jul 18 2011, 10:18 PM)
It was pointed out that there could be a possibility that BD was never delayed and it is 'delayed' due to the fact that AMD is production constrained and the 32nm fab is full steam for the past few months for Llano release. AMD does not have a fab of their own and GF is actually pretty small compared to TSMC, therefore it is more likely that it is production constrained. The 60-90 days could be an indication that they were just beginning to mass produce and package BD for August-October launch.

That is why I mentioned before that even if BD is what it thought to be and it totally destroyed SB in every single test it won't be able to be a huge hit due to the fact that GF is small and cannot meet the demands like Intel could with their fabs. That could also be the reason that Intel might not budge SB pricing even if BD were to come out because Intel knows that AMD is production constrained and cannot exceed 20% of the market's demand.
heard about this capacity thing before. from AMD announcement before in june people expect the worse we well see bulldozer in september (i believe this is the time people start speculating about that capacity thing). then some rumor comes out that the processor will out by october which lead some folks believe that AMD really have a problem with bulldozer and the delay was not caused by insufficient capacity at GF alone.

^ all PCI-E 2.0??
right now PCI-E 3.0 is not important. even GTX580 in SLI doesn't show performance decrease when using x8/x8 config compared to x16/x16. even if it does the performance penalty are very minimal
dma0991
post Jul 19 2011, 11:08 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(renz496 @ Jul 19 2011, 10:06 PM)
heard about this capacity thing before. from AMD announcement before in june people expect the worse we well see bulldozer in september (i believe this is the time people start speculating about that capacity thing). then some rumor comes out that the processor will out by october which lead some folks believe that AMD really have a problem with bulldozer and the delay was not caused by insufficient capacity at GF alone.
It is simple to cause a stir with the majority of forumers, that is why it is called FUD. A simple look at how FUD can change people's perception is OBR which lex pointed out. People assumed it is true and it spreaded like wildfire.

This is what I would assume to be 'official' announcement by AMD. It appeared in the AMD's presentation slides for Computex on June 1, 2011. It says 60-90 days so worst case scenario would be September end but then it could be early October as well so there is no clear answer to this except that AMD promised within 60-90 days and they should deliver by that time period and not next year. This is an assumption only and may not reflect what might happen in a few months time but for AMD's sake they better release something.

AMD A8-3870 with Unlocked Multiplier

AMD A8-3870
â–º 3.1GHz (?)
â–º 4MB L2 / 100W TDP
â–º AMD HD6550D
â–º Unlocked multipler for easy overclocking

narong30
post Jul 20 2011, 02:00 AM

328 posts

Keluar la cepat wahai AMD bullDozer sad.gif
zerorating
post Jul 20 2011, 02:02 AM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

^ all PCI-E 2.0??
dont worry, there are no graphic card that takes full bandwidth of pci-e2.0 yet, only ultra speed ssd can benefit from the bandwidth for the current time
billytong
post Jul 20 2011, 11:34 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

quite honestly I am not freaking care about bulldozer at all. To me Fusion is about all Bobcat core. That platform is just a perfect masterpiece for HTPC. biggrin.gif thats about just RM300-500 over a standard Media player and perform better, Internet function, word processing & no future AV format compatibility issue. I really dont see any reason to buy a Media player anymore, the high performance media player is even out of question.

I heard the next gen 28nm ones are quad core.
amirudin920927
post Jul 20 2011, 02:58 PM

///-| Kapten | Amirudin |-\\\
1,431 posts

can OC very nice with stock cooler
l7943416
post Jul 20 2011, 05:25 PM

23 posts

I read the news that AMD will begin to phase out the first generation of E series Brazos products, source:http://www.howaboutchina.com/2011/06/29/amd-plans-to-push-out-a-large-scale- a-series-fm1-am3-socket /

Is it true?
yshiuan
post Jul 20 2011, 09:20 PM

2,126 posts

am3+ socket will last for how long? until next gen of bulldozer comes out?
planning to get am3+ mobo
renz496
post Jul 21 2011, 04:07 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Jul 20 2011, 09:20 PM)
i believe most people don't have an answer for that. it depends on how long AMD wants to keep it.
StratOS
post Jul 21 2011, 04:49 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Jul 20 2011, 09:20 PM)
Lol.. the proc can last you long especially the 8-core proc.. you wont use so much core yt.. laugh.gif
yshiuan
post Jul 21 2011, 04:57 PM

2,126 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jul 21 2011, 04:49 PM)
Lol.. the proc can last you long especially the 8-core proc.. you wont use so much core yt.. laugh.gif
just wanna upgrade my mobo laugh.gif
mayb after few year will chg to 8 cores proc, n mayb tat time am3+ ald phase out laugh.gif
amirudin920927
post Jul 21 2011, 06:46 PM

///-| Kapten | Amirudin |-\\\
1,431 posts

maybe can stand for 2yrs,seems its 8core. nowadays also we can't even use all 6core for gaming,juz quad core only. more than quadcore used for graphics designing like rendering.

am i rite? if wrong pls correct me,i'm a noob. tq
chetyin
post Jul 21 2011, 11:28 PM

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Jul 19 2011, 01:41 AM)
huh...
a Few z68 is going to implement pci-e 3.0...
even Asrock were making such board.

thus i dun think there would be a problem to implement it onto the board.
not sure about LGA2011 though but the LGA2011 board is really complicated quad channel RAM really challenge the design of the board.

This post has been edited by chetyin: Jul 21 2011, 11:28 PM
saturn85
post Jul 22 2011, 02:37 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Jul 21 2011, 04:57 PM)
just wanna upgrade my mobo laugh.gif
mayb after few year will chg to 8 cores proc, n mayb tat time am3+ ald phase out laugh.gif
8 core is good for folding, especially with -bigadv. brows.gif
QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Jul 21 2011, 06:46 PM)
maybe can stand for 2yrs,seems its 8core. nowadays also we can't even use all 6core for gaming,juz quad core only. more than quadcore used for graphics designing like rendering.

more than quad core, can use for folding@home as well. brows.gif
chetyin
post Jul 22 2011, 02:42 AM

QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Jul 21 2011, 07:46 PM)

Ppl still buy it for future proof.
If the price is cheap, wont hurt to have a few extra core. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Jul 22 2011, 03:37 AM)
8 core is good for folding, especially with -bigadv. brows.gif

more than quad core, can use for folding@home as well. brows.gif
saturn85, you too addicted to folding... tongue.gif
try SB-E 6core-12threads... drool.gif

115 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.3519sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled