Studying in the UK V3

ccm123
post Oct 2 2010, 04:45 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 1 2010, 09:19 PM)
with the same logic, if your friend wants to commit suicide, you would help him do it, because he is old enough to think for himself?.........

or he wants you to bring in heroin for his addiction, you would do it?.........
Your logic itself is not valid.

Smoking is not illegal, a heroin is.

Likewise, not everybody will die because they smoke. There are tons of people who are still alive and kicking at the age of 80 even if they smoke a lot.
cherriedpie
post Oct 2 2010, 05:28 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 1 2010, 09:19 PM)
with the same logic, if your friend wants to commit suicide, you would help him do it, because he is old enough to think for himself?.........

or he wants you to bring in heroin for his addiction, you would do it?.........
I understand where you're getting at. smoking is bad, and I hate smokers, but there's nothing you can do about it. You can advise them to stop but you cannot force them. Smoking is very normal in London, and it's SO annoying to be walking in the streets and being a second-hand smoker. I can't go up to them and force the God forsaken stick out of their fingers, but I can make a disgusted face and hopefully they'll be embarrassed about it (most likely not sad.gif)

Like ccm said, not everyone would die. But most of them will. Let them.
HotChocolate
post Oct 2 2010, 05:48 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(cherriedpie @ Oct 1 2010, 08:04 PM)
it's usually quite cooling but sometimes it's so hot sleep.gif
doing way more laundry than usual cos i keep sweating.
Which part are you at?
Its so hard to sweat here in Manchester until I went for frisbee and sweat, even then I cooled down in like 5-10mins.
cherriedpie
post Oct 2 2010, 07:03 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(HotChocolate @ Oct 2 2010, 05:48 AM)
Which part are you at?
Its so hard to sweat here in Manchester until I went for frisbee and sweat, even then I cooled down in like 5-10mins.
London. =)
alvinz
post Oct 2 2010, 07:23 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(cherriedpie @ Oct 2 2010, 07:03 AM)
London. =)
almost the same as mine place since its only 45mins away ... the same bloody bad weather.. LOL ... i am complaining like an englishman now .. haha laugh.gif
limeuu
post Oct 2 2010, 08:59 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(ccm123 @ Oct 2 2010, 04:45 AM)

it is an accident of history that smoking is 'legal'......knowing what we know now, and if tobacco is a new product, it will have been banned.........however, it is an old product....

it is no accident many countries and local authorities have enacted smoking bans in increasing areas......including uk.....eg smoke free pubs.....

of course one cannot stop people from smoking in allowed areas.....

but does one have to encourage them by buying them cheap cigarettes?......

RENEGADEZERG
post Oct 2 2010, 06:05 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(ccm123 @ Oct 2 2010, 04:45 AM)
Your logic itself is not valid.

Likewise, not everybody will die because they smoke. There are tons of people who are still alive and kicking at the age of 80 even if they smoke a lot.
I think it is your logic that is not valid. First of all, what does smoking being legal or illegal have anything to do with this? We should discourage our friends against doing anything that is 'bad', it doesn't matter whether it's legal or not. You think only things that are illegal are 'bad'? And this is not about whether you help your friend smuggle something that is against the law and then you get prosecuted or not, it is about whether are you doing the 'right thing'.

And I fail to understand your last paragraph - what is your point? I think enough research has been done in the past to prove that smoking is bad for one's health, you mean you actually have to die before lets say the age of X before something is considered to be bad for one's health?

On topic: Whos enjoying UK weather? lolol laugh.gif

This post has been edited by RENEGADEZERG: Oct 2 2010, 06:08 PM
Evelyn89
post Oct 2 2010, 11:43 PM

23 posts

Cooking in Newcastle is fun,fresh food,especially meat..steak,chops are reasonably cheap sometimes even after conversion!! Well,that is at least the case in this small humble town,people are friendly my housemates come from many countries.fun...
h4343
post Oct 2 2010, 11:45 PM

hi there! any natwest users? did any of you apply for advantage blue international?
alvinz
post Oct 3 2010, 02:26 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 2 2010, 08:59 AM)
it is an accident of history that smoking is 'legal'......knowing what we know now, and if tobacco is a new product, it will have been banned.........however, it is an old product....

it is no accident many countries and local authorities have enacted smoking bans in increasing areas......including uk.....eg smoke free pubs.....

of course one cannot stop people from smoking in allowed areas.....

but does one have to encourage them by buying them cheap cigarettes?......
QUOTE(RENEGADEZERG @ Oct 2 2010, 06:05 PM)
I think it is your logic that is not valid. First of all, what does smoking being legal or illegal have anything to do with this? We should discourage our friends against doing anything that is 'bad', it doesn't matter whether it's legal or not. You think only things that are illegal are 'bad'? And this is not about whether you help your friend smuggle something that is against the law and then you get prosecuted or not, it is about whether are you doing the 'right thing'.

And I fail to understand your last paragraph - what is your point? I think enough research has been done in the past to prove that smoking is bad for one's health, you mean you actually have to die before lets say the age of X before something is considered to be bad for one's health?

On topic: Whos enjoying UK weather? lolol  laugh.gif
regardless of watever reasons, validation or watever ... is this about studying in the UK? ... please, go to Health subforum and discuss there ... else i will hitting the report button ... thanks icon_rolleyes.gif

On topic: lol, nope i am not enjoying ... if its only cold i dont mind, but with the showers of rain ... its @#$@#$@# ... laugh.gif

QUOTE(h4343 @ Oct 2 2010, 11:45 PM)
hi there! any natwest users? did any of you apply for advantage blue international?
yeap, natwest user here since there is a branch in my campus ... dont think i will be getting it, coz i dont feel worth it ...
by looking at the form, its benefit is:
1. Mobile Phone Insurance
2.25% cashback on top gigs/shows (note its cashback not discounts)
3. 16-25 railcard (can easily apply for £26/year)
4. ISIC (already got mine in m'sia)
5. Orange telco sim (already got O2 FOC during uni registration)
6. Number vaults (omg, this is stupid .. u can just save it up to google or ur laptop, unless u r doing top class secret mission or something which still doesnt make much sense)
7. Gadget cover

the other benefits does fit to be benefits at all ... so other than no.1 and 7 .. others seems like useless extra ...
cherriedpie
post Oct 3 2010, 05:20 PM

307 posts

does anyone of you use monthly contract phone here? which retail agent is more reliable - carphone warehouse or phones4u?
limeuu
post Oct 3 2010, 10:08 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Oct 3 2010, 02:26 AM)
regardless of watever reasons, validation or watever ... is this about studying in the UK? ... please, go to Health subforum and discuss there ... else i will hitting the report button ... thanks  icon_rolleyes.gif

why don't you do that.....

we are talking students abusing their uk student visas by smuggling in more than the allowed duty free cigarettes, wrong from both the legal and moral points of view......

it's abuses like this, including msians 'jumping plane' that may result in increased difficulty for other law abiding msians, both in getting student visas, as well as the possible withdrawal of visa-on-arrival for msian tourists......
Balaclava
post Oct 3 2010, 11:59 PM

5-Star Swagger
941 posts

sup sup peeps! Just came back from Paris. Had a fantastic weekend/shopping experience. All aboard to the UK already or do we still have poor chaps stranded in Malaysia?

QUOTE(cherriedpie @ Oct 3 2010, 05:20 PM)
does anyone of you use monthly contract phone here? which retail agent is more reliable - carphone warehouse or phones4u?
I went for Carphone Warehouse. So far so good no problems what so ever.

This post has been edited by Balaclava: Oct 4 2010, 12:01 AM
alvinz
post Oct 4 2010, 05:56 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(cherriedpie @ Oct 3 2010, 05:20 PM)
planning to change to sim only 12mth contract once i get my debit card ... i heard both retailer r good, best to check out both for different offers ...

addon: my friend just got a htc desire from phones4u at a good deal, everything looks good ...

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 3 2010, 10:08 PM)
why don't you do that.....

we are talking students abusing their uk student visas by smuggling in more than the allowed duty free cigarettes, wrong from both the legal and moral points of view......

it's abuses like this, including msians 'jumping plane' that may result in increased difficulty for other law abiding msians, both in getting student visas, as well as the possible withdrawal of visa-on-arrival for msian tourists......
lol ... u like to be challenged right? ... do u understand the meaning of off topic? .. or u r so great till u forgotten wat is means? ... there is a health and fitness subforum here in LYN and u can clearly and openly state ur ideas/reason/smuggling crap there, u think the admins of LYN setup that subforum for fun? ...
read through u post again plz .. each of ur post emphasized more on smoking, health or watever crap rather than other student smuggling stuff they r doing ... i have saved all ur posted just in case someone wanna edit it to for further arguement ...

british men always get drunk by consuming too much alcohol ... y not u go and bash them up telling them its bad for health and a waste of money? instead of speaking logics here, u should know that action wins over words ... smile.gif

case close ... and reported ...

This post has been edited by alvinz: Oct 4 2010, 07:50 AM
simple.ology
post Oct 4 2010, 11:40 AM

209 posts

well... ciggy price just increase to RM 10 per pack in Malaysia...!!
limeuu
post Oct 4 2010, 12:26 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(simple.ology @ Oct 4 2010, 11:40 AM)
well... ciggy price just increase to RM 10 per pack in Malaysia...!!
careful now......someone will report you for being out of topic.... biggrin.gif

dutyfree cigarettes are still very cheap....price increase is just additional taxes......
Balaclava
post Oct 4 2010, 03:05 PM

5-Star Swagger
941 posts

Yet another start of the week! when are you guys having your exams? biggrin.gif
TSCanopies
post Oct 4 2010, 03:41 PM

2,733 posts

Cheers from UK , guess everybody arriving here safely yeah? Keep it on and move this thread forward, looking forward for a V4~

Cheers!

MisterCrono
post Oct 4 2010, 04:33 PM

Non-halal troll
635 posts

QUOTE(Balaclava @ Oct 4 2010, 03:05 PM)
Yet another start of the week! when are you guys having your exams? biggrin.gif

exams .. all cramped into end of semester 2, which is on end of may

taking 8 subjects

6 having exam while 2 more purely assignment based.
Balaclava
post Oct 4 2010, 11:42 PM

5-Star Swagger
941 posts

Sup sup peeps! I got news Nottingham Malaysia Games is on the 6th of November. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(MisterCrono @ Oct 4 2010, 04:33 PM)
exams .. all cramped into end of semester 2, which is on end of may
taking 8 subjects

6 having exam while 2 more purely assignment based.
Sad wei, I got 3 modules exam on January, one of them is Internet Crime law research paper. <3 Smooth sailing for me haha

This post has been edited by Balaclava: Oct 4 2010, 11:43 PM

174 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0398sec    1.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:01 AM