Studying in the UK V3

limeuu
post Aug 27 2010, 01:17 PM

12,292 posts

if it is your own account, you do not need letter from parents or birth certs.....
limeuu
post Aug 31 2010, 12:03 AM

12,292 posts

chika matched to where?
limeuu
post Aug 31 2010, 10:13 PM

12,292 posts

i am now confused...........do they want the bank statement, or they want a letter from the bank?...........it would appear that for accounts with monthly bank statements (actual hard copy statements), that should provide all the information required?........
limeuu
post Aug 31 2010, 11:19 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(Balaclava @ Aug 31 2010, 10:27 PM)
They want a bank approved letter with the bank's letterhead stating that you are financially sponsored by your parents, or you have access to the funds.
how can the bank the bank say that?..........that is supposed to be the purpose of the letter of undertaking by parents.........

the bank's role is purely to show that the student OR the sponsor, be it parents, or legal guardian indeed do have the necessary money.........which is perfectly unequivocally shown in an official bank statement...........

actually, reading the guidelines, supporting letters from the bank is only required if the statement is an online based one printed out, or a non-itemised one like a FD certificate...........

so that differs from what some officers say.........
limeuu
post Sep 5 2010, 11:44 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Sep 5 2010, 02:00 PM)
that means i cant bring my laptop backpack while having a hand luggage?
but that's my only laptop bag (the backpack)
you should be allowed through with a backpack (notebook) and a carry-on.......airlines are normally not that fussy about a notebook in a carry bag, be it the normal bag, of a backpack.......
limeuu
post Sep 6 2010, 10:33 PM

12,292 posts

question......

the proof of finances, for the majority of msian, will be in myr........but the requirement is in gbp..........so at what rate do they convert?.........
limeuu
post Sep 9 2010, 10:28 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(cherriedpie @ Sep 9 2010, 06:25 PM)
Isn't type A hereditary?
People usually take vaccination for Hepatitis Type B.

neither hepatitis a nor b is 'hereditary'.......you cannot inherit a virus, you inherit genes and genetic disorders......

if they are taking about food borne diseases, they are referring to hepatitis a.......but really, uk is a pretty civilised country, so you are unlikely to contract hep a there....... biggrin.gif
limeuu
post Sep 11 2010, 12:43 AM

12,292 posts

talking about insurance......do international students need to buy health insurance, like in oz?........or they are automatically covered under nhs?......
limeuu
post Sep 14 2010, 05:00 PM

12,292 posts

just buy another draft for the balance.........
limeuu
post Sep 14 2010, 10:19 PM

12,292 posts

at the current exchange rate, in myr terms, there is little difference between london and melbourne in the cost of living.......if you got somewhere out of london, it's actually cheaper than sydney/melbourne...........
limeuu
post Sep 18 2010, 12:02 AM

12,292 posts

i thought someone said earlier, there is no need for a medical in student visa application?.........
limeuu
post Sep 18 2010, 12:41 AM

12,292 posts

so it's immigration (or what they call border control) (not customs lah!), or the uni student health that wants it?........

and what is it precisely that they want?.........it's no point saying they want a medical without specifying what exactly.......contrary to popular belief, you cannot have a 'full medical checkup'.........there is no end to tests that can potentially be done to detect illness........you have to be clear WHICH set of illness you are looking for.....
limeuu
post Sep 18 2010, 01:17 AM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Sep 18 2010, 12:52 AM)

immigration control mostly wans ur xray scan and maybe ur blood test ... the popular belief that u mention about the 'full medical checkup' are the general blood test report, first of all, have u checked with ur nearby hospital? before asking the above? ... most hospitals have a wellness centre which provide different packages on different medical test/checkup ...
if u consult a clinic, they will ask for a form from ur university which states what test/checkup are required, but M'sia is not in the list of medical checkup from UK education institutes so u wont be able to get the form...

ask mr google wat a general blood test consist of ... different hospitals have different packages so it varies but the search should roughly give u an idea ..
i am fully aware of these popular 'check ups' people are so fond of............but you failed to understand my point.........

it is pointless and a waste of money to do excessive tests 'just in case' the uk border agency wants some of them.....

i am asking what precisely does the border agency and/or the uni student health services want......

it looks like only the chest xray may be needed, on a random basis at immigration control......

i am not aware on any uni having any health requirements, except for health science courses (medicine/dentistry/nursing), these will normally be clearly communicated to intending students......it would be illegal (in the uk) in any other situation for the uni to ask for your hiv status......

limeuu
post Sep 19 2010, 12:08 AM

12,292 posts

the chance of getting dentistry through ucas is almost zero at this point......
limeuu
post Sep 19 2010, 02:32 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Sep 19 2010, 01:49 AM)
yes, a chest x-ray (to screen for TB) and a blood test report (for any blood transmitted illnesses). And it is not random, those with a new visa will have to go through this on arrival.
1. It is obviously NOT a compulsory requirement, otherwise they will clearly state it so.........

2. blood test for blood transmitted illness is vague, which one?.....and like i said, it is actually illegal for anyone to demand such information from anyone else......in the uk........with the exception of health science courses, where it is a mandatory requirement for public health reasons......
limeuu
post Sep 19 2010, 04:48 PM

12,292 posts

you miss the point......we are talking about official medical requirements for a new student......

knowing your own medical history is another thing altogether....

but never mind......just do what you are comfortable......

it appears that it is established there is no official requirement for a medical check up for new students to uk, unlike for oz.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Sep 19 2010, 04:50 PM
limeuu
post Sep 19 2010, 05:24 PM

12,292 posts

my question is simple......is there any official requirement or not.....
but people here are saying you need to because you want to know, maybe immigration will want, etc all kinds of reasons.....

that is missing the point......

do it if you think it helps you know your health, not because it is a official requirement by british border agency......

'medical check ups' don't really help, especially in young people, but that is a different issue..........

i should add, if british health authority behaves the same way as oz, you medical reports may not be recognised by them, they have panel clinic and hospitals where you must go to for this purpose......as they may not trust msian test results.....eg, bringing a chest xray may not be of any use, they have no way of verifying the film is actually yours......and will want another one done......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Sep 19 2010, 05:31 PM
limeuu
post Sep 19 2010, 07:57 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(Balaclava @ Sep 19 2010, 05:36 PM)
Aren't you doing the same assumption? Oz is not UK.
i made no assumption........that is why i said 'may'.....

Added on September 19, 2010, 8:07 pm
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Sep 19 2010, 07:34 PM)
What is the process of getting medical treatment from public hospital/clinic  in UK ? They said very rigid n troublesome and the waiting period for treatment is Looooooong ?
if i understand correctly, you will be covered under nhs, and you will be assigned a GP. You have to see your GP for all problems, except emergencies. You cannot go straight to see a specialist, in a hospital. You will need a referral, and an appointment. It can be slow. But you do not have to pay anything......

Of course, if you can afford it, you can go see in private hospitals, but it will cost you an arm and a leg.....

Added on September 19, 2010, 8:18 pm
QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 18 2010, 12:02 AM)
i thought someone said earlier, there is no need for a medical in student visa application?.........
this was my original question.....which part is ambiguous?

This post has been edited by limeuu: Sep 19 2010, 08:18 PM
limeuu
post Sep 19 2010, 10:33 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Sep 19 2010, 09:32 PM)

well u got ur answer in the next few post below ur question, which part of the answers provided are wrong?
i have already pointed these out..........
limeuu
post Sep 20 2010, 07:38 AM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Sep 20 2010, 12:07 AM)

i dont get wat u have pointed out .. but since its been settled it doesnt matter anymore .. just do a checkup if u think its worth or just leave it ..
there is a lot of guesswork, but nobody has ever shown any evidence that the university requires a medical examination, other than health sciences courses..........

instead, people say it is useful to do a check up......'just in case'

that is out of point.....

the point is, i think we have established so far......

british border agency does NOT need one......

universities do not request for one.....(other than health sciences, which i know from personal experience)....

therefore, officially, there is no need for one.......that therefore appears to be the answer to my original question....

16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0278sec    1.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:40 AM