Asus G-Series Notebooks V2, Asus G73, G53 and etc . . .
DoubleU
Jan 6 2011, 01:21 AM
actually for me its only the wifi card problem, everything else is great (besides the part i semi screwed my registry, which i hope i manage to repair)
but honestly the game i'm playing most now is minecraft (besides the short 16 hours of mafia which i finished in 2 days. kinda under using my laptop specs xD
maybe should have gotten a 14" laptop with great battery life if i knew i was gonna be so addicted to minecraft
jaycn67
Jan 6 2011, 01:34 AM
but this laptop stand for more than 2 years time, and coming game will be no problem on it. The johor service point got our model wfi card? they got ready spare part with them?
riku2replica
Jan 6 2011, 09:19 AM
Upcoming G series refresh with Sandy Bridge will NOT come with Nvidia Optimus. As Asus decide to disable that feature, i guess its up to the NBR guys wanna mod the bios to get it enabled via custom.
DoubleU
Jan 6 2011, 01:08 PM
imo no point in optimus since that feature is to prolong battery life and i don't think none of us really concerned about long battery life...
@jaycn, i hope so, they should have it. its just a wifi card.
lookig4room
Jan 6 2011, 02:43 PM

@Double U Yeah, I dont think i'll bring my laptop outside.. it's too heavy and inconvenient to pull out all the usb and hdmi connection ><..
teamloks
Jan 6 2011, 03:47 PM
hoho anyone thinking to change to sandy bridge can sell their g53 a1 to me
lookig4room
Jan 6 2011, 06:15 PM

@teamloks sure, im selling it for 9k, u still wan?
teamloks
Jan 6 2011, 07:42 PM
yeah i consider 9k rupiah
Cheesenium
Jan 6 2011, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(teamloks @ Jan 6 2011, 03:47 PM) hoho anyone thinking to change to sandy bridge can sell their g53 a1 to me  7k, you want? lol. Nah, im not selling mine. I like it. This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jan 6 2011, 08:29 PM
DoubleU
Jan 7 2011, 02:34 AM
Okay, just did my review of the G53Jw. Interested people make click on the link http://gam3ninj4.blogspot.com/2011/01/new-...-new-stuff.html
jaycn67
Jan 7 2011, 02:57 AM
haha, ur review critics g53 i oso dunno y the g53 bottom dun put screw on it....quite a funny and noob design and the keyboard i really dont like it, oways made me type wrong bro, the m15x will heavy then the g53 a lot?
Cheesenium
Jan 7 2011, 10:34 AM
I dont get why Asus wants to makes it so difficult to remove parts of the laptop.
Doesnt make sense at all.
riku2replica
Jan 7 2011, 11:08 AM
older models tends to be easy to access and upgrde the RAM/HDD/Wi-Fi. CPU and GPU are possible too. But G73 series is one heck neat and makes ppl look impossible to disassemble without the disassembly manual.
jaycn67
Jan 7 2011, 11:57 AM
Let me share the instruction of changing hdd in g53 with you guys which i get from XOTICPC, Here are the instructions to replacing the HDD on the G53. Its lengthy so take it step by step and slowly. Never pull or push too hard as nothing you are doing requires force at all. Should something get broken during the process you have to understand that this is at your own risk. QUOTE First we will start with the keyboard removal:
To remove the keyboard is actually pretty easy. Just take a flat head screw driver small enough to fit inside of the little notches above the keyboard. There are 5 of them and from left to right we will number them from 1-5. Start with number 2 first and take your screwdriver (be careful not to scratch the plastic) and at an angle press it inside of the hole. The idea is to move the little clip out of the way that holds the keyboard in place and then remove the screw driver quickly from the hole to cause the section to pop up slightly. Once you have done that to number 2 move on to 3 then 4 then 5. After those are all up you should be able to lift up the right hand side of the keyboard in your right hand. Holding it in your right hand now move on to number 1, press in the hole and move the latch out of the way. Your keyboard should now be fully removed.
The next step is to remove the two ribbons that connect the keyboard to the motherboard. They are held down by a latch which needs to be pushed forward on both outside edges to unlock it from its locked position. You basically just have to take your flat head screw driver and press away from the housing or in this case towards the ribbon to unlock it. The larger ribbon is your keyboard ribbon and the smaller ribbon powers your backlighting. Remove both of the ribbons and set your keyboard aside.
Next start on the bottom right of the area under the keyboard. You will need to remove two screws on the Right hand side. One is larger and one is small. The smaller one is a bit recessed and holds a latch in place that we will release here in a second to release the hand rest. Remove all of the screws on the lower Right hand side and set them aside. Next you will see a grey latch that has a hole where you just removed a screw from. Put your screw driver inside of that hold and move the latch to the left. Be careful not to put your screw driver in too far as you will damage the motherboard. Once the latch is moved to the left as far as it will go your hand rest will now be released. The easiest way to pull it up would be to take your fingernails in the middle and try to lift it up a little bit until you can just pull up on the hand rest and it easily comes out. Before you can fully remove it though there is a ribbon that is connected to the motherboard, release the latch holding the ribbon in place and then remove the hand rest.
Next you are going to concern yourself with all of the screws on the outer edge of the space you just removed your hand rest from. Move yourself from right to left and remove all screws that you see along the outer edge following the right side edge to the front of the laptop to the left edge. Now you will be able to remove the plate from the bottom of the computer which hides your hard drive. Should this plate not remove very easily you probably still have a screw in place that you missed. Check the screws on the right hand side of the under the keyboard area and all along the outer edge of the area under the hand rest. You will see a few screws holding the hard drive bracket in place, remove those screws and you will be able to use the black pull tab to pull the hard drive away from where it connects to the chassis. It should come out easily, keep in mind you are not pulling up, but out and away from where it connects.
To replace the hard drive there are 4 screws on either side of the drive that hold the hard drive in place within the bracket. Remove each of these screws and the hard drive will slide out. Put your new drive in and reverse the process. Now you are going to do everything we just did backwards. Always keep in mind that you never have to force anything very much to get it out. The hardest thing will be to remove the hand rest as once you move that release lever to the left it doesn’t really lift the hand rest all the way up but should release just enough for you to get a fingernail underneath there and pull up on it.
DoubleU
Jan 7 2011, 02:01 PM
yea, there's a disassemble guide from NBR on the front page already.
haha yea there's alot i don't like about the G5Jw, but design > other little minor issues
thus i choose the G53Jw, even if the touchpad was like that on the M15x, i would still get it. the weight of both laptops around the same. But when ur holding the M15x it feels more solid.
Added on January 7, 2011, 2:02 pmgonna send my baby in for servicing today... preparing for a 40 minute drive and hopefully i can find the place... i should really get a gps =\
This post has been edited by DoubleU: Jan 7 2011, 02:02 PM
ezzydamvp
Jan 7 2011, 10:49 PM
i just done reapplying thermal paste on my gpu...done it at my office this evening...using artic silver 5 (thats only good paste i have in office) disassembly is easy if u follow all the guide provided. was in a rush just now...havent got a chance to test the gpu...now just got back from work...will update with some pics later... really tiring day
DoubleU
Jan 8 2011, 09:05 AM
yup, my Vera is gone from my hands, need wait 2 weeks, at first the guy tell me 1 week when i call him on the phone... ASUS lagi told me 3 working days >___> *facepalm*
Cheesenium
Jan 8 2011, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 8 2011, 09:05 AM) yup, my Vera is gone from my hands, need wait 2 weeks, at first the guy tell me 1 week when i call him on the phone... ASUS lagi told me 3 working days >___> *facepalm* Aww man, hope your repair goes well.
jaycn67
Jan 8 2011, 11:53 AM
wow...2 week..im faint
Cheesenium
Jan 8 2011, 01:48 PM
My G73 is idling at 61.5C. I think repasting is needed in a few months from now.