127 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

VW Golf 1.4TSI,Scirocco1.4,Polo 1.2TSI, Volkswagen Cars Discussion.Das Auto!

forextor
post Oct 3 2010, 09:19 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Oct 2 2010, 09:33 AM)
If I'm not mistaken, it's only for the beetle...
Oh is it?.. Sorry didn't notice that... I guess VW is trying to dump all the beetles.. personally I don't find any single thing that I like with the beetle. Hope there is new much improved (with TSI engine perhaps) beetle coming soon.
eddie_al
post Oct 3 2010, 09:54 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Oct 3 2010, 03:33 AM)
for the mk5 they only officially sold the gti, the 1.6 model is only available through the importers, correct me if i'm wrong. and i think the price tag is around 160k, come on the 1.6 is way underpowered compared to the current 1.4TSI
and the gti is more livable compared to FD2R
i think because the computer calculate again according to your current average FC.
good to hear about its impressive FC and performance  rclxms.gif
btw the gti lacks cruise control  doh.gif
hey...dont flay me buddy...that info wasn't mine.

they said so here...> Do you really need the GTi

btw, how is the fd2r not livable? i do know actual people who has it & does use it as everyday car. my point is, will it make common sense if other common people were have one and do the same? unless everyone else also has extra $$$ and doesn't mind the extra maintenance that comes with it. and of course, the power difference between fd2 & fd2r is obvious...so it is still acceptable if someone just wants it just for the pure extra power & speed.

but tsi itself on the other hand is already fast enough, feels good enough, & as yan pointed out, fuel saving somemore...& it's more sensible for everyday drive. (since futobuta said he isn't going to speed anyway)

so if 50k is justifiable for superficial differences, well, i dunno..i just state my opinion. the 50k are superficial, leather/electric seats, steering, etc. he doesn't have to agree.

EDIT : well, if futobuta is not a common person like my friend who drives the fd2r then i got nothing to say la, smile.gif

This post has been edited by eddie_al: Oct 3 2010, 10:05 AM
futobuta
post Oct 3 2010, 10:57 AM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(eddie_al @ Oct 3 2010, 09:54 AM)
hey...dont flay me buddy...that info wasn't mine.

they said so here...> Do you really need the GTi

btw, how is the fd2r not livable? i do know actual people who has it & does use it as everyday car. my point is, will it make common sense if other common people were have one and do the same? unless everyone else also has extra $$$ and doesn't mind the extra maintenance that comes with it. and of course, the power difference between fd2 & fd2r is obvious...so it is still acceptable if someone just wants it just for the pure extra power & speed.

but tsi itself on the other hand is already fast enough, feels good enough, & as yan pointed out, fuel saving somemore...& it's more sensible for everyday drive. (since futobuta said he isn't going to speed anyway)

so if 50k is justifiable for superficial differences, well, i dunno..i just state my opinion. the 50k are superficial, leather/electric seats, steering, etc. he doesn't have to agree.

EDIT : well, if futobuta is not a common person like my friend who drives the fd2r then i got nothing to say la, smile.gif
Well, I'm a normal fella lah. I'm getting a Golf as a weekend/nighttime drive. So, FC is not really an issue. I don't drive much either. My current go-to-work ride only clocked 28000km after 3 yrs of use. So, I guess the Golf will clock less. I just want a little fun ride. I like leather seats because all my current rides have leather seats and my wife likes it too. The only thing that the TSI is attractive to me (other than the 50k cheaper tag), is the availability of cruise control. Actually, 50k is not much if u divide it over the years... 2-3k a month installment is no problem lah. Go less 'berjoli' then can settle liao lor whistling.gif.
Glau
post Oct 3 2010, 11:55 AM

418 posts

Just came back from the Volkswagen dealership, and tested the golf Tsi. Wow! What a car. The pick up is just so much fun. I have tested the sylphy, altis, and now the golf. Wanted to test the fiesta but non was available at the pj showroom today.

All I can say is the golf beats all the others in built quality and 'fun' factor. Of course, the altis and sylphy are totally different segments....

Now to convince the wife on the golf.

Btw..for those of you who bought the golf, did you get any rebates or discount?

eddie_al
post Oct 3 2010, 04:15 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Oct 3 2010, 10:57 AM)
Well, I'm a normal fella lah. I'm getting a Golf as a weekend/nighttime drive. So, FC is not really an issue. I don't drive much either. My current go-to-work ride only clocked 28000km after 3 yrs of use. So, I guess the Golf will clock less. I just want a little fun ride. I like leather seats because all my current rides have leather seats and my wife likes it too. The only thing that the TSI is attractive to me (other than the 50k cheaper tag), is the availability of cruise control. Actually, 50k is not much if u divide it over the years... 2-3k a month installment is no problem lah. Go less 'berjoli' then can settle liao lor whistling.gif.
sure pal...not trying to "jaga tepi kain", so hope you dont find offence. just that the reasons you gave are indeed superficial (leather seats can be changed, leather wrapped steerings too). unless you are those those who drives a) 120 is cruising speed b) 120~140 is overtaking c) 160 is absolute best; then getting the GTi is definately the way to go. infact thats what my buddy who got the type R said, he simply wants to drive fast wherever he could.

in that sense, getting the premium model justifies its price tag because they are built for it. (speed, safety & all). safety factor and designs are something no aftermarket can ever replace, hence, the premium price paid for the fastest and absolute highest spec model.

but since you already said you are willing to go for it for the reasons stated, well it's yours to begin with, so enjoy your ride, smile.gif

again, no offence.
futobuta
post Oct 3 2010, 04:34 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(eddie_al @ Oct 3 2010, 04:15 PM)
sure pal...not trying to "jaga tepi kain", so hope you dont find offence. just that the reasons you gave are indeed superficial (leather seats can be changed, leather wrapped steerings too). unless you are those those who drives a) 120 is cruising speed b) 120~140 is overtaking c) 160 is absolute best; then getting the GTi is definately the way to go. infact thats what my buddy who got the type R said, he simply wants to drive fast wherever he could.

in that sense, getting the premium model justifies its price tag because they are built for it. (speed, safety & all). safety factor and designs are something no aftermarket can ever replace, hence, the premium price paid for the fastest and absolute highest spec model.

but since you already said you are willing to go for it for the reasons stated, well it's yours to begin with, so enjoy your ride, smile.gif

again, no offence.
Aiyah... so easily get offended one meh? doh.gif Not a young kid lah. But seriously, leather seats and those other things u deem superficial does actually add comfort n pleasure to the driving experience. thumbup.gif Having a nice ride doesn't always have to be about speed alone. That's why many prefer this over the Civic Type-R. Anyway, it is all just personal preference. And I 'prefer' them to put leather seats into the TSI so that I can go for it rather than the GTi. Or maybe cruise control in the GTi so that I don't have to think so much to decide between these two fun machines.
Anyone has changed their sound system yet? The stock system doesn't seem that nice.
azxel
post Oct 4 2010, 12:15 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(forextor @ Oct 3 2010, 09:19 AM)
Oh is it?.. Sorry didn't notice that... I guess VW is trying to dump all the beetles.. personally I don't find any single thing that I like with the beetle. Hope there is new much improved (with TSI engine perhaps) beetle coming soon.
I personally found the VW Beetle's seats more comfy than the VW Golf tongue.gif but that's about it.

The VW sales people told me some time back that they're closing the VW Beetle plant (cant remember where) for (cant remember how many) months for upgrade/renovation works so they won't be any more new beetles rolling out till the plant is up again.
Mavik
post Oct 5 2010, 10:43 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Oct 4 2010, 12:15 AM)
I personally found the VW Beetle's seats more comfy than the VW Golf tongue.gif  but that's about it.

The VW sales people told me some time back that they're closing the VW Beetle plant (cant remember where) for (cant remember how many) months for upgrade/renovation works so they won't be any more new beetles rolling out till the plant is up again.
Could it be that they are going to release a new VW Beetle hence they are trying to get rid of the current existing stock? hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
azxel
post Oct 5 2010, 11:35 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 5 2010, 10:43 AM)
Could it be that they are going to release a new VW Beetle hence they are trying to get rid of the current existing stock?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
that's probably true as well cos I did see the new Beetle (it's shaped seems slightly different from the current model) in some magazine a few months ago...
bukanmain
post Oct 5 2010, 01:02 PM

I'm only 20,still learning..
1,711 posts

saw they load the cars for show in OU..
Glau
post Oct 5 2010, 01:43 PM

418 posts

Hear from the dealer that the polo is to be launched sometime this week.
azxel
post Oct 5 2010, 03:46 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

Just got this SMS this afternoon...

Dear VIP customer, VW will be launching POLO 1.2 and the SCIROCCO 1.4. This coming 9th OCT 2010. We look forward to your presence to view and to test drive the units on 9th OCT 2010. THANK YOU.

Pity this Sat me busy, if not will call and ask them which VW branch they talking about in Penang sweat.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Oct 5 2010, 09:37 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

amarok coming to msia?
dARKaNGEl
post Oct 5 2010, 09:55 PM

Just another helping hand
1,368 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 5 2010, 10:43 AM)
Could it be that they are going to release a new VW Beetle hence they are trying to get rid of the current existing stock?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
QUOTE(azxel @ Oct 5 2010, 11:35 AM)
that's probably true as well cos I did see the new Beetle (it's shaped seems slightly different from the current model) in some magazine a few months ago...
check out autocar uk

http://www.autocar.co.uk/News/NewsArticle/AllCars/253182/
Mavik
post Oct 6 2010, 01:17 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Oct 5 2010, 09:55 PM)
Engines will include a 105bhp 1.2, a 160bhp 1.4 and a 210bhp 2.0

LOL I really can't imagine a Beetle with 210hp and then with some aftermarket tuning, go up to 265hp!! drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
eddie_al
post Oct 6 2010, 09:26 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 6 2010, 01:17 AM)
LOL I really can't imagine a Beetle with 210hp and then with some aftermarket tuning, go up to 265hp!!  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
becomes a "horny" beetle, always in need to honk/beam people off the road.

p/s:just saw there is a new thread on the new beetle already. beetle trying to become porshe...=.=
forextor
post Oct 6 2010, 11:31 AM

50 posts

VW just called me, the Polo will be launched this sunday and will be available for test drive that day.
hajicrespo
post Oct 7 2010, 01:19 AM

To all forumers/golf enthusiast here...

I wonder is there any RCD 510 units for sale here in Malaysia? How much the price would be roughly? Ive tried googled it but it's not easy to look for it..

Plus, I am looking for Media in cable that supports Iphone and Ipod.. Is that for sale at VW showrooms? Mine supports thumbdrive instead, not compatible for iPod..

This post has been edited by hajicrespo: Oct 7 2010, 01:43 AM
TSphas3r
post Oct 7 2010, 02:17 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 6 2010, 01:17 AM)
LOL I really can't imagine a Beetle with 210hp and then with some aftermarket tuning, go up to 265hp!!  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
lol, the current beetle is so underpowered.

QUOTE(forextor @ Oct 6 2010, 11:31 AM)
VW just called me, the Polo will be launched this sunday and will be available for test drive that day.
saturday or sunday? i think i wanna go.

QUOTE(hajicrespo @ Oct 7 2010, 01:19 AM)
To all forumers/golf enthusiast here...

I wonder is there any RCD 510 units for sale here in Malaysia? How much the price would be roughly? Ive tried googled it but it's not easy to look for it..

Plus, I am looking for Media in cable that supports Iphone and Ipod.. Is that for sale at VW showrooms? Mine supports thumbdrive instead, not compatible for iPod..

i'm not sure bro. what car do you have now? the mk6 got rcd310, passatcc got rcd510
highest end one is rns510, you can get it here :
http://www.vwgolfclubmalaysia.com/index.php?topic=1246.0
RNS510 - RM3500 inclusive installation in Singapore

comparison
http://www.my-gti.com/719/differences-betw...and-the-rns-510

This post has been edited by phas3r: Oct 7 2010, 02:18 AM
hajicrespo
post Oct 7 2010, 04:09 AM

@Phas3r

Thanks bro.. This will surely helps.. Btw, Im driving the new TSi, fitted with RCD 310.. Im highly interested in changing to RNS 510

127 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:58 AM