7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

VW Golf 1.4TSI,Scirocco1.4,Polo 1.2TSI, Volkswagen Cars Discussion.Das Auto!

TSphas3r
post Aug 9 2010, 02:51 AM, updated 15y ago

1,206 posts

VW Golf 1.4TSI,Scirocco1.4,Polo 1.2TSI available in Malaysia

Volkswagen Polo 1.2TSI: (2010 World Car of the Year)
Engine : 1.2L 4 cylinder turbo
Power : 105PS@5000rpm
Torque : 175Nm@1550rpm
Top Speed : 190km/h
0-100kph : 9.7sec
Fuel Consumption : 5.3L/100km
Price : RM109,000
http://paultan.org/2010/08/09/volkswagen-p...i-dsg-malaysia/

Volkswagen Golf 1.4TSI (2009 World Car of the Year with 2009 & 2010 Engine of the Year)
Engine : 1.4L 4 cylinder, Twincharged (Turbocharged and supercharged)
Power : 160PS@5800rpm
Torque : 240Nm@1500rpm
Top Speed : 220km/h
0-100km/h : 8 secs
Price : RM148,888 & RM155,888
Fuel Consumption : 6.0L/100km
http://paultan.org/2010/08/09/volkswagen-g...60-ps-rm155888/

Volkswagen Scirocco 1.4TSI (with 2009 & 2010 Engine of the Year)
Engine : 1.4L 4 cylinder, Twincharged (Turbocharged and supercharged)
Power : 160PS@5800rpm
Torque : 240Nm@1500rpm
Top Speed : 218km/h
0-100km/h : 8 secs
Fuel Consumption : 6.3L/100km
Price : RM188,888
http://paultan.org/2010/08/09/volkswagen-s...60-ps-rm188888/

all three equipped with new 7 speed DSG gearbox

Golf 1.4TSI Test drive by paultan
http://paultan.org/2010/09/15/volkswagen-g...t-drive-review/

Polo 1.2TSI Test drive by paultan
http://paultan.org/2010/10/18/volkswagen-p...st-impressions/

This post has been edited by phas3r: Dec 17 2010, 09:27 PM
TSphas3r
post Aug 9 2010, 03:39 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Aug 9 2010, 03:26 AM)
why scricco is rated at 218kmh top speed while golf with the same engine gets 220kmh
i wonder that too. both cars have the same weight of 1360kg. but i guess not important la, 2 kph only. shouldn't the roc be more aerodynamic anyway? hmm.gif
TSphas3r
post Aug 9 2010, 04:05 AM

1,206 posts

yeah, i'm still waiting for polo gti, golf r and scirocco r.
i'm sure it will be on sale here, it's just a matter of time.
TSphas3r
post Aug 9 2010, 04:32 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 9 2010, 04:06 AM)
i've got an odd feeling that the polo 1.2 won't sell well here...........
it's currently the most powerful car in its class.. am i right ? 175Nm too

This post has been edited by phas3r: Aug 9 2010, 04:32 AM
TSphas3r
post Aug 9 2010, 11:55 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 9 2010, 06:42 AM)
yeah. spotted a few before brows.gif
but my guess is, 1.2L car for very close to RM110k.....

maybe its just me
did you missed the turbo part? or did you mean malaysians will overlook that? the 308 turbo sells well here.
hope the gahmen don't realize that manufacturers are using the force induction route to escape the tax.
in german they tax cars based on power not cc

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Aug 9 2010, 10:16 AM)
i tested the golf gti... the performance... my God... i tried to step the pedal for overtaking during the test drive and i was like holy fffffff... i didn't even step half of the pedal and the car was like accelerating like a jet! the 6 speed dsg changes from 2k rpm to 4k rpm in a sec!

Added on August 9, 2010, 10:20 am
if you compare it with a jap... 3 times service at 5k km interval... european is just slightly more expensive only right?
yes it goes, is that mk5 or mk6 you testing? this 1.4TSI should have respectable performance too

QUOTE(jeremy0 @ Aug 9 2010, 12:27 PM)
U beat me to the punch  tongue.gif ....the polo should be compared to the jazz/i30/latio sport/pug 308 vti warm hatch class......for the price, the specs are great plus its a german car .....
i heard from the reviews that the polo offers luxury car refinement and good quality. we'll check that car later. still waiting for poloGTI though

QUOTE(Beach_Boy @ Aug 9 2010, 08:08 PM)
yes, but that's for the 1.4litre TSI used in the polo, golf's safe
for 100k km, should be about 8k-9k, i didnt bother asking about the price, cuz it will take me aeons to reach there, and by the 5th year, warranty habis, i'll service it outside already
you're wrong
for eg:
the Aisin 6speed auto used in certain VW's uses Aisin's own ATF, costs RM112/litre, overall replacement of ATF costs RM1.2k(include other parts also)
their own DSG fluid costs RM9x/litre, overall replacement costs? RM650 laugh.gif

previously the TSI engine used in the older GTis burns engine oil to function well, a hard driven GTi requires 1litre of engine oil top up every 3k km or so(each litre costs RM68 tongue.gif and THAT cannot be purchased outside, it's a specially formulated castrol for VW cars, and if they found out that you uses non-castrol engine oil? *poof* goes your engine warranty laugh.gif )

new one im not very sure smile.gif
u have mk5 gti? is it ? i never topup any engine oil, just following the 15k interval woo . is it ok?
TSphas3r
post Aug 10 2010, 03:38 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Aug 10 2010, 10:10 AM)
i tested mk6, my uncle as an mk5 but 1.6fsi... sluggish...
welll 175Nm torque at 1.5k rpm is very good indeed smile.gif

polo gti should be using the 1.4 twincharge engine (from the RM157k golf) if not mistaken...
lol. indeed the 1.6L from golf is just too slow for anything. needs smaller engine with the aided of turbo like this 1.4TSI.

the polo gti is 1.4 with twincharged, but produce more output (180PS 249Nm) compared to the golf 1.4 TSI (160PS 240Nm)
on a small car summore drool.gif the acceleration match a golf gti's time of 6.9secs

how do you think of the sport and comfort button on mk6?

This post has been edited by phas3r: Aug 10 2010, 03:40 PM
TSphas3r
post Aug 10 2010, 05:08 PM

1,206 posts

erm, the paddle shifter is still controlled by the same transmission DSG, i don't really get you mean here rclxub.gif
it is useful if say i'm cruising on 6th gear, but want some overtaking power, i just press the downshift button and it goes to 5th gear immedietly.
up to you if you want the DSG to do all the work, but there are times when i need to control the gear manually.
TSphas3r
post Aug 12 2010, 01:10 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Aug 11 2010, 08:36 PM)
i heard the new polo gti is rather disappointing....from alot of reviews...
from where? i've seen only the autocar video.
TSphas3r
post Aug 12 2010, 05:38 AM

1,206 posts

price of scirocco should be the same as golf. scirocco is taxed more here because it's a sports car... wtf? imagine scirocco at rm155k doh.gif
TSphas3r
post Aug 15 2010, 03:06 AM

1,206 posts

servicing cost a bomb? mine is around rm800, and the interval is 15,000km. not bad at all.
TSphas3r
post Aug 16 2010, 11:58 PM

1,206 posts

polo smaller than jazz tongue.gif but other than that polo's better
TSphas3r
post Aug 17 2010, 12:33 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Aug 17 2010, 12:22 AM)
Get the VW Scirocco. It's a very fast car with extremely superb handling. "Aiya its two door only." - Seriously? Sure, it's a little bit leceh when unloading the rear passengers, but definitely worth it. The rear seats accommodate 2 adults nicely. My family drove it to Singapore, fits three adults and 2 kids nicely haha. 2 parents in front, me and my 2 siblings at the back.

Takes you to Singapore in 1 hour and 40 minutes (roughly). Speeds at 180-210km/h average on right lane, no cars (6am in the morning) on a regular weekend.
are you talking about the 2.0TSI engine? well basically the golf with similar engine also can do what scirocco can do. but most people see golf gti like a normal car. scirocco will turn everybody's head

yes on these cars cruising 180-210 is easy tongue.gif

This post has been edited by phas3r: Aug 17 2010, 12:38 AM
TSphas3r
post Aug 17 2010, 07:22 PM

1,206 posts

http://www.vwgolfclubmalaysia.com/index.php

come join
TSphas3r
post Aug 17 2010, 10:43 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Aug 17 2010, 07:34 PM)
MK5 only ?...u create MK6 club la biggrin.gif
I think Polo GTI 1.2 worth to buy compare with Honda Jazz because both semiliar category..polo gti using TSI engine direct injection and a turbocharger brows.gif
Yea, i knw  cont vs Japanese car..
Overall, i would say vw Polo GTI 1.2 smile.gif

(*i'm driving honda )
it's for mk1 until mk6... but mostly mk5 and mk6

QUOTE(dantck @ Aug 17 2010, 07:43 PM)
the performance of the (is polo) match the local RM5xk car.
it matches the torque of civic's 1.8L(even better because of lower rpm), i can't think of any local rm5xk car that can do that

This post has been edited by phas3r: Aug 17 2010, 10:44 PM
TSphas3r
post Aug 18 2010, 12:07 AM

1,206 posts

firstly because of tax, 2nd because they don't sell smaller engine..

there is golf 1.4 turbo with only 122PS
and polo 1.2 non turbo...
and loads of diesel choices
but indeed VW is "people's car"
TSphas3r
post Aug 19 2010, 01:58 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(kikikukiki @ Aug 18 2010, 12:56 AM)
I booked from HQ mah... so if that info is not accurate  doh.gif
Hope we get our fast as indicated in Mid/Late Sept... can't wait...  brows.gif
"fast" is for VW golf or golf gti? hmm.gif

QUOTE(climacool @ Aug 18 2010, 06:24 PM)
save up and go for GTI... smile.gif
just tell the SA, I want test drive all your products: Polo 1.2, Golf 1.4,Scirocco 1.4, GTI 2.0, Scrirrco 2.0 and lastly Passat CC 2.0. They will arrange for you
Dont worry, they won't ever say NO for test drive smile.gif
yet to test drive all of them... will surely do in the future.. but still waiting for the R models tongue.gif

QUOTE(supercharger @ Aug 18 2010, 08:39 PM)
for me 1.4TSI twincharger is good enough
the GTi is too expensive  sweat.gif
depends. the gti is always superb value if you can afford it

QUOTE(lyekit @ Aug 18 2010, 10:00 PM)
No resale value for polo... besides i heard it's quite small in actual compare to photo.
how do you know? only the old polo gti and crosspolo has been sold before this
TSphas3r
post Aug 19 2010, 08:28 AM

1,206 posts

i think interior space polo is less than jazz. boot space lagi confirm
TSphas3r
post Aug 23 2010, 02:44 AM

1,206 posts

no ckd polo? lol how come, the polo is the cheapest in the range right
TSphas3r
post Aug 24 2010, 05:58 AM

1,206 posts

there's a 1.4twin for passatcc?
all i know about other than 2.0T is 1.8T.
and USA also got a big 3litre V6

This post has been edited by phas3r: Aug 24 2010, 05:58 AM
TSphas3r
post Aug 24 2010, 02:52 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(hanifw @ Aug 24 2010, 11:21 AM)
its good to know the polo is good for long journey ?...

have to test drive myself then... Thanks~
in terms of power, should be enough if you're expecting the power of a 1.5L and torque of 1.8L, even better as its from lower rpm. but numbers are numbers, go test drive to feel yourself

from this video, the sprint to 100kph is quick smile.gif

Added on August 24, 2010, 2:54 pm
QUOTE(overfloe @ Aug 24 2010, 12:16 PM)
could be a mistake from vw.. or just simply farked up pricing.. remember polo gti? it was RM140k when it was first launched.. after a few months, the price dropped to RM99k! really pity who have bought it earlier..
as the people here said it's from different package, yeah i remember the polo gti went from rm139k to rm99k and now i see on mudah being sold for 100-110k, who said polo got bad resale value? that's more than 100% of original price laugh.gif

This post has been edited by phas3r: Aug 24 2010, 02:57 PM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:07 AM