124 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

stringfellow
post Oct 21 2010, 07:22 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Oct 21 2010, 07:06 AM)
i bet i read on retina display before you did, or maybe couple hours after you
i understand what you mean by density stuff
by your mean, having retina display which should be in higher resolution, is good. But it doesn't work well with software cuz (i bet) current Mac OS X doesnt use up that.
my point is, even hardware works great, you still need software than can support it
Maybe in 10.7, it may happen. Apple started to centralize their developers

2ndly, for computer, does it needed?
iphone 3G with 163 PPI looks awful, but any 24" full HD (be it 16:9/16:10) with 94 PPI is al-right.
you wont use mac as near as your iphone.

try this, SONY VAIO F with 16" 1920X1080 with 137 PPI & macbook pro 15" 1440 X900 with 110PPI
which one is better for reading, in same reading distance

you own more Gadgets than most of us here, you tell me your experience.

btw, you way of changing font size in mac is very analogy way, literally have to tweak thru alot of times.
I'm replying in response to this statement of yours:-

you're so wrong
it's the software part who make it good to read
Now you're saying:-

my point is, even hardware works great, you still need software than can support it

Next time word your statement properly, because from your previous claim, you said I was wrong and it's the software part that makes it good to read, without acknowledging that software alone cannot help making legibility work, the hardware has to come hand in hand with it. Only later you backtracked and added "even hardware works great, you still need software than can support it" statement.

So again, which part am I wrong again?

Even so, the point stays. Having a low resolution on a smaller size screen would be make it legibly harder to read than a higher resolution screen on a smaller device. With high res/small device you can zoom on the fonts and still see it legibly written, but the lower res/small device, the result will be a blurry mess. I like my options open than just a "blurry mess".
neekun
post Oct 21 2010, 08:12 AM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

Me been staring at MBA 13" 256GB...feel like hitting order button liao...HELP!!!!!

If only got takers for my current MBP 15" :-)
Voxe
post Oct 21 2010, 08:33 AM

Daft Punker
815 posts

MBA 11.6" looks interesting. Slow processor(1.4Ghz) but fast internal memory.
vexus
post Oct 21 2010, 09:06 AM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,659 posts

the most expensive mini laptop.
thankyou
post Oct 21 2010, 09:25 AM

1,941 posts

I don't think this should consider most expensive mini laptop... comparing 11" screen... I would rate Vaio P series is the most exp netbook/mini laptop at launch....
rx330
post Oct 21 2010, 11:40 AM

11,809 posts

bloody hell....
mba is out... now dunno wat to buy

string, wats ur speed for ur current mba? ok ar?
SoulReaver
post Oct 21 2010, 11:44 AM

TerribleLover
513 posts

Liking the new MBA since i laid my eyes on it.... Wanna bring this to Aus with me for my studies! It would be my first mac if i where to purchase it >.<"

$$$
erictioh
post Oct 21 2010, 12:09 PM

62 posts

my MBP sd card slot not working, meaning slot in a card and it doesn't appear in finder, anyone has this problem is their MBP ?

The card is confirm ok because i have another usb card reader which is working very well.
TSmememe12
post Oct 21 2010, 01:12 PM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

QUOTE(erictioh @ Oct 21 2010, 12:09 PM)
my MBP sd card slot not working, meaning slot in a card and it doesn't appear in finder, anyone has this problem is their MBP ?

The card is confirm ok because i have another usb card reader which is working very well.
your MBP still under warranty?
wengthekit
post Oct 21 2010, 02:46 PM

13 posts

I need ur guy helps. I'm planning to get myself a Macbook Pro. However, i worried that the Mac will intro us the new Macbook Pro 2011 in case...

Question is whether it is worth to buy a Macbook Pro now?
Or should i wait until the Lion release then only i purchase?
Need ur guys help~~

thanks.
nabielz
post Oct 21 2010, 03:17 PM

cbr_akra
903 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Oct 21 2010, 09:06 AM)
the most expensive mini laptop.
but it will worth it.
stringfellow
post Oct 21 2010, 03:45 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 21 2010, 11:40 AM)
bloody hell....
mba is out... now dunno wat to buy

string, wats ur speed for ur current mba? ok ar?
My current MBA is 2.13GHz/2GB RAM/128GB SSD. I'm keeping this as custom building this spec on Apple.com priced it higher than the price I got for this. I'm only getting the smaller 11.6" brother.
dvlzplayground
post Oct 21 2010, 03:59 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(wengthekit @ Oct 21 2010, 02:46 PM)
I need ur guy helps. I'm planning to get myself a Macbook Pro. However, i worried that the Mac will intro us the new Macbook Pro 2011 in case...

Question is whether it is worth to buy a Macbook Pro now?
Or should i wait until the Lion release then only i purchase?
Need ur guys help~~

thanks.
the best is to just follow the advice here: http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/

then you yourself decide. for me, as long as it can do whatever u want it to do, just go buy. no point in always chasing the latest and greatest in technology. unless u're filthy rich of course. and i mean FILTHY rich tongue.gif nothing wrong if u wanna wait for Lion too, but then u'll be missing out around half a year not using a new MBP hehe

by the way, retina display on a macbook? i really think no. cuz if u increase the resolution of the macbook, fonts n stuff will be hard to read. of course, unless you scale them correctly. but it will only look good if u scale it to double the density. that's the reason iphone 3gs to iphone 4 was 163ppi to 326ppi (exactly double). that's the only way to make it look "smooth". so to upgrade a 1440x900 15" MBP display, it wont scale nicely unless u go for 2880x1800, which is A LOT. even the 27" ACD cannot challenge that

stringfellow
post Oct 21 2010, 04:04 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The contention was with him referring to legibility issue being fixed SOLELY by software means, and not pairing it with hardware (eg. Retina Display). Other than that, his statement is in complete agreement with me.

Bottom line, better phrased statements, ie better English perhaps?
il0ve51
post Oct 21 2010, 04:08 PM

1,054 posts

@wengthekit

we are in the same dilemma.

btw, a silly question here, if i buy mpb now it should pre-install with snow leopard, when lion out can we upgrade it? need pay or free?
dvlzplayground
post Oct 21 2010, 04:22 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Oct 21 2010, 04:08 PM)
@wengthekit

btw, a silly question here, if i buy mpb now it should pre-install with snow leopard, when lion out can we upgrade it? need pay or free?
of course need to pay lah. wont be as expensive as windows upgrades i guess
yayaestique
post Oct 21 2010, 05:19 PM

64 posts

ordered mine last night right after the back to mac convention (have to wait 30 minutes or so).

will be getting it in 2 days. yay!

mac is not expensive when they give u International Warranty (phone service also).

compared to sony, Mac is a win!
kalosneri
post Oct 21 2010, 05:30 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Oct 21 2010, 04:08 PM)
@wengthekit

me also, i'm targeting 17" but not really tempting to get the current specs. RM7k without bluray is a big no for me.
btw, already sold my santa rossa 15" 2 weeks ago. cry.gif

nimrod323
post Oct 21 2010, 06:56 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(yayaestique @ Oct 21 2010, 05:19 PM)
ordered mine last night right after the back to mac convention (have to wait 30 minutes or so).

will be getting it in 2 days. yay!

mac is not expensive when they give u International Warranty (phone service also).

compared to sony, Mac is a win!
hahahahahha ifag spotted, welcome to applebyte, do us a favor by reviewing it here K, unboxing pics and all is a must!
destfull
post Oct 21 2010, 08:18 PM

Brain for Creativity
1,063 posts

Bought keyboard protector

but its not as good as you guys think

124 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top