124 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

wiraone
post Aug 5 2010, 08:37 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

Just knew that replacing a fuse on the 3-pin plug will void your power adapter warranty .. My wife's 4 months old MBP couldn't charge, no light coming from the charger end .. so, I took out the fuse and checked, yes, it blew of course .. so, I took a 3A from my daughter's 3-pin plug .. the same exact brand/value/etc .. spark coming out from the square brick and it blew the fuse .. called Apple support and they said that replacing the fuse might void the warranty .. what the ... why in the world they have a replaceable fuse when you can't change it yourself .. and unknowingly void the warranty .. but after the lady at the support line consulted her superior, they're changing it FOC for me, just need to bring it to VRTech or Sapura Synergy .. ughh.. lesson learned ..
cRazYee
post Aug 5 2010, 10:08 PM

2,642 posts

which number you call?
change fuse definitely wont void warranty

and it's not cover by warranty either, it's consider as wear and tear part

uncontrolled
post Aug 5 2010, 11:15 PM

249 posts

hey guys, wondering how u all delete content in pendrive, external HD...

I use 'command + delete' and the content is gone, but the size available for those drive still same. For example, pendrive before delete content still have 2GB available, after i delete a movie (1GB), it still state that 2GB available.

**and can windows open pendrive and see content in it? after format by using a mac and add sth inside. For me, i cant found anything in my pendrive when i insert it to windows..

lexcorp
post Aug 5 2010, 11:23 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(uncontrolled @ Aug 5 2010, 11:15 PM)
hey guys, wondering how u all delete content in pendrive, external HD...

I use 'command + delete' and the content is gone, but the size available for those drive still same. For example, pendrive before delete content still have 2GB available, after i delete a movie (1GB), it still state that 2GB available.

**and can windows open pendrive and see content in it? after format by using a mac and add sth inside. For me, i cant found anything in my pendrive when i insert it to windows..
You must empty the file in your trash after deleting the file.
wiraone
post Aug 6 2010, 11:36 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Aug 5 2010, 10:08 PM)
which number you call?
change fuse definitely wont void warranty

and it's not cover by warranty either, it's consider as wear and tear part
I called the 1800 number, and since when power adapter is a wear & tear? Anyway, went to vrtech this morning and need to wait for Tuesday for replacement.
benQue
post Aug 6 2010, 02:26 PM

i hate nasi lemak
1,324 posts

http://www.smallmac2u.com/

have anyone ever shop here? is it safe?
cRazYee
post Aug 6 2010, 08:38 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 6 2010, 11:36 AM)
I called the 1800 number, and since when power adapter is a wear & tear? Anyway, went to vrtech this morning and need to wait for Tuesday for replacement.
i been told by apple authorised service engineer
burnt fuse is not within apple warranty, consider wear and tear, cuz it will only happen on your unreliable power source
(i didnt mean power adapter is wear and tear, just the fuse issue)

wiraone
post Aug 6 2010, 09:40 PM

3,892 posts

Now .. I wonder .. why the lady on the other end confidently said that changing the fuse is considered as DIY and this void the power adapter warranty. I did raised my voice last night because it is unbelievable, the Malaysian 3-pin plug has the fuse as user replaceable. Anyway, I'll say the next time I have a problem, I'll not call them .. but rather just bring my MBP to VRTech.

This post has been edited by wiraone: Aug 6 2010, 09:41 PM
more2teayap
post Aug 6 2010, 09:49 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

Guys, 1 simple quick question, is Machines at northpoint is apple certified service center?
dvlzplayground
post Aug 6 2010, 10:16 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Aug 6 2010, 09:49 PM)
Guys, 1 simple quick question, is Machines at northpoint is apple certified service center?
yes. here's a list:

http://store.apple.com.au/asia/FMPro?-db=a...x=38&-find.y=21
baoz
post Aug 6 2010, 11:20 PM

963 posts

Congrats on the new thread. smile.gif

Been using MBP 13" for a month and I still need to get used to some functions but the OS has been great. Easy. Quick startup & shutdown.

I'm using iWork which is a breeze to use. Unfortunately the formatting runs when I save as MS Word. =/
scarxxx
post Aug 7 2010, 12:15 AM

1,509 posts

been using MacBook Pro for 3rd day now...
Everything seems to be top notch..
Tweetdeck, Adium.. all the apps are running good...
Hehehe... now i know why ppl keep on telling me that.. Once you're on Apple, you will never look back...
TSmememe12
post Aug 7 2010, 12:20 AM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

QUOTE(benQue @ Aug 6 2010, 02:26 PM)
http://www.smallmac2u.com/

have anyone ever shop here? is it safe?
haven't tried yet.. but if i m buying the miniDisplay to DVI/VGA cable.. i think shud be ok.. last thread got ppl mentioned before.. maybe you can do a search there..
benQue
post Aug 7 2010, 01:01 AM

i hate nasi lemak
1,324 posts

actually im thinking of buying macbook battery. really hard to get one nowdays.
lexcorp
post Aug 7 2010, 02:40 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Aug 6 2010, 11:20 PM)
Congrats on the new thread. smile.gif

Been using MBP 13" for a month and I still need to get used to some functions but the OS has been great. Easy. Quick startup & shutdown.

I'm using iWork which is a breeze to use. Unfortunately the formatting runs when I save as MS Word. =/
Yeah , quick startup and shutdown. me liky too.
but sometimes startup can be alitttle slower too. Not always la , don know why?
intothefantasy
post Aug 7 2010, 05:22 AM

1,561 posts

err can i know usually macbook refresh every year like the iphones? usually what date do they announce it if so?
wiraone
post Aug 7 2010, 07:43 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Aug 7 2010, 05:22 AM)
err can i know usually macbook refresh every year like the iphones? usually what date do they announce it if so?
http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/
dvlzplayground
post Aug 7 2010, 10:29 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(benQue @ Aug 7 2010, 01:01 AM)
dont they have it on the online store?

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Aug 7 2010, 05:22 AM)
mac refreshes are quite unpredictable tongue.gif can say about every 8 months, but not accurate lah. if you're thinking of getting a macbook now, i think you should go ahead
prasys
post Aug 7 2010, 03:42 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(benQue @ Aug 7 2010, 01:01 AM)
Contact wei
SUSLYW
post Aug 7 2010, 06:20 PM

197 posts

guys, my mbp cannot read some disc image, erm is there any way i can get it to read it?? if you do have a solution, please pm me, since mods wish to keep this thread ware free

124 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:18 PM