124 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

Ojimaru
post Aug 11 2010, 09:38 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(#Fly @ Aug 11 2010, 08:53 PM)
Cool.. but looking back on what someone suggested to me for a PC upgrade.. its totally half the price of a Macbook! Decision's down to my father in the end though.. thanks for your help  icon_rolleyes.gif
Like any purchase order to be presented to a higher authority for approval, it's best to list the pros and cons of the two options. Not only will it help your case, but also make you realise if you really need to spend the premium. Besides aesthetics and sexiness, the Mac OSX with the Macbook Trackpad far outshines many - if not all - other Windows or Linux setups in terms of productivity. That's not even comparing iLife with Windows Live Essentials!
dvlzplayground
post Aug 11 2010, 10:02 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Mickeyhon @ Aug 11 2010, 07:14 PM)
sorry..macbook pro newbie here...

i wan to ask how to uninstall Application in Macbook pro ?

issit jz move to trash ?
i would suggest u get either 1 of these apps: appzapper, cleanapp or cleanmymac

because sometimes the move to trash method will still leave some residue files (e.g. preferences settings). by using either 3 apps it'll get rid of those stuff as well smile.gif

QUOTE(#Fly @ Aug 11 2010, 07:32 PM)
Hi guys, any thoughts on the MacBook on whether it can be a replacement for home use? MSN, Youtube/Facebook, and also wondering if it's suitable for video editing + music production (GarageBand i believe?). I'm on a low budget, and RM3659 (upgrade to 4gb ram) is reasonable to me.

I'm actually not sure whether a few hundred ringgit over the Mac Mini is worth the portability of the Macbook.. I don't really go out alot, but the portability would help sometimes..

Mac sifus please help me!
the decision either to upgrade ur PC or get a mac is best decided by urself smile.gif OSX is great, n the free iMovie is really nice. probably best to get juz the macbook so u can bring it when u travel etc, plus personally i think one of the cool things about macs is the multitouch trackpad hehe. can always connect a macbook to ur external display smile.gif
TSmememe12
post Aug 11 2010, 10:20 PM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 11 2010, 10:02 PM)
i would suggest u get either 1 of these apps: appzapper, cleanapp or cleanmymac
because sometimes the move to trash method will still leave some residue files (e.g. preferences settings). by using either 3 apps it'll get rid of those stuff as well smile.gif
i m using appzapper too.. it is useful smile.gif
#Fly
post Aug 12 2010, 05:42 AM

318 posts

@dvlzplayground

Are you sure you're not talking about MBP? MacBook comes with multitouch trackpad and iMovie? yawn.gif!!
vcxv
post Aug 12 2010, 07:13 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Aug 11 2010, 10:37 AM)
it's not because of the sensitivity. sometimes the mouse cursor just doesnt wanna move at all.

using logitech M505 and also the wired microsoft mouse also same thing... doh.gif
i played sc2 on both mac osx and bootcamp. cursor stuck and jumping around happened frequently on both platform. but i used a wireless mouse. so i thought it a wireless problem. so i changed to my cheap wired gigabyte mouse and it works fine.
CreamMilk
post Aug 12 2010, 08:31 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(#Fly @ Aug 12 2010, 05:42 AM)
@dvlzplayground

Are you sure you're not talking about MBP? MacBook comes with multitouch trackpad and iMovie? yawn.gif!!
I don't know abt previous version of Macbook, but the latest Mid 2010, Macbook 7.1 definitely has iMovie and multitouch trackpad.
dvlzplayground
post Aug 12 2010, 09:39 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

all macbook since the 1st gen comes with multitouch trackpad

imovie is included in ilife... which comes free with any mac
digilife
post Aug 12 2010, 10:01 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

I hav a 2008 Macbook white.
I last used it abt 2 wks ago, tat time i was using it without the adaptor and the battery level almost reached to only 3%
Juz now when i wanted to use it again, it wont charge ond only the green light appear at the magnetic charging socket.

The battery was at abt 80~90% of its full strength when it was fully charge two weeks back. It can even last for abt 3hrs when fully charge. Charge cycle by coconut battery shows abt 3xx. times.

I can still turn the MB on BUT it hav to be connected to the mains.

Can a battery tat can hold abt 80~90% of its original charge juz died like tat?

is there a way to revive or test the battery?

is the adaptor faulty? i can power up the MB and run normally wif the adaptor

thanks for reading

notworthy.gif

SUSLYW
post Aug 12 2010, 10:20 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Aug 12 2010, 10:01 AM)
I  hav a 2008 Macbook white.
I last used it abt 2 wks ago, tat time i was using it without the adaptor and the battery level almost reached to only 3%
Juz now when i wanted to use it again, it wont charge ond only the green light appear at the magnetic charging socket.

The battery was at abt 80~90% of its full strength when it was fully charge two weeks back. It can even last for abt 3hrs when fully charge. Charge cycle by coconut battery shows abt 3xx. times.

I can still turn the MB on BUT it hav to be connected to the mains.

Can a battery tat can hold abt 80~90% of its original charge juz died like tat?

is there a way to revive or test the battery?

is the adaptor faulty? i can power up the MB and run normally wif the adaptor

thanks for reading

notworthy.gif
I dont think ur adapter is faulty, ur battery mayb got prob. ive seen some cases where the mb doesnt recognize the battery anymore.

I dont really understand that 3% part, care to ellaborate further?/ i got it, used until no more battery i see.

but right now, best if u dont simply play with it, bring it to an apple reseller and ask whats going on, then mayb go to vr if u wan do repair if prob is the mb.

Im just suggesting, u can choose to ignore, erm why dont u off it and let it charge 1 more time for 5 hours??? or take out the battery and place it back in, then recharge it, without the mb on.

This post has been edited by LYW: Aug 12 2010, 10:22 AM
nairud
post Aug 12 2010, 10:30 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(vcxv @ Aug 12 2010, 07:13 AM)
i played sc2 on both mac osx and bootcamp. cursor stuck and jumping around happened frequently on both platform. but i used a wireless mouse. so i thought it a wireless problem. so i changed to my cheap wired gigabyte mouse and it works fine.
It's been highlighted at Bnet forum.

it could be due to the high res mouse
it could due to the fact that even if you disabled mouse acceleration in SC2, the mouse acceleration in macOS is still in effect.

i havent try cheapo wired mouse yet
digilife
post Aug 12 2010, 01:20 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(LYW @ Aug 12 2010, 10:20 AM)
I dont think ur adapter is faulty, ur battery mayb got prob. ive seen some cases where the mb doesnt recognize the battery anymore.

I dont really understand that 3% part, care to ellaborate further?/ i got it, used until no more battery i see.

but right now, best if u dont simply play with it, bring it to an apple reseller and ask whats going on, then mayb go to vr if u wan do repair if prob is the mb.

Im just suggesting, u can choose to ignore, erm why dont u off it and let it charge 1 more time for 5 hours??? or take out the battery and place it back in, then recharge it, without the mb on.
why dont u off it and let it charge 1 more time for 5 hours??? or take out the battery and place it back in, then recharge it, without the mb on.

i guess i will do this first b4 and see how

thanks for the advice

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
miaka_tama
post Aug 12 2010, 02:19 PM

109 posts

Hi guys, I'm curious..

SG Online Apple Store has this promotion where you get an Ipod Touch for a Mac purchased...

Is it applicable to us? Could we order from that store and deliver to MY? Or must we order from MY Online Apple Store only?

Thx.
SUSLYW
post Aug 12 2010, 02:50 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(miaka_tama @ Aug 12 2010, 02:19 PM)
Hi guys, I'm curious..

SG Online Apple Store has this promotion where you get an Ipod Touch for a Mac purchased...

Is it applicable to us? Could we order from that store and deliver to MY? Or must we order from MY Online Apple Store only?

Thx.
i doubt that, i am pretty sure that you have to show which institution ur from.
mffa
post Aug 12 2010, 04:48 PM

374 posts

Hello,,newbie here..b4 this I'm a windows user and really like the os..for my new laptop actually I have select the dell laptop but cancel the order because of the delay and a long wait to get the lappy.I'm student so I need the laptop fast. really thanks to my father because willing to spend his hard earn money to pay for this laptop which is 3899 compared to the previous dell model that I cancel which is rm2699(I also do not use adobe and bla...bla..bla..,just use microsoft office)..I hope I can enjoy with this new os which is leopard snow...so the question here is how can I prolong the battery life in the new macbook pro 13 inch..??..because this model came with built in battery..means we cannot unplugged the battery just like the other laptop in the market..
mannquin
post Aug 12 2010, 04:53 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Aug 11 2010, 10:20 PM)
i m using appzapper too.. it is useful smile.gif
They're all trials. Which one is free for life?
Ojimaru
post Aug 12 2010, 05:15 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(mffa @ Aug 12 2010, 04:48 PM)
I hope I can enjoy with this new os which is leopard snow...so the question here is how can I prolong the battery life in the new macbook pro 13 inch..??..because this model came with built in battery..means we cannot unplugged the battery just like the other laptop in the market..
See
Here
and
here
#Fly
post Aug 12 2010, 05:19 PM

318 posts

Hi guys, does anyone know whether this promotion is still valid?

http://machines.com.my/support_clearance_refurbished.html

My dad has allowed me to get the MBP (on the bottom of the list) if this promotion is still going on.. thanks
dvlzplayground
post Aug 12 2010, 05:25 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(mffa @ Aug 12 2010, 04:48 PM)
Hello,,newbie here..b4 this I'm a windows user and really like the os..for my new laptop actually I have select the dell laptop but cancel the order because of the delay and a long wait to get the lappy.I'm student so I need the laptop fast. really thanks to my father because willing to spend his hard earn money to pay for this laptop which is 3899 compared to the previous dell model that I cancel which is rm2699(I also do not use adobe and bla...bla..bla..,just use microsoft office)..I hope I can enjoy with this new os which is leopard snow...so the question here is how can I prolong the battery life in the new macbook pro 13 inch..??..because this model came with built in battery..means we cannot unplugged the battery just like the other laptop in the market..
congrats on ur new MBP smile.gif for modern laptops u dun need to take out battery, that rule is ancient. juz leave the charger on whenever possible, n calibrate ur battery once in a week or fortnight. the more u use ur battery, the faster it will die. but MBP battery can last a very long time, it's likely u would upgrade ur laptop by then anyway smile.gif

QUOTE(#Fly @ Aug 12 2010, 05:19 PM)

My dad has allowed me to get the MBP (on the bottom of the list) if this promotion is still going on.. thanks
best to call up machines directly smile.gif
yeahs4.1
post Aug 12 2010, 07:30 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(#Fly @ Aug 12 2010, 05:19 PM)

refurbished macs are only available in one of the local branch, if i'm not mistaken it should be from Machines Lot 10. Anyway, one thing for sure, they are limited, first come first served, walk-in purchase only.

there is another thing that you should know, the warranty of the macs are normally less than 1 year. it's a refurbished set so the original purchased date can be a few months back. anyhow, ACPP can be bought to give you extra 2 years of warranty.

This post has been edited by yeahs4.1: Aug 12 2010, 07:35 PM
SUSLYW
post Aug 12 2010, 08:26 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Aug 12 2010, 05:15 PM)
See
Here
and
here
practically useless, no offence if u ask me.

I usually have 1 bar brightness only, yeah, mentally makes me feel that the mbp is going to last longer.

and i charge 3 times a week. monday wednesday, and friday, usually friday i leave it attached with the magsafe until monday morning.

this way safes alot of power, if can dun use the wifi, use ur workplace com, unless u need to send out emails or important stuffs when u r outdoor like lunch or late dinner.

124 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:25 AM