goldfries
post Oct 8 2010, 05:24 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(rockets @ Oct 8 2010, 05:07 PM)
1 scan would be sufficient... if the guy doesn't micro his banshees at all and just fight marines head on. the good ones will use the extra range on the banshees to hit and run your marines and any unprotected structures.
if talking about head to head combat at a particular area then yes. 1 - 2 scans are fine, i think that's what quaz was referring to.

my post saying "scans" are limited in reference to the whole game. if the fella doesn't have raven and no scans available, then i think banshee spam can be really good..

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 8 2010, 05:19 PM)
you can build an eng bay (marine/rauder +1 dmg) and build proxy turrents along with ur MMM push. that way banshees are 100% gg'd

if he try to harass the scv (before you have any turrets up), either medivac heal, or pause building load in medivac, while you do 1 scan and marine stim to rape the banshee/force retreat

if he goes for ur mineral line, you *SHOULD* have turrets up already and with scv repairs (or even mule, they repair faster FYI) 1 turret can take out at least 2-3 banshees alone, and you can build 2-4 well placed turrets to cover ur entire mineral line
ok.

with all those "IF"s mean banshees do have a chance.

good anti-banshee tips there.
Quazacolt
post Oct 8 2010, 05:29 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 8 2010, 05:24 PM)
if talking about head to head combat at a particular area then yes. 1 - 2 scans are fine, i think that's what quaz was referring to.

my post saying "scans" are limited in reference to the whole game. if the fella doesn't have raven and no scans available, then i think banshee spam can be really good..
ok.

with all those "IF"s mean banshees do have a chance.

good anti-banshee tips there.
sure banshees have a chance, but for the mineral/gas usage vs to cheap marines and scans (to make it fair, every scan you do is ~300mins as opposed to using a mule) does side with normal MMM push more. banshees, like dark templars (hence being oftenly called flying dark templars) are only really useful if the opponents lacked detection.

and turrets are TBH considered a more cumbersome method, one raven is all you need, and you mentioned about vikings killing ravens? PDD will make you think twice about killing them along with marines moving in for the kill on the vikings/banshees while the medivacs heal them.

ps: you can just rax swap the starport just to get one raven, then swap back for normal MMM pumping.
Sky.Live
post Oct 8 2010, 05:31 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

PDD rapes MM, unless he can micro it out...
Quazacolt
post Oct 8 2010, 05:33 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 8 2010, 05:24 PM)

no im not referring just to head to head combat, because you only need scans where your turrets doesnt reach, and thats also assuming you're not able to get ravens (which i cannot understand why considering its MMM we're talking about here, which means you ALREADY have starport access. all you need is a addon swap)

Added on October 8, 2010, 5:34 pm
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Oct 8 2010, 05:31 PM)
PDD rapes MM, unless he can micro it out...
no you cant out micro PDD, its static and it rapes bullets no matter how fast any korean fingers can play.

what you can do, is have ur marines kill the drone as marine projectile are not affected. only marauder's (since its MM we're talking about)

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Oct 8 2010, 05:34 PM
thejols
post Oct 18 2010, 01:55 PM

198 posts

lets take about killing zerg guys, terran nemesis.

im hardly win any battle vs zerg now.
before its 50-50, now its like 30-70 lose always.
evofantasy
post Oct 18 2010, 02:17 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(thejols @ Oct 18 2010, 01:55 PM)

i would suggest getting a faster thor...
on map with thor drops its good...
and keep pressuring with early reapers/ hellions etc...
Grif
post Oct 18 2010, 02:30 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(thejols @ Oct 18 2010, 01:55 PM)

How does the Zherk rape you? Baneling bombs/drops? Mass burrowed roaches? Mass mutas?
smartleader
post Oct 18 2010, 02:31 PM

317 posts

Am still new here and still in the beginning league which is the 1st 50 unranked matches. Anyone out there would like to figure out how to deal with Protoss? Everytime they just turtled up ad what they do is just mass blink stalker and colossi. At the time when I can get to their base with destroying 2 rocks, its already too late. Had tried almost everything, MMM drops, Hellion drops and Banshee harass but it seems like it just won't work out.
Grif
post Oct 18 2010, 02:37 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(smartleader @ Oct 18 2010, 02:31 PM)
Am still new here and still in the beginning league which is the 1st 50 unranked matches. Anyone out there would like to figure out how to deal with Protoss? Everytime they just turtled up ad what they do is just mass blink stalker and colossi. At the time when I can get to their base with destroying 2 rocks, its already too late. Had tried almost everything, MMM drops, Hellion drops and Banshee harass but it seems like it just won't work out.
Mass stalkers? Counter with mass rauders with vikings or Thors. Add medivacs to suport and you're good to go. (which also goes without saying when you see him turtle, expand like rabbits and use PFs to hold expos and delay his push.)
smartleader
post Oct 18 2010, 02:44 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(Grif @ Oct 18 2010, 02:37 PM)
Mass stalkers? Counter with mass rauders with vikings or Thors. Add medivacs to suport and you're good to go. (which also goes without saying when you see him turtle, expand like rabbits and use PFs to hold expos and delay his push.)
I actually did fast expand when he turtled, although am at 2 bases building my army but it seems like it still not enough. Oh ya, most of them ad in chargelots with the blink stalkers as well, making my Marauders extremely vulnerable although with Stim and Shell upgrades. As you mention Viking, yes I did get couple of em to counter the colossi but the mass stalkers just push them back everytime I try to shoot em as colossi is far more behind everytime. Actually that am wondering, whether this will happen in normal games? You can actually scout earlier and harass them earlier without those Destructible Rocks blocking the way.
Grif
post Oct 18 2010, 02:58 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(smartleader @ Oct 18 2010, 02:44 PM)
I actually did fast expand when he turtled, although am at 2 bases building my army but it seems like it still not enough. Oh ya, most of them ad in chargelots with the blink stalkers as well, making my Marauders extremely vulnerable although with Stim and Shell upgrades. As you mention Viking, yes I did get couple of em to counter the colossi but the mass stalkers just push them back everytime I try to shoot em as colossi is far more behind everytime. Actually that am wondering, whether this will happen in normal games? You can actually scout earlier and harass them earlier without those Destructible Rocks blocking the way.
Typically yeah. In normal games, you can get your scout in by the 5 minute mark. If you see mass gateways and any of the sort, you can opt for a timing push to decimate his army/base before he gets his collosi out. Harass is also easier, but not much, since most toss will still wall/FF you out.
smartleader
post Oct 18 2010, 03:08 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(Grif @ Oct 18 2010, 02:58 PM)
Typically yeah. In normal games, you can get your scout in by the 5 minute mark. If you see mass gateways and any of the sort, you can opt for a timing push to decimate his army/base before he gets his collosi out. Harass is also easier, but not much, since most toss will still wall/FF you out.
Ya, colossi is too good against my Marine+Marauders. Might try to get Thor and try to deal with it, the new patch allow us to spam more the ability.
gladfly
post Oct 19 2010, 12:23 PM

579 posts

perhaps get a ghost and emp..with more maruders compo mix..

For me I perfer getting a raven and pdd the stakers..take out the the collo when the stakers busy shoting pdd..

ROTiJOHN
post Oct 19 2010, 01:12 PM

www.malaysiamilitarytag.com
937 posts

thor, marine, ghost and scv, FTW
Grif
post Oct 19 2010, 02:00 PM

378 posts

Bloody hell, i have this very big trouble dealing with Toss at gold level. I must be missing something...

(just lost to a 4gate (again!) and robogate)
Nandeska
post Oct 19 2010, 02:37 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(Grif @ Oct 19 2010, 02:00 PM)
Bloody hell, i have this very big trouble dealing with Toss at gold level. I must be missing something...

4 gate works againts terran ?
gladfly
post Oct 19 2010, 02:48 PM

579 posts

4 gates works if you keep teching up and have no force to fight..

hehehe.. but since Terran OP in early stages just go harass when you have like 2 rauders and 5-6 marines..kacau kacau him a bit and see what is the toss play?

thejols
post Oct 19 2010, 03:26 PM

198 posts

turtle, that normally what people do against 4 gate.
but, in some small distance, i dual rax marauder rush (if its can be called rush thx to latest nerf)
evofantasy
post Oct 19 2010, 03:49 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

drop 1 bunker and get ready to repair the bunker...
4 gates are horrible vs terran when bunkers gets repair (makaprime for yesterday GSL) or good when the u tech and dun repair ur bunker that wayy (tlo in today's gsl)
thejols
post Oct 19 2010, 04:11 PM

198 posts

current zerg style.

fast expand, well a well played zerg, u cant really stop the expo unless he very2 bad. expect 2/3 spine crawler. or he quick speedling to surround helion.

i quick hellion at 2+1+2 more normally.
if i successfully roast 5+ drone around this early games, i can win this game, well better chance i suppose. so i can push with some marine that i keep training at base.

the problem is hellion harass failed mutas out and i need to stay defensive a lot. and this become worst they get 10 mutas to harass and SCOUT what im getting at. at this point, expect for 3rd base up for zerg, or 4th for worst.
while im getting my 1st expo.

since mecha build is the best against zerg, i do 3-4 thor, around 16< marine, 8 hellion blue. and getting owned by huge numbers of roaches.
dont talk about baneling, its much more worst combining it with roaches.

- i got thor
- i got 3 turret at main and expo (sometimes more coz muta harass)
- i micro stim marine to evade baneling if possible.
- i micro hellion
- im force to defensive
- i got 1 expo
- i defend it, i PF it
- i lose.
- i love Ultralisk

maybe im just bad and need more training. wearing a plat/gold badge make me feel so shame la like this.

This post has been edited by thejols: Oct 19 2010, 04:15 PM

124 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:12 PM