Terran Strategy discussion V 1.0, The Last Mankind on Galaxy

thejols
post Aug 11 2010, 12:10 PM

198 posts

got a problem against camper protoss making mass colosus.
ofc with mass stalker as meat (metal) shield. + aura reduce range dmg.

should i start with 4-5 reaper harras, trans to 3 barrack spam marrine+marauder+mediv and lastly viking?

thejols
post Aug 11 2010, 02:11 PM

198 posts

im in practice league, cant adjust the game speed? its very slow.

backto topic.

TvT - counter reaper rush?
TvP - reaper rush viable or better doing something else?

thejols
post Aug 14 2010, 04:16 PM

198 posts

been rushed by protoss early game in small map.

around 8 or 9 suply. well im not blocking front door too well with 1 suply -.-"

probe comes run arround, cant kill it with even 2 scv auto attack.

warp pylon, gate and pumping zealot. inside my base.
while in the mean time im pumping marine.

timing is almost same, all fell to zealot.
im thinking a rematch today, with bunkers in the place where he put pylon,gate,canon.

any idea?

thejols
post Aug 14 2010, 06:17 PM

198 posts

the standard terran build is (my build -,-)

9suply
10/11 barrack.

im doing wrong? vs protoss,im always turtling 1 barrack fast expand.
he managed to ruin inside before i get my MMM strats.
maybe im still bad at this game.

1 more thing, against zerg who like to make transition to mutalisk, should i start with just mass marine/stim pack all they way.
thejols
post Aug 14 2010, 07:08 PM

198 posts

i got 3 around mines, 12 marines.

wiped by mutalist, around 10 i think.
my economy brokedown. the rest is just a story.

i read marauders not recommended against zerg.

im doing mass marines, hellion, tanks. doings very well against zerg.
until mutalisk and some wierd looking flyers ruin it all. lol.

thejols
post Aug 14 2010, 08:50 PM

198 posts

Thor is very expensive sleep.gif". takes longer to build. and by the times its out, tons of mutalisk already rape my scv.

i did notice multiple mutalisk bouncing poo, can wipe entire marine quite easy.

i will give thor a shot tonite. maybe my skill in macro not enable me to spam Thor fast.

i ussualy reaper all race i face, give me an edge in term of resource, produce more unit, etc. but not gonna make habit on that coz in proper league, reaper rush is predictable and easily counter. and it will render me useless with soo many resource spent.
thejols
post Aug 15 2010, 07:26 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Aug 15 2010, 07:09 PM)
shiet my macro sux like hell, haha always forgot to expand and anti air, and zerg always send their muta to harass me. damn..
i learnt my lesson.

dual barrack mass marine, heavy block on choke point with barrack, s.depot, 2 bunkers, 2 siege tank
then expand, do the same on new expand. while massing Thor.

works for 2 games last nite. wanna try it again to find weakness by playing other ppl.

p/s and make sure stimpack upgrade ur marine. against mutalisk u will die anyway, so just stim it! for rapid fire

This post has been edited by thejols: Aug 15 2010, 07:55 PM
thejols
post Aug 18 2010, 05:20 PM

198 posts

hmm
wanna share my problem here.

1)i had most problem Vs any terran
2)i had the worst problem Vs zerg - quick mutalisk harass.

problem no2. going mass marine going be good counter, cheap, fast produce.
whats annoying is they keep me fix in one place. they ctrl the map, expand, anything.
mutalisk can kill marine, tower, viking fast with their group.
bouncing misile.

played a game last nite, zerg guys just baneling defend his base (lol) and get muta a.s.a.p, keep me contain in base while he cont expand.
seriously mass mutalisk very strong and can be produce quickly build.
thejols
post Aug 18 2010, 07:11 PM

198 posts

dude. hellion not gonna able to enter their lair. spine crawler mass. or 3.
normally, the guys who tech Mutalisk fast is the guy who play zergling as decoy or find an opening to enter SCV mineral area.
they gonna avoid battle with hellion.

well im still not able to micro 3-4 thing at once, they keep harass wile they expand. end game i'll lose.

is there anything i can do quick to rush zerg base to delay their quickness.
coz they very quick (some of them), Thor not gonna make it in time.

or maybe cz im still in bronze level -,-"
thejols
post Aug 18 2010, 08:43 PM

198 posts

i would like to see a replay. if anyone could provide one,
since this come from fastgg, the famous one, u sure got some replay in ur collection.

video i got from youtube kinda outdated, march.
where he use mass Raven kill a balls of Mutalisk in like 2 misile seeker.
is it stil viable now? coz i never see anyone use it now.
thejols
post Aug 19 2010, 03:20 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(Grif @ Aug 19 2010, 01:24 AM)
Jeez, is there any way to drop leagues? I find Platinum games too high-level for my liking. (aka losing 90% of my games rofl).
switch with me. coz i dont like being Bronze. lol
i need to fight better opponent to improve.

nvm, i will climb slowly.

since this is terran discussion. just wanna ask, what strats ussualy u do against terran?

ROBOTECH?
thejols
post Aug 19 2010, 05:26 PM

198 posts

i get 1 motorbike, go jalan2 at nearby opponent base.
while going banshee, i start it last nite after getting pawned like that before.
thx replay. lol.
the result is quite good. streak 5.

i just mass marine bunker turtle in case bunch of marauders rush.
and mass marine defensive also protect from pesky reaper rush.
im just afraid of mass marine + siege tank rush.
im not gonna hold it for sure.
mass zergling also failed me last nite ^.^

p/s from Bronze POV biggrin.gif
thejols
post Aug 22 2010, 03:29 PM

198 posts

i met a gold player zerg (my placement match after bronze), indeed he keep me in base, after his Baneling strats failed, its seems im in good favour, until he quickly switch to Muta harras,
i defend quite well but superior unit soon comes to end my wall of defend.
yes macro, control over map.

its even hard to get out thor (got 3 at least).
while having expansion, he keep harass even at the cost of losing Muta.
just to make sure SCV dead.

the good thing about multi expansion and map control, give me some idea at least.

against some zerg muta player, i did quite well. its seems in difrent good hand, it can be very2 deadly.

thejols
post Aug 22 2010, 08:34 PM

198 posts

select ALL BC, press YYYYYYY to 1 target.
on topic,

if u see fast expand zerg, what would u react knowing he will quick Mutalisk.

if u see Baneling -to- quick Mutalisk, what would u do.

i played almost 20 games, and i only lost to Mutalisk gold player and some random Protoss doing gateway INSIDE my base, i admit my noobish eye didnt see probe come at start warping at the edge of of my base.

actually i kinda hesitate to decide which plan is should do after scout resulting unpredictable unit or build, a mess u could say.
(maybe too much youtube SC2. lol)

p/s just promoted to silver after been hammered badly by gold player in placement match. sleep.gif"
thejols
post Aug 23 2010, 10:46 AM

198 posts

play with Zerg last nite. my mindset already MutaMutaMuta.
suddenly army of Ultra~ im toasted.

thejols
post Aug 24 2010, 06:03 PM

198 posts

ok noob question
silver league teach me lots of good thing after promoted.
1- im soo f***ing weak. (damn emo after streak -7 lost)
2-MACRO IS VERY IMPORTANT
3-my opening is good, my MID game is sampah.

question is
- in 1 mineral, how many gatherer u put?
- 2xGAS, 2 on 1 GAS on start, 3/2 on both GAS on heavy mech mid game?
- do u group Barrack, Factory, Starport in 1 hotkey?
----- im using 4 for barrack, 5 for factory, 6 for starport, 7 for command center. 1,2,3 for unit. need a better idea.
- do u group MMM (marine, marauders, medic) in ONE hotkey?

all smal things like this makes a difrent, so i want an oppinion. ty.

thejols
post Aug 24 2010, 09:08 PM

198 posts

yea. im in state from improving my mid game state.
im overconfident from winning streak on bronze league.
how shame of me -.-"

got a freinds in Plat. training with him. i can deal with him on early game,
as soon as game enter mid game, im overwhelmed.

i do not break(mostly) when playing sc2. from 11pm-3am.
if not working 11pm-6-7am. play till yelling (frustated haha).

i talk many, the most important info i want to find is answered
so 24 on mineral, 3 on gas1 and 1/2 on gas2.
build an expansion and takeout 8 from 24. continue spam another 8 scv till 16-24 per expansion. and keep going making an expansion.
practically. i need around 30 scv before entering mid game to ensure my building "working" as income steadily stabile.
thejols
post Aug 25 2010, 01:00 PM

198 posts

reaper rush eh, i defend those with marines only.
----

basicly u wanna say is,
24 marine
12 rauder
3 mediv
couple tanks.
=PURRFECT BALL
thejols
post Aug 25 2010, 01:47 PM

198 posts

my b.o ussually

getting barrack reactor - spam marine if see cheese is coming doh.gif. reaper rush.
send it to mineral.
he sure spend lots of gas, delaying his tech.
get factory - starport switch reactor with barrack - couple medivec.
carpet marrine his mining field.

sound cool and easy right? why dont u try it and see how.

@Quaza
normally i already got lots of marine after his 1-2 reaper comes to harass, yes i lost few SCV, but he lost more, dead reaper, if he's not fall back.
not to mention gas, time he waste, making his teching phase much slower than opponent.
thejols
post Aug 25 2010, 02:38 PM

198 posts

i also kena whack always oo in silver league.
always lose when mid game transition.

oh now Zerg found new way to trample over Terran,
the "MAGIX BOX" Mutalisk!
not soo easy to execute, not soo hard also.
fight with frens, and surely its powerful.
4 Thor + Marine + 2 Mediv = mass of Mutalisk + Zerg
i spend alot to see all unit died.

i can only expand to 1 nearby mineral. he keep me contain.
ofc his experience in RTS better, ( a semifinalist wcg wc3)
but i can see i left behind in macro management.

ok QQ, Mutalisk is imba! biggrin.gif
i really hope got someone comes with new way to counter this.

option that seems to work as i tried it (not soo effective)
few thors, mass marine, few mediv, 6-7 vikings.
while he just speedling and mass Mutalisk.
after a long push and back game, im lost, when Ultralisk take over Zergling place.
DAMN!

0.0216sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:02 PM