Grif
post Aug 3 2010, 02:29 AM

378 posts

QUOTE(Notoriez @ Aug 3 2010, 01:58 AM)
Guys,

Terran lover here..

Im just wondering why there is quite less unit when playing skirmish games?? No medic etc...

Sorry, im quite outdated with the news... blush.gif

btw..when we can have friendly games among each other??
Medivac has replaced Medic as the healing unit. Same for Firebat with Marauder.

Goliath, Vultures, and Wraiths are also replaced by Thor, Hellion and Banshee/Vikings in Multiplayer.

Blizzard posted something to the effect Marine, Marauders, Medic team being OP lol.

Grif
post Aug 19 2010, 01:24 AM

378 posts

Jeez, is there any way to drop leagues? I find Platinum games too high-level for my liking. (aka losing 90% of my games rofl).
Grif
post Aug 19 2010, 04:11 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(Wolf516 @ Aug 19 2010, 03:35 PM)
I find that TvT is a battle of mobility..... which ever player has the map control he will have the advantage

normally U will see a lot of mmm and siege, or some players like to go for banshee's
Yeah, the adventurous ones (and also foolish ones like me tongue.gif) go for banshees sometimes in TvT. Incredibly annoying and the cloak makes it even worse.

Early siege + MM seems seems to be the way to go though.
Grif
post Aug 19 2010, 10:37 PM

378 posts

Why is it every Zerg player I meet loves to muta rush me? Jeez I am getting to a point where I build turrets/bunkers whenever there's a suspicious lull in the battle.
Grif
post Aug 22 2010, 01:00 AM

378 posts

I have to ask you guys. How do you use Terran to break into a defended base? I always have this inability to finish off my opponent effectively despite dominating the opening battles.
Grif
post Aug 22 2010, 08:24 PM

378 posts

Jeez, TvTs always degenerates into stalemates with occasional harassment. lol.
Grif
post Aug 23 2010, 07:50 AM

378 posts

QUOTE(Wolf516 @ Aug 22 2010, 10:37 PM)
sad.gif  I find it hard to play against protoss..... they could mass army so quickly and could be so deceiving,
I saw a stargate when I scan, there were some void rays too, and it was just 11minute into the game

got my anti-air units up and running, then when I was planning to do a drop I saw a mass stalker at the center and quickly returned to def, while the protoss player uses his warp prism to warp his units behind my base and blinking his stalkers through my block.... nice play

major phail  for me doh.gif
I agree to this. Protoss players can be very unpredictable. Most of the TvP games that I win because I just took the MM Bio to him instead of sitting around in the base waiting for the inevitable Void rape or mass Stalker blinkage. When I hesitate = 30 mins long game where the P usually outmacro me lol.
Grif
post Aug 23 2010, 01:18 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 23 2010, 11:36 AM)
MMM rape fastling? no?
When I play zerg against terran ling are just mean for suicide
Not if your MMM ball is not big enough. Less than 12-15 marines and maruders usually means food for speedlings. laugh.gif
Grif
post Aug 23 2010, 09:54 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(roronoa_zorro @ Aug 23 2010, 09:15 PM)
i hate the burrow ability
last time i play 2v2
marrive mmm ill use toss
luckly i play void ray only
zerg got banelings hide underground tapau all the mm
my void ray tapau all the zerg back haha
Ravens are your best friend here. laugh.gif
Grif
post Aug 23 2010, 11:33 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(roronoa_zorro @ Aug 23 2010, 11:26 PM)
raven need to add tech at the star port...
wut i do just use the radar to scoute...
Hey, I use that energy for mules/supply depots. Besides, scans are fickle and energy dependent (and also reserve for emergency). Scan wrong? GG BANELINGS RUSH!
Grif
post Aug 23 2010, 11:44 PM

378 posts

For 1, MMM Ball works pretty well against them. (Esp Immortals). Or you can just mass BC them. lulz. If your micro is good, you still can mech them, with ghost support. (EMP > Immortals)

For 2, not letting it happen in the first place. Alternatively, don't engage Void Rays anyway near your base. Charged Void rays = gg. Spam Vikings with Marine support. Kite the Void Rays around.

This post has been edited by Grif: Aug 23 2010, 11:46 PM
Grif
post Aug 24 2010, 12:14 AM

378 posts

QUOTE(N1ck @ Aug 24 2010, 12:07 AM)
I played a TvT match where the opponent went seige tanks + mass vikings + few marines
I couldn't do anything, stuck in my base. My tanks couldn't reach him cause I cant see him while he can see me with his vikings. I couldn't attack his tanks cause a ramp was funneling my marine + marauders and my medivacs got shot down.
Even worse when he got a few thors out.
Did you try sneaking a boatful of Marines and Marauders to his base/expansions? tongue.gif I won my last TvT cuz he wasn't paying attention to his base. Then he went for a panic all-in rush and got slaughtered by own siege tanks.

Also, cloaked banshee(s) works pretty well for siege tanks entrenched outside your base. Send them out in 1 or 2s until he runs out of energy to scan, then send the whole shebang in and profit. (Note: obviously this doesn't work with a Raven nearby).
Grif
post Aug 24 2010, 09:43 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(thejols @ Aug 24 2010, 09:08 PM)
yea. im in state from improving my mid game state.
im overconfident from winning streak on bronze league.
how shame of me -.-"

got a freinds in Plat. training with him. i can deal with him on early game,
as soon as game enter mid game, im overwhelmed.

i do not break(mostly) when playing sc2. from 11pm-3am.
if not working 11pm-6-7am. play till yelling (frustated haha).

i talk many, the most important info i want to find is answered
so 24 on mineral, 3 on gas1 and 1/2 on gas2.
build an expansion and takeout 8 from 24. continue spam another 8 scv till 16-24 per expansion. and keep going making an expansion.
practically. i need around 30 scv before entering mid game to ensure my building "working" as income steadily stabile.
My midgame is horrible as well. tongue.gif

Do you guises do the Tank/Viking combo? I hear it is pretty easy to pick up.
Grif
post Aug 24 2010, 11:23 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(roronoa_zorro @ Aug 24 2010, 11:08 PM)
tank + viking only?
better if u add 2 dozen of marrine 1 dozen of maruder+2/3 medvac
use medvac to carry tank
Well, that's the basic idea. Tanks for land, Vikings for Anti-air. Mix other units as needed. I had a couple of T players using em against me. I was actually bottled up in my base for quite abit while I had to use Medivacs to land elsewhere.
Grif
post Aug 25 2010, 01:39 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(pakabluegun @ Aug 25 2010, 01:22 PM)
turtle in my one base? and let him expand?  he will parade his tanks near my choke point while rolling in more MMM at the same time taking over the world i mean the minerals.

I calculated a banshee rush and it just wont work with the speed he is getting his MMM.  Marauders are really imba, the range and the damage is kinda insane and kinda intimidating.
Learn to hit and run. Use cloaked banshees to harass, or just medivac drop MMs into his worker line. Force him on the defensive, since you can't meet his army headon. (Use nuklear launch detected to spook him as well. tongue.gif )

Also, BC > MMM ball. laugh.gif
Grif
post Aug 25 2010, 05:33 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(thejols @ Aug 25 2010, 05:22 PM)
its nothing better than everyday facing a good plat/diamond player.
in the learning level, ppl do much care about winning.
so cheese is always an option.
while actually its got gonna make u better.
(but plat player i met not like play with me coz im too easy fr him -.-")

yesterday i tried DCF with Banshee rush vs zerg.
yes its damn hurt his economy and prevent him from expand n making that annoying Mutalisk.
its crucial to make Banshee a.s.a.p (wall ur choke and ready SCV to repair incoming Zerling early push).
and yes Banshee eat Queen 1on1. i never see 2 Queen at early game.

also got 1 game i scouted an early Spire built, well i just go with my guts, expand, reactor Starport, HUGE number of Viking.
seems work ok, until he he make lots of spore and anti air ground unit, which i respond with MM tanks push.

as far as i see as Silver player. u control the map, u contain the player.
u can do as u please....
I seen a Zerg player pushed back my Banshee harass with 4 Queens. I lulz. Too bad I DC-ed that match. It was interesting enough.
Grif
post Aug 25 2010, 05:50 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Aug 25 2010, 05:46 PM)
how to get to the diamond league? because i was rank 2 in the platinum league. and i don have time to keep on ladder. haha
Keep winning. Rank in the league doesn't mean automatic promotion.
Grif
post Aug 25 2010, 06:04 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(thejols @ Aug 25 2010, 05:57 PM)
4 queens! lol
mean he already knew that incoming Banshee.
clear me something, u wait for Cloak researched and 2nd Banshee right?
the best choice is 1st banshee straight to base, ussually got Queen, feel free to eat that and few more Drones. if i have to lose Banshee after killing Queen and 5 more drones, i dont mind at all.
------------
its not terran like to turtle, its coz they got Scanner. haha
ussually im forced to turtle vs zerg. well Mutalisk ofc.
before we heard terran is OP.
now i called Zerg OP, they ctrl too much.
(i believe nt me only saying this)
what soo hard using zerg Mutalisk when  what u do is chipping enemy base little by little. u just need basic micro to do that.
Nah. He had 2 queen when I arrived, so managed to destroy my first banshee. Then by the time I get 2 banshees up (no cloak btw, your econ is too tanked to be producing banshee and researching cloak.), he had 4 queens standing by, healing each other. That was one of the best anti-banshee plays I see from a Zerg player.
Grif
post Aug 27 2010, 06:00 PM

378 posts

4 simultaneous attacks. Woah. Superb micro.

EDIT: Bloody hell, I must be the only player to constantly lose to void ray mass.

This post has been edited by Grif: Aug 27 2010, 08:48 PM
Grif
post Aug 29 2010, 08:52 AM

378 posts

QUOTE(thejols @ Aug 28 2010, 05:51 PM)
haha why u let them mass it.
if i see its coming, i ussually increase my marine numbers + stimpack a.s.a.p.
while reactor pumping viking if can..

working most of the time for me. (not all time lol)
I see it coming a mile away. Yet, I can't seem to keep a Toss player contained when he goes with this strat. doh.gif Need to mass more marines.

0.0448sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:14 PM