Terran Strategy discussion V 1.0, The Last Mankind on Galaxy

goldfries
post Aug 17 2010, 04:11 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i closed his thread cos he was asking how to improve on his Terran escapades.

ghosts are like last resort hope to take down that pesky air unit with little life left. tongue.gif

I'd stick with vikings / goliaths / marines for AA......... wraiths are fast and does AA / AG but i find not as strong as a group of viking or group of banshees.

Added on August 17, 2010, 4:12 pm
QUOTE(night_wolf_in @ Aug 17 2010, 03:53 PM)
aight. what is best against 4 battlecruisers? the Hellion what is good for?

after reading much here. i realized that Mass producing MM is the way of playing this race.
dude, from what you posted. you're looking like asking to be spoon fed.

could you just at least play multiplayer vs AI and learn your units?

we can tell you as much as we can but in the end you still need to know how to work those units well.

goldfries
post Aug 17 2010, 04:21 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

1 BC = about 2.5 vikings but vikings are a lot faster, hits harder. viking no yamato and need to go mech mode to hit ground units. sad.gif

i find hellions nice vs zerglings. they can't come close when you micro. just like how zealot chase marine / marauder.

Added on August 17, 2010, 4:23 pm
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 17 2010, 04:19 PM)
ghost is AWESOME against banshee. 1 emp round, and its rofl no cloak. i havent tried sniping air, but if it works, ghosts are hella deadly.

also, Goliaths arent available in mplayer, wraiths too
damn. i'm stuck with StarCraft thinking!!!!

i've been multiplayering with Protoss too much. biggrin.gif

no firebats too! sad.gif
goldfries
post Aug 18 2010, 10:37 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i played my 1st vs human game last night, the fella tried to marine rush me by having 2 bunkers VERY near my base while using 2 supply depot and a barrack to block his entrance.

i choose random and ended up with zerg (my strongest race in SC but it's my WEAKEST in SC2 since i rarely play it).

so being unfamiliar with other zerg tech other than zerglings, i did a rush on that fella. taking down the supply depot first. haha. and spamming zerglings....... then only to realize the bunkers with a few marines nearby (he sent 1 marine to hit my hatchery, nice giveaway).

after that he attempted to escape and all but in the end it was GG. game took less than 9 minutes i think.

ehh i know i'm talking about zerg play from my end but i'm just sharing that as a Terran, take care of your supply depot! and having 2 barracks without steady economy is pointless. you still can't pump marine fast enough.
goldfries
post Aug 18 2010, 11:24 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i think many users don't know how they can automate the SCV (or drone or probes).

most of them wait for SCV come out, then click SCV to click on mineral.

what they can do is click on command center and right click on mineral, straight SCV come out it'll go mining already. works for vespene too.

other issue people face is the lack of supply depot. they forget to monitor that. using supply depot to block entrance is good BUT make sure you have surplus cos once that one's down you're short on supplies!

and also, some people like to spam marine in queue, not a good idea.

for initial stage, i go scv, then once i get more constant mineral intake i'll scv / marine in alternate fashion. after that once there's like 11 - 13 scv on minerals, it's marines all the way.

get vespenes for marauders and some upgrades too. ideally 3 - 4 scv per vespene.
goldfries
post Aug 18 2010, 11:45 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(True Parallels @ Aug 18 2010, 11:41 AM)
When to build vevspene for generic build order ? 13? 12 ?
you can actually choose not to build vespene at all. biggrin.gif but the good units require some vespene, eg marauder and stalker. some buildings need it too.

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Aug 18 2010, 11:31 AM)
i thought 3 scv/probe/harvester per vespene is best? 4th is wasted since he waiting only?
i usually use 3.

4 could possibly give you more vespene since a waiting gatherer means it's literally non-stop. while 3 means it has a slight gap. how significant, i donno.

which is why i use 3. cos i need more M than V.

goldfries
post Aug 18 2010, 12:33 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yup. in some cases i just get 2 refinery and 2 harvester, which is quite often more than enough unless i'm spamming gas intensive units.

awesome game. Terrans, don't get flanked!
goldfries
post Aug 20 2010, 12:47 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

you should view the match where TLO use Zerg to beat Terran Mech.
goldfries
post Aug 22 2010, 06:49 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 20 2010, 08:33 AM)
see the main reason on why moon mentioned muta

and see the video again.
this was what moon mentioned.

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Aug 19 2010, 11:07 PM)
Muta is really common against terran. That's the only way to contain a terran to outmacro them. If not zerg has no chance against mech
my point was that if you look at TLO's game, he didn't muta against the terran and still has a chance against mech.

oh btw, i muta against a terran today. tongue.gif cos early scouting already see the fella bunkering in.
goldfries
post Aug 22 2010, 07:21 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

it's still a good option nevertheless. terran thors / siege tanks / MMM are awesome combo.
goldfries
post Aug 22 2010, 08:09 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 22 2010, 07:51 PM)
the reason moon mentioned to muta, is to contain the terran. TLO ALREADY contained the terran. look at how many bases TLO had vs cola. nuff said. lol.
aiyah you still don't understand. we all already know that.

i just saw moon's sentence

Muta is really common against terran. That's the only way to contain a terran to outmacro them. If not zerg has no chance against mech

so i quoted TLO match for containing Terran without Muta la, get it yet? smile.gif

of course muta is convenient, i also use muta to contain terran. cos they AA / AS. useful combo. took out the Terran SCV and Supply Depot being primary offensive, paired with zerglings.
goldfries
post Aug 22 2010, 11:20 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 22 2010, 08:30 PM)
and i replied you with the intention to point out that its not that TLO didnt need muta, he just already "won" when hes having so many bases against terran's 2 base. that and what TLO does, cant really apply to "normal non-pro" players considering the flexibility in his strats and how he micro his units on the fly.

case in point:
i've tried TLO's fast factory builds, shit tends to faill all the damn time  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
which in the end goes back to MUTA isn't the only way to go lor, IF you can handle it la. biggrin.gif

yes yes i do agree with that "can't apply to normal non-pro players" though, i saw the way he play and i was like WTH i can even micro like 1/4 of the way he's doing.

goldfries
post Aug 23 2010, 01:28 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

barricade can hold how long?

yesterday my Terran opponent also barricade with 2 SD and 1 barrack.

i muta come from side also the SD burning already. he send marines there.

then i back off. then later on i come again with lings + muta. which one to hit? hit air (defend marines) the lings will claw through. hit lings, marines die. so how?

in the end the SD bocor, i spam muta, no vespene already i spam lings (plenty of minerals).

by then his turrets also useless cos my muta on holding formation so they still hit when SCV in range.

lings run around party in the base. GG.
goldfries
post Oct 2 2010, 09:37 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

eh srs la guys, do Terran players not play any other thing than MMM?
goldfries
post Oct 5 2010, 09:48 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ Oct 4 2010, 01:37 AM)
speaking of casters, need more totalbiscuit love.
Love that British accent. Funny too!
damn funny. biggrin.gif love his narration.
goldfries
post Oct 7 2010, 02:50 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Oct 7 2010, 12:44 PM)
nono, i don like MMM, because MMM is too normal, all terran is doing that haha.
ehh viking + cloaked banshee?

goldfries
post Oct 7 2010, 02:57 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

scans are limited. vikings to anti them ravens.

the vikings / banshees can be accompanies by marines too.
goldfries
post Oct 7 2010, 03:04 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

but but but we're talking in the context of anti MMM la.
goldfries
post Oct 8 2010, 04:50 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 7 2010, 03:07 PM)
1-2 scans is all you need really. and you can also proxy missle turrets on the push
can you elaborate?

from my POV is that he's asking against MMM user.

the scan part was assuming the fella doesn't have ravens or having ravens destroyed.

how would 1 - 2 scans be sufficient when the banshees move all over the place and could be divided in multiple groups?
goldfries
post Oct 8 2010, 05:04 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

eh, my banshee / viking suggestion was in reply to your anti-MMM push lah. biggrin.gif

what would you do if you're the banshee user and you know the Terran would micro the marines to scan?

there is a possibility also that the Terran may not have scans, or may have spent energy on MULE or whatever stuff so can't scan.

which is why i think banshee usage is a possibility.
goldfries
post Oct 8 2010, 05:24 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(rockets @ Oct 8 2010, 05:07 PM)
1 scan would be sufficient... if the guy doesn't micro his banshees at all and just fight marines head on. the good ones will use the extra range on the banshees to hit and run your marines and any unprotected structures.
if talking about head to head combat at a particular area then yes. 1 - 2 scans are fine, i think that's what quaz was referring to.

my post saying "scans" are limited in reference to the whole game. if the fella doesn't have raven and no scans available, then i think banshee spam can be really good..

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 8 2010, 05:19 PM)
you can build an eng bay (marine/rauder +1 dmg) and build proxy turrents along with ur MMM push. that way banshees are 100% gg'd

if he try to harass the scv (before you have any turrets up), either medivac heal, or pause building load in medivac, while you do 1 scan and marine stim to rape the banshee/force retreat

if he goes for ur mineral line, you *SHOULD* have turrets up already and with scv repairs (or even mule, they repair faster FYI) 1 turret can take out at least 2-3 banshees alone, and you can build 2-4 well placed turrets to cover ur entire mineral line
ok.

with all those "IF"s mean banshees do have a chance.

good anti-banshee tips there.

0.0395sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:30 PM