126 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

HTC Desire Official Thread V4, FAQs on First Page [Froyo 2.2 is Here!]

Pennywise
post Aug 19 2010, 10:01 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Aug 19 2010, 09:56 AM)
Hi All,

If I root my Desire will it wipe off everything like sms, contacts...etc?
Root wont, flash would. People tend to misunderstand the concept of rooting. Rooting only gives you superuser permission to your phone, it does not do anything else. By rooting, it allow you to flash a new operating system (Eclair to Froyo), even though to original Froyo for SEA HTC Desire units isnt available yet.

Only during flashing, you'd lose your data. You can backup all data (incl. SMS, MMS, Contacts, Photos, Scene settings, etc) with Titanium Backup, downloadable from Market.
pigletbb
post Aug 19 2010, 10:02 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Aug 19 2010, 09:37 AM)
wah... save tat much battery ar~
tempted to try nextsense 5.3 eh ~~
but then maliqu say it boot veli slow ~  so not that recommended..
Might just try deLite biggrin.gif
duno the power savers in deLite is ok or not compare to nextsense 5.3 ~  anyone tried both? and have some comments ? smile.gif
Not really slow la, my one only took 30 ~ 45 seconds to boot up.
akachester
post Aug 19 2010, 10:03 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Aug 19 2010, 09:37 AM)
wah... save tat much battery ar~
tempted to try nextsense 5.3 eh ~~
but then maliqu say it boot veli slow ~  so not that recommended..
Might just try deLite biggrin.gif
duno the power savers in deLite is ok or not compare to nextsense 5.3 ~  anyone tried both? and have some comments ? smile.gif
Well, i dont mind the boot up to be honest. I don't restart much anyway. Personally, the boot up is only VERY slow for the first time. Other than they, they are fine with me.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 19 2010, 09:47 AM)
I have mine slightly better with r8
I am very tempted to try the R8 or RC1 but too bad, its for premium members only tongue.gif
CKHong
post Aug 19 2010, 10:04 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(hao @ Aug 19 2010, 09:55 AM)
Hmm... how many times you restart your phone? whistling.gif
ermm.. for me.. i bought my phone on mid july.. then so far.. restarted my phone :
1 x change 8gb microSD card
1 x the phone lagg... when play games.. and scrolling...
then no more edi biggrin.gif

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 19 2010, 10:03 AM)
Well, i dont mind the boot up to be honest. I don't restart much anyway. Personally, the boot up is only VERY slow for the first time. Other than they, they are fine with me.
The first time.. did u mean when u finish flash the nextsense ROM then it will be VERY slow ??
then after that whenever i reboot my phone, it wont as slow as the first time?
is that what u mean ? smile.gif

This post has been edited by CKHong: Aug 19 2010, 10:08 AM
Cynox
post Aug 19 2010, 10:06 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

ok, before I enter the dark side, some questions:

1. Is it more advisable to upgrade my storage card from the 2GB to 8/16GB before I root? As I understand, some rooting process will create partition on the card. So I can save some works if I upgrade my card first?

2. A2SD+ is better than A2SD from Froyo but A2SD+ is depend on rom?

These question might have asked before but this thread is moving so fast that the info has been fast buried. sweat.gif

Thanks in advance. smile.gif
akachester
post Aug 19 2010, 10:08 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 19 2010, 10:06 AM)

1.  Is it more advisable to upgrade my storage card from the 2GB to 8/16GB before I root?  As I understand, some rooting process will create partition on the card.  So I can save some works if I upgrade my card first?

2.  A2SD+ is better than A2SD from Froyo but A2SD+ is depend on rom?

These question might have asked before but this thread is moving so fast that the info has been fast buried.  sweat.gif

Thanks in advance.  smile.gif
On my 8gb, after partition and stuff, i loose about 1GB from my SD. So, i do recommend something bigger than 2GB unless you don't mind the lack in space.

A2SD+ are available on MOST of the custom ROMs. Without partition, they act about the same as the native APP2SD. They are only usable when you have EXT partition.
KTCY
post Aug 19 2010, 10:08 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

1.  Is it more advisable to upgrade my storage card from the 2GB to 8/16GB before I root?  As I understand, some rooting process will create partition on the card.  So I can save some works if I upgrade my card first?

These question might have asked before but this thread is moving so fast that the info has been fast buried.  sweat.gif

1. Rooting don't need to create partition. Flashing ROM, yes.

2. yes. A2SD+ will install straight to phone while FroYo native A2SD is rely on the apps whether its supported or not.

This post has been edited by KTCY: Aug 19 2010, 10:13 AM
hao
post Aug 19 2010, 10:09 AM

Quills™
5,469 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 19 2010, 09:59 AM)
Quite a few in a month tongue.gif
Yes as you need wipe data when flash ROM. But you can backup using titanium backup.
Your hand is itchy, that's different case alrdy laugh.gif

QUOTE(CKHong @ Aug 19 2010, 10:04 AM)
ermm.. for me.. i bought my phone on mid july.. then so far.. restarted my phone :
1 x change 8gb microSD card
1 x the phone lagg... when play games.. and scrolling...
then no more edi biggrin.gif
Which means, slow booting isn't really a problem since you don't always restart your phone right? wink.gif

1. Rooting will not create partition on the card.
2. A2SD+ allows you to install the apps into your SD card as it forces the apps to think that your SD card as your phone memory. As for A2SD, only selected apps can be installed in the SD card.
CKHong
post Aug 19 2010, 10:10 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 19 2010, 10:08 AM)
1. Rooting won't create partition. Flashing ROM, yes.

2. yes. A2SD+ will install straight to phone while FroYo native A2SD is rely on the apps whether its supported or not.
I thought Flashing ROM, we need to do our own partition ??
or the ROM will create magically for us ?? sorry kinda blur on the partitioning part ~

QUOTE(hao @ Aug 19 2010, 10:09 AM)
Which means, slow booting isn't really a problem since you don't always restart your phone right? wink.gif
yups... slow booting won't be a problem to me thou~
just that i need force my heart dun beat too fast.. when I see my phone keep hang in there ~ since u all say it will be VERY slow in the first boot ~ biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by CKHong: Aug 19 2010, 10:15 AM
draco82
post Aug 19 2010, 10:11 AM

584 posts

depends on what you store in your phone, after partition 512mb for ext3 you will left less than 1.3Gb(roughly)...is it enough for you?
yes, a2sd+ is depends on rom, but most roms support a2sd+ unless for those which state original official froyo without mod~~
KTCY
post Aug 19 2010, 10:12 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Aug 19 2010, 10:10 AM)
I thought Flashing ROM,  we need to do our own partition ??
or the ROM will create magically for us ??  sorry kinda blur on the partitioning part ~
Sorry. My mistake. A bit blur today.
What I'm trying to say is rooting won't require partition.

When flashing ROM, you need so that you can use A2SD+

Sorry guys.
akachester
post Aug 19 2010, 10:12 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

or the ROM will create magically for us ??  sorry kinda blur on the partitioning part ~
No. NO Partition will magically be created. You need to create it manually using ROM Manager. Some ROM require partitions because they come by default, with APP2SD+. If it does not come with it, then NO partition is required.
draco82
post Aug 19 2010, 10:13 AM

584 posts

yups... slow booting won't be a problem to me thou~
just that i need to for my heart dun beat too fast.. when I see my phone keep hang in there ~ since u all say it will be VERY slow in the first boot ~  biggrin.gif
we need to create our own~~
CKHong
post Aug 19 2010, 10:14 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 19 2010, 10:12 AM)

Sorry guys.
so whats the sequence??
Partition Then flash ROM
OR
Flash ROM then do partition ??
or either way ?
KTCY
post Aug 19 2010, 10:14 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Seems like my blurness of replying cause some bad factor laugh.gif
Sorry guys.

Rooting don't need partition and we need to create the partition by ourself.

Added on August 19, 2010, 10:15 am
QUOTE(CKHong @ Aug 19 2010, 10:14 AM)
so whats the sequence??
Partition Then flash ROM
OR
Flash ROM then do partition ??
or either way ?
I partition then flash.

This post has been edited by KTCY: Aug 19 2010, 10:15 AM
CKHong
post Aug 19 2010, 10:18 AM

1,380 posts

oo ok.. thanks biggrin.gif this friday is the day for me to join ya'll in d dark side ~ yeah ~~~
then maybe i'll try nextsense 5.3 biggrin.gif wah hopefully u all will be there~~

wah.. have to start work d.. been snake for 1 hours ++ ...
kena pecat nanti ~ hehe..

This post has been edited by CKHong: Aug 19 2010, 10:19 AM
draco82
post Aug 19 2010, 10:22 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 19 2010, 10:12 AM)

Sorry guys.
Flashing too much... tongue.gif
Bro, you are using rc1 right?
some one complain people not getting facebook pict update and so so...
how's yours? you wipe or no wipe?
akachester
post Aug 19 2010, 10:25 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Well, it doesn't matter whether you Partition -> Flash or Flash -> Partition. I would flash first then only partition smile.gif
KTCY
post Aug 19 2010, 10:26 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(draco82 @ Aug 19 2010, 10:22 AM)
Flashing too much... tongue.gif
Bro, you are using rc1 right?
some one complain people not getting facebook pict update and so so...
how's yours? you wipe or no wipe?
I haven't really try yet. This morning 6am flash that.
Untick google mail but still in there. Told Paul but no respond.

Well, I feel rc1 like not stable. My phone heat up easily just now. Might be beautiful widget prob but not sure.
Will stay with it first as now I face mounted read only prob. sad.gif
Pennywise
post Aug 19 2010, 10:26 AM

5,796 posts

I turned away to read One Piece manga and it has 16 new updates... This thread is really growing fast.

I have used LeeDroid and NextSense. I want to try something else but I am not willing to pay for those premium ones. Can anyone recommend me something?

126 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:33 PM