Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V2, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

xaw5126
post Sep 22 2010, 03:04 PM

3,488 posts

@bonebone`
why don't you not buy an iPhone4? then dun have stress?

you want more discount > get 24 month plan.
you want flexibility to change plan > get 12 month.
you want both > open your own telco.
slickz
post Sep 22 2010, 03:06 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Sep 22 2010, 02:30 PM)
@slickz
cos the dum-dum in the link above didn't subscribe data plan. so Maxis conveniently billed him for pay-per-use.
since its in the contract, they can do it.
since they're an iPhone partner, the phone will auto-update its APN n other carrier data.
since the phone is smarter than the owner ...
LOL! okay.... so this issue wouldn't happen with IValue users (They just pay RM 100 for iValue 1 for example, provided :

1. They watch their data usage and keep their surfing down to < 1GB

?
nimrod323
post Sep 22 2010, 03:08 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Sep 22 2010, 03:06 PM)
LOL! okay.... so this issue wouldn't happen with IValue users (They just pay RM 100 for iValue 1 for example, provided :

?
you havto ration your usage, try to avoid youtube as it eats alot of data, otherwise normal surfing plus facebook+twitter should be sufficient
xaw5126
post Sep 22 2010, 03:08 PM

3,488 posts

@slickz
iValue1 for iPhone4 has 1Gb, so yeah, keep the data usage below 1GB, should be OK. must check with Maxis CS when buying, when is the billing cycle.
this capped data thing is one of the reasons I'm not on Maxis.
bonebone`
post Sep 22 2010, 03:09 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Sep 22 2010, 03:04 PM)
@bonebone`
why don't you not buy an iPhone4? then dun have stress?

you want more discount > get 24 month plan.
you want flexibility to change plan > get 12 month.
you want both > open your own telco.
Is it wrong to ask and express some of my doubts ?
nimrod323
post Sep 22 2010, 03:10 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(bonebone` @ Sep 22 2010, 03:09 PM)
Is it wrong to ask and express some of my doubts ?
isnt there a rule infront that says no whining/no comparing so its perfectly fine if someone points out exactly the way you are acting out.
xaw5126
post Sep 22 2010, 03:12 PM

3,488 posts

@bonebone` not exactly, but you're being unreasonable. you semua pun mau...
@nimrod323 thanks for that smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Sep 22 2010, 03:35 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(bonebone` @ Sep 22 2010, 02:45 PM)
Thx for the suggestion. Well actually wat i'm worry is dat for eg. the previous ivalue plan was not as good as the current new ivalue. Therefore if i subscribe for 24 months and in case in the next 12 months, maxis revise the plan to a better deal. Then i wont get to enjoy that latest plan as i'm bound for the current ivalue1 plan for 24 months.
then juz get the 1 yr contract lah. problem solved biggrin.gif

QUOTE(slickz @ Sep 22 2010, 03:06 PM)

?
yes. that's the point of data plans. i made that mistake myself before. was trying to surf awhile on my 3g dumbphone (way back in 2006...i dont think they even hav data plans back then) n got charged rm30 i think. it was only 2 or 3 pages. luckily i learnt my lesson early and was on prepaid
slickz
post Sep 22 2010, 03:54 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Sep 22 2010, 03:35 PM)
then juz get the 1 yr contract lah. problem solved biggrin.gif
yes. that's the point of data plans. i made that mistake myself before. was trying to surf awhile on my 3g dumbphone (way back in 2006...i dont think they even hav data plans back then) n got charged rm30 i think. it was only 2 or 3 pages. luckily i learnt my lesson early and was on prepaid
good to know. You guys have just saved me from a possible future of shocking bills! I guess I won't need the iData plan then, iValue 1 seems to be sufficient for me.
loverjinx
post Sep 22 2010, 04:02 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Sep 22 2010, 03:54 PM)
good to know. You guys have just saved me from a possible future of shocking bills! I guess I won't need the iData plan then, iValue 1 seems to be sufficient for me.
yeah. just be careful not to exceed the data plans ! tongue.gif
BigJoe
post Sep 22 2010, 04:21 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Sep 22 2010, 03:54 PM)
Maxis just loves giving shocking bills !
99.99% the CS says they can't do anything about it or my case the girl even said she got a shocking bill too
g3n0c1d3
post Sep 22 2010, 04:30 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(BigJoe @ Sep 22 2010, 04:21 PM)
Maxis just loves giving  shocking bills !
99.99% the CS says they can't do anything about it or my case the girl even said she got a shocking bill too
just remember this.... when u using a smartphone.. (be it android or iphone) u cannot rule out the data usage....
now most of us kindda cheapskate.... want to use smartphone but never want to get the data plan... try to save of course.... but at the end of the day whines of shocking bills...

last time with my 3gs and im using prepaid.... i got free 500mb permonth for a year and guess what?? i could never over-use it... with my push functions at ON mode, surfing moderately, heck... i even do some tethering but never could over-used it....

500mb last time was only rm58.... if my calculations are right... rm300++>rm58

slickz
post Sep 22 2010, 04:42 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Sep 22 2010, 04:30 PM)
just remember this.... when u using a smartphone.. (be it android or iphone) u cannot rule out the data usage....
now most of us kindda cheapskate.... want to use smartphone but never want to get the data plan... try to save of course.... but at the end of the day whines of shocking bills...

last time with my 3gs and im using prepaid.... i got free 500mb permonth for a year and guess what?? i could never over-use it... with my push functions at ON mode, surfing moderately, heck... i even do some tethering but never could over-used it....

500mb last time was only rm58.... if my calculations are right... rm300++>rm58  <----- laugh.gif
You're funny! I like!

Thanks to my absent-mindedness I forgot to put question number 2 in my last question.

2. Those dudes and dudettes using maxis 3G iValue with your smartphones, how do u like the speed? Reliable? Constant speed? Digi always say theirs so great but does that imply that maxis 3G is teh sucks?
kunamiya
post Sep 22 2010, 04:46 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Sep 22 2010, 04:30 PM)

500mb last time was only rm58.... if my calculations are right... rm300++>rm58
in the internet , sometimes u can say its small , but sometimes also can say is a big world . thats how you use it. 500 MB easily pass using youtube, download apps , push notification, emailing , IM and or download games using iPhone .
but if you are a mild user , only take the phone to surf when needed , then is okie. with 500MB u can surf alot of time in lowyat.net .

always think , you are using "smart phone" not a camera phone that can only surf WAP site or sending MMS .

but dont get me wrong , Im still a maxis user , but I only think they giving not enough for a smart phone user .

deepan84
post Sep 22 2010, 04:51 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Sep 22 2010, 04:42 PM)
You're funny! I like!

Thanks to my absent-mindedness I forgot to put question number 2 in my last question.
2. Those dudes and dudettes using maxis 3G iValue with your smartphones, how do u like the speed? Reliable? Constant speed? Digi always say theirs so great but does that imply that maxis 3G is teh sucks?
to be honest, the speed aint all dat great for maxis. most of d time, the 3g will not work and i wud have to reset (go to setting, off and on it back) to get it to work. its irritatin. u can say its like being frequently disconnected. in the afternoons, sumtimes d connection can come to crawl. and it happens on my frens iphone aswell. i guess maxis aint dat fast. ive never tried digi's network though.
kianwee
post Sep 22 2010, 06:00 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(kunamiya @ Sep 22 2010, 04:46 PM)
in the internet , sometimes u can say its  small , but sometimes also can say is a big world . thats how you use it.  500 MB easily pass using youtube, download apps , push notification, emailing , IM  and or download games using iPhone .
but if you are a mild user , only take the phone to surf when needed , then is okie. with 500MB u can surf alot of time in lowyat.net .

always think , you are using "smart phone" not a camera phone that can only surf WAP site or sending MMS .

but dont get me wrong , Im still a maxis user , but I only think they giving not enough for a smart phone user .
For some people (like me), they have WIFI connection at work and at home. So I guess they only use the data when they're travelling. 1GB should be sufficient. My 2cent smile.gif
kunamiya
post Sep 22 2010, 06:07 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Sep 22 2010, 06:00 PM)
For some people (like me), they have WIFI connection at work and at home. So I guess they only use the data when they're travelling. 1GB should be sufficient. My 2cent smile.gif
Like I said smart phone , when I'm in house or work , I will use computer instate of the mini screen phone. I still hope maxis will give us more GB for smart phone usage , don't tell us using "not smart enough smart" rclxub.gif
zaza_00
post Sep 22 2010, 07:12 PM

33 posts

Maxis stated that they will release iPhone 4 nationwide on 27th September. Does that mean at that time iPhone 4 will be available at every states in Malaysia ?
dvlzplayground
post Sep 22 2010, 07:16 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Sep 22 2010, 04:42 PM)
You're funny! I like!

im not using ivalue but i do use maxis mobile internet. i get pretty good connection in my area. fast enough for normal surfing but have to wait a bit lar for youtube videos

digi.....no 3g signal at all...haha
bizness
post Sep 22 2010, 07:35 PM

✓ Always Closing
1,562 posts

Guys I dont really understand how the iValue plans works..Im getting the iValue 4 for the iPhone 4 cause I use alot..Lets say I SMS to 5 Digi user..

So it will charge me the normal rate which is 10sen/SMS?..

RM375(Monthly Fee) + 10sen*5 =RM375.50 ?

Thanks smile.gif

125 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:52 PM