128 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V5, Scape it NOW !! for IAPLC2011

jjjkj
post Oct 25 2010, 07:53 PM

116 posts

Sifu's new here. How do i get started on getting a planted tank.

I have 1feet nano tank( Ocean free set) = 1 lighting and 1 HOB filter.

I read through about CO2 and DIY CO2. Now i would want to make a CHEAP aquascape tank. Or i should just aquascape with plants that do not require CO2 injection( Java Moss / Marimo). My ulterior motive was to create a Breedable CRS/RCS shrimp tank. As long as the tank can breed these shrimp can already.

This post has been edited by jjjkj: Oct 25 2010, 08:03 PM
chuppy2
post Oct 25 2010, 08:40 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Oct 25 2010, 04:28 PM)
lolx. nice to see the replies from ppl here. well, just tetra's here are quite cheap i dunno why. Although i've been out of the fish game for a few years now and dun know the pricing of stuff d. Heck if u guys only knew how much the lil drain fish i used to use to cycle my cichlid tanks with. Bloody pricey here so wth lah jus get tetras.

Anyways, i'm not new to planted tanks ( ask michanz) but regarding the lighting. LED's are not exp and they do give out a lot of lumens ( GO check plantedtank.net ) The only problem is I cant get parts here in this lil town. If anyone would actually be helpful enough to point out an electrical store that has a websie i'd be more than grateful.

Oh btw, just to piss u guys off a lil more I'm doing a sump tank and not gonna use an external filter hehehe. More fun doing DIY nia at least I can kill time instead of buying unknown and unbranded stuff they have here. Although the Eheim Pro sitting in the fish shop looks interesting. hehehe

As for killing fish to cycle tanks, well i'm not one for tact. Ask michanz! he knows lol.
lol, didn't mean to flame but you're just begging for it LOL. Aren't there like Feeder fishes? like rm 1 for a bag full of it.

I mean, whats wrong with fishless cycling? it's easier and lesser wait in planted tanks compared to dedicated fish tanks. Im not saying it doesnt work but I mean there's a limit for everything la . I'll stand my ground eventhough if you're the IAPLC #1 for god knows how many years.

Wont say much on the sump system, I personally am using that system on the 6footer. Nothing wrong so far. just pump more c02. So this doesnt really piss people off LOL.

hmm interesting on the LEDs not being expensive, care to share the price ? Interested in this long life lighting solution. Though don't get me wrong, I DID NOT say that LEDs CANNOT light a planted tank, per LED is NOT EXPENSIVE, that's for sure.. but from the DIY-ers I know here, that's not what that adds to the $. LEDs are by all means the future of aquaria lighting, just they're not so friendly to the wallet and well, parts arent that easy to get just yet. (YET)

Well that's my rant, Hate me all you want but that's my personal views with all respects to the taiko of this forum Michanz .(sorry bro for ranting your dude)

Drew
michanz
post Oct 25 2010, 09:09 PM

How Liddat?
1,224 posts

noyze - dont go killing fishes lah
chuppy - dont lansi u got 6 footer

ihiiihihihihihihihhihiihii i also can flame mah hhahahahahaha

u all can flame each other haha ill be helpfull around here and answer peoples questions

QUOTE(jjjkj @ Oct 25 2010, 07:53 PM)
I haveĀ  1feet nano tank( Ocean free set) = 1 lighting and 1 HOB filter.

I read through about CO2 and DIY CO2. Now i would want to make a CHEAP aquascape tank. Or i should just aquascape with plants that do not require CO2 injection( Java Moss / Marimo). My ulterior motive was to create a Breedable CRS/RCS shrimp tank. As long as the tank can breed these shrimp can already.
putting in plants making scape all can do no prob.. cheap also..

but once u think of introducing shrimps then a big problem comes in.

smaller tank means water conditions will be more unstable. shrimps need good water quality to survive. the smaller the tank the harder to maintain.

it is not undoable. can be achieved! but very the susah

This post has been edited by michanz: Oct 25 2010, 09:11 PM
Noyze
post Oct 25 2010, 10:43 PM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

chuppy, actually i welcome constructive comments like you made cos well it IS constructive.. I know i aint proud to kill em tetras but the feeder fishes, honestly aint that cheap here hence not many ppl actualy keep fishes lolx. They still keep discus and aros which I'm not to keen on cos they're bloody boring lol. Plus I actually cycled the tank for like 4 days empty so i assumed the tetras would live but NOOOo they died >< didnt really piss me off with them tetras dying but i dunno man maybe the water content here is different some how? I dunno lah I dun have access to equipment which i can measure the ph and kh and all that haiz.. so frustrating sia.

Michanz, as for next weekend I dunno if i can make it but i sure hope i can cos got plans oledi lolx. i would LOVE to go fish shopping again just like the good old days lolx i really miss it man lol. although I still might wanna get the fluval (orange and black one ) in SLS last time cos its HUGE lolx but i still like the sump idea however..l just found out this evening after work its exp lolx. to ask the guy to construct a sump tank for me he wanna charge me 200 bucks! kaneh, I feel like getting a tank and use adhesive and do it myself lolx.

Also regarding the LED lights yeah i'm still doing more research on it, tomorrow i'm gonna go to the local ( the ONLY ) electrical store and see if they have what i need for it. I'm thinking 3 rows of 10 LED's each row? although the price is what i'm not sure of. I'm thinking maybe 1 buck a piece? lolx hope so lolx. Other than that i'm pretty sure I can construct something from it, IF i can get the parts, I still fairly know a lil bit of electronics.. hehehe hopefully
chuppy2
post Oct 25 2010, 11:12 PM

152 posts

lol after all's said and done, No hard feelings yea, sorry if i sound like an old uncle LOL.

4 days is too short for a BIG GROUP of tetras.

If you wanna stock early, start small. Start with like what, 5-10 fishes first, slowly adding..

@michanz, i dont have 6footer but I am maintaining one for one of my clients LOL , c02 finish he pay only what >=D

Drew
Noyze
post Oct 26 2010, 12:08 AM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

dang again with the lights! lolx I've had problems with lighting and now seems like no difference! lolx. I just spent like a few hours reading up on the lighting for LED's vs our regular lighting Metal halide ( this one syiok and wanted to get last time but the $$ lolx) and regular household lighting and also flouro lighting. wah lau soo much write up!! soo many numbersss calculationsss, Mili candela lah Lumens lah mW lah W lah Voltages >.< i'm dying here lolx. And I'm gonna try 2 things, I'm gonna bulk some LED's from the forum and also get the normal planted tank lighting and try both out and see lolx.

From what I can gather I can get like er.. (moq is 40 leds) a 10 array(row) of 3 led's per row for like er.. well less that 50 bucks I think lolx. but the intensity of lights has yet to be measured plus the light spectrum. But some fellows have done it successfully. Although I think that many LED's might be waaay to bright as it gives out roughly 45,000 mW of light lol which is about er.. i dunno?! 450 watts? lolx a bit of an overkill i think lolx

SO easiest and fastest one to get would be a ballast and fluoro and crank it up! lolx. Oh yeah crap I need to get the soil ( no choice here have to use terra soil) since the plants arrived d or i could just start sewing the plants onto walls which would create rows and rows of xmas ferns just to breed to prepare to be filled onto a 3 footer and another 2 footer tank. ( yeah michanz I bought 3 tanks one go lolx )

In the mean time am using a run of the mill regular Overhead filter hehehe till I get back to KL and get a filter ( yeah michanz managed to convince me instead of a sump tank lolx)
crewmy
post Oct 26 2010, 02:38 PM

139 posts

guys - wanna ask..

I put in 4 gold fish into a tank already with 2 yellow cichlids. The next day, all gold fish go to heaven. Are they not supposed to mix, or the water for a planted aquarium not suitable for gold fish?
michanz
post Oct 26 2010, 02:45 PM

How Liddat?
1,224 posts

QUOTE(crewmy @ Oct 26 2010, 02:38 PM)
guys - wanna ask..

I put in 4 gold fish into a tank already with 2 yellow cichlids. The next day, all gold fish go to heaven. Are they not supposed to mix, or the water for a planted aquarium not suitable for gold fish?
crazy lah you! yellow cichlids so damn aggresive sure will makan other fish 1.. especiall goldfish same color sumore
crewmy
post Oct 26 2010, 02:50 PM

139 posts

???!!!!! No wonder la...aiyo

But before that the yellow cichlids were sharing home with neon tetras and other smaller fish but no problem woh....

Then my son wanted gold fish, so I transfer the smaller ones to another tank, leaving the yellow cichlids...

RM10 down the drain....

Now my son wanted Angel Fish. Can mix with the yellow tai-kos?
SweetPuff
post Oct 26 2010, 03:03 PM

2,021 posts

Angel fish and yellow cichlids? Definitely a no-no.

And how big is your tank again? Even if 4 gold fish, you'll need about 3ft tank...
crewmy
post Oct 26 2010, 03:10 PM

139 posts

This tank is small tank slighlty more than a foot. The gold fish is a variant, the smaller perut kembung types...
SweetPuff
post Oct 26 2010, 03:54 PM

2,021 posts

Perut kembung type will grow big too smile.gif And goldfish do require more space as they really can dirty up the water very quickly. I have 2 goldfish in my 2ft tank with a canister and hang on filter. And even then, it takes quite a bit of effort to keep the water clean too.

Less than 1ft tank?? Not much fish choice, really. Around maybe 3-4 guppies will be easier for you to start off, depending also on your choice of filter. Neon tetras are ok too, but they're not too hardy and require more swimming space to really appreciate their beauty.

This post has been edited by SweetPuff: Oct 26 2010, 03:56 PM
ryzzal
post Oct 26 2010, 04:56 PM

QUOTE(jjjkj @ Oct 25 2010, 07:53 PM)
I have  1feet nano tank( Ocean free set) = 1 lighting and 1 HOB filter.

i have managed to breed hundreds of rcs wit 1ft tank no problems coz they are very hardy... but with crs i doubt so coz water may not so stable for 1 ft tank and easy to fluctuate
sazuka
post Oct 26 2010, 07:23 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(ryzzal @ Oct 26 2010, 04:56 PM)
i have managed to breed hundreds of rcs wit 1ft tank no problems coz they are very hardy... but with crs i doubt so coz water may not so stable for 1 ft tank and easy to fluctuate
can try with low grade crs 1st,
like grade A/S.
jjjkj
post Oct 26 2010, 10:52 PM

116 posts

But then again, i must also at least put some vegetation rite? Or i can actually left it bare tanked?

But as a start i will try some RCS. See how it goes, then only to CRS. Btw ADA amazonia or amazonia 2 is there much difference?? Going with amazonia FTW.
BenSow
post Oct 26 2010, 11:19 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

QUOTE(jjjkj @ Oct 26 2010, 10:52 PM)
But then again, i must also at least put some vegetation rite? Or i can actually left it bare tanked?

But as a start i will try some RCS. See how it goes, then only to CRS. Btw ADA amazonia or amazonia 2 is there much difference?? Going with amazonia FTW.
haha the userbar i created =) like bichirs eh?

Haizzz... planted tank so poisoning... but i am bad at making scapes so now dont want to make ><
ccfook2123
post Oct 26 2010, 11:33 PM

80 posts

hey hi all the sifu's
i want to build a planted aquarium
but i have limited budget
i got a 2 feet tank
is it posible to build one less then rm100?
thank you
BenSow
post Oct 26 2010, 11:40 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

depends on wat you want... if you want to have co2.. then no smile.gif
ccfook2123
post Oct 27 2010, 12:09 AM

80 posts

any guide line on what to get with the budget?

michanz
post Oct 27 2010, 01:01 AM

How Liddat?
1,224 posts

rm100 for 2feet tAnk? assuming u already have the tank.

basic tank?

rm20 for white sand

rm30 for 1 long tube bulb

rm20 top filter

rm25 fert

rm5 u buy some moss from someone lol

rm100 not enuff at all sorry bro

128 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled