128 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V5, Scape it NOW !! for IAPLC2011

otobot
post Sep 4 2010, 04:07 PM

tragedy happened in my tank. left for a short break, came back 3 days later and found new members. my housemate thought my tank looked boring with shrimps and just 2otos and added tetras,danios and 2cory catfish.

and guess what i found on the tank bottom. heads and bodies of my cherry shrimps...3 of them.. and so far no more sightings of the babies..sigh.

have a few more shrimps in there. but i dun have an extra tank to separate them. but i guess there are still hiding spots for them. hopefully.

@booby, i feed my otos algae wafers say 2-3x a week.
booby
post Sep 5 2010, 05:29 AM

oh god why
658 posts

QUOTE(otobot @ Sep 4 2010, 04:07 PM)
tragedy happened in my tank. left for a short break, came back 3 days later and found new members. my housemate thought my tank looked boring with shrimps and just 2otos and added tetras,danios and 2cory catfish.

and guess what i found on the tank bottom. heads and bodies of my cherry shrimps...3 of them.. and so far no more sightings of the babies..sigh.

have a few more shrimps in there. but i dun have an extra tank to separate them. but i guess there are still hiding spots for them. hopefully.

@booby, i feed my otos algae wafers say 2-3x a week.
o_O tmr i try shop for some wafers brows.gif otos are really cute in a way ...
ahrain
post Sep 6 2010, 09:03 AM

59 posts

Did anyone know where to buy the CO2 two way output?
I need to setup this for my two planted aquarium.

moe81
post Sep 6 2010, 11:04 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(ahrain @ Sep 6 2010, 09:03 AM)
Did anyone know where to buy the CO2 two way output?
I need to setup this for my two planted aquarium.

well, i'd suggest u use the 2-way metal flow control valve... the one used for air pump.. but use it after the needle valve at the tank.. then use two check valves respectively and then followed two bubble counters and then again two check valves. i hope u get it..

i think can use this method la.. just arbitrarily thought of it. hopefully some sifu can comment with proper guidance.. sorry if my method is a serious code violation.. icon_rolleyes.gif
Azazel
post Sep 6 2010, 11:18 AM

Moe: Dulu main cobras and vipers. Now main mini pokok. You are "turning" bro...LMAO!
moe81
post Sep 6 2010, 11:39 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(Azazel @ Sep 6 2010, 11:18 AM)
Moe: Dulu main cobras and vipers. Now main mini pokok. You are "turning" bro...LMAO!
Married life la bro... Per nak buat??? LOL.. still have some of my precious 'stuff' hidden somewhere in the universe... Muahahahah...

But then again, my precious cud be worthless to ya'll la... LOL
BenSow
post Sep 6 2010, 08:38 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

can anybody suggest a good glass shop? Its very hard to get 6 feet tanks...
post Sep 6 2010, 11:53 PM

4,229 posts

QUOTE(radver @ Aug 31 2010, 11:27 PM)
I try my best to answer you... blush.gif
So, IMO... blush.gif

First, you put too much fish in your 1 feet tank already, since you just started the number of fish should be less than half of what you have right now. Cause the ammonia or fish shit they produce will be too much and will be toxic to them. And your filter is what type and rated at how many liter/hour???

Second, what kind of lighting did you get??? Only light with spectrum of 6500K-10000K can be used in the planted tank, cause this is the only spectrum that plants use for photosynthesis, 8-12 hours a day. And how many watts is the lighting???

Third, IME co2 can wait, plants can grow without co2, just not as nice. Can start with DIY later, cheaper... But since your curious, here is a link
http://www.my-mac.net/forum/viewtopic.php?...it=co2+diffuser

Fourth, If you don't have soil then what are you using currently??? I'm curious??? You can get the soil in any LFS selling planted tank related stuff, or you can guide yourself to a LFS near you by referring yourself to the first few post of this thread where there is a directory of all the LFS which sells these stuff. And most planted tank if not all uses ADA amazonia soil...

Fifth, get a dechlorinator, even cheap RM1 tongue.gif  will do and just use a pipe to siphon out the debris and usually change only 20-30% of the water each week.
What I mention here is what I have done, what I'm doing laugh.gif  and it differs between different hobbyist. And you can change it to match your own tank...

And my advice to you if you want to improve the survival rate of your fish, get a bag of activated carbon, rinse it and put it in the tank ASAP. You can take it out after 1-2 weeks. It'll suck up all the ammonia and other chemicals and keep the water clean.  icon_rolleyes.gif
How to scape can wait until you get your soil and what fertilizer to use can wait a few more weeks after that... IMO...
I hope I answered all your questions... hmm.gif
Anyone want to add in or offer your opinion on my explanation, please do... I'm learning still notworthy.gif

Lastly, welcome to the planted aquarium hobby icon_rolleyes.gif
For 18-20W, I manage to find only 6500K tube. Is there any tube with higher spectrum than this?
Pls advise.

radver
post Sep 7 2010, 01:04 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Sep 6 2010, 11:53 PM)
For 18-20W, I manage to find only 6500K tube. Is there any tube with higher spectrum than this?
Pls advise.
The available spectrum depends on what type of light tubes your looking for, if your only looking at the T8 fluorescent tube that we normally use in the house then the best spectrum is 6500K only.
You need to look at other types of light bulbs and higher watts also, PLL seems to be very popular, but I'm using 2 unit T8, 18 watts each at 6500k cause its easier to find it here in Kuala Terengganu.

T5 tubes, which look like our normal fluorescent tubes but much more thiner is the improved version of T8 and its said to have better penetration, IME these T5 tubes can only be found in LFS selling planted tank related product

How big is your aquarium first??? hmm.gif How many gallons??? Try to get at least 2 watts per gallon.... thumbup.gif
loon1031
post Sep 7 2010, 01:42 PM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

T5 also can be found at light shop
weijie
post Sep 7 2010, 01:57 PM

18 posts

Buying Flame moss, riccia, glosso and some xmas moss.
Kindly pm me price and size. Selangor/PJ area prefer
Superdude
post Sep 7 2010, 02:25 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Sep 7 2010, 01:57 PM)
Buying Flame moss, riccia, glosso and some xmas moss.
Kindly pm me price and size. Selangor/PJ area prefer
this guy is selling something that you want.

http://www.my-mac.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=13229
weijie
post Sep 8 2010, 04:45 AM

18 posts

guys if i use ADA AMAZONIA II, new soil,will the water turn abit yellowish? or i unfortunately brought the april batch soil? ><
William7
post Sep 8 2010, 03:17 PM

92 posts

yeah the water should turn a little yellowish at first but later on it will be crystal clear..

hmm i think i wanna sell my CRS shrimplets anyone interested ehhe
SUSMonsterjin
post Sep 9 2010, 08:04 AM

92 posts

I need "big" fissidens (fissidens fontanus), anyone can spare me 1 - 2 cm sq?,
andymillenium
post Sep 9 2010, 11:30 AM

776 posts

QUOTE(William7 @ Sep 8 2010, 03:17 PM)
yeah the water should turn a little yellowish at first but later on it will be crystal clear..
hmm i think i wanna sell my CRS shrimplets anyone interested ehhe
oo...im interested...how much u wana sell?

i juz scare my tank envi not suitable end up all die.. sweat.gif

last time the CRS i bought all KO one by one...not sure wats the prob sweat.gif
Laine
post Sep 9 2010, 02:07 PM

325 posts

Anyone sees any OTO recently around KL? Other than SLS... Thanks. smile.gif
sexyme
post Sep 9 2010, 04:16 PM

13 posts

midvalley ea have otto for sale 5 bucks per piece.
bartbarb
post Sep 9 2010, 04:17 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(sexyme @ Sep 9 2010, 04:16 PM)
expensive but still cheaper than pets family.

try Irene Aquarium
booby
post Sep 9 2010, 07:12 PM

oh god why
658 posts

QUOTE(sexyme @ Sep 9 2010, 04:16 PM)
o_O raya price increase? I bought rm4 ea at mid valley ..

128 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:59 PM