109 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

AMD Radeon™ Discussion V3, Prepare Red! Green has attacked!

leyley
post Jul 30 2010, 02:26 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(allsick @ Jul 29 2010, 06:50 PM)
anyone running on 2 monitors and having flickering issues when playing game/video? its f***ing annoying
What card are you using?
1) Swapping DVI-D cables?
2) Swapping which DVI-D cables go to which ports on the back of the card?
3) Using a DVI-D and a DisplayPort cable?
4) Which operating systems you're using?
Have you tried it?

Any crashing other than that? How about connecting single monitor running only? Many reasons behind but most probably you need to update the latest drivers to see if it will fix the problems
allsick
post Jul 30 2010, 03:27 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(leyley @ Jul 30 2010, 02:26 PM)
What card are you using?
1) Swapping DVI-D cables?
2) Swapping which DVI-D cables go to which ports on the back of the card?
3) Using a DVI-D and a DisplayPort cable?
4) Which operating systems you're using?
Have you tried it?

Any crashing other than that? How about connecting single monitor running only? Many reasons behind but most probably you need to update the latest drivers to see if it will fix the problems
Ive tried everything. Only when i set my frequency to normal (765/1000) and above using AMDGPUClocktool
the flickers will stop.
Turnip
post Jul 30 2010, 03:45 PM

bonjour beau là-bas
1,111 posts

QUOTE(allsick @ Jul 30 2010, 04:27 PM)
Ive tried everything. Only when i set my frequency to normal (765/1000) and above using AMDGPUClocktool
the flickers will stop.
i was wondering if this problem occured on older catalyst drivers?
seanlimys
post Jul 30 2010, 07:48 PM

2,751 posts

765/1000? i guess its a hd5850
allsick
post Jul 30 2010, 07:55 PM

116 posts

happened the whole time from 10.1.
JoBigShow
post Jul 30 2010, 08:13 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(allsick @ Jul 30 2010, 07:55 PM)
READ THIS THREAD:
Title: ATI 5850 Flicker at desktop? OC'ing fixes?

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=626988

This guy has the exact issue as you, and with lots of replies on the post, I didn't read the whole thing, but probably you can find a solution there.
lok3i
post Jul 31 2010, 01:27 AM

cycling for a healthy life
559 posts

AMD tops Nvidia in discrete GPU shipments

Advanced Micro Devices passed Nvidia in graphics chip shipments in the second quarter, according to a report from a marketing research firm on Wednesday, adding to Nvidia's woes.

AMD's ATI graphics unit took 51 percent of the standalone, or "discrete," graphics chip market compared to Nvidia's share that was just shy of 49 percent, according to Mercury Research, a Cave Creek, Arizona firm that tracks graphics chip shipments. This is a sharp reversal from the same period a year ago when Nvidia had about 59 percent of the market and AMD had just under 41 percent.

Total market figures for the second quarter of 2010 had Intel with a 54.3 percent share, AMD with 24.5 percent, and Nvidia with 19.8 percent. This, also, is a setback for Nvidia: in the second quarter of last year, Nvidia had a 29.6 percent share compared to AMD's 18.2 percent.

Nvidia warned Wednesday that revenue would fall short of earlier projections. The warning came a day after Apple moved its iMac and Mac Pro lines to AMD graphics chips, dropping Nvidia.

SOS
pingy_ping
post Jul 31 2010, 05:36 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(allsick @ Jul 30 2010, 03:27 PM)
the flickers will stop.
same too. i using two monitor with 5770. if the clock drop down thn one of the screen will flicker, must maintain it at 3d speed instead.
tech3910
post Jul 31 2010, 12:21 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(allsick @ Jul 30 2010, 07:55 PM)
the same time ATI started to fix their 2D performance issue on 5k series.
dey does it by upping idle speed....... doh.gif
mmohdnor
post Jul 31 2010, 12:55 PM

1,021 posts

is there a software out there that makes use of radeon 5000 series' hardware accelerator for vid conversion/transcoding? (e.g: like nvidia cuda or ati's avivo)
tried the cyberlink's media espresso, that sucks. not so much option available.

This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Jul 31 2010, 12:56 PM
selferino
post Jul 31 2010, 02:18 PM

joe cole = english samba!
1,219 posts

PowerColor Releases HD 5770 Single-Slot Graphics Card

TUL Corporation, a leading manufacturer of AMD graphics cards, today added a slim solution to the HD5700 series: the HD5770 Single Slot Edition. The latest variation uses a single-slot fan design that enables users with limited space in their cases to build performance centric rigs. The HD5770 single slot edition can maximize your rig's performance by providing the possibility for gamers to upgrade their rig without compromising space.

PowerColor's HD5770 Single Slot Edition clocks in at 850MHz core speed and 1200MHz of memory speed. The one slot cooling design optimizes air flow and cools down the temperature efficiently, enabling high gaming performance the likes that have never before been seen in a slim design. The special fan design also provides the potential for gamers to set up a 4-way Crossfire graphics love fest.

"The HD5770 single slot design offers a unique option in performance for our product lineup," says Ted Chen, CEO of TUL Corporation. "We can fulfill the endless desire for performance and multi-function when space is a premium."

PowerColor HD5770 Single Slot Edition will be available on Aug 13th.

Source => techPowerUp!
http://www.techpowerup.com/127692/PowerCol...phics_Card.html
Eugene91
post Jul 31 2010, 03:43 PM

6,109 posts

wondering how efficient would the cooler be..

My ASUS EAH5770 CUCore can reach max temps 78C idle-ing around 44C-46C @ stock voltage 1.2v

Now undervolted to 1.125v which normal 5770's voltage are set at.. max temps 72C idle-ing 44C-46C..

I wonder why ASUS set the voltage much higher.. the clocks Core/Memory are stock 5770 clocks.. hmm..

Would I run into any problems running it undervolted? not at stock 1.2v ?
tech3910
post Jul 31 2010, 03:55 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Jul 31 2010, 03:43 PM)
wondering how efficient would the cooler be..

My ASUS EAH5770 CUCore can reach max temps 78C idle-ing around 44C-46C @ stock voltage 1.2v

Now undervolted to 1.125v which normal 5770's voltage are set at.. max temps 72C idle-ing 44C-46C..

I wonder why ASUS set the voltage much higher.. the clocks Core/Memory are stock 5770 clocks.. hmm..

i noticed dat from last ime, ASUS TOP version bios always has higher voltage compared to normal version of same card.

u can, & i do suggest u undervolt & underclock during idle.
JoBigShow
post Aug 1 2010, 01:24 AM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Jul 31 2010, 03:43 PM)

Seriously 1.2V for the 5770 TOP... more than the 5850, only 1.087v at stock, and I even manage to stabilized it at 1.0v with stock clocks of 725/1000.
Isn't this card was suppose to shipped with engine/core voltage at 1.125V??? hmm.gif

Anyways, most owners bump up to 1.285v ~ 1.299v to be able to do 1000mhz (with 1400+mhz memory) clock with this card drool.gif
I don't recommend to past above 1.3v unless you have sufficient cooling though.

Yeah, sometimes undervolting/underclocking can be as good as overvolting/overclocking to see how low, or how 'green' can a card be operated at a stable condition.
I think you can undervolt a little bit more if you are concerned of the voltage, just keep in tab the stability of the card. nod.gif
V3nz
post Aug 1 2010, 09:56 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

Although i dun have any idea how this voltage stuff work

but i already undervolt my hd5770 to 1.125v rolleyes.gif tongue.gif

but if when gaming,shud i change it back?

is it safe to keep it like this? hmm.gif
SkywalkerxX
post Aug 1 2010, 10:16 AM

Protection & Control
590 posts

Bro, try to play on some heavy game. if you see blackscreen or pc restart, then it means the card need more juice blush.gif
V3nz
post Aug 1 2010, 10:26 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(SkywalkerxX @ Aug 1 2010, 10:16 AM)
Bro, try to play on some heavy game. if you see blackscreen or pc restart, then it means the card need more juice  blush.gif
will this spoilt my gc or pc? sweat.gif
phantomash
post Aug 1 2010, 10:40 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Aug 1 2010, 10:26 AM)
it wont, if its unstable, most probably it will only hang or restart the pc.
kurtkob78
post Aug 1 2010, 10:42 AM

Do your best
3,833 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Aug 1 2010, 09:56 AM)
Although i dun have any idea how this voltage stuff work

but i already undervolt my hd5770 to 1.125v rolleyes.gif  tongue.gif

but if when gaming,shud i change it back?

is it safe to keep it like this? hmm.gif
undervolt should be safer. Because your card will need less power and produce less heat. only that you need to be careful when you overvolt cause you use more voltage and produce more heat
JoBigShow
post Aug 1 2010, 11:17 AM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Aug 1 2010, 10:26 AM)
No.
When you do underclocked the card, do pay attention to such encounter with anomalies such as: black-screen (sound still available, but most of the time just black screen only), flickering, vertical lines, pc freezes, etc.
If not, then its' still stable. nod.gif I yes, just restart the PC and bump up an increment of voltage and see if stable.
But of course this would usually happen when the card in on full 3D mode when playing games...

Bro, I used to like to underclock gc and proc bcoz it tests the hardware of how low of the voltage needed to operate stably, plus can be environmentally friendly in the rig tongue.gif

109 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:27 AM