May i know is 10.7 ccc good? im still using 10.4 . cause 10.5 has heat issues, 10.6 still has it also.
AMD Radeon™ Discussion V3, Prepare Red! Green has attacked!
Jul 29 2010, 02:56 PM
2,179 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Home |
May i know is 10.7 ccc good? im still using 10.4 . cause 10.5 has heat issues, 10.6 still has it also.
Jul 29 2010, 03:10 PM
2,654 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
as always. ATI is always having the driver issues when their cards are superb
Jul 29 2010, 03:28 PM
1,301 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: FSN9 CenTToll |
ok just know CCC 10.7 been released...
so later after office hour i can try it... now using 10.6.....is there any significant improvement in 10.7? |
Jul 29 2010, 03:30 PM
1,219 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Jul 29 2010, 03:33 PM
Jul 29 2010, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Jul 29 2010, 03:33 PM) VLC player...??mind 2 elaborate more sir?tq in advance http://www.techpowerup.com/127365/AMD_Rele...ware_Suite.htmlso u highly recommend i shift to 10.7? |
Jul 29 2010, 06:50 PM
116 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
anyone running on 2 monitors and having flickering issues when playing game/video? its f***ing annoying
Jul 29 2010, 09:07 PM
2,179 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Home |
Jul 29 2010, 09:32 PM
969 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: ɹndɯnן ɐןɐnʞ |
QUOTE(allsick @ Jul 29 2010, 06:50 PM) anyone running on 2 monitors and having flickering issues when playing game/video? its f***ing annoying Yeah, people sometimes got this flickering thingy with dual monitor.Have you update to Catalyst 10.7? According to the release notes, this issue should have been resolved with this driver update. http://www2.ati.com/relnotes/catalyst_107_release_notes.pdf If still having this issue with 10.7: I'm not sure that this hotfix does the job, but do try it anyways and see if it fix your problem. http://www.mediafire.com/?5s3nxoe7s32j2e3 THIS IS CCC 10.7 HOTFIX CONSIDERING YOU ALREADY UPDATE THE DRIVER. IF HAVEN'T YET UPDATE, GO TO: http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_catalyst.aspx Do report back if the problem still occurs bro.. Added on July 29, 2010, 9:52 pm QUOTE(victor2212 @ Jul 29 2010, 02:56 PM) May i know is 10.7 ccc good? im still using 10.4 . cause 10.5 has heat issues, 10.6 still has it also. Yup, the 10.5 is no where recommended to be used.Ok, if you haven't encounter any issues, then just stick to the 10.4, these latest drivers are more into fixing stuff rather than performance boost. Regardless, I'm using 10.7 now, I think is as good as the 10.4 but with additional bug fixes (e.g. VLC Player) QUOTE(law1777 @ Jul 29 2010, 03:10 PM) Prolly the cards are too superb for them to handle in the first place QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Jul 29 2010, 03:28 PM) ok just know CCC 10.7 been released... Just few improvements, but it's always recommended to update drivers to avoid any possible oncoming issues.so later after office hour i can try it... now using 10.6.....is there any significant improvement in 10.7? BTW, the 10.7 does a bit better compared to 10.6, only less than 10 minutes on the PC to update this driver, so go for it. QUOTE(selferino @ Jul 29 2010, 03:30 PM) all i noe the major one just the one regarding the acceleration with conjuction with latest VLC player.. VLC Player... been using that even before 8800GT was released and never encounter such problems with it. Don't knowwhy the ATi Team makes such a fuss over it prior to the release of Catalyst 10.7. (could have done this since Catalyst 10.1) I got the nagging feeling that they are running out of ideas of how to push the cards for more performance, thus trying to look "busy" when working on improving the VLC Player. This post has been edited by JoBigShow: Jul 29 2010, 09:52 PM |
Jul 29 2010, 10:16 PM
thanks Jobig, ill try using the hotfix.
Added on July 29, 2010, 10:36 pmhotfix is no fix. My 2nd monitor still flickers whenever im playing a video / game. This post has been edited by allsick: Jul 29 2010, 10:36 PM |
Jul 29 2010, 10:43 PM
8,461 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kota Bharu,Kelantan |
QUOTE(JoBigShow @ Jul 29 2010, 08:32 PM) Yeah, people sometimes got this flickering thingy with dual monitor. before this vlc uses the cpu to decode your videos,now with ccc 10.7,it uses your gpu to do the job.however this feature can already be used for a long time already by using media player classic homecinemaHave you update to Catalyst 10.7? According to the release notes, this issue should have been resolved with this driver update. http://www2.ati.com/relnotes/catalyst_107_release_notes.pdf If still having this issue with 10.7: I'm not sure that this hotfix does the job, but do try it anyways and see if it fix your problem. http://www.mediafire.com/?5s3nxoe7s32j2e3 THIS IS CCC 10.7 HOTFIX CONSIDERING YOU ALREADY UPDATE THE DRIVER. IF HAVEN'T YET UPDATE, GO TO: http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_catalyst.aspx Do report back if the problem still occurs bro.. Added on July 29, 2010, 9:52 pm Yup, the 10.5 is no where recommended to be used. Ok, if you haven't encounter any issues, then just stick to the 10.4, these latest drivers are more into fixing stuff rather than performance boost. Regardless, I'm using 10.7 now, I think is as good as the 10.4 but with additional bug fixes (e.g. VLC Player) Prolly the cards are too superb for them to handle in the first place Just few improvements, but it's always recommended to update drivers to avoid any possible oncoming issues. BTW, the 10.7 does a bit better compared to 10.6, only less than 10 minutes on the PC to update this driver, so go for it. VLC Player... been using that even before 8800GT was released and never encounter such problems with it. Don't knowwhy the ATi Team makes such a fuss over it prior to the release of Catalyst 10.7. (could have done this since Catalyst 10.1) I got the nagging feeling that they are running out of ideas of how to push the cards for more performance, thus trying to look "busy" when working on improving the VLC Player. |
Jul 29 2010, 10:45 PM
My gigabyte5850oc runs at 400/1200 at idle, and during movies .
Flickering issue disappears if i use AMDgpu tool to tune it to a higher frequency. 950/1200. Maybe its the idle problem. |
Jul 29 2010, 10:48 PM
4,494 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Jul 29 2010, 11:01 PM
969 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: ɹndɯnן ɐןɐnʞ |
QUOTE(allsick @ Jul 29 2010, 10:45 PM) My gigabyte5850oc runs at 400/1200 at idle, and during movies . How is that happening? Flickering issue disappears if i use AMDgpu tool to tune it to a higher frequency. 950/1200. Maybe its the idle problem. At any rate you should be set the frequency to it's stock clocks. BTW that's a good OC! How you manage to stabilize it? I need to bump up the voltage to 1.15v (same as 5780 stock voltage) to get past 900mhz on my PC 5850. Anyways, if you CAN'T get it fix via driver update (or any previous drivers), then it's for sure the VGA BIOS... QUOTE(kahjye @ Jul 29 2010, 10:48 PM) Could be that, maybe forgot to revert back to stock clock in Catalyst Overdrive? These things happens...This post has been edited by JoBigShow: Jul 29 2010, 11:03 PM |
Jul 29 2010, 11:19 PM
2,000 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: sec X |
QUOTE(allsick @ Jul 29 2010, 10:45 PM) My gigabyte5850oc runs at 400/1200 at idle, and during movies . bro..u need to update the gc bios to get 157/300 when idle..i'm using this card too n it got a problem with clock when idle...Flickering issue disappears if i use AMDgpu tool to tune it to a higher frequency. 950/1200. Maybe its the idle problem. BTW this card is good for OC..can get 929/1200 stable...hehehe... |
Jul 29 2010, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(tuonn @ Jul 29 2010, 11:19 PM) bro..u need to update the gc bios to get 157/300 when idle..i'm using this card too n it got a problem with clock when idle... to update the BIOs must use ATIFlash ryte? btw any1 heard of any1 trying trying to flash 5870 BIOS onto Gigabyte 5850? hohoho......BTW this card is good for OC..can get 929/1200 stable...hehehe... |
Jul 29 2010, 11:26 PM
2,000 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: sec X |
Jul 30 2010, 12:12 AM
My bios is up to date. f7
Im using AMD gpuclocktool to oc my card. |
Jul 30 2010, 10:03 AM
1,339 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I think my bios is not up to date, cause I dont even know how to flash it and the guidelines seems confusing me >.<
I did download the 10.7 CCC. But i haven't tried installing it. Cause the "ahem" version of starcraft 2 is still..... u know lah hehe. I will reinstall the driver once the "ahem" version is finished, should be by this afternoon. But based on the release notes, I know that. 1) ATI is really focus quite alot on video decoder side. 2) Games performance seems lesser and lesser ( does it mean it has reached its limit? ) 3) There are still a lot spaces for crossfire performance to be developed. Thats wat I think. Any offend pls forgive me . |
Jul 30 2010, 11:05 AM
ok me already on CCC 10.7....
try with Left 4 Dead...so far no problem.... all smoothly runnin' max settin'... will try with other games after this |
| Change to: | 0.0278sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:05 AM |