AMD Radeon™ Discussion V3, Prepare Red! Green has attacked!
SkYY
Sep 26 2010, 10:23 PM
i duno whether is this the correct place to ask, but Radeon 5670 DDR5 is similar in performance compare to which card of Nvidia? im kinda lost with the Radeon listing, more familiar with Nvidia listing, but thinking wanna jump to ATi cause of bang for buck(what i've heard).
DarkSilver
Sep 26 2010, 10:41 PM
Idiosyncrasy
QUOTE(SkYY @ Sep 26 2010, 10:23 PM) i duno whether is this the correct place to ask, but Radeon 5670 DDR5 is similar in performance compare to which card of Nvidia? im kinda lost with the Radeon listing, more familiar with Nvidia listing, but thinking wanna jump to ATi cause of bang for buck(what i've heard).  It pawns GeForce 9600GT and lose to a GeForce 9800GT slightly! However, it consumes very little power(no need scare TNB Bills) and produce very little heat too!
phantomhive89
Sep 26 2010, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Sep 26 2010, 10:41 PM) It pawns GeForce 9600GT and lose to a GeForce 9800GT slightly! However, it consumes very little power(no need scare TNB Bills) and produce very little heat too! this one is true, currently I'm using HD 5670 DDR5. My computer really doesn't hot, not as hot as my 4870 PC. As for the performance, I am very satisfied with it.
SkYY
Sep 26 2010, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Sep 26 2010, 11:41 PM) It pawns GeForce 9600GT and lose to a GeForce 9800GT slightly! However, it consumes very little power(no need scare TNB Bills) and produce very little heat too! i sumore thought it can pawn the old 9800GT but at least it is adequate for sc2 and some old games(medieval 2:total war, empire:total war, warhammer 40k 2)which is the primary reason for new GPU xP wait, it is adequate right? for like medium settings on 19"? QUOTE(phantomhive89 @ Sep 27 2010, 12:23 AM) this one is true, currently I'm using HD 5670 DDR5. My computer really doesn't hot, not as hot as my 4870 PC. As for the performance, I am very satisfied with it.  less heat is always welcomed all my previous GPU kong because of heat. even the GPU temperature never pass danger level(forgot wats the danger level).
DarkSilver
Sep 27 2010, 12:18 AM
Idiosyncrasy
QUOTE(SkYY @ Sep 26 2010, 11:41 PM) i sumore thought it can pawn the old 9800GT but at least it is adequate for sc2 and some old games(medieval 2:total war, empire:total war, warhammer 40k 2)which is the primary reason for new GPU xP wait, it is adequate right? for like medium settings on 19"? less heat is always welcomed all my previous GPU kong because of heat. even the GPU temperature never pass danger level(forgot wats the danger level).  Dangerous Temperature Level is vary on GPU. For example: Radeon HD5850 was said and tested by a lot of reviewers that it's maximal temperature on auto-fan speed is around 85C. But, your Radeon HD5850 have 100C with auto-fan speed. Then, surely, your Radeon HD5850 have problem and going to die soon.
SkYY
Sep 27 2010, 01:13 AM
QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Sep 27 2010, 01:18 AM) Dangerous Temperature Level is vary on GPU. For example: Radeon HD5850 was said and tested by a lot of reviewers that it's maximal temperature on auto-fan speed is around 85C. But, your Radeon HD5850 have 100C with auto-fan speed. Then, surely, your Radeon HD5850 have problem and going to die soon. hmm. the last time i was using Galaxy Nvidia 6600, temperature is from the nvidia driver itself. it should be correct right? since it knows what GPU im using or what program you guys use to test your GPU temperature?
faizal87
Sep 27 2010, 01:17 AM
hi guys i having prob install a ati driver,finished but with a error,click at ccc but nothing happen. uninstall wit driver sweeper and install back still da same.
tech3910
Sep 27 2010, 01:18 AM
QUOTE(SkYY @ Sep 27 2010, 01:13 AM) hmm. the last time i was using Galaxy Nvidia 6600, temperature is from the nvidia driver itself. it should be correct right? since it knows what GPU im using or what program you guys use to test your GPU temperature? GPU-z
huzzLEE_82
Sep 27 2010, 10:57 AM
about the bottleneck issue... actually in wat situation is called bottleneck? the GC may cause the cpu bottleneck or vice versa? on technical side,can somebody elaborate more? i've google up but still vague image... like said i'm using 5870..so on wat CPU speed will coop nicely with GC? or it's just better leave ur CPU speed as high as possible so tat the GC will take the benefit on the CPU speed? any explaination will b much appreciated.. This post has been edited by huzzLEE_82: Sep 27 2010, 10:59 AM
Jet23sky
Sep 27 2010, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Sep 27 2010, 10:57 AM) about the bottleneck issue... actually in wat situation is called bottleneck? the GC may cause the cpu bottleneck or vice versa? on technical side,can somebody elaborate more? i've google up but still vague image... like said i'm using 5870..so on wat CPU speed will coop nicely with GC? or it's just better leave ur CPU speed as high as possible so tat the GC will take the benefit on the CPU speed? any explaination will b much appreciated..  Well I'm not good at explaining, but hope my explaination can make your clear abit. Actually bottleneck means it is a phenomenon where the performance or capacity of an entire system is limited by a single or limited number of components or resources. So basically is that, if the CPU has limited number of resources ( Processing Power ). The graphic performance will be limited along in order to on par with the processer speed. 5870 is not consider bottleneck for the current processor nowadays. (unless u use single core haha ). But I do find out that 5870 crossfire might ( doubtful ) bottleneck the processor. But nowadays bottleneck is not an issue anymore cause recent processor can be easily overclocked to 3.8ghz (minimum) or higher. So bottleneck is not as issue anymore.
splinter
Sep 27 2010, 11:25 AM
Anyone ever try Catalyst 10.9 on 4870x2? any performance increase since the hotfix ATI Radeon™ HD 4870 X2 and ATI Radeon HD 4850 X2 series of products use both Graphics Processing Units (GPU) for high performance
huzzLEE_82
Sep 27 2010, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Sep 27 2010, 11:11 AM) Well I'm not good at explaining, but hope my explaination can make your clear abit. Actually bottleneck means it is a phenomenon where the performance or capacity of an entire system is limited by a single or limited number of components or resources. So basically is that, if the CPU has limited number of resources ( Processing Power ). The graphic performance will be limited along in order to on par with the processer speed. 5870 is not consider bottleneck for the current processor nowadays. (unless u use single core haha ). But I do find out that 5870 crossfire might ( doubtful ) bottleneck the processor. But nowadays bottleneck is not an issue anymore cause recent processor can be easily overclocked to 3.8ghz (minimum) or higher. So bottleneck is not as issue anymore.  ok i understood....i use 5870CF with i7 930 3.8GHz i thought could it b another minimum limit like 3.6,3.2GHz...then need to peel the juice out of it like 4GHz my 3.8GHz just on the line if u say so then....then no chance of gettin' the speed lower,instead make it higher..hehehehe 4.0GHz i think could b cun enuf right? coz if 4.2GHz & above would b seterika my CPU since i'm only with H50... btw thanx 4 ur explaination....
DarkSilver
Sep 27 2010, 12:55 PM
Idiosyncrasy
Bear in mind, difference CPU(series) have different architecture. Like Core 2 Quad Q9650 4.5Ghz is lose to a Core i5 760 4.5GHz.
Core 2 Duo 8.0GHz will still lose to a Core i7 4.0Ghz.
Jet23sky
Sep 27 2010, 02:40 PM
Thinking of purchasing Accelero Xtreme 5870. Guys, got any other recommendation for 5870 cooler? Once I buy this, I won't get 6000 series anymore
SUSKal-el
Sep 27 2010, 04:37 PM
tech3910
Sep 27 2010, 06:26 PM
QUOTE AMD's 6870 coming in November
Early silicon doing very well
IT LOOKS LIKE ATI's, sorry AMD's, 6870 is on track and doing quite well. Early word from AMD central has two big thumbs up.
We have already told you about the first member of the ATI's, sorry AMD's, Northern Islands family taping out, it is called Barts. Barts is a mid-range part aimed squarely at the Nvidia GF104/GTX460 chip, likely called the HD6770. It is due out really soon and should obliterate the competition.
Cayman, the big brother to Barts, taped out a little over a month after Barts, so it was expected to hit the streets a little after a month from Barts as well. This would put the 6870 on the streets in mid to late November. SemiAccurate's sources tell us that that is exactly what is happening.
Shipments to OEMs are going to start around the same time Barts/6770 hits the street. This puts cards 2-4 weeks out, well in time for Black Friday. Unlike previous Black Friday rumors, this card is real, not a puppy wielding wood screws.
In another turn of events, unlike the last round of cards bearing the last three digits of 870, this round should have very plentiful supply. While there will always be initial shortfalls due to demand, this time around wafer supplies are much higher. To top it off, yields are very good, the first batch of silicon from the fab is yielding far better than 5870/Cypress did at the same stage.
The end result is November should have a plentiful supply of Northern Islands cards, both 67x0 and 68x0s. If demand isn't insane, dual Cayman cards, aka Antilles, should be on the market as 69x0s before the end of 2010. If demand is too high for the 6870, then 6970 may be delayed a bit until there is adequate supply. ATI, sorry AMD, did learn from the last time.
Stick around, the rest of 2010 is going to be very exciting from a GPU standpoint, and early 2011 looks just as good. Unless you are an Nvidia stockholder, then it won't be nearly as fun.S|A http://www.semiaccurate.com/2010/09/24/amd...oming-november/
8tvt
Sep 27 2010, 06:47 PM
woho 6750/6770 seems enough.. must buy item.. but still 40nm?
1024kbps
Sep 27 2010, 06:49 PM
^ look at the peekture above lah  still 40nm until Northern Island which is 28nm! This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Sep 27 2010, 06:50 PM
8tvt
Sep 27 2010, 06:53 PM
if wait later.. until next year.. due to delays etc..pengsan..
Sib
Sep 27 2010, 07:12 PM
QUOTE(angrysnail @ Sep 26 2010, 12:53 PM) upgrade to sex-core not improve ur game much but i know what u mean.. i see ur HD5870 is not yet bottleneck by ur 3.9Ghz X4.. thx man, was hoping for tis kind of response. i guess i'll pass d proc upgrade for the time being