AMD Radeon™ Discussion V3, Prepare Red! Green has attacked!

1024kbps
post Sep 2 2010, 06:46 PM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(JoBigShow @ Sep 2 2010, 08:58 AM)
U'r confused bro, I said that to bro jet23sky because he got TX850 (assuming, from his sig) so CF's a 5870 is no prob for him, unlike other people who are using lower wattage PSU and having a dillema such that: a CF'd 58xx series is value for money per performance but have to spent more on a new PSU...a 6 Series is the new card (plus no need to buy new PSU) but if compared to CF'ing a 58xx to upgrading to a 6 Seires in a financial point of view, fianacially CF'ing the 58xx is the choice.
FYI, to upgrade the card, you gotta sell your 58xx for cheap because of depreciation and need to top-up more to buy the 6 Series, whereas CF'ing the 5 Series you just need to buy another 'price-drop' 58xx series, or cheap via 2nd-hand card. 

DX12! Don't think Windows 7 has that support/compatibility yet, prolly will come out with Windows '8' or Windows 7 "V2"/patch...
Yup, the 6800 Series will have DirectX 12 but seriously, DX12 is really in the dark at the moment, dunno what it is capable of and more importantly, will games have DX12 support?

I think games will have DX11.5 that can be compatible with DX12 cards but I think I just rambling because it's too soon to speculate much...
Guys, any opinion on this????
Any sauce that shows HD6000 support dx12?
HD6000 still only support up to D3D11, there's no news about the D3D12 yet.
1024kbps
post Sep 7 2010, 07:05 PM

李素裳
6,013 posts

4870/5870 is troublesome if wanna install aftermarket cooler, most heatsink does not come with the VRM heatsink, you have to buy it yourself separately doh.gif
if you install other heatsink without the VRM heatsink, the naked VRM will fry very fast (145c under heavy load LOL)

Zalman and Thermalright do sell separate VRM heatsink for 4870/4890/5870
http://www.thermalright.com/products/index.php?cat_id=29 VRM-R1 and R2 only.
http://www.zalman.com/ENG/product/Product_Read.asp?idx=352
But Zalman's 48xx VRM heatsink might be only compatible with their own VGA heatsink.

I recommend Prolimatech MK-13 because it comes with VRM heatsink, but it's larger than Thermalright TRad2 GTX, because of taller ramsink, wider fins and VRM heatsink.
edit: MK-13 VRM heatsink only support 5870!!! shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Sep 7 2010, 07:07 PM
1024kbps
post Sep 7 2010, 08:33 PM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Sep 7 2010, 07:23 PM)
just throw in som ram sink also is good enough to cool it......

Added on September 7, 2010, 7:24 pm
i'm using twin turbo, really nvr look bck.

max temperature also 50+ during gaming.
First. What software you use to check the vrm temp ?
perhaps 4870's vrm is cooler than other series, or the game you play isnt very stressing your gpu,
i cant ask you to try furmark since ati already implement "overcurrent/heat protection" to the latest catalyst.

your gpu wont be overheat because it will automatically underclock or something else to prevent overheating if user is running some power virus software called "Furmark" rclxms.gif
1024kbps
post Sep 7 2010, 09:35 PM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Sep 7 2010, 08:59 PM)
Usually vrm dont heat up that much depending on the cooler used,casing's airflow and room temperature. tried furmark earlier and i notice my vrm temp never exceeds 60c  (all temps, GPU Core, memio and shadercores never exceed) If me, personally i recommend the T-rad2 GTX and slap on 1x120mm fans (scythe's GT or maybe Xigmatek's fan will do the job) tongue.gif (+ i got my t-rad2 cheap  laugh.gif ) Kinda hard to find S1/S2 these days.
4890, Core clock = 900mhz, memory clock 1000hmz:

Well my casing's fan is on silent mode and my VMR heatsink fan is silent fan too, and the VDDC/MVDDC is the vrm temp when stressing with furmark, im pretty sure naked vrm will fry sweat.gif
Furmark performance is severely reduced by catalyst actually... you wont see the real temp unless install the old version, before version 9.6 iirc.
i tried once with my 4890 without the vrm heatsink installed, only put the ramsink on vrm chip, 145 celcius when running furmark, thats why i recommend ppl install proper vrm heatsink, not using ramsink because the heat wont transfer properly without additional pressure. sweat.gif

And recommended fan for TRAD2 GTX is actually 2 92mm fans, higher static pressure than 1 120mm fan.
120m fan is too large and it does not cover the heatsink completely, i got 2 3800rpm 92mm AVC fan, too lazy to test it for now, waiting the bundled fan die first since it's made from sleeve bearing doh.gif
1024kbps
post Sep 8 2010, 01:20 AM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Sep 8 2010, 12:05 AM)
Well i test with 1x120mm fans and 2x100mm fans (slim fans) not much temp difference smile.gif though. Btw those temps are really quite high if you're using the same heatsink as mine sweat.gif
Yup im using the Trad2 gtx... only use the stock "colgate" thermal paste sweat.gif my casing has poor airflow too, plus the sound card is too close to the fans sweat.gif
Scythe slipstream? i got 2 of them too, 2000rpm version, airflow isnt that great actually... and the fans die pretty fast sweat.gif the bearing wear out within six months doh.gif
now using the stock silent fans, 1600rpm, i got a few premium grade 92mm fans, but really lazy to change plus they quite expensive sweat.gif

You can read the Trad2 gtx review here about 120mm vs 2 92mm fans : http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/coolers/d...rm_7.html#sect1

1024kbps
post Sep 8 2010, 01:27 AM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 8 2010, 12:07 AM)
haha thks 4 the recommendations...looks like 1 cooler wont b enough 2 cool the gpu s need more than 1 custom fan install aiyoyo...i was hoping 4 slapping-n-leaving it kind of cooler but 2 bad laugh.gif doh.gif never mind i will fix em some other time hehe
still recommend TRad2 gtx, or articcooling VGA heatsink, and the vrm heatsink lol
yeah, next time buy powercolor PCS / sapphire vapor-x version lo, they cost less than aftermarket heatsink + vrm cooler + fans + your GPU! tongue.gif
or wait alittle longer, get radeon 6000 series sweat.gif
1024kbps
post Sep 8 2010, 02:43 AM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Sep 8 2010, 02:20 AM)
Ah they should actually review both of the coolers, but last time i test was not much of a difference, i was actually using 2x100mm kaze jyu slim 2000 rpm (both just died :lol) So now was thinking to get another fan =)...Maybe scythe's GT will do biggrin.gif
was using the same fans too, threw away 2 already lol, the fan wont operate correctly anymore, its making rattling noise plus spinning at 500rpm sweat.gif
well the slim fans use sleeve bearing like any cheap fans, and the MTBF rating is 30k hours @ 25 celsius, any hotter will shortening the bearing lifespan very quickly sweat.gif
radeon 4800 series is very hot, even the trad2 gtx heatsink surface pretty hot if operate without fans.

you should try 2 92mm 2000rpm fans too, and may be i will try 120mm fans one day, since i have tons of spare fans sweat.gif sweat.gif
1024kbps
post Sep 8 2010, 10:39 PM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(jeromeccm @ Sep 8 2010, 07:48 PM)
Hi Guys

want to ask.
Members who have ATI+Physx setting, do you see any issue on playing games + 3D app so far? crash? or error...

I might get a 5870 or 5970 soon. My physx card is xfx250GTS.. If the combo give problems then i might go straight for CF instead of ATI+Physx hybrid...

thank you all...
not a bug, but new features! With Ati+nvidia pshyx , you can see girl's up-skirt, or special effect on some demo or even on game that nvidia-only gpu user will never see in thier life! brows.gif
http://www.geeks3d.com/20100422/hybrid-phy...y-timebomb-fix/
1024kbps
post Sep 9 2010, 07:11 PM

李素裳
6,013 posts

Want ati gpu with 512bit memory controller ? use radeon hd 2900xt brows.gif
the the 512bit mem controller didnt see much performance improvement on 2900xt isnt it...

and there is no 32nm for ati iirc, source on wikipedia say ati will jump straight to 28nm, and the 28nm chip is Northern Island.
1024kbps
post Sep 27 2010, 06:49 PM

李素裳
6,013 posts

^ look at the peekture above lah tongue.gif
still 40nm until Northern Island which is 28nm!

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Sep 27 2010, 06:50 PM
1024kbps
post Sep 28 2010, 07:07 PM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(gzero @ Sep 28 2010, 03:48 AM)
Why do people keep saying wait for Northern Island? I thought AMD already clearly stated that this coming 6000 series will be the Northern Island (as opposed to many people who have thought that it's Southern Island)?
LOL it was Evergreen > Southern Island > Northern Island. now both are swapped, and no 28nm? wtffff doh.gif
according to rumor nvidia nextgen is 28nm already sweat.gif
im afraid i keep wait till penang island come out liao also 40nm then pengsan ed shakehead.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Sep 28 2010, 07:08 PM
1024kbps
post Oct 15 2010, 02:15 AM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Oct 14 2010, 06:59 PM)
Yeap, from my test, it utilize all 6core until 80% is when on d cinematic, but when on gaming, 1 or 2 core will be on 80%++

Dragon Age Origin
Try to set the DAO's affinity on task manager to 3 cpu or less,
IF, the FPS doesnt drop? uhh then its not a good thing since it its just using the cpu resource for nothing sweat.gif shakehead.gif
1024kbps
post Oct 15 2010, 11:57 AM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(Shirogawa @ Oct 15 2010, 09:27 AM)
Guys got noob question...

1. Does nvidia PhysX really pawn ati havok in term of realism effects?

2. Does Games like Mafia II only support Nvidia PhysX?

..did see Nvidia demo with PhysX on and off in Mafia II,can see the difference...now really confuse to choose between red or green card..thinking buying new gc now...
1. There is no such as "ATi Havok", Havok now is only CPU accelerated Physic, not GPU acclerated version aka Havok FX since this project is prolly dead.
1024kbps
post Oct 15 2010, 09:52 PM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Oct 15 2010, 09:10 PM)
eh.
checking with you guys here, is X1300 still in the market now?
+ is X1300 performance almost similar to X1900?
4x faster than x1300, well at least for COD2 sweat.gif
Sauce: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/2006-g...t1,1252-46.html

0.0462sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:04 AM