iPhone 4 and iOS 4 V2, Discussion Thread

giovanni
post Aug 25 2010, 04:03 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(keenie @ Aug 25 2010, 11:08 AM)
Its major selling point is the retina display.  smile.gif
I said "one of its major selling points". If was advertised as "Never miss a photo opportunity" http://www.apple.com/uk/iphone/features/camera.html. So that is one of it's selling points.

Added on August 25, 2010, 4:03 pm
QUOTE(baretta @ Aug 25 2010, 03:04 PM)
Mayne he refer to white balance. Apple will improve it. Dslr also sometime have a problem with WB. This can rectify on next firmware.
Yeah white balance problem bro. Jaundiced pic.

Added on August 25, 2010, 4:04 pm
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 25 2010, 04:01 PM)
even a dedicated DSLR, more expensive than an iphone also sometimes got that problem. most probably is just a white balance problem, easily fixed with a software update (if the problem is huge enough lah). or probably the location where u took the picture has too much different light sources it confuses the algorithm.

can u replicate the yellowish skin tone n post a pic here?
yeah bro I will post it later. The jaundiced pic

Here are some of the examples... sad.gif

skin hue under natural light. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by giovanni: Aug 25 2010, 04:04 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
deodorant
post Aug 25 2010, 04:48 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(giovanni @ Aug 25 2010, 04:37 PM)

don't know how bad the problem is with iP4 cos mine only arriving this weekend, but white balance even on expensive dslr's will screw up in tricky lighting. you see this pic i attached, it's orange as heck, isn't it? DSLR shot.

Attached image(s)
echoesian
post Aug 25 2010, 04:48 PM

3,294 posts

This is a very normal white balance issue on every camera even the most expensive full frame DLSR also have this especially taking picture in dimmed environment. The most easiest solution is to apply correction during photo taking if the camera/phone that support this or correct it after taking photo (photoshop)
Joey Christensen
post Aug 25 2010, 05:46 PM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

My Lord...The first picture attachment is horrendous. There's a blotched spot in the middle where the picture came out a little bluish as in a bruise that happened. The last picture looks fine to me. The first can be binned thou.

Since Apple users tend to be in their very own world, my comment on this matter will fall unto deaf ears, right?

Regards, Joey

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Aug 25 2010, 05:47 PM
Joey Christensen
post Aug 25 2010, 06:07 PM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

Could it be the Organofunctional Silane Z-6011 hasn't dry up?

Regards, Joey
xaw5126
post Aug 25 2010, 06:11 PM

3,488 posts

its a combination problem... the camera is trying to use a tungsten light (yellow) ... instead, its becoming too yellow.
i'm pretty sure it'll be accurate if you have a pure white 'anything' in the photo...
echoesian
post Aug 25 2010, 06:40 PM

3,294 posts

White balance need to be compensated on some tricky lightning situation...
nimrod323
post Aug 25 2010, 06:59 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(giovanni @ Aug 25 2010, 04:00 PM)
Now, you should not have compared Proton with Apple. It is like comparing Apple to a rotten orange. Not a very good analogy. You mentioned about people experiencing video discoloration using droid, how many of them out of all is experiencing this? For IP4, I have to say almost everyone is experiencing this white balance issue and some even worse, a total yellow tint for indoor photo capture. I owned so many other smartphones before N95, HTC HD and Samsung Omnia 2, I don't see such major WB issue in them at all. Everyone pays alot of money for this gizmo so please don't tell me not to expect much. If you care to read Apple Forum, you should know how many ppl are experiencing this problem. I expect to capture a picture and post it straightaway onto Facebook using my IP4 (not using a third party software to enhance my image only to post it again later). I only hope more people will feedback to Apple as suggested by the Apple technician and forumers in Apple support. I love this gadget and so I hope Apple will do something.  icon_question.gif
Before anything,lets see, did i compare apple with proton? I just said people spend 40-50K on a car but heck they cannot aspect BMW standard, its pretty much similar as saying you cannot aspect DSLR standard on a P&S camera, even DSLR also needs post-production to be perfect, ask any photographers out there how many of their shots in a photoshoot comes out crystal perfect without the need to go for post production or touch up? Look at the examples given at you, by now you would know white balance is an unavoidable issue even when it comes to video cameras, heck during a video shoot we have to hold a piece of white paper to calibrate the camera, theres only one thing in this world that does not need any white balance calibration, the human eye. You said almost everyone who owns an iPhone 4 has this issue, so out of 3 millions how many percentage including all those people at apple support that equates to at least 20%? any numerals to back up this allegation? heck even my DSLR at times need to be calibrated and set the kelvin, and honestly there wouldnt be any post production tool if cameras were perfect.
benny888
post Aug 25 2010, 07:00 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(giovanni @ Aug 25 2010, 04:03 PM)
I said "one of its major selling points". If was advertised as "Never miss a photo opportunity" http://www.apple.com/uk/iphone/features/camera.html. So that is one of it's selling points.

Added on August 25, 2010, 4:03 pm

Yeah white balance problem bro. Jaundiced pic.

Added on August 25, 2010, 4:04 pm

yeah bro I will post it later. The jaundiced pic

skin hue under natural light.  sweat.gif
Terrible quality - is it possible hardware defect ?? My HD2 and Nexus is many many times better compared with it, and I am not even happy with it. I am not a photographic expert, only know how to point and click but these photos are bad, really bad consider so much hype on the phone camera. No wonder you are dissapointed

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 25 2010, 07:02 PM
TSdvlzplayground
post Aug 25 2010, 08:17 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

giovanni, try to take a photo similar to the 1st one (with the hand) in a room under white, fluorescent lighting. how does it look like?

im not ruling out the possibility of defect hardware here, but i think nimrod323 n myself know enough about photography n we do experience this problem even with DSLRs. any camera phones suffer from this. if u're saying yours didnt, it's likely because u never shot a pic under tricky lighting. simple as that.

before anyone says "oh look there's a fanboi denying any issues by apple", tell me why the pic under normal lighting looks ok and not yellowish?
giovanni
post Aug 25 2010, 08:54 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 25 2010, 08:17 PM)
giovanni, try to take a photo similar to the 1st one (with the hand) in a room under white, fluorescent lighting. how does it look like?

im not ruling out the possibility of defect hardware here, but i think nimrod323 n myself know enough about photography n we do experience this problem even with DSLRs. any camera phones suffer from this. if u're saying yours didnt, it's likely because u never shot a pic under tricky lighting. simple as that.

before anyone says "oh look there's a fanboi denying any issues by apple", tell me why the pic under normal lighting looks ok and not yellowish?
Yes bro, that photo (of the hand) was taken in a room with pure white lighting. The second photo of the girl was taken in a room with mixture of white n tungsten yellow light (that's why it was worse than the first)

This post has been edited by giovanni: Aug 25 2010, 09:10 PM
orangbulu
post Aug 25 2010, 08:57 PM

384 posts

when i take under fluorescent light, mine has blue tint instead of yellow
giovanni
post Aug 25 2010, 08:58 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Aug 25 2010, 06:59 PM)
Before anything,lets see, did i compare apple with proton? I just said people spend 40-50K on a car but heck they cannot aspect BMW standard, its pretty much similar as saying you cannot aspect DSLR standard on a P&S camera, even DSLR also needs post-production to be perfect, ask any photographers out there how many of their shots in a photoshoot comes out crystal perfect without the need to go for post production or touch up? Look at the examples given at you, by now you would know white balance is an unavoidable issue even when it comes to video cameras, heck during a video shoot we have to hold a piece of white paper to calibrate the camera, theres only one thing in this world that does not need any white balance calibration, the human eye. You said almost everyone who owns an iPhone 4 has this issue, so out of 3 millions how many percentage including all those people at apple support that equates to at least 20%? any numerals to back up this allegation? heck even my DSLR at times need to be calibrated and set the kelvin, and honestly there wouldnt be any post production tool if cameras were perfect.
If you think the photos I posted had nothing wrong then I rest my case. cool.gif

Added on August 25, 2010, 9:01 pm
QUOTE(orangbulu @ Aug 25 2010, 08:57 PM)
when i take under fluorescent light, mine has blue tint instead of yellow
Yeah some ppl have that issue as well and some users reported on yellow/green discoloration as well. Apparently mine isn't the worst because there are some users who posted pictures which are completely yellow when taken indoor.

This post has been edited by giovanni: Aug 25 2010, 09:01 PM
nimrod323
post Aug 25 2010, 09:03 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(giovanni @ Aug 25 2010, 08:58 PM)
If you think the photos I posted had nothing wrong then I rest my case.  cool.gif
did i indicate that in any of my postings, again i have constantly said to you its a white balance issue which is available across the board either a full frame DSLR or a normal P&S, this could only be solved either by A: adjusting the kelvin on DSLR only, or of course the almost perfect solution is to use PS,Lightroom and Aperture, anything that tickles your fancy. Again look at the shots presented to you taken by a DSLR by deodarant.

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Aug 25 2010, 09:04 PM
giovanni
post Aug 25 2010, 09:07 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Aug 25 2010, 06:07 PM)
Could it be the Organofunctional Silane Z-6011 hasn't dry up?

Regards, Joey
I doubt it is one of the wet adhesive problem hmm.gif

Added on August 25, 2010, 9:18 pm
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Aug 25 2010, 09:03 PM)
did i indicate that in any of my postings, again i have constantly said to you its a white balance issue which is available across the board either a full frame DSLR or a normal P&S, this could only be solved either by A: adjusting the kelvin on DSLR only, or of course the almost perfect solution is to use PS,Lightroom and Aperture, anything that tickles your fancy. Again look at the shots presented to you taken by a DSLR by deodarant.
Yes I do know it is a white balance issue and that was what I said from the start ( if you care to go back to my first post on this issue). I am merely giving my suggestion that we should all give our feedbacks to Apple and that what wat I was told to do by Apple technician at the store here in UK.

And the white balance issue is quite a serious one (if you notice the white basin wasn't even white and the pic was taken under pure white lighting) since my other cameraphones can take better picture that this. I think the picture posted by deodorant was taken under yellow lighting and that is the difference. Mine was under white lighting and it appears with a yellow tint. Show me a DSLR that takes such photo and I can safely bin it for you.

Do you think I want to bash my own gadget? After spending so much money on it, of course I would like to boast it to anyone about my new found joy.

This post has been edited by giovanni: Aug 25 2010, 09:22 PM
yuvanesh
post Aug 25 2010, 09:21 PM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

@giovani @orangbulu

Have you guys try on the flash on video and the check on the screen what colour display..is it white..blueish..yellow???
giovanni
post Aug 25 2010, 09:26 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Aug 25 2010, 09:21 PM)
@giovani @orangbulu

Have you guys try on the flash on video and the check on the screen what colour display..is it white..blueish..yellow???
Hi bro Yuvanesh, I haven't really tried video but flash on still picture appears to be yellow as well. Some said it was hardware issue but the Apple technician said it was software and wants me to write a feedback. He said the more ppl write in the better so that apple will do something about it in the next firmware update. The technician's own Iphone displayed the same issue.

This post has been edited by giovanni: Aug 26 2010, 01:05 AM
deodorant
post Aug 25 2010, 09:41 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

@giovani @orangbulu >
fluorescent lighting is in fact blue'ish, hehe.

like i said earlier, my iP4 only arriving this weekend so I'll do comparisons then. However if the phone, under normal/daylight/white lighting, is taking yellow/orange skin tone photos then yes it is indeed a big problem.
giovanni
post Aug 25 2010, 09:49 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 25 2010, 09:41 PM)
@giovani @orangbulu >
fluorescent lighting is in fact blue'ish, hehe.

like i said earlier, my iP4 only arriving this weekend so I'll do comparisons then. However if the phone, under normal/daylight/white lighting, is taking yellow/orange skin tone photos then yes it is indeed a big problem.
Yeah if it is yellow light I would probably just think it was the lighting issue. Actually I only noticed this issue when I took the picture of that girl (second picture). Initially I thought must be the yellow and white lighting in the house. Then the next day I took a pic in the washroom of my lab (since it is white light) and to my disbelief it turned out like that. Then I tried it under natural lighting (the sun of course) and it was ok. I went over to Apple and tested 3 display units. 2 of them were ok but the pic taken with flash still appeared to be yellow. The 3rd unit was similar to mine. Then I asked an Apple specialist there and we both compared our camera and found similar issue. He alleged that it was a software issue and asked me to write in to Apple. Then here I am posting my comments.

I hope yours will be ok. Some ppl in Apple forum said that they had exchanged 6 to 7 units in order to get a good one. Hope we don't have to do that. I seriously hope that it is a software issue which will be ironed out in the next firmware update.
TSdvlzplayground
post Aug 25 2010, 10:30 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

ah yes, if it's under white fluorescent lighting it should be blueish instead of yellowish tongue.gif i believe that's a valid concern

will test it out myself whenever maxis launches it haha

126 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:25 PM