iPhone 4 and iOS 4 V2, Discussion Thread

deodorant
post Jul 12 2010, 01:15 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

@iphoneiphone and prototype

my iPhone 3G after switching to iOS4 ... everything is just slower. Launching sms app sometimes takes 15-20seconds to load. And my internet tethering has died (option unavailable in settings), but I don't yet know if it's a maxis issue or iOS4 issue.
deodorant
post Jul 12 2010, 06:44 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(garyngkt @ Jul 12 2010, 01:29 PM)
Yes on 3G iOS4 does not perform so well hopefully Apple will come out with a fix for this. What you can do in the meantime is try to do Hard Reset at least 2 times see the link below

doubtful. i don't think it's really a "fixable" issue, seems just to be the OS has too many features than the 3G can handle efficiently. Thing is random google'ing seems to tell me I can't downgrade back to 3.1.3 cos iTunes doesn't sign older firmware liao, so looks like I just gotta suck up the lagginess sad.gif
deodorant
post Jul 27 2010, 12:11 PM

5,691 posts

Hmmm

Buy online from SG store and ship to Malaysia = Cannot, right? (or at least ... would be held at customs cos need to pay duties)?

3G-S I remember my SG friends had to wait 1month++ for theirs to arrive even after pre-ordering.
deodorant
post Aug 25 2010, 04:48 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(giovanni @ Aug 25 2010, 04:37 PM)
Here are some of the examples... sad.gif

don't know how bad the problem is with iP4 cos mine only arriving this weekend, but white balance even on expensive dslr's will screw up in tricky lighting. you see this pic i attached, it's orange as heck, isn't it? DSLR shot.

Attached image(s)
deodorant
post Aug 25 2010, 09:41 PM

5,691 posts

@giovani @orangbulu >
fluorescent lighting is in fact blue'ish, hehe.

like i said earlier, my iP4 only arriving this weekend so I'll do comparisons then. However if the phone, under normal/daylight/white lighting, is taking yellow/orange skin tone photos then yes it is indeed a big problem.
deodorant
post Aug 30 2010, 02:45 AM

5,691 posts

A few pages back there was a big argument about the white balance on iPhone4 camera. After using my new 4 over the weekend, my thoughts are that the iPhone4 deals with yellow/tungsten lighting extremely poorly.

Outdoors, and indoors under normal/decent lighting, it's a good (for a phone) camera. Indoors under any sort of yellow-ish lighting, photographs taken are even more yellow than they should be.

I've attached an example. Do note that the walls in this house are white, however the iP4 has rendered everything a sick yellow.

A second flaw I've encountered is the terrible contrast exaggeration, particularly when taking videos. Screengrabbed a video, if you look at the red circle on my cousin's hand, you can see that it's as if someone is shining a spotlight only on her hand. however in actuality, the lighting in the house was very, very even.

deodorant
post Aug 31 2010, 12:47 PM

5,691 posts

Proximity sensor

While not documented by Apple, experience with the iOS 4.1 beta has shown that the proximity sensor on the iPhone 4 is far more reliable. Since the device launched in June, users have reported that the handset's touchscreen will sometimes turn on in the midst of a call, resulting in accidental button presses that can end a call or place someone on hold.

At a press conference in July, Apple Chief Executive Steve Jobs confirmed that his company was aware of the problem and working on a fix. But the first two minor updates to iOS 4, in the form of 4.0.1 and 4.0.2, did not address the problem.

I have this problem with my ip4 too. Didn't realize it was happening until the loudspeaker suddenly turned on mid-call. then stand in front of a mirror only realized the proximity sensor sometimes works sometimes doesn't work.

antenna problem, proximity sensor problem, super yellow white balance, i wonder how apple's testers never detected these things.

0.0365sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:26 AM