Canon EOS family V24, The White Knights

myjunk
post Jun 9 2010, 07:56 AM

3,446 posts

I just backed another copy onto an external. so, now 1 copy DNG, 2 copy RAWs

Added on June 9, 2010, 7:56 amThis is seriously ruining my morning..

This post has been edited by myjunk: Jun 9 2010, 07:56 AM
giaogiao
post Jun 9 2010, 08:37 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jun 8 2010, 10:12 PM)
I'm not sure. Just had the same symptoms with giaogiao. Contacted the seller and he offered an exchange.  biggrin.gif
How long u have used before u exchange ar?

Mine used about half a year already. sad.gif
enferion
post Jun 9 2010, 08:47 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(giaogiao @ Jun 8 2010, 09:09 PM)
Agreed with others. 1+2 warranty is the best already.

Btw, was a Err99 victim too. whistling.gif

But, Canon 'delighted' me well. smile.gif
Dont worry lah. Just go buy already lorh. wink.gif
Bought mine from yamiya through their website. How leh?

Btw, how long is the warranty ar?
Hi, thank you to all who spent their time providing with replies, definately contributed positively to my sceptic nature of decision making process biggrin.gif.

found an interesting read on the net with regards to err99, for anyone interested
https://www.lensrentals.com/news/2008.12.31/canon-err99
Will be off to jpn for couple of weeks, so maybe will play with the X4 there and see how it goes.... will lock down my cam end of the month, White or Orange, time will tell... Cheers everyone!
DecaPix
post Jun 9 2010, 08:50 AM

5 star monkey
3,000 posts

Orange?!?
At least you say black/dark also i wont blame you
But why ORANGE?!?
BirdyFoto
post Jun 9 2010, 08:54 AM

531 posts

QUOTE(DecaPix @ Jun 9 2010, 08:50 AM)
Orange?!?
But why ORANGE?!?
orange got vit C mah laugh.gif
ColourBoo
post Jun 9 2010, 08:56 AM

199 posts

i have been told that Orange have less secondhand market, therefore harder to sell and buy secondhand stuffs, is this true??
khaiandrew
post Jun 9 2010, 09:00 AM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

Orange v. cheap maa! biggrin.gif
enferion
post Jun 9 2010, 09:03 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(DecaPix @ Jun 9 2010, 08:50 AM)
Orange?!?
But why ORANGE?!?
Orange = Alpha smile.gif
samlee860407
post Jun 9 2010, 09:22 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(enferion @ Jun 9 2010, 09:03 AM)
Orange = Alpha smile.gif
obviously he know orange = alpha, and hence the wth mode smile.gif
jaycee1
post Jun 9 2010, 09:27 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(ColourBoo @ Jun 9 2010, 08:56 AM)
i have been told that Orange have less secondhand market, therefore harder to sell and buy secondhand stuffs, is this true??
Yes and No.

Depends on where you look.

The user base is smaller and the brand is new, and by that alone will limit your secondhand market. And my observation of people on the Alpha platform are usually more lay people (used to Sony's electronics) compared to the more established (or professional) buyer pool from Canon or Nikon. This means typical Alpha users may be less motivated to go after more expensive lenses and upgrades.

Compare that to lets say the Canon EF mount which has been around since the age of dinosours.... and the millions of lenses made since inception.

* just the other day, I poisoned an Alpha user kau kau with the 7D and my 50mm 1.4 in low light shooting.

I think he had an a300? with the kitty and no ex-flash. Obviously the cameras are of different classes and price points...but it still hurts to get the beat down like that. Begin to feel sorry for him now.

His buddy with a entry Nikon (think it was a D40x or D60 with the nanny interface) was suitably impressed as well.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jun 9 2010, 10:05 AM
BirdyFoto
post Jun 9 2010, 09:41 AM

531 posts

it depends on how "determined" one seriousness in this hobby, if they CONFIRMED that they just play play & snap snap for memory only, then alpha can cater them well.

If so happen in the future their seriousness GROW out of control & want to pursuit this hobby seriously, then they are on the tormenting path of switching to C or N, which cost money & time & hair rclxms.gif
Chiet
post Jun 9 2010, 09:59 AM

863 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 9 2010, 09:27 AM)
Yes and No.

Depends on where you look.
The user base is smaller and the brand is new, and by that alone will limit your secondhand market. And my observation of people on the Alpha platform are usually more lay people (used to Sony's electronics) compared to the more established (or professional) buyer pool from Canon or Nikon. This means typical Alpha users may be less motivated to go after more expensive lenses and upgrades.

Compare that to lets say the Canon EF mount which has been around since the age of dinosours.... and the millions of lenses made since inception.
* just the other day, I poisoned an Alpha user kau kau with the 7D and my 50mm 1.4 in low light shooting.

I think he had an a300? with the kitty and no ex-flash. Obviously the cameras are of different classes and price points...but it still hurts to get the beat down like that. Begin to feel sorry for me him now.

His buddy with a entry Nikon (think it was a D40x or D60 with the nanny interface) was suitably impressed as well.
Entry level owners of course impressed with a 7D lar. tongue.gif
enferion
post Jun 9 2010, 10:05 AM

14 posts

Hi, does any one know if the 550D is made in Japan (including kit Lens) or Taiwan?
Friend of mine says Taiwan... but I called Canon, they said Japan....
Vincent Pang
post Jun 9 2010, 10:09 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jun 8 2010, 08:46 PM)
@ianho bro
where can i get the 7D's User Guide Book
some say @ Singapore Funan Digital Mall.
is there online website i can get it from?
wat in specific that u need to know for 7D ?

QUOTE(pengster @ Jun 8 2010, 10:05 PM)
I have 8 PowerEXs with the same problem. Got to know it was a batch problem and exchanged it with Imedions, just like what ViKing did  laugh.gif
i read about this problem on powerex, which is why i got imedions, but imedions also is not good enough and now end up in my gal's toy. It's S*CKS !

QUOTE(wingster @ Jun 8 2010, 10:29 PM)
Guys want to ask a very poisonous question ...

How much cost for 5D Mark 2 + 24-105 L F4 IS + 24-70 L F2.8 + 50 F1.4 + 16-35 F2.8 + 100mm L F2.8 IS Macro? Just curious because my aunt friend order it ... xD? I know 5D2 Kit Lens is around 10k .... but the rest really no idea liao O.O
5d2 + kit = RM11k
24-70 = RM 5.8k
50mm f1.4 = RM 1.2k
16-35mm = RM 6.2k
100mm f2.8 IS = RM3.5k

total = RM 27.7k

sure or not, he's a professional or a super rich guy? or ur aunty friend trying to impress your aunty only

Added on June 9, 2010, 10:10 am
QUOTE(enferion @ Jun 9 2010, 10:05 AM)
Hi, does any one know if the 550D is made in Japan (including kit Lens) or Taiwan?
ask your friend to prove that it's taiwan smile.gif

This post has been edited by Vincent Pang: Jun 9 2010, 10:10 AM
ianho
post Jun 9 2010, 10:17 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

what's so wrong about buying Alpha. I sure wouldn't mind having an A900 with all the lovely Carl Zeiss lenses like the 16-35, 24-70, 80, 135. Just take a look at the yummy Zeiss 135mm f1.8, it's so big n lovely it'll put the puny little 135L to shame. The 35G n 70-200G r nice too. And all those Zeiss lenses r modern designs meant for huge reso like the A900. A lot of the Ls r ancient already n need updates. Only problem is Alpha don't have weather sealing n the big whites that I like and no fast action cameras for sports photography.

Birdy, u know the name Nigel Barker? Does he seem like the "play, play & snap snap for memory only" type of photog to u? Yes, he's obviously a brand ambassador but if the product is no good, he is definitely not gonna endorse it for it will affect his pictures n his career.

I don't understand where this hatred for brands comes from. Let's not be fanboys n pls drop the hatred. There's no need to get all emo over a camera. It's just a toy. Some say tomatoe some say tomatoh, in the end still a tomato. smile.gif.

Added on June 9, 2010, 10:22 am
QUOTE(Vincent Pang @ Jun 9 2010, 10:09 AM)
i read about this problem on powerex, which is why i got imedions, but imedions also is not good enough and now end up in my gal's toy. It's S*CKS !
5d2 + kit = RM11k
24-70 = RM 5.8k
50mm f1.4 = RM 1.2k
16-35mm = RM 6.2k
100mm f2.8 IS = RM3.5k

total = RM 27.7k

sure or not, he's a professional or a super rich guy? or ur aunty friend trying to impress your aunty only

Added on June 9, 2010, 10:10 am
ask your friend to prove that it's taiwan smile.gif

LOL, I think u may just b right about the trying to impress his aunty. But actually he PHAIL, coz his aunty oredi got 5D2 so he should be talking about 1Ds MkIII to impress her instead. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Jun 9 2010, 10:22 AM
milky
post Jun 9 2010, 10:27 AM

- King -
4,743 posts

QUOTE(Vincent Pang @ Jun 9 2010, 10:09 AM)
Everything that's inside my 7D brows.gif
& keep it as collection
Chiet
post Jun 9 2010, 10:32 AM

863 posts

QUOTE(enferion @ Jun 9 2010, 10:05 AM)
Kitlens is probably made in Taiwan.
ianho
post Jun 9 2010, 10:41 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Chiet @ Jun 9 2010, 10:32 AM)
Kitlens is probably made in Taiwan.
Kitlens made in Japan la. It's even got a red ring. tongue.gif
chucky
post Jun 9 2010, 11:00 AM

Urang Sabah
1,072 posts

your kitlens is too powderful... biggrin.gif

this is the one that confuse lotsa people, bcos a lot of people think kitlens = EFS 18-55mm

maybe we should drop using the name kitlens to refer to the 18-55mm lens and type it out properly when referring to it biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by chucky: Jun 9 2010, 11:02 AM
post Jun 9 2010, 11:02 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jun 9 2010, 11:41 AM)
Kitlens  made in Japan la. It's even got a red ring.  tongue.gif
laugh.gif itu kit lens yang terganas

127 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top