Canon EOS family V24, The White Knights

jaycee1
post Jun 7 2010, 11:04 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jun 7 2010, 02:44 AM)
How long they take to calibrate a lens? Feel like sending my entire arsenal for calibration tomorrow since I'm free.
You better book them for a week if you are going to bring your entire arsenal there...hahahahaaha
jaycee1
post Jun 9 2010, 09:27 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(ColourBoo @ Jun 9 2010, 08:56 AM)
i have been told that Orange have less secondhand market, therefore harder to sell and buy secondhand stuffs, is this true??
Yes and No.

Depends on where you look.

The user base is smaller and the brand is new, and by that alone will limit your secondhand market. And my observation of people on the Alpha platform are usually more lay people (used to Sony's electronics) compared to the more established (or professional) buyer pool from Canon or Nikon. This means typical Alpha users may be less motivated to go after more expensive lenses and upgrades.

Compare that to lets say the Canon EF mount which has been around since the age of dinosours.... and the millions of lenses made since inception.

* just the other day, I poisoned an Alpha user kau kau with the 7D and my 50mm 1.4 in low light shooting.

I think he had an a300? with the kitty and no ex-flash. Obviously the cameras are of different classes and price points...but it still hurts to get the beat down like that. Begin to feel sorry for him now.

His buddy with a entry Nikon (think it was a D40x or D60 with the nanny interface) was suitably impressed as well.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jun 9 2010, 10:05 AM
jaycee1
post Jun 10 2010, 11:47 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jun 10 2010, 10:57 AM)
That's what I always say oso but a lot of ppl dont believe it coz they never see with their own eyes. Most ppl believe the glass is most important. "Glass is most important" believe is outdated oredi. It only applies to film era. It was all about the glass n type of film used in those days. Dont like it, can change to more expensive film. In digital cameras, the sensor is stuck there so if u dont like it ur stuck with the body. It's like using cheap film n being stuck with it with no option to change to better film.
Only until you got a camera that out-resolves the lens. Of course, for me, glass would yeild that larger quantum of quality improvement.

But, you are right..... but I think the other issue is that all cameras will have default NR applied (unless you shoot exclusively in RAW) and/or how strong is the AA filter.
Only question is....how much.

jaycee1
post Jun 10 2010, 07:50 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Jun 10 2010, 07:48 PM)
sup canoners... biggrin.gif
i'm from nikon thread... wanna ask... does the 500D have AF motor ?
All canon EOS bodies dont have motor. The lens are all electronic.

Makes them lens focus a lot faster.
jaycee1
post Jun 10 2010, 08:11 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jun 10 2010, 11:58 AM)
A little bird bird outside my window just told me that viking bugger just bought another new mind blowing toy.  I haaaaaaaaaaate him la.   tongue.gif 
In ur case, u DEFINITELY, wait I rephrase it- DESPERATELY need some L for ur 7D lor.  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif   Ur starving the 7D on the 18-55.
Definately desperately!!! But $$$ ler.

At least I still got something passable for glass.....I know you don't like the Canon 50 f1.4 but its good enough for me..heheh

Handheld....

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jun 10 2010, 08:14 PM
jaycee1
post Jun 14 2010, 07:59 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jun 14 2010, 12:19 AM)

my 24-70 +3
My 136L -6
my 30mm 1.4 +3

I wanted to do my 55-250, then when I started, I found.. aiyah.. no distance scale. Dunno how to see if the focus is spot on.

Oh well...

time to sleep.
Distance scale? I thought you using 7D? how to look at distance scale on an EF lens anyway wor...all wrong...

On side note, since EF-S lenses are for APS-C only, does the distance scale actually work correctly?

So how is the focus after micro adjustment?
jaycee1
post Jun 17 2010, 03:05 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jun 17 2010, 03:00 AM)
Cause it doesn't allow me to do creative portraiture? lol.
Seriously, you can probably fund a pretty decent Sigma 50mm f1.4 or the recently launched 85mm F1.4 (if the 50mm is any indication of its quality, the 85 probably wont dissapoint), without having to "trade in" the 70-200

The 70-200 still has its uses....this is as good as it gets for a medium telephoto lens.
jaycee1
post Jun 17 2010, 12:57 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 17 2010, 03:36 AM)
first time i tried it was in KLPF 08, loved the range.

the only 18-200 replacement i can think off, never knlw one day i'!! get one myself. still cost less than 24-70 and 70-200 2.8 IS combined.
Yeah..but different uses mah.
Can't deny the 28-300 is a very impressive lens. No other choice really for FF is you need that 11x zoom and quality.

BUT

F2.8 is pretty damn big difference shooting indoors at 200mm leh... but then again, the 28-300 probably not the best suited lens for indoors or lower light levels.
That little extra means your flash goes twice as far or use 1/2 the power.

The 70-200 can still accept a 2x teleconverter. Making it a 140-400F5.6 lens....still damn impressive if you ask me. Use that with a APC-C sensor and its a 225-640mm super telezoom.

Of course, all things being equal.....Unless you are like v2k and he comes in with his 200f2 and his arsenal of primes....
jaycee1
post Jun 19 2010, 12:44 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

Good one Ian. Cropping /= actual focal lengh

Same logic applies using a FF vs. APS-C. APS-C by defualt puts on a 1.6x crop.

Which is why bokeh on a FF is that much better.

Same reason why pns has very poor depth of field isolation.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jun 19 2010, 12:48 PM
jaycee1
post Jun 20 2010, 01:45 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Jun 20 2010, 11:22 AM)
Long time din visit this site due to recent purchases of 2 little puppies.... now the trouble is, my 5DMkII's AF can't seem to be able to keep up with them. Is it my fault or is it just the camera's limitation? Will the 1DMkIV perform better? Hmm.... should I replace it with the MkIV?
Cannot be that bad mah....

If you use AI Servo it should work pretty well. I don't know about the 5DMkii but my 7D you can adjust the AI Servo speed/accuracy/sensitivity.

Even my el cheapo 55-250 can AI Servo fairly well.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jun 20 2010, 01:51 PM
jaycee1
post Jun 20 2010, 07:31 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Jun 20 2010, 05:37 PM)
Actually, 5DMkII's AF even in servo mode.... not good enough.. because I can't really predict where the pups are going to move next. 30% is because of that.... another 70% is because I want an excuse to tryout the 1DMkIV.... wakakakakaka.
Aiyaa....like this different story lah...haha

But I know the 7D's AF zone expansion works pretty well by auto switching to the correct area/zone (and does it automatically when you switch from portrait to landscape..or vice versa). I think the MkIV should have something similar, no?

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jun 20 2010, 07:34 PM
jaycee1
post Jun 20 2010, 07:42 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jun 20 2010, 03:49 PM)
I only use Live View when shooting at odd angles. Other then that its the viewfinder all the way. If I wanted to use the LCD screen to shoot, I would have bought a compact, not a dSLR. laugh.gif
Too bad the "only" reason to use live view during event shooting is for odd angles...unfortunately the screen doesn't swivel/pivot. Kindda missing the point. most of the time I just shoot blind.

I use a lot of Live view for studio product shoot, the 5x/10x magnification is great for fine manual focusing....where its on a tripod...
jaycee1
post Jun 21 2010, 09:09 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Jun 21 2010, 07:08 AM)
OK man, shall try your method. Actually, there's not much motion blur. Just the AF is slow (the time between me pressing the shutter button till the 'teet teet' sound is too long). Perhaps my Rottweiler's colour is too black for the AF mechanism. But it does help when I attach a flash. The most difficult part is the unpredictable movement of a puppy. Birds fly in a straight line, whereas the puppy runs around so randomly. Sigh..... will on all AF points and turn to Servo and give it a try. As for the 1DMkIV.... guess I'll just put it on hold.  hmm.gif

Added on June 21, 2010, 7:09 am

Mana adaa lich? This month pay incum taks also banklup already leh....  doh.gif  Robbed of my 1DMkIV liao!!! cry.gif
Eh?? How come on AI Servo you have to press shutter button for focus lock each time? You half press and hold it cukup mah. Just like fisherman said, use all your 9af points on auto. Let the camera figure which AF point to use....and then spam. shutter fast enough or not?

Ppl sure got sore teeth one.....

Just put poster up lor....Please contribute to my 1D MkIV fund. Let me clean your teeth....

Hahahahaa

jaycee1
post Jun 21 2010, 10:36 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(shenngin @ Jun 21 2010, 09:22 AM)
Hi Guys,

Need some help here, i have research on the 550D & 7D, both cam shares a lot of simillarities, just that 7D have more features and better interms of physically and i heard both cam shares simillar IQ, is that true? what about ISO performance, are they the same?

can some one please advice?

thanks.
ISO and image quality is similar. But thats where the similarities end.

You go out TT or shop and try both units in hand.

Then you know where all that money went to.

Better yet, take both and go out and shoot something quick moving. Then you REALLY know where the money went to...
....and you'd begin to understand why the 1D MkIV commands such a premium.

It really depends on what you are looking for. If you just need something better than a point and shoot, the 550D would be more than sufficient, but if you are going to use it for "mission critical" work, then you'd better reserve yourself to single digit EOS' or the very least a XXD.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jun 21 2010, 10:44 AM
jaycee1
post Jun 21 2010, 10:40 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Jun 21 2010, 10:13 AM)
im not the only soul la, u dont know doesnt mean dont have other people ma. peace  icon_rolleyes.gif.
yeap, its like black out half secs then back with focus, normally can get it done in <1sec, noticed that i said is for object shootings yea.
haha, i really don't know how fast can a puppy can move in 0.5, but i do know how fast can a dog move in 0.5s.
yeap,  AI Focus and AI Servo will do the job with burst mode, just burst it through thumbup.gif
Well, everything what i said is based on my learning stage/begginer stage of photography life, anything wrong just don't be too harsh yea  blush.gif
If you are indeed in the learning stage/beginner...then restraining yourself from smart alec remarks would be helpfull.

How the hell are you going to shoot something moving quickly when your VF blanks out for 0.5 seconds?
using the Quick AF LV mode basically turns the camera back to Phase detect, which is the same as shooting through the Optical VF.

You go try what you mentioned and shoot something moving and then report back to let us know how well that worked for you.......

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jun 21 2010, 10:46 AM
jaycee1
post Jun 21 2010, 11:03 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

Wondering if that guy was trying to handhold that at 1/4. Which pretty much nagates the validity of the test.

I don;t see much difference on ISO 800, but on 1600, its a rather hugh difference.

But then again, if one is shooting at that all the time, best to invest in a flash and faster lenses.......... he/she is alredy shoothing over the camera's capability.

Back in the film days, I've never ever shot over ISO 400 film. Going to 800 or 1600 or the 3200 the 7D can manage well still boggles the mind. Back then I just use a standard manual 50mm f1.8 for low light application.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jun 21 2010, 11:03 AM
jaycee1
post Jun 22 2010, 11:36 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(BirdyFoto @ Jun 21 2010, 02:08 PM)
hmm, have someting bothering me about panning, any sifu can help ?

if your pan speed not match the subject speed, is it helping in nailing a good shot if i spam at 10 fps instead of 3 fps ???
If your pan speed not match the subject, its not really called panning liao.

Its called blur picture. rclxms.gif

Even if your panning speed is spot on, plenty of other factors will lead to OOF shots, but primarily is the Servo AF not working well enough, or you have too much vertical movement (this is where IS helps)

What will help with your hit accuracy is better autofocus system that can predict where the subject will be and use the correct focus point, especially if the subject is moving towards you.

10fps wont help much if your autofocus phails....

But 10fps will help if your camera's autofocus/lens need some time to "catch up" like my slower 55-250... first 1-2 and last 1 shot of the burst usually destined to be in the recycle bin. Can get about 2-3 good shots per burst of 6-8 shots on my 7D. Last time use 450D also can pan, but hit rate quite dismal.
jaycee1
post Jun 24 2010, 10:24 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 24 2010, 10:08 AM)
Actually it is just resizing photos... Enhance the colour a bit...
About 1 minute can kao tim one photo...
But they are few hundreds shots, itu yang ma fan lo. laugh.gif
can do bulk processing mah....
jaycee1
post Jun 25 2010, 12:59 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(Chiet @ Jun 25 2010, 12:36 AM)
I think the capacitor died. Can fire flash, but the intensity like none at all. Everything else works fine, except the power of the flash.
Can u set flash to full power manual and fire?

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jun 25 2010, 01:00 AM
jaycee1
post Jun 25 2010, 05:07 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jun 25 2010, 03:55 PM)
thanks valho for the input. if it was the batteries, i'm fine with it. just hoping not the flash is crazy  sweat.gif
I have 2 sets of power ex 2700 that is pretty much dead.

Heard they have a bad batch before....but I will probably use another brand for now.

0.0706sec    1.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:24 PM