126 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Engine Oil Reviews, What engine oil have u used so far

Quazacolt
post Feb 29 2012, 09:59 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kEITh_22b @ Feb 29 2012, 09:56 PM)
It is unlikely that my 4-cylinders would take-in 4-liters of oil; I remember seeing that the price was for 1 liter in the receipt... hmm.gif
rm70 per liter of mineral?

lets just say, even among the best full synthetic oil also prolly wont cost as much as rm280 for 4 liters >.>
maybe the select rare few, or those racing/non street applications yeah...

hell, its already more than double of what i pay for good semi synthetic :/
KIntos
post Feb 29 2012, 10:00 PM

1,132 posts

It is unlikely that my 4-cylinders would take-in 4-liters of oil; I remember seeing that the price was for 1 liter in the receipt... hmm.gif
you better double check. 15w 40 shell hx5 was only rm7x 4L at shell station. kancil also use near 3L oil.
kEITh_22b
post Feb 29 2012, 10:11 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Feb 29 2012, 10:00 PM)
you better double check. 15w 40 shell hx5 was only rm7x 4L at shell station. kancil also use near 3L oil.
I will need to check.

If all the time it was for 4-liters; then it is perfectly alright.

I hope I have mistaken...

Thanks for the info.
SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 29 2012, 10:26 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 29 2012, 09:29 PM)
for those cases you mentioned, 50 weight would serve its purpose.
though, mineral based on long run across the desert? again, not my cup of tea lol.

and yea, im especially "sensitive" to thicker viscosity oil ratings since i am driving an old AT 1.5 iswara lol
anything above xw40 will just make me (and my engine!) emo sad.gif
For extreme cold and hot environment, FS would be superior to Mineral. But many Malaysian think we are driving in the desert so must have FS. Guess they never read the thermometer.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Feb 29 2012, 10:50 PM
pumpman
post Mar 2 2012, 08:34 PM

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Feb 29 2012, 11:26 PM)
For extreme cold and hot environment, FS would be superior to Mineral. But many Malaysian think we are driving in the desert so must have FS. Guess they never read the thermometer.

Agree

h4dRi
post Mar 2 2012, 09:28 PM

97 posts

wah what engine is that, my 4 clyinders engine need almost 4 litres of oil hmm.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Mar 2 2012, 09:41 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(h4dRi @ Mar 2 2012, 09:28 PM)
wah what engine is that, my 4 clyinders engine need almost 4 litres of oil hmm.gif
I suspect European cars have bigger oil pan capacity than Japanese so have longer OCI.
soulfly
post Mar 3 2012, 10:49 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

I know some Volvo SUV has something like 1 year OCI.
cherroy
post Mar 3 2012, 10:59 AM

25,802 posts

4 cylinders engine normally take 3-4 litres, I have never seen before any 4 cylinder engine that only need 1 litre. blink.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Mar 3 2012, 02:44 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 3 2012, 10:59 AM)
4 cylinders engine normally take 3-4 litres, I have never seen before any 4 cylinder engine that only need 1 litre.  blink.gif
Motorcycle?

KennethFoo24
post Mar 3 2012, 11:38 PM

hi guys ,
im driving SAGA FLX, proton recommends 10W-30, im currently using Shell HX 7 10W-40

Thinking of going for Castrol Edge 5W-40 next service, any comments ? should i go for 5W-40 or 10W-30 ?
Vervain
post Mar 3 2012, 11:59 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

4 cylinders engine normally take 3-4 litres, I have never seen before any 4 cylinder engine that only need 1 litre.  blink.gif
It's packaged for the consumer convenience of topping up lub oil
Quazacolt
post Mar 4 2012, 02:21 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(KennethFoo24 @ Mar 3 2012, 11:38 PM)
hi guys ,
im driving SAGA FLX, proton recommends 10W-30, im currently using Shell HX 7 10W-40

Thinking of going for Castrol Edge 5W-40 next service, any comments ? should i go for 5W-40 or 10W-30 ?
if your manufacturer says xw30, i am more than willing to go for it, or even splurge for xw20 smile.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Mar 4 2012, 07:24 AM

12,696 posts

hi guys ,

Do you understand car more than car manufacturer? If no, I would just stick to what car manufacturer says.

And if you really wanted a better oil, try 5W30 or even 0W30. But they are going to be more expensive because these will be Fully Synthetic. And don't be fooled by mechanic saying these FS that cost twice as much can last twice as long because there are no such thing.

One reason Proton list 10w30 instead is because those are cheaper Mineral oil but will do the job just fine.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Mar 4 2012, 07:28 AM
h4dRi
post Mar 4 2012, 07:38 AM

97 posts

hi guys ,

interesting, because not long ago, my first gen campro, proton only recommends 20W-50 oils, anything lower than that, sure tepets sound come out,
i know cps campro need 10w-30 but i'm not suprise becos they have variable valve sytem, but saga flx dont have variable valve,

could it be the prove that proton have improve the campro engine component, because apart from IAFM & coil on plug, the rest of the campro component should be similar

This post has been edited by h4dRi: Mar 4 2012, 07:39 AM
pumpman
post Mar 5 2012, 11:30 AM

personally i think Petro Canada 5W/30 being reasonably price for less than RM 100/4 liter.
kEITh_22b
post Mar 6 2012, 05:36 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(h4dRi @ Mar 2 2012, 09:28 PM)
Yes, it is certainly conclusive that my engine takes in 4-liters of oil alright..., and that is really a lot, and heavy! (I know how heavy 4-liters of engine-oil is; I didn't know there's really so much oil inside the engine indeed...) ohmy.gif

As such, I might think of grabbing some cheap 10W - 30 mineral based engine-oil; for revving/taking a spin, & then topping-up. (It's good to clean-up the engine & then change the oil more frequently before the addictives breaks down.)

High-Detergent mineral engine-oil will certainly be very ideal.

(This is good for old car; if for very new car; then can just opt for fully-synthetic and then change the oil much less frequently IMO.)

This post has been edited by kEITh_22b: Mar 6 2012, 05:42 AM
KIntos
post Mar 6 2012, 09:03 AM

1,132 posts

saga blm also recommended 20w 50. im using 10w 40 magnatec now, previous is 15w 40. SC use 15w 50 petronas semi.
sarjantulang
post Mar 6 2012, 10:03 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(kEITh_22b @ Mar 6 2012, 06:36 AM)
Yes, it is certainly conclusive that my engine takes in 4-liters of oil alright..., and that is really a lot, and heavy! (I know how heavy 4-liters of engine-oil is; I didn't know there's really so much oil inside the engine indeed...) ohmy.gif

As such, I might think of grabbing some cheap 10W - 30 mineral based engine-oil; for revving/taking a spin, & then topping-up. (It's good to clean-up the engine & then change the oil more frequently before the addictives breaks down.)

High-Detergent mineral engine-oil will certainly be very ideal.

(This is good for old car; if for very new car; then can just opt for fully-synthetic and then change the oil much less frequently IMO.)
High Detergent mineral oil are mostly have high TBN number....something like 8-9-10....for normal passanger car oil, dont think they have it....

if you want, get the Delvac 1300/Delvac MX, Duron E, Pennzoil Longlife, Valvoline Premium Blue....this certainly have high TBN and very2 high additive like ZDDP....

sarjantulang
conan1
post Mar 6 2012, 03:33 PM

224 posts

guys...wanna to buy engine oil..between these two..which one is better?
just mineral oil since my budget quite tight..

126 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0819sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:54 PM