Engine Oil Reviews, What engine oil have u used so far

Vervain
post Dec 23 2011, 10:41 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Depends

Anyone here uses Lucas oil? Can comment?
Vervain
post Dec 26 2011, 11:54 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Dec 26 2011, 07:34 PM)
hi bro,

im using Lucas synthetic trans fluid, differential fluid and engine oil in my GTR and fairlady smile.gif...my frens using in evo n scoobie... very good
Kenny, I heard this is the brand recommended by most track and turbo users. Is it true the property of the lub oil doesn't change or burn under extreme/fluctuate temperature? I'm thinking on using this oil but it aint cheap too.
Vervain
post Jan 4 2012, 12:16 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(iLegend @ Dec 27 2011, 09:37 PM)
hi people, I'm going got my Toyota Vios 50k service next week and plan to change from semi to fully synthetic oil. Any idea how much will the service cost? The fully synthetic oil alone costs around RM198  doh.gif

Another question, is not too late to change from SM to FS right? I read some where saying that there will be leak or something in older car...... Mine is 2009 anyway. Thanks smile.gif
No problem. Last time I too make change from SS to FF after 2 years.

Vervain
post Jan 4 2012, 01:51 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Been using sumo R1 for 4 years. It's good for daily use. Checked the components are still ok with no oil slug on the pan. Still clean.
Vervain
post Jan 12 2012, 08:44 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Jan 11 2012, 11:29 PM)

if you think their oil is superb, wait till you see me biggrin.gif. You will probably... start.. wanking hahahahaha

hahahahaha.. he will give his 2012 calender with sexy pose.. damn.. lol.
Vervain
post Jan 15 2012, 01:12 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

i use taiwan brand X (yes.. serious). Very cheap oil sold in taiwan petrol station.
Vervain
post Jan 17 2012, 08:40 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(TripleJ104 @ Jan 17 2012, 07:16 AM)
In my experience those magnatec can throw into sea ady laugh.gif ..been using it almost 4 years at my late lmst & i found it just so - so compare other reputable brand.

Added on January 17, 2012, 7:27 am

Can i ask what series of torco? I am also now on torco but only can afford the TR-5 10-30 series  tongue.gif  Before this i use eneos 5-30 & i didnt find any difference between those 2 brand. IMO are just great engine oil for my campro.

Next service i want to try LM 10-30 pulak..

Maybe in god will i wanna write review about eneos 5-30 vs torco 10-30 vs LM 10-30 based on my experience. I may not know all the technical mumbo jumbo about engine oil...just wanna share my personal experience
Try Sumo R1. got difference.
Vervain
post Jan 18 2012, 10:25 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

You can get r1 here quite cheap. Then get the mechanic to change for you.
Vervain
post Jan 19 2012, 05:08 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

20w50 besh doh.. biar berat asalkan slamat.
Vervain
post Jan 27 2012, 10:25 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Synthetic is used because of the oil property is much stable than mineral. That's why they have a higher oil change interval.
Vervain
post Feb 4 2012, 12:02 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

You want expensive and good? get Qmax motor sports II. Got PAO & Ester.
Vervain
post Feb 8 2012, 11:14 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Feb 8 2012, 10:34 PM)
what engine and what grade of oil?

Added on February 8, 2012, 10:39 pm
if you think magnatec is smooth... (i'll let the otehr forumers finish the rest of the sentence smile.gif )

Added on February 8, 2012, 10:40 pm
If you are driving a campro, that's a noisy engine. Give the 10w40 liqui moly, qmax, torco, or pennzoil a try

Added on February 8, 2012, 10:49 pm

half bottle sufficient for a kancil
I tot u using 40weight?
-bang for buck --> Any cheapo oil. Pennzoil is well balanced in terms of pricing and results
-cheapest --> Castrol GTX.. dont
- the best --> Liqui Moly, Qmax, Torco, Chemlube, Q8. Mind you, my 200hp 230hp 1.3 engine runs only on Liqui Moly's 10w40, and that's SEMI with a bottle of ceratec. No problems so far and I promise that you'll not be able to hear my engine on drive AT ALL smile.gif
'Fixed..

but can smell your car from far woh. whistling.gif
Vervain
post Feb 12 2012, 02:14 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(li_5997 @ Feb 11 2012, 10:26 PM)
If compare LM with Chemlube semi synthetic oil? how is your opinion about it

oh yea, what is forged racing coolant? any recommendation on it or example or brand.. thanks
Evans waterless engine coolant.

QUOTE(shiyau @ Feb 11 2012, 11:17 PM)
I've used lm too. Not torco yet, planned to get it on next service. When I was using LM, my engine is quiet but somehow I felt that it's not that responsive for my car (might be smthg wrong with my engine? I doubt). Currently I'm trying Lexus FS oil, i cannot give any comment yet as I just reflashed my ECU last week. It's very responsive so I don't know it's the oil effect or Killerom effect. Lol laugh.gif
When want to carry me in your killer-rom ride?
Vervain
post Feb 12 2012, 09:22 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(li_5997 @ Feb 12 2012, 09:04 AM)
Wow~ THe Evans waterless engine coolant is like so awesome... Are you using it? any comment on its performance?
No. Too expensive. Almost 4k just to fill up the whole car. Wait a bit longer. A similar product may come out at 1/10 of the price smile.gif
Vervain
post Feb 25 2012, 04:09 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 25 2012, 01:41 PM)
Bro, how u explain those hybrid is using now? If not mistaken 5w-20?!? Yes, the behind 1 higher is better to withstand the heat, but with proper engine cooling & filtering nowadays, most car manufacturer is using thinner oil (If not mistaken new Honda & Toyota normal cars mostly using 5W-30) to help improve fuel efficient..  icon_idea.gif

As mention, the thinner the oil.. the more easier the oil can flow in the engine thus reduce friction.. The thicker oil may be good in protecting engine parts, but as we all know thinker oil is hard to flow compare to thinner oil and thus do you think the engine can move more freely compare to thinner oil?  rolleyes.gif
hybrid does not run the engine all the time. The reason why they use thinner oil, is to ensure there's no difficulties to perform start stop. Cause the engine will run and stop running when you stop for longer period or cruising with the aid of motor. You wouldn't want the motor to take the load on spinning the engine with thicker oils right? more load and power loss. This is for IMA. But hybrid synergy they're still concern with start stop feature.

if your car is not producing much heat, or good cooling system or just normal driving with no harsh revving, it's perfectly fine to risk & use 5w30. Thicker oils may seem hard to flow, but they still protect the engine components. that's the function of lub oil. Lub the components. As temperature heats up, higher rated oils will eventually becomes lighter too and it still protects the engine as it was intended to. However for lower rating ones, it will become too watery to stick or protect the components, and your engine will eventually rub itself with its own friction and slowly broken.

Synthetic does not change their form/property as fast as mineral. That's why they will have a better OCI than others and cost more. Normally minerals cannot withstand heat too much or too long. They will turn into sludge fast.
Vervain
post Feb 25 2012, 05:38 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Well it's to me there difference. I've tested mineral base and the oil turn bad nearly 3k km. Engine was sluggish like hell. When changed the lub oil everything was ok. Used synthetic for more than 3yrs previously and when the oil pan and rocker cover was open up, it was clean. My oci last time was 10k km all the time.
Vervain
post Feb 25 2012, 06:32 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

My sluggish meant the car jerks like hell when rev. Check engine light pops up to confirm theres issue. After oil change it's gone. And the oil was coffee black and barely hit 3.5k km.

I don't think lub oil needs anti rust. There is no corrosive property in oil. Unless heres other addd propertes. Additive might introduce chlorine which is corrosive to engine. For me I'll just stick with ester since it's widely accepted.
Vervain
post Feb 25 2012, 11:35 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Can you name me the brands for the mentioned top class mineral oil? I may want to try it out on my next oil change.
Vervain
post Feb 27 2012, 01:21 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

So it's for Diesel or petrol? you mean the zinc will slip pass the piston ring and enter the combustion chamber then ruin the catalytic converter? I will try out on my next oil change. thanks.
Vervain
post Feb 27 2012, 01:40 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Yeah. I thought of that too. TBH i knew Delo from victor long time ago and he highly recommends it on diesel engines since its cheap and good. Never cross my mind someone would use it on petrol engines. I'll see how it goes later lah. Thanks of the reminder. its all in the effort to find the best lub oil biggrin.gif

0.0358sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:18 PM