KIntos
post Apr 18 2012, 10:03 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Apr 17 2012, 05:24 PM)
if the current 10w40 perform better.....then stick to it

otherwise, switch back to x W50 rating
im testing 10w40 just because to see any fuel saving. you know saga blm fuel hunger with the bloody lousy gearbox. regret buying it. full tank can only last 300km ++ for 1.3 model. gonna change car soon.
kidmad
post Apr 18 2012, 11:12 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Apr 18 2012, 10:03 AM)
im testing 10w40 just because to see any fuel saving. you know saga blm fuel hunger with the bloody lousy gearbox. regret buying it. full tank can only last 300km ++ for 1.3 model. gonna change car soon.
Done! i've changed also. But for the boot space well it's worth it la. The price is dirt cheap. Anyway you can use any 10w-40 or 15w-50 but dont use w-30 engine oil. You don't feel the car anymore once you use that. Like tak boleh pick up...
sarjantulang
post Apr 18 2012, 02:43 PM

44 posts

as salam,

for BLM, any 15w-40, 10w40, 20w-50, 15w50, 5w-30 will serve well...as long as ORIGINAL..

still depend on what kind of drive you're.....if town driving, kind a STOP AND GO style of driving, trafic jam, opt for 5w-30 or 10w-40 will do well...

for highway, long distance, 10w-40, 20w50, 15w-50, 15w-40 will do the job

find a good oil, with high FLASH POINT and VISCOSITY INDEX value....you're car will be fine

just my 34.5sen

sarjantulang
advisor520
post Apr 18 2012, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(KIntos @ Apr 18 2012, 10:03 AM)
but the fuel tank is small isn't it?
ThunderGod_Cid
post Apr 20 2012, 12:13 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Apr 3 2012, 02:23 PM)
If car manual say to change every 5000-km, doesn't matter whether it is Mineral or Semi or Fully Sync, all have to be changed at 5000-km. No exception.
what is your reason?
SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 20 2012, 06:37 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Apr 20 2012, 12:13 AM)
what is your reason?
One of the purpose of engine oil is to suspend the contaminants (eg. soot) produced during fuel combustion. Since a liter of Fully Synthetic can hold exactly the same amount of contaminants as a liter of Mineral Oil, both get saturated with contaminant at the same time, hence same oil change interval. To those who said FS can last longer is to say a gold bucket (more expensive) can hold more soil than a iron bucket of the same size is talking nonsense. That is defying physic and logic.

Vervain
post Apr 20 2012, 06:59 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

But if the valve seals and piston rings are doing their job, there won't be much contaminants from the combustion chamber right? Even if there's some, won't that small amount may have been trapped in the oil filter? Just curious.
SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 20 2012, 10:09 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Apr 20 2012, 06:59 AM)
But if the valve seals and piston rings are doing their job, there won't be much contaminants from the combustion chamber right? Even if there's some, won't that small amount may have been trapped in the oil filter? Just curious.
Beside contaminants, there are other factors. For example, both FS and Mineral has same type/same amount of Anti-Oxidant, Anti-Foaming, anti-whatever and these got depleted over the same time. Hence same OCI.

carcrazy
post Apr 20 2012, 11:12 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Apr 20 2012, 06:37 AM)
One of the purpose of engine oil is to suspend the contaminants (eg. soot) produced during fuel combustion. Since a liter of Fully Synthetic can hold exactly the same amount of contaminants as a liter of Mineral Oil, both get saturated with contaminant at the same time, hence same oil change interval. To those who said FS can last longer is to say a gold bucket (more expensive) can hold more soil than a iron bucket of the same size is talking nonsense. That is defying physic and logic.
Totally agree
ThunderGod_Cid
post Apr 20 2012, 12:46 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Apr 20 2012, 06:37 AM)
Makes sense, I like you. What about oils being hydroscopic over time absorbing moisture once it's exposed to extreme heat, and FS oil qualities not breaking down as fast as M or SS?
SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 20 2012, 01:00 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Apr 20 2012, 12:46 PM)
Makes sense, I like you. What about oils being hydroscopic over time absorbing moisture once it's exposed to extreme heat, and FS oil qualities not breaking down as fast as M or SS?
Allow me to use an hypothetical example.

How long can base oil last without breaking down?
FS 10,000-km.
Mineral 5,000-km.

How long can Anti-Rust, Anti-Foaming last?
FS 5000-km
Mineral 5000-km.

Therefore all oil regardless of FS or Mineral must all change at 5000-km. While FS base oil can indeed last longer, other things inside the engine oil can't.

ThunderGod_Cid
post Apr 20 2012, 01:02 PM

158 posts

and for stock cars which manual stated 10,000km/6months whichever comes first?
Kenneth728
post Apr 22 2012, 10:12 AM

20 posts

Any ideal how much is Liqui Moly 10w40 prices around PJ area?
ThunderGod_Cid
post Apr 22 2012, 12:06 PM

158 posts

RM118
zeone
post Apr 22 2012, 05:23 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Apr 17 2012, 04:50 PM)
If your manual says to use 20W50 it means you can use xW50. 'x' could be 0 or 5 or 15 or 20, doesn't matter. But should it be 0/5/10 then make sure it's Fully Synthetic. But if you are using 20W50, then Mineral is perfectly fine.

With 10W40, your car might feel 'lighter' or 'more powerful' or slightly better fuel consumption but may be more noisy. For long term, I reckon it might be better to go back to 20w50. My 2 sen
For Proton BLM/FL/FLX, Proton appears 2b inconsistent in its recommended SAE grades... sad.gif

For BLMs and pre-Oct(?) 2011 FLs, Proton User Manuals rec 20W50.
Then later in 2011, an amendment sheet was added to FL User Manual changing the SAE grade to 10W30!!

However, most Proton SCs appear 2b using 10W40 during official OCIs... rclxub.gif

Now FLXs Manual also rec 10W30. BUT SCs still supplying 10W40? doh.gif

What is Proton's TRULY OFFICIAL stand/rec on this aspect of maintenance?

Left to "whims & fancies" of SCs? Or mayb even in the hands of Users/Owners? whistling.gif

Anyone, pleez....

This post has been edited by zeone: Apr 22 2012, 05:25 PM
carcrazy
post Apr 22 2012, 05:42 PM

189 posts

if u guys need LM Fully syn 5-40W 5L, i have extra.
brand new RM180 onli

SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 22 2012, 06:18 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Apr 22 2012, 05:23 PM)
For Proton BLM/FL/FLX, Proton appears 2b inconsistent in its recommended SAE grades... sad.gif

For BLMs and pre-Oct(?) 2011 FLs, Proton User Manuals rec 20W50.
Then later in 2011, an amendment sheet was added to FL User Manual changing the SAE grade to 10W30!!

However, most Proton SCs appear 2b using 10W40 during official OCIs... rclxub.gif

Now FLXs Manual also rec 10W30. BUT SCs still supplying 10W40? doh.gif

What is Proton's TRULY OFFICIAL stand/rec on this aspect of maintenance?

Left to "whims & fancies" of SCs? Or mayb even in the hands of Users/Owners? whistling.gif

Anyone, pleez....
10W40 oil. With these viscosity, make sure it's either Semi or Fully Synthetic. Don't use Mineral.

If want to use Mineral and must be xW40, then you must only use 15W40.

zeone
post Apr 22 2012, 07:15 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Apr 22 2012, 06:18 PM)
10W40 oil. With these viscosity, make sure it's either Semi or Fully Synthetic. Don't use Mineral.

If want to use Mineral and must be xW40, then you must only use 15W40.
Tks a meg, Bro!! notworthy.gif

The sad part is that a car maker like Proton can be so "fickle" abt rec oil grades for their own cars!!
Imagine their own SCs dun follow User Manual rec!! Phew!! doh.gif rclxub.gif
Like dat, manual is only of value to recycle companies... sad.gif
l3iTi
post Apr 23 2012, 09:11 PM

536 posts

darn....just changed to Castrol Edge 5W-40 for my BLM
Is it a bit too much for my BLM?
Well, I just wanted it to last 10k km...else i would need to change oil quite frequent ( 2 mths once)
carcrazy
post Apr 23 2012, 10:14 PM

189 posts

if u wann superior protection + healthy engine, regardless of how premium or expensive a fully synthetic cost, highly recommended to change at 7000km interval.

126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0292sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:39 PM