127 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Discussion LYN Football Jersey Talk, Please read first page 1 for basic infos

lit_ching
post Jun 14 2010, 05:39 PM

41 posts

selling a set of single digit world cup NNs at RM99 in certain big shops really have pretty good profit margin of nearly 150% with their negotiation power, only one word can descibe as well, vampire

Some shop is selling at about RM90, quite a good profit margin too, nearly 100% although their size is smaller with less overhead cost, no advertisement, etc are they consider as profit hunter? I think not, they are ethical seller according what i read so far.

I feel quite sympathy to those who sell the Man Utd UCL 07-08 Champions patch at RM 50-70 if they find the great deal themself comparing to those big stores selling at RM89 per piece. I totally beaten by them with my price of RM80-90 per piece with my cost. They are being categorised as profit hunter while the others are not because some of them couldn't get the deal and start to blame people for stealing the deal, affecting them to complete their collections, accuse people of using their information. Yes, they earn may be so many fold, but the price is still within the range, pity them.

I remember that i bought a man utd champions league final moscow with G11 back last year at the cost of RM550 from a fellow forumer, if i not mistaken, man utd megastore was selling at about £40-50 only which is about RM300. Should i category him as profit hunter? Nope, why, i blamed myself for being late, didn't put my effort to secure the deal earlier, so this is the cost i have to pay. Don't blame people, environment, luck, god if you can't make it yourself. Is he a jersey collector, i think so, is it expensive? In his mind, its fair, in my mind, its fair, so the deal has done.

Why you buy jersey in kitbag? I am sure most of us will say its really cheap than buying in MY, RM259 per piece, so expensive. How much does kitbag sell for a piece of Man Utd home shirt during sales? RM120 including shipping? This is what so call arbitrage, so you yourself is the only one can take the advantages for own use, other people shouldn't take the advantages for selling at the price lower than MY, but you blame them as profit hunter? Sorry, i totally don't understand

Just my 2 cents, take it easy smile.gif smile.gif

Added on June 14, 2010, 5:55 pm
QUOTE(odieseven @ Jun 14 2010, 03:00 PM)
I learned a lot from this forum & also my-fjc & as a result I'm a more knowledgeable buyer now & no longer be duped into buying something that is not its actual worth.
It's all about ethics...some are ethical but some are not. What's more sad are the ones who claims to be ethical in selling but indeed they are actually plain manipulators. In my experience when I started to buy authentic jerseys, I actually don't know what the acceptable market price of certain jerseys which caused me to buy a jersey which is 2-3 times higher than what it's supposed to be worth.
A question,what do we call people who purposely buys a certain so called 'rare' jersey at RM200 then sells it back right away for RM500? Are they considered as normal retail resellers? I may sound bitter because I was a victim of these unethical sellers. I sold a jersey to a certain forumer for RM150 & in the next week it was already up for sale for RM400! I sold it cheap to help genuine collectors complete their collection but then what happened? Ethical sellers make a bit of profit but unethical ones purposely manipulates people into buying an expensive item and then make two folds profit in the process.
QUOTE(Makakeke @ Jun 14 2010, 05:23 PM)
I know a certain forummer who have done the same to me. We might be talking about the same person.
Its pity that you have got fellow forumer in same forum with you taking advantage off you who you trust to buy the shirt from you for collections purpose, not for resell purpose. This is to me, unethical. If he said he bought from you for resell, sorry to say, i don't think there is any problem, its too vague in terms of price valuation although there is some general standard. How much do you rate for a Man Utd Champions League Final Winners 2 star suppose worth? I will say RM300, some may say RM200, some may say RM250, no one is correct.

This post has been edited by lit_ching: Jun 14 2010, 05:55 PM
nimrod2
post Jun 14 2010, 06:01 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

i feel alot of tension in the air whistling.gif
eball88
post Jun 14 2010, 06:07 PM

482 posts

any chances to buy logo ie rugby logo patches at those football website???
i want to buy England rugby team logo...
air_mood
post Jun 14 2010, 06:17 PM

Randy Marsh, Guitar Queer-O
4,150 posts

I think Aaron summed it up pretty well. There's a lot of guides on how and where to get shirts in here.

But if people still choose not to heed the warnings and be ripped off, well feel free to do so, just don't come complaining after. There's a rough guide on how much a shirt should cost. Just because it's somewhat rare doesn't mean it has to be expensive. I've found some very rare shirts i.e. the Newton Heath one, 1 star, 2 star and very reasonable price. Plenty of sellers taking advantage of this "rare" tag to sell it off at ridiculous prices. Hell, some sellers even try to sell somewhat very common jerseys that can be found in abundance on ebay and the liked at crazy prices.

But like Aaron said, up to the buyer ehh?? Should he choose to be ripped off and still buy them, well nothing much else could be said. Just remember, there's plenty of snakes out there eh.
pyroboy1911
post Jun 14 2010, 06:55 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

I think odieseven sums things up perfectly. Of course seller sells stuff with profit in their mind, by how many % that is not the question. But it's the way you get the profit which is the issue here. Kitbag buys their stuff from supplier for cheap price, then sell if for 150% profit. What's the scenario here? the supplier clearly understands they are selling items to shops that will mark up the price and sell for profit. That's fine, they know this fact and is not bothered by it. They earn their profit from the quantity sold ie. more sold, more money. The next question, how did Kitbag find their suppliers? of course through contacts. They might know of factories that sell football jerseys, or maybe they contacted Nike/Adidas?Umbro headquarters to get their items. as for NNS, they have companies SportingID that supply to them. Again, these suppliers know the intention of Kitbag, and the more business kitbag has, indirectly the suppliers have increased income. As a conclusion, the aim of these suppliers is to make profit from selling items to sellers in bulks, and when seller sells more, suppliers also earn more (coz more stocks needed ma).

Now, what happens when individual sellers buy things from other forum member for the purpose of reselling? First of all, most of the time when a member sells their item, it is to clear of unwanted shirts, or to fund other jerseys. What are their profit margin then? Some might add in a little bit of profit, maybe to cover the delviery cost of the shirt in the first place. Some sell it for the price they pay originally. Heck, some even sell for a loss, because their intention is to make space. Not profit. So, how can the seller says he buy his item from another member and resell it is same as Kitbag getting stocks from supplier? Are you implying that the members who clears away their jerseys are supplier without themselves knowing it?

2ndly, the way the seller gets their stock. In contrast with Kitbag, these sellers got their items from the help of others. Kitbag's suppliers provide the items with the intention of profit as well. The forum member who provide the items, be it directly from their collection or indirectly from discount links, hidden sales from shops etc, is with the intention of sharing with friends of the good deal. You can see that there is a clear contrast between Kitbag buying from their suppliers and "collectors" buying from other collectors. My point is, how can a collector-cum-seller compare themselves to Kitbag or Subsidesports? When Kitbag sells their stuff, both kitbag and supplier untung. Nobody was exploited here. When the collector/seller sells their stuff by taking advantage of information provider, someone is being exploited here.

Ive know of a case where a forum member from UK, with his own sweat and resources travel to Nike shops to help other members buy certain PI kits with no extra charge besides delivery cost, only to find the exact item being sold by one or two "friends" who sought his help in getting the items. So in this case, the "supplier" was at lost of money and time, and did not profit from the "seller's" acts. LYN forum members, you tell me if Kitbag did the same thing or not with their suppliers, and then tell me which is ethical and unethical. Then you decide yourselves, who would you rather buy from? and for my Muslim bros and sis, i think the issue of Makruh is closely related here (correct me if i use the term wrongly).

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Jun 14 2010, 07:00 PM
nimrod2
post Jun 14 2010, 07:16 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

hmm i didnt know pyro was muslim hmm.gif

This post has been edited by nimrod2: Jun 14 2010, 07:25 PM
pyroboy1911
post Jun 14 2010, 07:18 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

i'm not laugh.gif
lit_ching
post Jun 14 2010, 08:24 PM

41 posts

Its getting funny. Any seller's who intends to open and grow their business, surely they want to source directly from the official supplier, how many of you want a intermediary to step in? The problem is not many seller's able to find the source immediately and they need to use intermediary when they first start.

I totally agree on what some of you said, you shouldn't use information provided by others to gain your own profit, of course, this is unethical.

As for the sales of kitbag, the more kitbag sales, the more those nike, adidas, sporting id earn, where does kitbag sales come from? the wider the market it spread. In actual world, most of the time, there is plenty of layer on whole sales processes. Just wondering where did those shops in BB got their jersey or NNs stocks from? I guess its from Sg distributor, where do Sg shops got their stock from? I guess its from HK, where do HK shops got their stock from? I guess they aren't got directly from Nike, Adidas, there are pooling to get their stocks from another company, thats why they all sell at different price. Not like in Nike boutique, flat rate, RM259. This is by far what i know, may be who know where those shops in BB got their stock can enlighten me smile.gif

When you go to mamak stalls, you order a cup of milo ice, where the mamak owner got their stock for condensed milk, milo from? From Nestle? No no no, i think most of them got their stocks from Carrefour, Tesco, etc, are they getting directly from supplier? They can't, because they are too small, lack of negotiating power, etc . May be some kedai runcit also got their some of their stock from hypermarket. So who is the supplier? Did Nestle earns profit? Yes. Did Carrefour earns profit? Yes. Did Mamak owner earns profit? Yes. No matter where the mamak owner buy their condensed milk from. /some more mamak owner get better deal than directly from Nestle. Sorry, i am wrong, may still got another layer, distributor after Nestle. So who is "supplier"?

I know the case, i totally agree that its unethical to be honest, resell the PI's with the help of this kind friend's by taking advantage on him who offer the shirt in original price in UK.

If to say ripped off, i think certain shops in MY do better compare to those who sell the patch at RM50-70. Is Subside got all its rare stock directly from "supplier" such as Umbro, etc? Highly doubt to be honest. I have saw the Man Utd home 98-99 GK shirt selling at £195 now, its was only about £129 when i first saw. The time difference is only about an hour or so. Is Subsides ripped off? I don't know, answer is in your heart.

Added on June 14, 2010, 8:25 pm
QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Jun 14 2010, 06:01 PM)
i feel alot of tension in the air whistling.gif
Take a deep breath, take it easy, haha smile.gif smile.gif

This post has been edited by lit_ching: Jun 14 2010, 08:25 PM
pyroboy1911
post Jun 14 2010, 08:42 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

U still dun get my point mate. Even if mamak or kedai runcit buy from Tesco/Giant, in this case the "supplier" for them is the hypermarkets, who still make profit.

To put it into perspective, it is like a apple farm owner giving out apples from the apple trees that he has. In that region only he has apples. His intention is to help others who might need food coz they are hungry. Then one normal fellow comes early, and grab all the apples from him. The next thing you know, that fellow set up a stall and sell each apple for $5. When the real hungry people come, all the free apples are gone and they now have to either pay expensively for 1 apple, or go home hungry.

Funny analogy laugh.gif but i think it is pretty accurate. Sure, you can argue the apple seller comes earlier, so he has the right to get all the apples, no law is against that. However his actions not only takes advantage of the apple farm owner, he also denies the people who truly wants the apple for their hunger just so he can get money.
ghoster
post Jun 14 2010, 08:45 PM

I got 4 stars
641 posts

im kinda lost..., what's this argument about again? tongue.gif
air_mood
post Jun 14 2010, 09:12 PM

Randy Marsh, Guitar Queer-O
4,150 posts

Seriously...wow...just wow.
pongkes
post Jun 14 2010, 09:47 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jun 14 2010, 06:55 PM)

Ive know of a case where a forum member from UK, with his own sweat and resources travel to Nike shops to help other members buy certain PI kits with no extra charge besides delivery cost, only to find the exact item being sold by one or two "friends" who sought his help in getting the items. So in this case, the "supplier" was at lost of money and time, and did not profit from the "seller's" acts. LYN forum members, you tell me if Kitbag did the same thing or not with their suppliers, and then tell me which is ethical and unethical. Then you decide yourselves, who would you rather buy from? and for my Muslim bros and sis, i think the issue of Makruh is closely related here (correct me if i use the term wrongly).
for this particular case, i missed the PI shirt due to i was away during the weekend when that bloke offers to the forum members. the next day, all the PI kit gone but i guess it is still ok since few of the members got it and i believe it is for their collection. eventually i was wrong when i saw it was put on sale for much higher price. SHould i blame myself for being offline that weekend or i consider being a victim of profit hunter?

i am taking it very, very easy.. i mean very!

ckimy
post Jun 14 2010, 10:05 PM

i'm selling 08/09 inter milan away jersey with Ibrahimovic NNs

please check my signature if you're interested, thanks...
odieseven
post Jun 14 2010, 10:06 PM

76 posts

From jerseys to apples biggrin.gif
redyap
post Jun 14 2010, 10:40 PM

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Jun 14 2010, 05:23 PM)
I know a certain forummer who have done the same to me. We might be talking about the same person.
woo...interested to know, so that i wont be trapped by him.... brows.gif
ghoster
post Jun 14 2010, 10:58 PM

I got 4 stars
641 posts

QUOTE(odieseven @ Jun 14 2010, 03:00 PM)
I learned a lot from this forum & also my-fjc & as a result I'm a more knowledgeable buyer now & no longer be duped into buying something that is not its actual worth.
It's all about ethics...some are ethical but some are not. What's more sad are the ones who claims to be ethical in selling but indeed they are actually plain manipulators. In my experience when I started to buy authentic jerseys, I actually don't know what the acceptable market price of certain jerseys which caused me to buy a jersey which is 2-3 times higher than what it's supposed to be worth.
A question,what do we call people who purposely buys a certain so called 'rare' jersey at RM200 then sells it back right away for RM500? Are they considered as normal retail resellers? I may sound bitter because I was a victim of these unethical sellers. I sold a jersey to a certain forumer for RM150 & in the next week it was already up for sale for RM400! I sold it cheap to help genuine collectors complete their collection but then what happened? Ethical sellers make a bit of profit but unethical ones purposely manipulates people into buying an expensive item and then make two folds profit in the process.
owh this kinda stuff... hey dude i experience the same thing. i was a bit shocked when i saw my own jersey that i sold to a friend, went up for sale on mudah a week after. i dunno whether i should be angry or not, but know i know mad.gif

u guys might have seen my post, it was last year,
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...168&hl=ac+milan
bought it including shipping rm79. sold it to my friend for rm60. he sold it back for rm100!!!
since he really2 wanted it, sold it to him cheaper than i paid. i really thought he's a collector too. summore the size fit him.

summore that guy is my colleague, and i am a regular mudah.my user, how come he has the guts to sell it back like that? so i prank him, acted like a genuine buyer, then FFK him LOL

but still mad.gif

This post has been edited by ghoster: Jun 14 2010, 10:59 PM
TSschmeichel7
post Jun 14 2010, 11:28 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(ghoster @ Jun 14 2010, 10:58 PM)
owh this kinda stuff... hey dude i experience the same thing. i was a bit shocked when i saw my own jersey that i sold to a friend, went up for sale on mudah a week after. i dunno whether i should be angry or not, but know i know  mad.gif

u guys might have seen my post, it was last year,
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...168&hl=ac+milan
bought it including shipping rm79. sold it to my friend for rm60. he sold it back for rm100!!!
since he really2 wanted it, sold it to him cheaper than i paid. i really thought he's a collector too. summore the size fit him.

summore that guy is my colleague, and i am a regular mudah.my user, how come he has the guts to sell it back like that? so i prank him, acted like a genuine buyer, then FFK him LOL

but still  mad.gif
That's the pain of having those unethical sellers who are main priority is to get profit.

I remember you saying that you were lost just now.. regarding the argument that we were discussing.

To cut short and make things easy to understand.. (no need to give gramma story.. manufacting profit la, kitbag la, mamak la) at first we were angry when one reporter from The Star newspaper wrote something about the World Cup 2010 and was indirectly promoting fake jerseys. Then I added that, we are pissed off with these kind of people (selling fake stuff) but not only that, but with unethical sellers.

What do I and the rest mean about unethical sellers?

1. People who buy cheap and then sell expensively. Like the case you had.
2. Members joining my-fjc, then quietly sniffing the infos in the forum (spotted deals, bulks, bargains) and then misused it by buying them (small quantities or bulk, doesn't matter) and then re-selling them at ebay, mudah.com.my at crazy prices.

Example: Recently there was an ebay seller selling some Player Issue jerseys from the Nike Warehouse Sales in 2009. They were originally sold for £39.99 (shipping fee £8.00). Total: £39.99 + £8.00 = £47.99 or RM230++

Then this unethical seller resold one of it at RM750

How many % profit this seller gets? You do the maths...

No need to debate on getting it directly from supplier or what. Clearly we can see.. this kind of seller is so greedy.

Example: Whalloping the rare patches sold at some sellers like at wiggysports.co.uk (rare AXA Fa Cup Patches, retro The Football League patches) and then reselling them at mudah.com.my or ebay. Profit margin might not be that high but it was unfair because the info was first shared in my-fjc forum. There were some members who wanted it but were too late or didn't have the chance to do so because of these unethical sellers who pretend to be jersey collectors but were more to sellers (in fact, some of these people never even showed their collection).

Sometimes I wonder, should we impose a rule that new members or existing ones must show off their collection to gain their trust in the forum (that they are genuine collectors not profit hunters pretending to be collectors)? It's harsh because new members who want to learn this hobby might not have one... So it's a bit hard to apply.

So we had to act fast and ban these kind of members from the forum. Warning was given though beforehand but were ignored.

That's what the argument is about mate.. Hope that we can educate ourselves and others to stay away from these kind of sellers. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: Jun 14 2010, 11:48 PM
ghoster
post Jun 14 2010, 11:48 PM

I got 4 stars
641 posts

i see... i do remember someone posting a seller from mudah, selling manU's UCL champions patch, in da pic has lots of it.

dude this is bad for us collectors, having these 'lurkers' borong everything, sell it back high price doh.gif

This post has been edited by ghoster: Jun 14 2010, 11:50 PM
lit_ching
post Jun 15 2010, 12:21 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jun 14 2010, 08:42 PM)
U still dun get my point mate. Even if mamak or kedai runcit buy from Tesco/Giant, in this case the "supplier" for them is the hypermarkets, who still make profit.

To put it into perspective, it is like a apple farm owner giving out apples from the apple trees that he has. In that region only he has apples. His intention is to help others who might need food coz they are hungry. Then one normal fellow comes early, and grab all the apples from him. The next thing you know, that fellow set up a stall and sell each apple for $5. When the real hungry people come, all the free apples are gone and they now have to either pay expensively for 1 apple, or go home hungry.

Funny analogy laugh.gif but i think it is pretty accurate. Sure, you can argue the apple seller comes earlier, so he has the right to get all the apples, no law is against that. However his actions not only takes advantage of the apple farm owner, he also denies the people who truly wants the apple for their hunger just so he can get money.
hehe, very interesting. I think i got the point but my english not really good enough to make people understand

1st, those seller's who are able to grab the UCL 07-08 champions patch at kitbag or anything else in cheaper price and sell it at reasonable price comparing to those stores in MY didn't do anything wrong IMO. Did kitbag which is their "supplier" make profit? Yes, the more sales they got what. So, did the buyer in MY suffer loss? No, they get better deal comparing to buy in MY store although they can get even cheaper directly. But the problem is, may be the item's simply gone as there are 6 billions people in the world, just take 0.01% got such exposure, its freaking awesome, 600 thousands people might have chance to grab it. MY don't have many store selling those stuff and therefore simply being monopoly by them i assume.

Just my 2 cents, haha smile.gif smile.gif
aw13
post Jun 15 2010, 12:25 AM

Forgive and Forget, Living in the Past is Time Consuming
3,111 posts

I just find it funny that there's only 1 guy in 1 corner, with the rest in the other corner. Pretty much shows who's guilty eh?

And if any of you don't understand English or English not too good, maybe BM? Sesiapa makan cili, dialah yang rasa pedas. Hope that's clear.

Again, nuff said.

127 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:33 AM