QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 27 2010, 09:00 PM)
D:piping engineer.
Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...
Nov 28 2010, 12:18 AM
3,239 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Nov 28 2010, 12:27 AM
4,283 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Vietnam |
Nov 28 2010, 01:40 AM
wow, didnt know that. Will start to use that as joke now. Rubbish collector sound better than plumber lol
Nov 28 2010, 01:59 AM
522 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
QUOTE(toughnut @ Nov 28 2010, 01:40 AM) wow, didnt know that. Will start to use that as joke now. Rubbish collector sound better than plumber lol piping engineer? i am a fresh grad, mechanical engineer. currently doing piping course as well.. 5 weeks in getting professional piping designer cert.. then from december till august on job training at technip malaysia.. bro, got prospect to work in singapore ah? because malaysian currency is too weak to begin with.. haiz |
Nov 28 2010, 06:19 AM
what type of piping? offshore piping or building/ship internal piping? previously i work as offshore piping but soon will be internal piping.
all i can advice is, learn as much as possible and try to apply for job in spore. |
Nov 28 2010, 08:12 AM
2,201 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
is it difficult to get a part time job in singapore? anything will do. im plannin to work there part time after my examination. is it a fact tat if u work there will have higher pay than msia after convertin the money. i m the kind of person who can jimat so no worries bout food (i know its expensive)
Nov 28 2010, 08:48 AM
390 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Nov 28 2010, 08:12 AM) is it difficult to get a part time job in singapore? anything will do. im plannin to work there part time after my examination. is it a fact tat if u work there will have higher pay than msia after convertin the money. i m the kind of person who can jimat so no worries bout food (i know its expensive) i think working as part time oso nid permit ~ anyone to clarify ? so if u really want to work in sg, better apply asap, the permit will already cause u few weeks time .... QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Nov 27 2010, 11:28 PM) not so sure for Tuas la. now i travel daily using woodlands. VEP $4 daily. Petrol is the most concerning part. i need to pump 1 full tank every 2 days. RM12. So my daily travel fees is around $7-$8 already. its not really that cheap. but the travel time is not really that scary as well. I leave my house at 6:30am. go ta pao breakfast at taman pelangi. normally i reach office around 7:50am. my office in in AMK.1 thing that i dun like is i need to sacrifice the 10mbps internet connection when i am staying in SG. but overall, i get to enjoy traveling with own transport. can bring my car from KL and park it in my JB house so that i can drive back KL once a month. So overall, if i were given the choice to choose to stay in SG or JB, i will still choose JB u can reach office at 7.50 while leaving ur house at 6.30 . damn nice figure ~ love it .my working hour starts at 8.45, got a 15 mins buffer time , so if i stays in bukit indah n uses the TUAS, thats mean i will nid to leave my house around 7-7.30 ? u riding motor ,right ? do u ever count ur fuel / km ? like how many km u can run using 1 liter petrol ? cause i want to count my daily usage too. |
Nov 28 2010, 09:04 AM
2,017 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(kl87 @ Nov 28 2010, 08:48 AM) i think working as part time oso nid permit ~ anyone to clarify ? so if u really want to work in sg, better apply asap, the permit will already cause u few weeks time .... I am using woodlands. i stay in tebrau city area. so if u use Tuas, i think it will be much faster since u won't be stuck on the immigration queue. lets put it this way. from my house to woodlands check point is around 15-20mins. then i will stuck on the Singapore immigration for around 20-30mins depends on the queue (so load more movies into your iPhone, i always watch drama when i am on the queue u can reach office at 7.50 while leaving ur house at 6.30 . damn nice figure ~ love it . my working hour starts at 8.45, got a 15 mins buffer time , so if i stays in bukit indah n uses the TUAS, thats mean i will nid to leave my house around 7-7.30 ? u riding motor ,right ? do u ever count ur fuel / km ? like how many km u can run using 1 liter petrol ? cause i want to count my daily usage too. Regarding working part time, all foreign worker needs a permit to work in Singapore. If u are talking about working for 1-2 months during ur school holidays, then forget about it. coz the employer would not waste so much time to apply work permit for you and also train you on the job. |
Nov 28 2010, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Nov 28 2010, 09:04 AM) I am using woodlands. i stay in tebrau city area. so if u use Tuas, i think it will be much faster since u won't be stuck on the immigration queue. lets put it this way. from my house to woodlands check point is around 15-20mins. then i will stuck on the Singapore immigration for around 20-30mins depends on the queue (so load more movies into your iPhone, i always watch drama when i am on the queue thx a lot for ur advice. never own a motor before Regarding working part time, all foreign worker needs a permit to work in Singapore. If u are talking about working for 1-2 months during ur school holidays, then forget about it. coz the employer would not waste so much time to apply work permit for you and also train you on the job. google map helped me to calculate the distance. from bukit indah to bukit merah is around 50km, so daily travel is approximately 100km. damnit , so far however, my job required me to go around attending meeting ,and i able to get allowance for $0.3/km on motor. if i take public transport , company will oni reimburse back my transport fees. i think from there , it can cover a bit for me n how much for a brand new EX5? |
Nov 28 2010, 09:36 AM
522 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
QUOTE(toughnut @ Nov 28 2010, 06:19 AM) what type of piping? offshore piping or building/ship internal piping? previously i work as offshore piping but soon will be internal piping. for now its onshore piping.. refinery mostly.. how many years of experience do u have bro? all i can advice is, learn as much as possible and try to apply for job in spore. |
Nov 28 2010, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Nov 28 2010, 09:04 AM) I am using woodlands. i stay in tebrau city area. so if u use Tuas, i think it will be much faster since u won't be stuck on the immigration queue. lets put it this way. from my house to woodlands check point is around 15-20mins. then i will stuck on the Singapore immigration for around 20-30mins depends on the queue (so load more movies into your iPhone, i always watch drama when i am on the queue even dish washer pembuang sampah kopi girl in kopitiam all nid permit? Regarding working part time, all foreign worker needs a permit to work in Singapore. If u are talking about working for 1-2 months during ur school holidays, then forget about it. coz the employer would not waste so much time to apply work permit for you and also train you on the job. how if im working during day time n not stayin in singapore in night time? which is jb. the permit difficult to apply? sry ah. novice here |
Nov 28 2010, 10:16 AM
1,106 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Some place where miracle happen.. |
QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Nov 28 2010, 10:11 AM) even dish washer pembuang sampah kopi girl in kopitiam all nid permit? Part time job is only applicable for PR or Singaporean, if u wanna work in singapore, u can only get PERM job. No matter what job it is.how if im working during day time n not stayin in singapore in night time? which is jb. the permit difficult to apply? sry ah. novice here |
Nov 28 2010, 10:21 AM
wa. so strict one ah? work for friend there also cannot right?
how if have a one day trip there? have to apply permit too right? |
Nov 28 2010, 10:27 AM
1,106 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Some place where miracle happen.. |
erm, u only need passport to come into singapore le, but u cannot work. Also, there are ways to get a part time job here, but might get taxed since u only working for few months
Nov 28 2010, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Nov 28 2010, 10:21 AM) wa. so strict one ah? work for friend there also cannot right? the truth is that , as long as the government dun knw u r working without the pass , everything is ok . of coz, the main point is dun get cheated , as u wun have anyway to get back ur salary , as u r illegally working there.how if have a one day trip there? have to apply permit too right? one day trip no nid permit la , after u fill in the white card at the singapore custom there, u'll have 30 days staying time in singapore, but of coz, it is not for u to work there. u said u plan to travel daily , i doubt it is possible .....as u will nid to fill in the white card every time . n maybe the officer will ask , y u go to singapore everyday ? go shopping ? This post has been edited by kl87: Nov 28 2010, 10:30 AM |
Nov 28 2010, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(kl87 @ Nov 28 2010, 09:28 AM) thx a lot for ur advice. never own a motor before brand new EX5 cost u around RM3.9k (kick start) and RM4.2k (electric starter). But if u are using the 2nd link, i will advise u to get a bigger bike as EX5 is very floaty when go at high speed and the road in 2nd link is really straight and high way all the time. you also don't have to squeeze with other bikers if u are using 2nd link. Why not consider getting a Singapore bike? you can save on the $4 VEP if u are riding a Singapore bike. regarding driving into Singapore. the VEP is $20 a day. so its a big no no for me. but u will get 10 VEP free days a year. So i will bring my car to JB and will drive in if that particular day is raining heavily, of course its mainly because my company got free parking, if ur company got no free parking, then you don't have to think about it coz even parking at HDB car park, its $1 per hour.google map helped me to calculate the distance. from bukit indah to bukit merah is around 50km, so daily travel is approximately 100km. damnit , so far however, my job required me to go around attending meeting ,and i able to get allowance for $0.3/km on motor. if i take public transport , company will oni reimburse back my transport fees. i think from there , it can cover a bit for me n how much for a brand new EX5? |
Nov 28 2010, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Nov 28 2010, 10:39 AM) brand new EX5 cost u around RM3.9k (kick start) and RM4.2k (electric starter). But if u are using the 2nd link, i will advise u to get a bigger bike as EX5 is very floaty when go at high speed and the road in 2nd link is really straight and high way all the time. you also don't have to squeeze with other bikers if u are using 2nd link. Why not consider getting a Singapore bike? you can save on the $4 VEP if u are riding a Singapore bike. regarding driving into Singapore. the VEP is $20 a day. so its a big no no for me. but u will get 10 VEP free days a year. So i will bring my car to JB and will drive in if that particular day is raining heavily, of course its mainly because my company got free parking, if ur company got no free parking, then you don't have to think about it coz even parking at HDB car park, its $1 per hour. the big Sg bike , how much $ r u referring to ? i can ride a Sg bike with my Malaysian passport n permit ?regarding the parking , i saw many bike park illegally below my office , all the way along the shop lots , so i think it is ok for me too raining |
Nov 28 2010, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Nov 28 2010, 10:27 AM) erm, u only need passport to come into singapore le, but u cannot work. Also, there are ways to get a part time job here, but might get taxed since u only working for few months QUOTE(kl87 @ Nov 28 2010, 10:29 AM) the truth is that , as long as the government dun knw u r working without the pass , everything is ok . of coz, the main point is dun get cheated , as u wun have anyway to get back ur salary , as u r illegally working there. ooo. so the white card can last me 30 days. hmm.. got the idea liao. hehe. thx.one day trip no nid permit la , after u fill in the white card at the singapore custom there, u'll have 30 days staying time in singapore, but of coz, it is not for u to work there. u said u plan to travel daily , i doubt it is possible .....as u will nid to fill in the white card every time . n maybe the officer will ask , y u go to singapore everyday ? go shopping ? |
Nov 28 2010, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(kl87 @ Nov 28 2010, 10:47 AM) the big Sg bike , how much $ r u referring to ? i can ride a Sg bike with my Malaysian passport n permit ? to ride a SG bike in SG, u need to have a SG driving license. but riding a Malaysian bike you don't need that. illegal parking fine is $75, so good luck and hopefully u din get one. you can get a Honda CBF150. not that big and not that small either. In Malaysia, its selling around RM9k. not sure about the price in SG.regarding the parking , i saw many bike park illegally below my office , all the way along the shop lots , so i think it is ok for me too raining |
Nov 28 2010, 02:04 PM
4,414 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Nov 28 2010, 10:21 AM) wa. so strict one ah? work for friend there also cannot right? Alot of small business have the policy "Dont ask, dont tell"how if have a one day trip there? have to apply permit too right? as long as you dont get caught, you can pretty much do what you want. In the metal fabrication or construction field in sg, its not suprising if company A has a few illegal workers without any permits working for them. These are usually manpower suppliers who have illegal workers on their payroll. I've even seen foreign workers who live in the work premise (illegal of course). Every morning they go about their business brushing their teeth and cooking breakfast in the company compound, you can see this in the tuas area. |
| Change to: | 0.0225sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:00 PM |