168 Pages « < 159 160 161 162 163 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

starriebaby88
post Nov 24 2010, 03:02 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(rling @ Nov 24 2010, 02:53 PM)
How?

Can I really work?

I am doing design engineering.

*sigh*

I am confused. @.@
is ur job on contract / permanent? =___="

rling
post Nov 24 2010, 03:05 PM

41 posts

It's not on contract.

It's permanent.
toda6866
post Nov 24 2010, 03:14 PM

303 posts

wah engineering also can get rejected? wat else they want oh? engineer not professional ?

This post has been edited by toda6866: Nov 24 2010, 03:14 PM
rling
post Nov 24 2010, 03:19 PM

41 posts

I am so helpless now.

My boss said the appeal takes 3 weeks.

My landlord allows me to stay 3 weeks while waiting for the result.

*sigh*

starriebaby88
post Nov 24 2010, 03:23 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(toda6866 @ Nov 24 2010, 03:14 PM)
wah engineering also can get rejected? wat else they want oh? engineer not professional ?
@@ oh no, is ur education background good? from Msian uni?

rling
post Nov 24 2010, 03:33 PM

41 posts

My institution is inside the MOM list.

Added on November 24, 2010, 3:34 pmUTAR.

Not the best institution. But cukup makan, I bet.

This post has been edited by rling: Nov 24 2010, 03:34 PM
Lester1987
post Nov 24 2010, 03:54 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(rling @ Nov 24 2010, 03:33 PM)

that is really weird, what pass you are trying to apply? i only have STPM and can get S Pass without any issue. STPM from a SMK school can get S Pass but a degree from UTAR can't get??
starriebaby88
post Nov 24 2010, 03:55 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(rling @ Nov 24 2010, 03:33 PM)

Aiya, so sorry to hear about that.
If your employer is keen on getting u on the job.
U should be fine, dont over worry.

I just got an offer that i've been eye-ing on.
But still have to subject to MOM's approval.
im also as scared as u r..
rling
post Nov 24 2010, 04:05 PM

41 posts

@lester1987 my boss is applying employment pass for me. T.T
Mackiddo
post Nov 24 2010, 04:28 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(toda6866 @ Nov 24 2010, 03:14 PM)
why not ? No Singaporean can cover that job ?

Added on November 24, 2010, 4:28 pmanyone going SITEX @ Singapore Expo tomorrow ? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Nov 24 2010, 04:28 PM
Walaoeh!
post Nov 24 2010, 04:41 PM

304 posts

jz checked, my EP approved... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Walaoeh!: Nov 24 2010, 04:49 PM
crapp0
post Nov 24 2010, 04:42 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 24 2010, 04:28 PM)
why not ? No Singaporean can cover that job ?

Added on November 24, 2010, 4:28 pmanyone going SITEX @ Singapore Expo tomorrow ? smile.gif
Im going this sat to check for a 24 inch lcd. Not sure which one to get. But then again singapores choices for computer parts is disappointing.
Mackiddo
post Nov 24 2010, 04:52 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Nov 24 2010, 04:42 PM)
Im going this sat to check for a 24 inch lcd. Not sure which one to get. But then again singapores choices for computer parts is disappointing.
why 24" ? get a 32" LCD better, value for money, price can drop as low as SGD500. I'm looking for a LED below SGd$1k, dunno can get how many inch.
over here, not many ppl assemble their own pc, most would rather go for pre-assembled set. well, i'm on Mac anyway.
Lester1987
post Nov 24 2010, 05:16 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 24 2010, 04:52 PM)
why 24" ? get a 32" LCD better, value for money, price can drop as low as SGD500. I'm looking for a LED below SGd$1k, dunno can get how many inch.
over here, not many ppl assemble their own pc, most would rather go for pre-assembled set. well, i'm on Mac anyway.
icic, if u are planning to change Mac, let me know ya~~ i help u buy tongue.gif
keelim
post Nov 24 2010, 05:47 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(rling @ Nov 24 2010, 02:41 PM)
Engineering.

But my boss asked me to work while waiting for his appeal.

I am scare.
By working for your ‘potential’ employer on visit pass you are at the highest risk. If caught, you will be barred from entering Sg for X no. of months or years. Your employer probably gets a slap on the hand or just a meager fine. On top of that, he is in no obligation to pay you the salary on the contract presumably the clause on work pass issue is stated.

Don’t be misguided. I won’t risk the chances. The odds are heavily against you.

Argiope
post Nov 24 2010, 05:54 PM

300 posts

Yup if i were you, i will not start working until my EP gets a pass. It's a big risk to work under a Social Visit Pass.

This post has been edited by Argiope: Nov 24 2010, 06:01 PM
crapp0
post Nov 24 2010, 06:24 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 24 2010, 04:52 PM)
Im getting a pc monitor, not a tv. dells 30" monitor cost around 2k. If i were a singaporean looking for a basic computer, i too would go for pre-assembled since the monetary savings isnt that great and the choices for available hardware isnt that abundant that it would affect performance by a long shot. Once you go shopping on newegg, everything else seems so expensive or the variety is sorely lacking.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 24 2010, 06:29 PM
Mackiddo
post Nov 24 2010, 06:51 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Nov 24 2010, 05:16 PM)
i'm planning to get a MacBook air to replace my MacBook unibody coming next year. also probably an iMac/Mac Pro. any special discount ?
Supreme Allied Commander
post Nov 24 2010, 07:16 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Nov 24 2010, 01:11 PM)
U mean Tuas or Woodlands checkpoint?
woodlands. Never used tuas b4 going into my but i believe they are more strict since there are less cars.

This post has been edited by Supreme Allied Commander: Nov 24 2010, 07:16 PM
reign226
post Nov 24 2010, 07:56 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Nov 24 2010, 04:42 PM)
Try the 23" dell eIPS panel.

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Nov 24 2010, 05:16 PM)
You can kangtao how much? Price will be cheaper than Malaysia buy from retail ma?

168 Pages « < 159 160 161 162 163 > » Top

0.0293sec    1.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:36 AM