V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

Cergau
post Jun 25 2011, 11:09 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(tomytan @ Jun 23 2011, 04:21 PM)
They wud luv to charge by the sq ft for rumah ayam, kambing, lembu etc...but those r not in desa or under the jurisdiction of PBT, but agricultural land???
LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1976
Declaration and determination of status of local authority areas
3. For the administration of local government under this Act, the State Authority, in consultation with the Minister and the Secretary
of the Election Commission, may by notification in the Gazette—
(a) declare any area in such State to be a local authority area;
(b) assign a name to such local authority area;
© define the boundaries of such local authority area; and
(d) determine the status of the local authority for such local authority area and such status shall be that of a Municipal Council or a District Council.
Change of name and status, and alteration of boundaries
4. (1) The State Authority, in consultation with the local authority, may by notification in the Gazette change the name of any local authority area.
(2) The State Authority, in consultation with the Minister and the local authority, may by notification in the Gazette change the status of a local authority area.
(3) The State Authority, in consultation with the Minister and the Secretary of the Election Commission, may by notification in the Gazette alter the boundaries of any local authority area.

From the above extract, on 1st reading, it's not the land type that is the determinant rather wheter the land sits within the declared boundary ...just as per yr pt on 'jurisdiction'. It's under their jurisdiction if within the declared boundary of that particular PBT irrespective of the land type.
oneup
post Jun 26 2011, 08:43 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(coquette @ Jun 26 2011, 08:27 PM)
such a crazy length of thread. so i'll just pose my question here.

ive taken an interest into trading birds nest. buy unclean ones, clean them and resell them.

so, do big companies like eu yan sang buy from bh owners or do they have their own bh to cater to their large selling quatities? or would i need to package it for shelf-selling?
Trading with euyansang is not easy. They squeeze u to the max. That's what I heard.
tuckfook
post Jun 26 2011, 09:18 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(northface @ Jun 24 2011, 07:06 PM)
Added picture, the red dots are where the new droppings are located at, notice they only spread around 2nd floor but do not go down to 1st floor, let alone ground floor.

So I was thinking of re-opening the old entrance, would that work?
Both entrances are against the free flow of flight. The birds are unlikely to populate the lower floor quickly or in large numbers.

In the long run, population will be slow to increase and many young birds will die.

Imagine yourself if you were to fly into your BH at high speed.

Added on June 26, 2011, 9:20 pm
QUOTE(Cergau @ Jun 25 2011, 11:09 PM)
LOCAL  GOVERNMENT  ACT  1976
Declaration and determination of status of local authority areas
snip>>>

From the above extract, on 1st reading, it's not the land type that is the determinant rather wheter the land sits within the declared boundary ...just as per yr pt on 'jurisdiction'. It's under their jurisdiction if within the declared boundary of that particular PBT irrespective of the land type.
YES and every single sq. ins. of land is under one authority or another, sometimes overlapping.

This post has been edited by tuckfook: Jun 26 2011, 09:20 PM
xunji
post Jun 26 2011, 10:19 PM

49 posts

[quote=northface,Jun 24 2011, 11:21 PM]
Yes the original entrance is better, but after 5 months like I said, only 2-3 spots on top floor, rest of the lower floors nothing.
So I scouted around the area and noticed most BHs there were facing the direction where the NEW side entrance is now.

correct me if i'm wrong.

if i not mistaken, yours is a standalone . pls draw what the pitch of the roof n type of roof?

if your is a r.c roof i will suggest convert it to dog kennel cause it will be minimal disturb.

10' x 12' LAL sufficient.

northface
post Jun 26 2011, 10:49 PM

359 posts

[quote=xunji,Jun 26 2011, 10:19 PM]
[quote=northface,Jun 24 2011, 11:21 PM]
Yes the original entrance is better, but after 5 months like I said, only 2-3 spots on top floor, rest of the lower floors nothing.
So I scouted around the area and noticed most BHs there were facing the direction where the NEW side entrance is now.

correct me if i'm wrong.

if i not mistaken, yours is a standalone . pls draw what the pitch of the roof n type of roof?

if your is a r.c roof i will suggest convert it to dog kennel cause it will be minimal disturb.

10' x 12' LAL sufficient.

[/quote]

Yes this is a standalone BH and roof is indeed RC.

Reason I advised my friend to do try a side ent because everything was done in 2 days. Hacking off the RC roof for a dog kennel will take days.
philoswiflet
post Jun 26 2011, 11:03 PM

115 posts

Advice to swiftlet farmers: Try to have spare amps, spare tweeters and spare timers and other critical components in your farm so that you can do on site repairs. This is especially important if your farms are a long way from home and perhaps in the middle of plantations. I had so many equipments failures over the years that I think this a good advice for fellow farmers. Remember to have all necessary tools in hand during farm visits.
BirdNest_Satay
post Jun 27 2011, 02:45 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(coquette @ Jun 26 2011, 08:27 PM)
such a crazy length of thread. so i'll just pose my question here.

ive taken an interest into trading birds nest. buy unclean ones, clean them and resell them.

so, do big companies like eu yan sang buy from bh owners or do they have their own bh to cater to their large selling quatities? or would i need to package it for shelf-selling?
I saw on a certain blog that EYS buy from a sarawak family run business which clean the nest for them. There is a photo of the auntie putting brown & orange nests in a huge tub of hot water to soften the nests .

This post has been edited by BirdNest_Satay: Jun 27 2011, 02:47 AM
xunji
post Jun 27 2011, 10:52 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(northface @ Jun 26 2011, 10:49 PM)
Yes this is a standalone BH and roof is indeed RC.

Reason I advised my friend to do try a side ent because everything was done in 2 days. Hacking off the RC roof for a dog kennel will take days.
provided initial open roof r at the most ideal position. ie. fly path, east side, size minimun 10' x 12' clear void

i will extend the opening roof n convert it to dog kennel. no hacking r requird. dog kennel size will be 18' x 16' inner width with 8' height.

the room at old entrance at open roof will be remove.

TinkleBell
post Jun 27 2011, 11:07 AM

37 posts

Dear All

I remembered hearing from 988 radio news announcing that China has set the minimal residue level of nitrite for bird's nest importation. Due to my half past six mandarin, the bird's nest association has requested our govt to have a G2G settlement with China. The naturally content of nitrite in BN is not able to meet the China set MRL.

Please comment and if any other member has any update status of the above issue, kindly update.

Cheers cool2.gif
oneup
post Jun 27 2011, 11:55 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(coquette @ Jun 26 2011, 08:53 PM)
i see. but what are other options where i could sell cleaned birds nest other than exporting to china?
Most of the ppl have their own customers... Some sell raw, some sell processed...
Ofc the best is to export but licenses required are a pain in the ass. So far, only 2 person i knew had export license. Others only have license between east n west malaysia.

One of the bh owner here are exporting without license. How did he do it? He bring in small portions like 2kgs per travel. He has business in China, so he travels quite often by himself or his employees, which helps. Unless u have business in that country that require you to travel often, this method doesn't work for you. It is not a viable way in the long run anyways.

Added on June 27, 2011, 12:00 pm
QUOTE(TinkleBell @ Jun 27 2011, 11:07 AM)
Dear All

I remembered hearing from 988 radio news announcing that China has set the minimal residue level of nitrite for bird's nest importation.   Due to my half past six mandarin, the bird's nest association has requested our govt to have a G2G settlement with China.  The naturally content of nitrite in BN is not able to meet the China set MRL.

Please comment and if any other member has any update status of the above issue, kindly update.

Cheers  cool2.gif
That is true. It has cause a price drop in EBN. This is mainly due to some players in the industry who wants fast money. Too much chemical used in cleaning process or using other substance to increase their revenue.

Added on June 27, 2011, 2:36 pmAny1 here experienced with Gecko, Lizard, Cicak in birdhouse?

Today, I saw a HUGE lizard in my bird house. Any1 know any good way to get rid of it other than using spray? Any1 with first hand experience dealing with them?

Its SO BIG!!! 6" in length! Haha

I am not so worried abt them eating the nests... But ma precious eggs!
I know they eat the bird nests, how abt eggs? What species eat eggs? what doesn't?

This post has been edited by oneup: Jun 27 2011, 02:39 PM
TinkleBell
post Jun 27 2011, 02:45 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(oneup @ Jun 27 2011, 11:55 AM)
Most of the ppl have their own customers... Some sell raw, some sell processed...
Ofc the best is to export but licenses required are a pain in the ass. So far, only 2 person i knew had export license. Others only have license between east n west malaysia.

[B]Why is it so difficult to get an export licence when the Govt is projecting an image that we wanted to be No. 1 exporter.  How to be No. 1 if only 2 licenced export???

Added on June 27, 2011, 12:00 pm

That is true. It has cause a price drop in EBN. This is mainly due to some players in the industry who wants fast money. Too much chemical used in cleaning process or using other substance to increase their revenue.

[/B]Any want knows what is the current price range like now?  Any latest news on what the G2G news?  Association seems very quiet and I do not see any news in english newspapre.

Added on June 27, 2011, 2:36 pm[b]Any1 here experienced with Gecko, Lizard, Cicak in birdhouse?

Today, I saw a HUGE lizard in my bird house. Any1 know any good way to get rid of it other than using spray? Any1 with first hand experience dealing with them?

Its SO BIG!!! 6" in length! Haha

I am not so worried abt them eating the nests... But ma precious eggs!
I know they eat the bird nests, how abt eggs? What species eat eggs? what doesn't?

[/B]This lizard really have good taste on bird nest!!!
Cergau
post Jun 27 2011, 03:27 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(TinkleBell @ Jun 27 2011, 11:07 AM)
the bird's nest association has requested our govt to have a G2G settlement with China.  The naturally content of nitrite in BN is not able to meet the China set MRL.

QUOTE(oneup @ Jun 27 2011, 11:55 AM)

Source - WikiSource - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sodium_nitrite
In normal human diet
Nitrites are a normal part of human diet, found in most vegetables.[1][2][3] Spinach and lettuce can have as high as 2500 mg/kg, curly kale (302.0 mg/kg) and green cauliflower (61.0 mg/kg), to a low of 13 mg/kg for asparagus. Nitrite levels in 34 vegetable samples, including different varieties of cabbage, lettuce, spinach, parsley and turnips ranged between 1.1 and 57 mg/kg, e.g. white cauliflower (3.49 mg/kg) and green cauliflower (1.47 mg/kg).[4][5] Boiling vegetables lowers nitrate but not nitrite.[5] Fresh meat contains 0.4-0.5 mg/kg nitrite and 4–7 mg/kg of nitrate (10–30 mg/kg nitrate in cured meats).[3] The presence of nitrite in animal tissue is a consequence of metabolism of nitric oxide, an important neurotransmitter.[6] Nitric oxide can be created de novo from nitric oxide synthase utilizing arginine or from ingested nitrate or nitrite.[7] Most research on negative effects of nitrites on humans predates discovery of nitric oxide's importance to human metabolism and human endogenous metabolism of nitrite.
Food additive
As a food additive, it serves a dual purpose in the food industry since it both alters the color of preserved fish and meats and also prevents growth of Clostridium botulinum, the bacterium which causes botulism. In the European Union it may be used only as a mixture with salt containing at most 0.6% sodium nitrite. It has the E number E250. Potassium nitrite (E249) is used in the same way.
While this chemical will prevent the growth of bacteria, it can be toxic in high amounts for animals, including humans. Sodium nitrite's LD50 in rats is 180 mg/kg and its human LDLo is 71 mg/kg, meaning a 65 kg person would likely have to consume at least 4.615 g to result in death.[8] To prevent toxicity, sodium nitrite (blended with salt) sold as a food additive is dyed bright pink to avoid mistaking it for plain salt or sugar.
Medical uses
Recently, sodium nitrite has been found to be an effective means to increase blood flow by dilating blood vessels, acting as a vasodilator. Research is ongoing to investigate its applicability towards treatments for sickle cell anemia, cyanide poisoning, heart attacks, brain aneurysms, and pulmonary hypertension in infants.[9][10]
An intravenous mixture including sodium nitrite solution has been used as an emergency treatment for cyanide poisoning (see Cyanide#Antidote).

My take on this....
My suspicion:
As speculated...possibly the work of our own people and opportunistic tit-for-tat as suggested...just g**gle enuff, you will find the possible suspects.
Maybe it's just bad translation (results from g**gling) but if it's word for word accurate..very poor analysis, I have my reservations...I dun even trust my medical doctor a 100%.
Possibly opportunistic scare mongering for their own advantage by people in the industry.
Just read some of the supposedly 'research' and you will get an idea who in the supply chain will gain from this fiasco.
Also my rant on hare brained product tracking....hhmmmm!
My thoughts:
Sodium nitrite occurs naturally in fresh raw EBN from ammonia fumes in the BHs.
They are water soluble...I dun know if anyone has taken to eating EBN raw, uncleaned, unwashed and uncooked.
Anyway, read the Wiki writeup, maybe we shd stop eating all the above mentioned vege and meat and refuse the medication. biggrin.gif
Swallow enuff pure water...you too will die from it...nothing doctors can do anything about as your cells get over diluted.
In the days before the internet, reading enuff of the CAP newsletter, you too will just drink pure water cos' most foodstuff will eventually kill you. smile.gif

West Wing
post Jun 27 2011, 03:37 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Jun 27 2011, 03:27 PM)
Source - WikiSource - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sodium_nitrite
[i]In normal human diet

My thoughts:
Sodium nitrite occurs naturally in fresh raw EBN from ammonia fumes in the BHs.
They are water soluble...I dun know if anyone has taken to eating EBN raw, uncleaned, unwashed and uncooked.
Anyway, read the Wiki writeup, maybe we shd stop eating all the above mentioned vege and meat and refuse the medication. biggrin.gif
Swallow enuff pure water...you too will die from it...nothing doctors can do anything about as your cells get over diluted.
In the days before the internet, reading enuff of the CAP newsletter, you too will just drink pure water cos' most foodstuff will eventually kill you.  smile.gif
I agreed.....The intention of CAP is good but sometime what written are absurd and rubbish. That's why like suggestions and advices given here are mostly good intentions, take only what you think is right and ignore the rest...
TinkleBell
post Jun 27 2011, 09:51 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jun 27 2011, 03:37 PM)
I agreed.....The intention of CAP is good but sometime what written are absurd and rubbish. That's why like suggestions and advices given here are mostly good intentions, take only what you think is right and ignore the rest...
Thanked you guys for the enlightenment. rclxms.gif

Just afraid that it will hurt the bird's nest industries that majority rely on China.

May I know why is it so difficult to get an export licence? If the Govt is encouraging the industry and wanted to be No. 1 tongue.gif in everything, how to be No. 1???

May God bless Malaysia. 090709070907090709070907090709070907090709070907
thumbup.gif whistling.gif rolleyes.gif
Cergau
post Jun 27 2011, 10:20 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(TinkleBell @ Jun 27 2011, 09:51 PM)
Just afraid that it will hurt the bird's nest industries that majority rely on China. 
May I know why is it so difficult to get an export licence?  If the Govt is encouraging the industry and wanted to be No. 1  tongue.gif  in everything, how to be No. 1???
If it has reached the mass media the damage is already done.
Bad news reaches more people than the good ones.

No 1? We are not the best nor the worst, we are proudly mediocre.
A such we are No 1 at being perpetually mediocre. biggrin.gif
oneup
post Jun 28 2011, 10:12 AM

47 posts

...May I know why is it so difficult to get an export licence?...
I am just talking with no source here... So don't blame me if its not the correct info haha...
I am guessing that it is the same reason y only bumi get to harvest the cave nests...
West Wing
post Jun 28 2011, 10:25 AM

1,397 posts

Thanked you guys for the enlightenment.  rclxms.gif 

May I know why is it so difficult to get an export licence?  If the Govt is encouraging the industry and wanted to be No. 1  tongue.gif  in everything, how to be No. 1???

May God bless Malaysia. 090709070907090709070907090709070907090709070907
thumbup.gif  whistling.gif  rolleyes.gif
To control the export, the reasons provided maybe of our own interest but then, are the authority really interest in ensuring the quality of nests exported or have their own people given the right to export. If so, we shall be at the mercy of those few selected guys who have the influence.

In the end, we shall be the ones that will suffer.....but some of us did give them the reasons for doing so. Why we need to send our nests to Indo to have them turn Red. Can't we say "NO" to Red nests demand from China even if the chinese pay good money for the Red ones. Can't we be the good guys to convince the chinese that Red nests aren't good for health and even if they don't accept our reasons now, we still protect our Malaysian Bird Nests as pure nests. At least, we will be safe and the Chinese Authorities will not ban our nests and the Malaysia Authorities will have no reason to prevent us from exporting nests individually.

Like when I posted that we should let the birds make corner nests as the birds prefer so but then money talk better and most of the new and old BHs now rounded the corners just because the round nests fetch higher price. W should have let the birds preference come first but alas, all end in dollars and cents.

Another thing is that most government department also don't know what to do or don't care to know as Gaji sama kerja atau tak kerja dan tak kerja pun tak pecat kerja...........so, why kerja kuat kuat.

Only my opinion to share.
TinkleBell
post Jun 28 2011, 11:03 AM

37 posts

[quote=West Wing,Jun 28 2011, 10:25 AM]
Another thing is that most government department also don't know what to do or don't care to know as Gaji sama kerja atau tak kerja dan tak kerja pun tak pecat kerja...........so, why kerja kuat kuat.

Hi Mr WW, your icon looks like you drunk with bird's nest soup......you must have very nice complexion biggrin.gif rclxm9.gif just joking no offence. Need a break, have a joke.

Yeah, like it used to be in mainland "Work also get $36, don't work also get $36" So how cares. But as long as they do not make life difficult for us. icon_rolleyes.gif

May God bless us...

Cergau
post Jun 28 2011, 11:28 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(oneup @ Jun 28 2011, 10:12 AM)
I am just talking with no source here... So don't blame me if its not the correct info haha...
I am guessing that it is the same reason y only bumi get to harvest the cave nests...
It's not what you are implying.
Cave nests have been harvested by the locals way before BH keeping began.
A traditional source of income ought to be protected and improved upon if possible.
Sadly the legal custodian of cave nest has failed the birds and the locals badly.
Rumour has it that another uniformed branch of the govt has undermined the 1st custodian.
Well..., we live in a democracy, if the locals so decide that it's good enuff for them, we are left talking about it.
Even their legislation are different from Peninsula M'sia.
We in Pen have attempted to influence legislation thus far, but we dun see that happening with our bros over in the East.
Not for lack of interest by the politicians...I can attest 1 of the MPs who spoke for us in Parliament on the Wildlife Act is from E.M'sia.
Not doing anything will leave the devil to return to haunt us one day.
Remember there isnt any distinction between cave and BH nests in existing legislations.
What happens next if the cave nest collection were to totally collapse?

I think it's timely I remind everyone here what transpired in Parliament.
IIRC the Conservation of Wildlife Act 2010 was passed w/o amendments and the offensive clauses remain intact.
When questioned in Parliament the minister replied that EBN trade does not come under the Act.
(someone even reported raids on EBN outlets prior to the Act being passed in Parliament...so you see the reason for my cynicism)
It may be wise for folks to surf the Parliament Hansard (it's online) to pull out his reply as your insurance (keep a copy yourself), if ever the clause were to be invoked for EBN/AF. If it ever happens, take it to yr MP and have the minister referred to their Parliament committees (forgot the name) for misleading the house or whatever .
We live in a country where official records can conveniently disappear and even state legislature minutes(or whatever they call it) with convenient omissions.

Rangnok
post Jun 28 2011, 11:59 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jun 28 2011, 09:25 AM)
To control the export, the reasons provided maybe of our own interest but then, are the authority really interest in ensuring the quality of nests exported or have their own people given the right to export. If so, we shall be at the mercy of those few selected guys who have the influence.

In the end, we shall be the ones that will suffer.....but some of us did give them the reasons for doing so. Why we need to send our nests to Indo to have them turn Red. Can't we say "NO" to Red nests demand from China even if the chinese pay good money for the Red ones. Can't we be the good guys to convince the chinese that Red nests aren't good for health and even if they don't accept our reasons now, we still protect our Malaysian Bird Nests as pure nests. At least, we will be safe and the Chinese Authorities will not ban our nests and the Malaysia Authorities will have no reason to prevent us from exporting nests individually.

Like when I posted that we should let the birds make corner nests as the birds prefer so but then money talk better and most of the new and old BHs now rounded the corners just because the round nests fetch higher price. W should have let the birds preference come first but alas, all end in dollars and cents.

Another thing is that most  government department also don't know what to do or don't care to know as Gaji sama kerja atau tak kerja dan tak kerja pun tak pecat kerja...........so, why kerja kuat kuat.

Only my opinion to share.
Your are right, designing according to the bird preference is priority i.e. 90'c corner is much better. Furthermore, current valuation of bird house, per nest fetching at Rm1000 easily almost regardless corner or cup nest. Therefore, concentrate on constructing fast grow design is priority. Value of each harvest is lesser, but counter back with fast grow, i think after all is balance and higher in value.

126 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:16 AM