Credit Card v10

raymond1003
post May 7 2010, 12:05 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ May 7 2010, 12:03 AM)
CIMB and DA have a higher chance of getting approved as compared to other giant banks like MBB.
Agree with you! Especially MBB. Always thought themselves is "High Class" Bank but the service quite lousy
shakiraa
post May 7 2010, 12:12 AM

hips dont lie
785 posts

btw, all the expert out there, talking about cards benefit wise, which card provide more "rewards" for shopping in overseas such as United States? thx
raymond1003
post May 7 2010, 12:13 AM

138 posts

I think Citibank is the best in term of overseas rewards.

Added on May 7, 2010, 12:15 amor alternatively, maybe AMEX also a great choice for western country

This post has been edited by raymond1003: May 7 2010, 12:15 AM
TSMilesAndMore
post May 7 2010, 12:22 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(shakiraa @ May 7 2010, 12:12 AM)
talking about cards benefit wise, which card provide more "rewards" for shopping in overseas such as United States? thx
Malaysian issued credit card ? Practically none.

QUOTE(raymond1003 @ May 7 2010, 12:13 AM)
or alternatively, maybe AMEX also a great choice for western country
It is not recommended to use your AMEX overseas due to the high admin fee.
raymond1003
post May 7 2010, 12:25 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 7 2010, 12:22 AM)
but the rewards point quite high wo, plus the there are high acceptance of AMEX
jonuslee
post May 7 2010, 12:26 AM

Simple Guy with a Simple Life
1,167 posts

the i pay plan from cimb good?
raymond1003
post May 7 2010, 12:26 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(jonuslee @ May 7 2010, 12:26 AM)
the i pay plan from cimb good?
Yup, very good! rclxms.gif
jonuslee
post May 7 2010, 12:27 AM

1,167 posts

icic. got any upfront charge or 0%?
shakiraa
post May 7 2010, 12:28 AM

hips dont lie
785 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 7 2010, 12:22 AM)
got it bro, thanks so much!

can educate me about this admin fee thing? i will get charged for each purchase?

i ask as i foresee will be spending quite alot in overseas 2nd half this yr.
raymond1003
post May 7 2010, 12:29 AM

138 posts

it depends 1. If not mistaken, for normal purchase got 2% upfront. Not sure for how many months 1. U can check cimb website.
jonuslee
post May 7 2010, 12:31 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(raymond1003 @ May 7 2010, 12:29 AM)
it depends 1. If not mistaken, for normal purchase got 2% upfront. Not sure for how many months 1. U can check cimb website.
ok. thanks for the info. rclxms.gif
raymond1003
post May 7 2010, 12:32 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(jonuslee @ May 7 2010, 12:31 AM)
ok. thanks for the info. rclxms.gif
Hope it helps la. smile.gif
TSMilesAndMore
post May 7 2010, 12:37 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(raymond1003 @ May 7 2010, 12:25 AM)
Not really. VISA and MasterCard have better acceptance in the US. AMEX is accepted mostly in those really big stores, just like here in Malaysia.

Yes. You can get 2x MR for each Ringgit charged but it is not worth it unless you are on a company trip and everything charged to your AMEX can later be claimed from your company.

QUOTE(shakiraa @ May 7 2010, 12:28 AM)
can educate me about this admin fee thing? i will get charged for each purchase?

You can refer to the first post of this thread. There is a detailed list of admin fee charged by various banks in Malaysia for overseas transactions.

Alliance Bank is so far the only bank that doesn't impose any admin fee for overseas transactions and you get 2x Timeless Points.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: May 7 2010, 12:38 AM
hye
post May 7 2010, 12:37 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(raymond1003 @ May 7 2010, 12:25 AM)
It is fine if you like the points. The admin fee is 2.5% on top of your forex exchange. You are practically 'paying' for your rewards, congrats!

This post has been edited by hye: May 7 2010, 12:39 AM
raymond1003
post May 7 2010, 12:40 AM

138 posts

I see. Thanks for teaching me how to calculate. Else I will still using it like noobs.. hehe
jonuslee
post May 7 2010, 12:41 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(raymond1003 @ May 7 2010, 12:32 AM)
Hope it helps la.  smile.gif
How is the credit limit provide by cimb? issit high for new applicants?
ronnie
post May 7 2010, 12:41 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

just received a RM5000 cheque from Maybank Credit Card... 0% interest for 6 months (but 3.88% cash advance charge)

This post has been edited by ronnie: May 7 2010, 12:42 AM
raymond1003
post May 7 2010, 12:43 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(jonuslee @ May 7 2010, 12:41 AM)
How is the credit limit provide by cimb? issit high for new applicants?
Consider high if compare to other banks. Usually is 3x to your gross salary, even if you have other debts like car loan.
jonuslee
post May 7 2010, 12:45 AM

1,167 posts

icic. but if i want to apply the direct access, it seems like the min annual income is rm30,000. if lower than rm 30,000 still can apply ?
raymond1003
post May 7 2010, 12:47 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(jonuslee @ May 7 2010, 12:45 AM)
icic. but if i want to apply the direct access, it seems like the min annual income is rm30,000. if lower than rm 30,000 still can apply ?
Depends on how much lower la. I think around RM27k still eligible.

129 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:27 AM