71 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Cover Letters / Resume (CVs), One Stop For ALL

exile85
post Sep 3 2009, 12:58 AM

38 posts

Hi, ive just graduated w a 3rd class llb....if i'm applying for a management programme trainee in some companies, do i need to send a cover letter along w my resume? send by post or email better?
Joey Christensen
post Sep 3 2009, 09:26 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

3rd Class? Better keep mum on your academic qualification. Furnish them with your curricular participations/achievements more. If you have none of these, I have nothing to say but wish you Good Luck.

Regards, Joey

p.s: Try to offset your setbacks with something else. That ought to do some workings on your CV.
Wai
post Sep 8 2009, 08:30 PM

jAck
1,042 posts

May i know, usually when u complete resume, u "stapler" them or how? can any give advise?thx u
kyzson69
post Sep 26 2009, 04:44 AM

Psychiatric Patient
939 posts

emmm useful stuff, since i ready to change job d smile.gif thx
ankiesiau
post Oct 3 2009, 03:45 PM

104 posts

I am looking for intership for 3 months in diploma computer system.I list my kokurikular in my resume but i have no proof and certificate that i am a member. So, can i list the kokurikular in my resume ?
Joey Christensen
post Oct 3 2009, 05:32 PM

3,651 posts

Yes. You may do so.

Regards, Joey
elm383
post Oct 4 2009, 08:16 AM

Hello and good day to everyone...

I have been pondering and searching about this matter for a veery long time.
How do you make a cover letter to send in a resume to a company if no vacancy has been advertised? This is assuming that you are initiating contact with an employer to inform them of your skills and availability, and to suggest that they consider you for any vacancies that arise.

I do hope someone could enlighten me on this matter. Thanks a lot for any feedback.
monochrome
post Oct 7 2009, 02:01 PM

169 posts

hi everyon...wanna ask are Resume & CV 2 different things??
from what i know resume is an American term where as CV is a British term..

previously i've sent the employer a letter attached with a CV..but then he request for resume..does that mean i have to prepare a resume (short & brief CV compared to the CV that i have prepared earlier)

correct me if i'm wrong.thanks!
Joey Christensen
post Oct 7 2009, 05:07 PM

3,651 posts

What's the difference between a resume and a CV?

The primary differences are the length, the content and the purpose. A resume is a one or two page summary of your skills, experience and education. A goal of resume writing is to be brief and concise since, at best, the resume reader will spend a minute or so reviewing your qualifications.

A Curriculum Vitae, commonly referred to as CV, is a longer (two or more pages), more detailed synopsis. It includes a summary of your educational and academic backgrounds as well as teaching and research experience, publications, presentations, awards, honors, affiliations and other details.

Regards, Joey

p.s: Excerpt from about.com

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Oct 7 2009, 05:07 PM
monochrome
post Oct 10 2009, 01:43 AM

169 posts

is it neccessary to include reference/testimonial?
if i dont have any..how should i answer them in a better way if they ask/request for it..
ken_zie
post Oct 16 2009, 05:40 PM

830 posts

i'm going to apply for my internship soon and i'll have to write resume & CV. i know we should try to 'sell' ourself the best we can to out future employer which means letting them know our specialities, accomplishments, etc.

but i have one problem here. i'm currently in my final and i'm just the normal and average type of students. my CGPA is 3.26 and i'm not active in uni's activities. for me, i think my result is just average. well, maybe the only thing that i can be a bit difference is i took japanese language class in uni and passed JLPT 4. that's it. so, my question is, how can i make my resume & CV looks good, can be convincing/confidence enough to get the attention of the future employer?
ltwkluv
post Nov 24 2009, 12:37 PM

good thread..keep it up guys!!!...

This post has been edited by ltwkluv: Nov 24 2009, 12:40 PM
iwanong
post Nov 24 2009, 12:45 PM

32 posts

hi guys...i have been working for 3mths + and now intend to apply for O & G companies...i was wondering shud i state the 3mths + experience in my resume or jz say i m a fresh grad?...will the 3 mths + experience be an advantage or jz will ruin my chance for an interview??...somebody pls giv me sum advice,really confuse nw...btw i m currently working in a construction company as an electrical engineer...thank you...
sweet_pez
post Nov 25 2009, 04:23 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Aug 18 2009, 04:28 PM)
I hear that one should submit resume, cover letters or CV in Words format but I have a dilemma here.
Its because I am a young professional qualification holder & its grading system is very different than degree, which it is papers based.
Companies in UK or US recognised these problem but when I look at Malaysia companies its all about CGPA & education history.

Those can be easily formatted in words but my Prof Cert comes in respective papers with grading marks & sessions attemped attached.
So a tabling format is more convenient & systematic & there is no problem when I send hardcopies directly but certain org only accept online.

So my main enquiry is can I use Excel for the tabling format or I should stick with Word for safety. Damn long with words but only minutes in excel & way more systematic too but since everyone use words but they are degree holders so,...... please advice. Thank you.
Well... what about scanning your certs & results then attach them as pdf?

QUOTE(Wai @ Sep 8 2009, 08:30 PM)
May i know, usually when u complete resume, u "stapler" them or how? can any give advise?thx u
How else you want to attach them if it's hard copy? Use paper clips? doh.gif

QUOTE(iwanong @ Nov 24 2009, 12:45 PM)
hi guys...i have been working for 3mths + and now intend to apply for O & G companies...i was wondering shud i state the 3mths + experience in my resume or jz say i m a fresh grad?...will the 3 mths + experience be an advantage or jz will ruin my chance for an interview??...somebody pls giv me sum advice,really confuse nw...btw i m currently working in a construction company as an electrical engineer...thank you...
Why are u leaving after only 3 months?

Might as well not mention you're working there if it's 3 months. If you're to list a company in your resume, do make sure you're serving there for at least 1 year.
Dead4Life
post Nov 25 2009, 09:51 PM

652 posts

How about you've already join and working in this company for 3 months now. You have an interview from another company. They want your latest 3 months payslip. Do you have to show them your current payslip, or your previous payslip? In the resume you don't mention your currrent work because its just 3 month only. How do you clarify on this issue?
iwanong
post Nov 26 2009, 12:31 PM

32 posts

Why are u leaving after only 3 months?

Might as well not mention you're working there if it's 3 months. If you're to list a company in your resume, do make sure you're serving there for at least 1 year.

[/quote]

Erm...act all this while wan to join o & g bt bored of waiting so long for their reply, so decided take up a job 1st n cont applying...i was thinking the 3 mths xperience might giv me sum slight advantage...dont they?

AJfredo
post Nov 27 2009, 03:05 AM

i'm a multimedia+marketing student, soon graduating, how do i include my portfolio which includes a working website i made for my client, 3D animation, game interface, flash advertisements and 3 minute videos as well as corporate video i made for an investment bank, should I throw them all in cd and submit it along with my resume or just write them down in resume ?

scared ppl think i kiasu put cd along with resume, haha

thanks in advance

This post has been edited by AJfredo: Nov 27 2009, 03:13 AM
B-Mecha
post Nov 30 2009, 05:15 PM

Mecha collector & Multimedia Designer
1,080 posts

QUOTE(AJfredo @ Nov 27 2009, 03:05 AM)
i'm a multimedia+marketing student, soon graduating, how do i include my portfolio which includes a working website i made for my client, 3D animation, game interface, flash advertisements and 3 minute videos as well as corporate video i made for an investment bank, should I throw them all in cd and submit it along with my resume or just write them down in resume ?

scared ppl think i kiasu put cd along with resume, haha

thanks in advance
I would suggest you to create a simple portfolio site that can view all ur work. video can upload to youtube and embed into ur site. IMO having ur own site to display ur work definitely looks better as a multimedia graduate.

After the setup, include the link into ur resume so they can view it anytime. This will help especially when you apply the job through email.
VinluV
post Dec 11 2009, 01:44 AM

1,947 posts

hi guys,

Would like to inquire whether a Resume or CV would be better for a fresh graduate.
Considering the fresh grad has working experience in the related field.

Also does writing a conference paper consider as a achievement employers look highly on?
LOOOOOOL
post Dec 28 2009, 03:16 PM

what is this
704 posts

hi there,

any advice or idea how to write a proper "Professional Experience" into my resume?? i'm trying to update my resume for my 2nd job, i would like to include what i have done for my 1st job. Any example to share??

thx ya!!

71 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:36 AM