125 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Bottom

Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

linear63
post Dec 21 2012, 11:18 AM

So anyone can just drop by and hang out at ICW?
Looks like a good place to pick up so tips from all the sifus
TheGreatBahamut
post Dec 21 2012, 11:25 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(linear63 @ Dec 21 2012, 11:18 AM)
Ya, many pro and kind modelers there. Don't hesitate to ask them when you faced any problem. smile.gif
abundai
post Dec 21 2012, 12:04 PM

986 posts

wow...so near from my place.... so when do u guys normally go there?
this is the kind of place i need to visit to jump start my Gunpla hobby...

Added on December 21, 2012, 12:07 pmin fact, im gonna drop by this place right after work... hehe. 4pm ish...

This post has been edited by abundai: Dec 21 2012, 12:07 PM
Naskah
post Dec 21 2012, 12:36 PM

72 posts

hello there, got one noob/beginner question here, do i need spray surfacer/primer first even i just use gundam paint marker?
abundai
post Dec 21 2012, 12:54 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(Naskah @ Dec 21 2012, 12:36 PM)
hello there, got one noob/beginner question here, do i need spray surfacer/primer first even i just use gundam paint marker?
saw one video in utube.. try look it up...
u can use the marker directly, but i think the finish wont look nice...
but it'll do..
but cant expect a perfect smooth finish la...
z3r0717
post Dec 21 2012, 02:36 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(linear63 @ Dec 21 2012, 11:18 AM)
Yes.. we have a bunch of usuals there. Once you hang out with us most of the time then you won't be too shy.

QUOTE(abundai @ Dec 21 2012, 12:04 PM)
wow...so near from my place.... so when do u guys normally go there?
this is the kind of place i need to visit to jump start my Gunpla hobby...

Added on December 21, 2012, 12:07 pmin fact, im gonna drop by this place right after work... hehe. 4pm ish...
i only go if i need to airbrush. but usually everyday they will be more ppl.
I don't suggest you to go today as Chinese having family dinner so most likely many won't attend tonight.
Oh yea they open 7.30-10.30pm(mon-fri) , for sat it's 12-5.30PM
abundai
post Dec 21 2012, 03:13 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Dec 21 2012, 02:36 PM)
Yes.. we have a bunch of usuals there. Once you hang out with us most of the time then you won't be too shy.
i only go if i need to airbrush. but usually everyday they will be more ppl.
I don't suggest you to go today as Chinese having family dinner so most likely many won't attend tonight.
Oh yea they open 7.30-10.30pm(mon-fri) , for sat it's 12-5.30PM
cool.. maybe i next week on my offday....
naruko85
post Dec 21 2012, 04:02 PM

1,611 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Dec 21 2012, 09:30 AM)
the reason why i don't recommend that method is because yes once you paint one side then you can flip the parts BUT there is the a risk where when you flip, the painted part's paint might come off due to the double side tape if you're careful.
The best is spray one by one rather than all at once. Yes, you can spray multiple parts depending on the parts then you can spray 2-3 together.  smile.gif
the paint might come out too even when spray using tamiya ts paint? If so then surely risky.

More question, do i need to prime if
1. I am spraying Tamiya - Gold TS-21 on blue parts?
2. I am spraying Tamiya - Gold TS-21 on red parts?

z3r0717
post Dec 21 2012, 06:37 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 21 2012, 04:02 PM)
the paint might come out too even when spray using tamiya ts paint? If so then surely risky.

More question, do i need to prime if
1. I am spraying Tamiya - Gold TS-21 on blue parts?
2. I am spraying Tamiya - Gold TS-21 on red parts?

Because you use tapes so there is a risk of it peeling the paints. Unless you use masking tapes(tamiya) but able to hold small parts.
No matter what before spraying colors, always top coat.

I don't mind giving you guys fundamental tips/skill at icw if you guys meet up together. I can share my knowledge one shot. smile.gif
abundai
post Dec 21 2012, 08:37 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Dec 21 2012, 06:37 PM)
Because you use tapes so there is a risk of it peeling the paints. Unless you use masking tapes(tamiya) but able to hold small parts.

I don't mind giving you guys fundamental tips/skill at icw if you guys meet up together. I can share my knowledge one shot. smile.gif
cool.. thumbup.gif would that be on weekends?
cos im working on shift, some weekends, i might not be free
naruko85
post Dec 21 2012, 10:26 PM

1,611 posts

If i top coat before spray painting then is it that there is no need to prime? what which type of coat? gloss?

I wish i can join you guys, but i live at sabah.... very less people here build gunpla...... sad..
z3r0717
post Dec 22 2012, 01:21 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(abundai @ Dec 21 2012, 08:37 PM)
cool..  thumbup.gif  would that be on weekends?
cos im working on shift, some weekends, i might not be free
I seldom go on weekends. You adjust the time with me tru pm

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 21 2012, 10:26 PM)
If i top coat before spray painting then is it that there is no need to prime? what which type of coat? gloss?

I wish i can join you guys, but i live at sabah.... very less people here build gunpla...... sad..
Too bad.
Top coat is usually the last step or before you do decaling(optional)
naruko85
post Dec 22 2012, 01:34 PM

1,611 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Dec 22 2012, 01:21 PM)
I seldom go on weekends. You adjust the time with me tru pm
Too bad.
Top coat is usually the last step or before you do decaling(optional)
So what actually i do before spraying colour?

and again do i prime if

1. spray Tamiya - Gold TS-21 on blue parts?
2. spray Tamiya - Gold TS-21 on red parts?
3. spray Tamiya - Silver Leaf TS-30 on red parts?
z3r0717
post Dec 22 2012, 10:52 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 22 2012, 01:34 PM)
So what actually i do before spraying colour?

and again do i prime if

1. spray Tamiya - Gold TS-21 on blue parts?
2. spray Tamiya - Gold TS-21 on red parts?
3. spray Tamiya - Silver Leaf TS-30 on red parts?
oh sorry for the confusion..
what i meant was before you paint, must PRIME. tongue.gif rolleyes.gif
yes.. always prime first.

Here's a very useful Link
naruko85
post Dec 22 2012, 11:08 PM

1,611 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Dec 22 2012, 10:52 PM)
oh sorry for the confusion..
what i meant was before you paint, must PRIMEtongue.gif  rolleyes.gif
yes.. always prime first.

Here's a very useful Link
ok thx, then if i am leaving the white parts white, i dont need to prime right?
TheGreatBahamut
post Dec 22 2012, 11:22 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 22 2012, 11:08 PM)
ok thx, then if i am leaving the white parts white, i dont need to prime right?
If you going to use the same paint on same part, you can skip priming it but do sand it so the paint will have better adhesion on the plastic. If you don't want paint it at all, it is unnecessary to prime it. But prime it is always a better choice, so the color texture will be smooth and properly adhere to the plastic. smile.gif
naruko85
post Dec 22 2012, 11:41 PM

1,611 posts

QUOTE(TheGreatBahamut @ Dec 22 2012, 11:22 PM)
If you going to use the same paint on same part, you can skip priming it but do sand it so the paint will have better adhesion on the plastic. If you don't want paint it at all, it is unnecessary to prime it. But prime it is always a better choice, so the color texture will be smooth and properly adhere to the plastic.  smile.gif
meaning that if i plans to spray gun metal on grey parts, i can skip the priming right? For the white parts, i play to top coat matte as finish.

thx
z3r0717
post Dec 23 2012, 02:16 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 22 2012, 11:41 PM)
meaning that if i plans to spray gun metal on grey parts, i can skip the priming right? For the white parts, i play to top coat matte as finish.

thx
i think you totally misunderstood.
Reason why we prime it is because..
Every part we'll sand it. Why? because once you cut them our from the runners, they will have nib marks. We sand to get rid of the nib marks.
But once we sand, we leave light/heavy scratches on the parts therefore we need to prime.
Prime/surfacer's purpose is to cover the scratches(not the heavy ones) and also make the paint stick "better".
so for us modelers, we prime every single parts except transparent parts because we want to paint it.

naruko85
post Dec 23 2012, 10:01 AM

1,611 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Dec 23 2012, 02:16 AM)
i think you totally misunderstood.
Reason why we prime it is because..
Every part we'll sand it. Why? because once you cut them our from the runners, they will have nib marks. We sand to get rid of the nib marks.
But once we sand, we leave light/heavy scratches on the parts therefore we need to prime.
Prime/surfacer's purpose is to cover the scratches(not the heavy ones) and also make the paint stick "better".
so for us modelers, we prime every single parts except transparent parts because we want to paint it.
but if i am not planning to paint white part, although it got light scratches on it, i can be covered by top coat matte/flat right?
z3r0717
post Dec 23 2012, 10:56 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 23 2012, 10:01 AM)
but if i am not planning to paint white part, although it got light scratches on it, i can be covered by top coat matte/flat right?
Why not paint the white part when already planned to paint other parts.
Top coat does not help cover scratches. It only helps protect the paints and give a nice finishing.

125 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:33 AM