Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

General_Nic
post Dec 15 2012, 11:24 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 15 2012, 11:18 PM)
For painting, I would like to straight spray paints on the runners since I am very bad with hand painting and cannot afford a airbrush + compressor. But only if I painted the runners 1st, after i remove the parts, will sure git nip/nub marks left over... I cant sand it either because it will spoil the painting before... So anyone got any ideas?

And how efficient is it to paint with markers

you can still spray paint part by part, it's like airbrush except that you are using spraycans smile.gif
use these to hold the parts when spraying them

then poke them into a foam to let the paint dry
Lester1987
post Dec 16 2012, 12:16 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Dec 15 2012, 11:24 PM)
you can still spray paint part by part, it's like airbrush except that you are using spraycans  smile.gif

where to buy these items? and how do you guys normally spray? put the item in the box and spray??
Won't the paint kena other part of the house if we don't have a nice compartment to spray the things?
Any recomended place to get the tools to spray? i mean complete set.
naruko85
post Dec 16 2012, 12:29 AM

1,611 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Dec 15 2012, 11:24 PM)
you can still spray paint part by part, it's like airbrush except that you are using spraycans  smile.gif

but then it will be very time consuming.. + i am not sure i am patient enough for this.

So markers?
Khai62
post Dec 16 2012, 12:56 AM

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 16 2012, 12:16 AM)
where to buy these items? and how do you guys normally spray? put the item in the box and spray??
Won't the paint kena other part of the house if we don't have a nice compartment to spray the things?
Some hobby shop have sold this in sets, you can make yourself with a stick and alligator clip or paper clip from hardware / art stores.

For me i spray facing the windows so the fumes will come out as you spray in a box with a fan at the back to suck fumes out. Unless you get close with the wall with an airbrush it won't hit it as paint will evaporate over distance for normal spray cans is possible since it range is much more larger.

You can refer to tytroum to get a set in the lyn street mart sale section.
QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 16 2012, 12:29 AM)
but then it will be very time consuming.. + i am not sure i am patient enough for this.

So markers?
Marker is much more time consuming as it not easy to get a nice finish on large parts without going painting the part multiple times to avoid the brush strokes.
naruko85
post Dec 16 2012, 01:22 AM

1,611 posts

QUOTE(Khai62 @ Dec 16 2012, 12:56 AM)
Some hobby shop have sold this in sets, you can make yourself with a stick and alligator clip or paper clip from hardware / art stores.

For me i spray facing the windows so the fumes will come out as you spray in a box with a fan at the back to suck fumes out. Unless you get close with the wall with an airbrush it won't hit it as paint will evaporate over distance for normal spray cans is possible since it range is much more larger. 

Marker is much more time consuming as it not easy to get a nice finish on large parts without going painting the part multiple times to avoid the brush strokes.
Then if i spray paint the runners in the beginning, then cut off the parts, remove the nip/nub marks (worst case is sanding with 1000 or above sandpaper).

1. Will the sanding damage the paint before?
2. What if after that i top coat it with flat one. Will the paint still damaged?

Thanks again~
General_Nic
post Dec 16 2012, 01:42 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 16 2012, 12:16 AM)
find mooncake81 or tytroum, they do sell this in set.
otherwise buy the alligator clips or book clips and satay stick separately then make yourself.

as for where to spray, you have few options:
- get a painting booth. Expensive but effective and safe.
- build your own painting booth. Get a large box, cut a hole at the back, then put a PC fan or similar small fan for outward suction. Cheaper than buying a painting booth, but you need to work on it.
- spray outdoors. Easiest solution, but might be harmful, and make sure to spray following the direction of the wind or the wind will blow the paint towards you

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 16 2012, 12:29 AM)

So markers?
No, painting with markers actually consume more time, as markers' paint don't give consistent finish. You'll definitely need multiple layers of paint with the marker, while waiting each layer to dry completely(few hours to be safe) before painting the next layer

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 16 2012, 01:22 AM)
Then if i spray paint the runners in the beginning, then cut off the parts, remove the nip/nub marks (worst case is sanding with 1000 or above sandpaper).

2. What if after that i top coat it with flat one. Will the paint still damaged?

Thanks again~
yes of course the paint will be scratched, and even with 2000 grit sandpaper you still risk scraping off the paint entirely.
only using polishing compound is safe, but the purpose of using that is to polish smooth your paint surface, not to remove nub marks.

and even though you can remove nub marks safely without damaging the paint, you'll still need to paint the areas with nub mark again, which costs you time.
which in the end you'll end up faster if you paint after removing the parts.

as for topcoat, I think the concern here is not whether the scratches on the paint can be covered or not, but whether you get a consistent finish of your paint or not
Khai62
post Dec 16 2012, 01:50 AM

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 16 2012, 01:22 AM)

Thanks again~
I will highly against spraying the parts on the runner since it just unnecessary do the job twice as sanding will remove the paint and if you try to paint the part that you remove nub marks will create unevenness to the previous painted surface.

As Nic already said it only protect the surface underneath it, so if it damaged to begin with it will stay damage since top coat is not for fixing the surface unless it a minor scratch which only made them less visible.
naruko85
post Dec 16 2012, 09:30 AM

1,611 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Dec 16 2012, 01:42 AM)
find mooncake81 or tytroum, they do sell this in set.
otherwise buy the alligator clips or book clips and satay stick separately then make yourself.

as for where to spray, you have few options:
- get a painting booth. Expensive but effective and safe.
- build your own painting booth. Get a large box, cut a hole at the back, then put a PC fan or similar small fan for outward suction. Cheaper than buying a painting booth, but you need to work on it.
- spray outdoors. Easiest solution, but might be harmful, and make sure to spray following the direction of the wind or the wind will blow the paint towards you
No, painting with markers actually consume more time, as markers' paint don't give consistent finish. You'll definitely need multiple layers of paint with the marker, while waiting each layer to dry completely(few hours to be safe) before painting the next layer
yes of course the paint will be scratched, and even with 2000 grit sandpaper you still risk scraping off the paint entirely.
only using polishing compound is safe, but the purpose of using that is to polish smooth your paint surface, not to remove nub marks.

and even though you can remove nub marks safely without damaging the paint, you'll still need to paint the areas with nub mark again, which costs you time.
which in the end you'll end up faster if you paint after removing the parts.

as for topcoat, I think the concern here is not whether the scratches on the paint can be covered or not, but whether you get a consistent finish of your paint or not
QUOTE(Khai62 @ Dec 16 2012, 01:50 AM)
I will highly against spraying the parts on the runner since it just unnecessary do the job twice as sanding will remove the paint and if you try to paint the part that you remove nub marks will create unevenness to the previous painted surface.

As Nic already said it only protect the surface underneath it, so if it damaged to begin with it will stay damage since top coat is not for fixing the surface unless it a minor scratch which only made them less visible.
So more or less the only way is to clear all nip/nub marks then spray. Since I am using spray bottles instead of airbrush, can i spray multiple parts at one time?

and one more question, what is the benefit of painting gunpla except for the nice look

Thanks again
Khai62
post Dec 16 2012, 10:27 AM

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 16 2012, 09:30 AM)
So more or less the only way is to clear all nip/nub marks then spray. Since I am using spray bottles instead of airbrush, can i spray multiple parts at one time?

and one more question, what is the benefit of painting gunpla except for the nice look

Thanks again
You can just stick them all on a foam and spray, just make sure that check every piece to make sure to get all the surface covered and paint the underside if necessary like the shield.

For me i paint them because to enhance the look according to my liking or paint the part that which the intended color done by stickers which will peel off over time anyway.
Lester1987
post Dec 16 2012, 10:41 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Khai62 @ Dec 16 2012, 12:56 AM)

if we use the clips, when we spray, the clipped area won't get spray right? then if we remove the clip and clip another area then spray, the clip won't damage the other painted area?
sorry for the noob question since this is the 1st time I am doing these stuff.
Khai62
post Dec 16 2012, 11:26 AM

Yep but what i do usually is clip on the peg/ connection of the part or certain part that will be hidden by another part to avoid those problem.

This post has been edited by Khai62: Dec 16 2012, 11:26 AM
naruko85
post Dec 16 2012, 12:38 PM

1,611 posts

By the way, I heard saw it somewhere that can extract the paint from a spray can. So back to back can i do like this

1. Spray the whole runners
2. cut down parts and do sanding to clear nip/nub marks
3. extract the same paint out of the can
4. paint the extracted paint from can to cover the damaged painting due to sanding

Actually the reason that i wanted to paint on whole runner is to save the times of spray, I got a lung inflation a few months ago and since then, my respiratory organ are very sensitive. So i would like to avoid inhale the stuff from the spray can, less spraying = less inhalation of it.

Or it is better to stick all parts on a foam and spray it after removing the nip/nub marks?
General_Nic
post Dec 16 2012, 12:57 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 16 2012, 12:38 PM)
By the way, I heard saw it somewhere that can extract the paint from a spray can. So back to back can i do like this

1. Spray the whole runners
2. cut down parts and do sanding to clear nip/nub marks
3. extract the same paint out of the can
4. paint the extracted paint from can to cover the damaged painting due to sanding

Actually the reason that i wanted to paint on whole runner is to save the times of spray, I got a lung inflation a few months ago and since then, my respiratory organ are very sensitive. So i would like to avoid inhale the stuff from the spray can, less spraying = less inhalation of it.

Or it is better to stick all parts on a foam and spray it after removing the nip/nub marks?
reducing the duration of spraying doesn't reduce the toxicity you are exposed to
the best solution is to get a painting booth & a proper painting mask

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Dec 16 2012, 12:57 PM
naruko85
post Dec 16 2012, 02:26 PM

1,611 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Dec 16 2012, 12:57 PM)
reducing the duration of spraying doesn't reduce the toxicity you are exposed to
the best solution is to get a painting booth & a proper painting mask
hmmm... make senses... i ll try ask my other friends about painting

Thanks for all the infos

Added on December 17, 2012, 7:59 pmoh ya i got more question,

1. for spray painting, it is better to do inside or outside?
2. i think the image below both use the same gundam marker, but how come one looks sharp & slim but the other dull & fat?
3. for the image below, can someone tell that do the builder repaint the 00 Qan[T]? or top coat matte only?
4. if i top coat matte on clear parts, will it lose the transparancy?

Thanks again

This post has been edited by naruko85: Dec 17 2012, 08:27 PM
johnny12262711
post Dec 19 2012, 01:08 PM

72 posts

hey guys, just wondering is thr anyway to wash away old paint on model kits?
something like this....

more picture.. mind ur eyes blush.gif

noobie me did tht few years back.. really hope to make it nicer..
please sifu... teach me =D
nazrul90
post Dec 19 2012, 03:50 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 16 2012, 02:26 PM)
oh ya i got more question,

1. for spray painting, it is better to do inside or outside?
2. i think the image below both use the same gundam marker, but how come one looks sharp & slim but the other dull & fat?
3. for the image below, can someone tell that do the builder repaint the 00 Qan[T]? or top coat matte only?
4. if i top coat matte on clear parts, will it lose the transparancy?

Thanks again
1.spray painting should do outside unless you got spray booth and air brush
2.because on the 2nd pic you didnt wipe the panel line yet.. can use your finger or cotton bud to clean the smudge panel line
3.that is remodel kit.. the modeller make extra panel line scribe and repainting it
4.yes, it will be like smoked part.. recommended to remove the part or masking it before you top coat

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Dec 19 2012, 03:51 PM
shauno
post Dec 19 2012, 06:02 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(johnny12262711 @ Dec 19 2012, 01:08 PM)
hey guys, just wondering is thr anyway to wash away old paint on model kits?
something like this....

more picture.. mind ur eyes  blush.gif

noobie me did tht few years back.. really hope to make it nicer..
please sifu... teach me =D
what type of paint is it? spray can? or acrylic? different paint type has different ways of removing.

if it is water based, soak it in window cleaner. if it is spray can, soak in brake fluid. dot 3

test on runner first if you have to be double sure it won't damage your plastic.

otherwise? use modelling thinner and wipe slowly, or sand all old paint off.
naruko85
post Dec 19 2012, 08:20 PM

1,611 posts

anyone know which gold this belongs to? It is a bit lighter than Tamiya - Gold TS-21
I am inspired by this and wish to spray paint it like Lancelot
Bront Palabuto
post Dec 20 2012, 02:52 AM

60 posts

-Wrong thread-

This post has been edited by Bront Palabuto: Dec 20 2012, 03:01 AM
nazrul90
post Dec 20 2012, 03:15 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(Bront Palabuto @ Dec 20 2012, 02:52 AM)
-Wrong thread-
nope bro, this is the right thread to discuss modelling & painting

125 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:04 PM